DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 26 May 2026), Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments regarding the objection to the Abstract (Remarks, 26 May 2026, Pg. 8 of 12, II. Objection to the Abstract) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the Abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being anticipated by Kim have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant alleges that Kim does not disclose [or] suggest “index the first DCI and the second DCI in a set that is ordered based on the first PCI and the second PCI” because Kim recites “serving cell index” which is different from Applicant’s recitation of “physical cell identifier” because the “cell index” or “cell ID” refers to a serving cell index which is not a PCI but a UE-specific index identifying Pcell/Scell #1/Scell #2 (Remarks, 26 May 2026, Pg. 9 of 12, III. Objection to the Abstract).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s argument is not compelling because Applicant’s interpretation of cell index (or cell ID) is conveniently narrow. Here, the Kim reference does not indicate that the recited “cell ID” is a UE-specific cell ID. Furthermore, Kim states that the cell index (or cell ID) is derived from a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) (Kim, ¶128). One having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that the PSS and SSS convey a physical cell identifier (PCI), not a UE-specific cell ID, and that the PSS and the SSS only carry cell-specific parameters, not UE-specific parameters as Applicant contends.
Second, Applicant alleges that Kim does not disclose or teach that “the first CORESET and the second CORESET are CORESETs of the same cell having different PCIs”. Applicant is reminded that “[a]lthough the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims” (See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993)). Examiner notes to Applicant that the feature upon which Applicant relies (e.g. “the first PCI” and “the second PCI” are different) is not recited in the rejected claims.
Third, Applicant alleges that Kim “does not state that (e.g. matching) CORESETPoolIndex values are, e.g., a trigger for ordering based on PCI” because “the trigger logic in Kim is reversed”. Applicant relies on a portion of the Kim reference that states "[t]he received DCIs may be indexed in ascending order of serving cell index for the same PDCCH monitoring occasion, and then may be indexed according to an index of the PDCCH monitoring occasion” (Kim, ¶278). However, this portion of the Kim reference explicitly uses the term, “may”, which indicates an activity that could possibly occur, not an activity that must occur. Here, since the Kim reference uses the word, “may”, instead of “must”, the content of this portion of Kim is merely possibly and not required to occur. Furthermore, Kim also states that the recited text indicates that the description of the invention is applicable to “Embodiment 4” of multiple embodiments. The portion of Kim refers to a specific embodiment, thus this portion of Kim is not required to occur, but is actually an example of how the claimed invention of Kim could possibly operate.
Examiner respectfully maintains the current ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20230128932 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a wireless device comprising:
one or more processors (¶482-489 & Fig. 17, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising processor(s)); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device (¶482-489 & Fig. 17, Kim discloses the UE further comprising memory coupled to the processor(s) where the memory stores code and/or commands for execution by the processor(s) to perform a method) to:
receive, via a first control resource set (coreset) of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI) (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses receiving, by the UE via a first control resource set (CORESET) of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI)) indicating transmission of a first acknowledgement feedback (¶433 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the first DCI indicates a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) Resource Indicator (PRI) field where the first PRI field indicates a first PUCCH resource), wherein the first coreset is associated with:
a first coreset pool index (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the first CORESET corresponding to the first DCI is associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex); and
a first physical cell index (PCI) (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the first CORESET is associated with a first cell index (ID));
receive, via a second coreset of the cell, a second DCI (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses receiving, by the UE via a second control resource set (CORESET) of a cell, a second downlink control information (DCI)) indicating transmission of a second acknowledgement feedback (¶433 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the second DCI indicates a second Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) Resource Indicator (PRI) field where the second PRI field indicates a second PUCCH resource), wherein the second coreset is associated with:
a second coreset pool index (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the second CORESET corresponding to the second DCI is associated with a second CORESETPoolIndex); and
a second PCI (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the second CORESET is associated with a second cell index (ID)); and
in response to the second coreset pool index being the same as the first coreset pool index, index the first DCI and the second DCI in a set that is ordered based on the first PCI and the second PCI (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the order of DCI may be determined based on i) at a time point at which the DCI is transmitted, ii) CORESETPoolIndex configured to the CORESET to which the DCI is transmitted, and iii) a cell index (or ID). Here, if the time point of each DCI is the same and the CORESETPoolIndex of each DCI is the same, then the first DCI and second DCI would be ordered based upon a first cell ID and a second cell ID); and
transmit, via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicated by a last DCI in the set, the first acknowledgement feedback and the second acknowledgement feedback (¶444 & Fig. 14 (S1440), Kim discloses transmitting, via the PUCCH resource indicated by the PRI field of a last DCI, first HARQ-ACK information and second HARQ-ACK information).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein
the first DCI is received in a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion (¶439-441, Kim discloses that the first DCI is receive in a monitoring occasion of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in which the first DCI was transmitted); and
the second DCI is received in a second PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶439-441, Kim discloses that the second DCI is receive in a monitoring occasion of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in which the second DCI was transmitted).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 2.
Kim further discloses wherein a starting time of the first PDCCH monitoring occasion and a starting time of the second PDCCH monitoring occasion are the same (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the time point of each DCI may be the same).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 2.
Kim further discloses wherein a first PDCCH monitoring occasion index of the first PDCCH monitoring occasion and a second PDCCH monitoring occasion index of the second PDCCH monitoring occasion are the same (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the index of the monitoring occasion of each DCI may be the same).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein:
the PUCCH resource is a first PUCCH resource indicated by a first PUCCH resource indicator field of the first DCI based on the first DCI being the last DCI in the set (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the PUCCH resource may be determined depending on a PRI field value of a specific DCI determined based on the order of DCI); and
the PUCCH resource is a second PUCCH resource indicated by a second PUCCH resource indicator field of the second DCI based on the second DCI being the last DCI in the set (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the PUCCH resource may be determined depending on a PRI field value of a specific DCI determined based on the order of DCI).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters (¶431 & Fig. 14 (1410) & ¶425 & ¶429, Kim discloses receiving, by the UE, configuration information) comprising a feedback mode parameter set to joint feedback mode (¶429, Kim discloses that the configuration information comprises information related to a feedback mode of the HARQ-ACK information where the information may indicate a joint ackNackFeedbackMode or a separated ackNackFeedbackMode) enabling a HARQ-ACK codebook to comprise HARQ-ACK feedback associated with different PCIs (¶446 & ¶429, Kim discloses that the joint ackNackFeedbackMode enables a HARQ-ACK codebook to comprise a first HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the first cell ID and a second HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the second cell ID), wherein the indexing is further based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising the feedback mode parameter set to joint feedback mode (¶398 & ¶400 & ¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the order of DCI may be determined based on CORESETPoolIndex configured to the CORESET to which the DCI is transmitted where the CORESETPoolIndex is a parameter of the configuration information when the ackNackFeedbackMode is set to joint).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein:
the first PCI is a PCI of the cell (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the first cell ID a first cell index of a respective cell); and
the second PCI is a PCI of a non-serving cell (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the second cell ID a second cell index of a respective cell).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses a base station comprising:
one or more processors (¶482-489 & Fig. 17, Kim discloses a base station (BS) comprising processor(s)); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station (¶482-489 & Fig. 17, Kim discloses the BS further comprising memory coupled to the processor(s) where the memory stores code and/or commands for execution by the processor(s) to perform a method) to:
transmit, to a wireless device via a first control resource set (coreset) of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI) (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses transmitting, by the BS via a first control resource set (CORESET) of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI)) indicating transmission of a first acknowledgement feedback (¶433 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the first DCI indicates a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) Resource Indicator (PRI) field where the first PRI field indicates a first PUCCH resource), wherein the first coreset is associated with:
a first coreset pool index (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the first CORESET corresponding to the first DCI is associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex); and
a first physical cell index (PCI) (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the first CORESET is associated with a first cell index (ID));
transmit, to the wireless device via a second coreset of the cell, a second DCI (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses transmitting, by the BS via a second control resource set (CORESET) of a cell, a second downlink control information (DCI)) indicating transmission of a second acknowledgement feedback (¶433 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the second DCI indicates a second Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) Resource Indicator (PRI) field where the second PRI field indicates a second PUCCH resource), wherein the second coreset is associated with:
a second coreset pool index (¶432 & Fig. 14 (1420) & ¶424, Kim discloses that the second CORESET corresponding to the second DCI is associated with a second CORESETPoolIndex); and
a second PCI (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the second CORESET is associated with a second cell index (ID)); and
in response to the second coreset pool index being the same as the first coreset pool index, index the first DCI and the second DCI in a set that is ordered based on the first PCI and the second PCI (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the order of DCI may be determined based on i) at a time point at which the DCI is transmitted, ii) CORESETPoolIndex configured to the CORESET to which the DCI is transmitted, and iii) a cell index (or ID). Here, if the time point of each DCI is the same and the CORESETPoolIndex of each DCI is the same, then the first DCI and second DCI would be ordered based upon a first cell ID and a second cell ID); and
receive, from the wireless device via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicated by a last DCI in the set, the first acknowledgement feedback and the second acknowledgement feedback (¶444 & Fig. 14 (S1440), Kim discloses transmitting, via the PUCCH resource indicated by the PRI field of a last DCI, first HARQ-ACK information and second HARQ-ACK information).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the base station of claim 8.
Kim further discloses wherein
the first DCI is transmitted in a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion (¶439-441, Kim discloses that the first DCI is receive in a monitoring occasion of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in which the first DCI was transmitted); and
the second DCI is transmitted in a second PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶439-441, Kim discloses that the second DCI is receive in a monitoring occasion of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in which the second DCI was transmitted).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the base station of claim 9.
Kim further discloses wherein a starting time of the first PDCCH monitoring occasion and a starting time of the second PDCCH monitoring occasion are the same (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the time point of each DCI may be the same).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses the base station of claim 9.
Kim further discloses wherein a first PDCCH monitoring occasion index of the first PDCCH monitoring occasion and a second PDCCH monitoring occasion index of the second PDCCH monitoring occasion are the same (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the index of the monitoring occasion of each DCI may be the same).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the base station of claim 8.
Kim further discloses wherein:
the PUCCH resource is a first PUCCH resource indicated by a first PUCCH resource indicator field of the first DCI based on the first DCI being the last DCI in the set (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the PUCCH resource may be determined depending on a PRI field value of a specific DCI determined based on the order of DCI); and
the PUCCH resource is a second PUCCH resource indicated by a second PUCCH resource indicator field of the second DCI based on the second DCI being the last DCI in the set (¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the PUCCH resource may be determined depending on a PRI field value of a specific DCI determined based on the order of DCI).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the base station of claim 8.
Kim further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to transmit one or more configuration parameters (¶431 & Fig. 14 (1410) & ¶425 & ¶429, Kim discloses transmitting, by the BS, configuration information) comprising a feedback mode parameter set to joint feedback mode (¶429, Kim discloses that the configuration information comprises information related to a feedback mode of the HARQ-ACK information where the information may indicate a joint ackNackFeedbackMode or a separated ackNackFeedbackMode) enabling a HARQ-ACK codebook to comprise HARQ-ACK feedback associated with different PCIs (¶446 & ¶429, Kim discloses that the joint ackNackFeedbackMode enables a HARQ-ACK codebook to comprise a first HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the first cell ID and a second HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the second cell ID), wherein the indexing is further based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising the feedback mode parameter set to joint feedback mode (¶398 & ¶400 & ¶439-442 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the order of DCI may be determined based on CORESETPoolIndex configured to the CORESET to which the DCI is transmitted where the CORESETPoolIndex is a parameter of the configuration information when the ackNackFeedbackMode is set to joint).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the base station of claim 8.
Kim further discloses wherein:
the first PCI is a PCI of the cell (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the first cell ID a first cell index of a respective cell); and
the second PCI is a PCI of a non-serving cell (¶439 & Fig. 14, Kim discloses that the second cell ID a second cell index of a respective cell).
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 6.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474