DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-19, in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/20/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2025 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10 and 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 12 reads “a position”, --the position-- is suggested.
Claim 7 line 1 reads “wherein first”, --wherein the first-- is suggested.
Claim 10 line 14 reads “a position”, --the position-- is suggested.
Claim 16 line 15 reads “a position”, --the position-- is suggested.
Claim 17 line 2 reads “for the end”, --for an end-- is suggested.
Claim 17 line 2 reads “ comprising an end”, --comprising the end-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bsili.
Regarding claim 1, Bsili discloses a robotic wrist (see Fig. 11; wrist) comprising: a wrist frame (see annotated Fig. 11 below; A); a first actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; B) having a first actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; C); a second actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; D) having a second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; E); a first mechanical linkage (right side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a first input (see annotated Fig. 12 below; F) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (see annotated Fig. 12 below; G) coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 11; left side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a second input (see annotated Fig. 11 below; H) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I) coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 12; Y axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output (see Fig. 12; hand pitch); and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 12; Z axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 and 12 below, wherein opposite rotation directions of actuators B and D results in hand yaw).
Regarding claim 2, Bsili discloses a compound motion plate (see annotated Fig. 12 below; J) coupled to the wrist frame (see annotated Fig. 11 below; A) such that the compound motion plate is rotatable with the first output (see annotated Fig. 12 below; G) about the first axis (see Fig. 12; Y axis).
Regarding claim 7, Bsili discloses the first mechanical linkage comprises a first four-bar linkage (see Fig. 11; right side four-bars linkage in the figure), and wherein the second mechanical linkage comprises a second four-bar linkage (see Fig. 11; left side four-bars linkage in the figure).
Regarding claim 8, Bsili discloses the second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 11; left side four-bars linkage in the figure) further comprises a spherical linkage (see annotated Fig. 11 below, M) coupled to the second four-bar linkage (see Fig. 12), and wherein the spherical linkage includes the second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I).
Regarding claim 9, Bsili discloses the second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I) comprises an attachment interface for an end effector (see Fig. 11; end effector interface).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong (CN 109048988 A).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a robotic wrist (see Fig. 1) comprising: a wrist frame (see annotated Fig. 2 below; A); a first actuator (upper 21 in the figure) having a first actuator output (output shaft of upper 21); a second actuator (lower 21 in the figure) having a second actuator output (output shaft of lower 21); a first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1; upper 3 in the figure) comprising a first input (upper 31 in the figure) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (upper 321 in the figure) coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage (lower 3 in the figure) comprising a second input (lower 31 in the figure) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (lower 321 in the figure) coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 2; horizontal axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 2; vertical axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong discloses a compound motion plate (41, 42) coupled to the wrist frame (A) such that the compound motion plate is rotatable with the first output (upper 321 in the figure) about the first axis (horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 3, Xiong discloses the second output (lower 321 in the figure) is rotatably coupled to the compound motion plate (41, 42) such that the second output is rotatable relative to the compound motion plate about the second axis (vertical axis) and rotatable with the compound motion plate about the first axis (horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 4, Xiong discloses the first actuator (upper 21 in the figure) and the second actuator (lower 21 in the figure) are disposed in a common housing (outer portion of 2), and wherein the wrist frame is attached to the common housing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Xiong discloses the first actuator output (output shaft of upper 21) defines a third axis (see Fig. 3; right side axis in the figure), wherein the second actuator output (output shaft of lower 21) defines a fourth axis (see Fig. 3; left side axis in the figure), and wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are oriented within the housing such that the third axis and the fourth axis are parallel (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Xiong discloses first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, upper 3 in the figure) comprises a first four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the upper motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2K), and wherein the second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, lower 3 in the figure) comprises a second four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the lower motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2J).
Regarding claim 9, Xiong discloses the second output (lower 321 in the figure) comprises an attachment interface (attachment for 1) for an end effector (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20210199183 A1) in view of Bsili.
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a robotic arm (see annotated Fig. 18 below; A, B, C, D) comprising: a plurality of arm segments (A, B, C, D) coupled together in series (see Fig. 18), and a first arm segment of the plurality of arm segments (D). Huang fails to disclose the first arm segment comprises: a frame; a first actuator having a first actuator output; a second actuator having a second actuator output; a first mechanical linkage comprising a first input coupled to the first actuator output and a first output coupled to the frame; a second mechanical linkage comprising a second input coupled to the second actuator output and a second output coupled to the frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output. However, Bsili teaches the first arm segment (see Fig. 11; forearm) comprises: a frame (see annotated Fig. 11 below; A); a first actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; B) having a first actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; C); a second actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; D) having a second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; E); a first mechanical linkage (right side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a first input (see annotated Fig. 12 below; F) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (see annotated Fig. 12 below; G) coupled to the frame; a second mechanical linkage (left side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a second input (see annotated Fig. 11 below; H) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I) coupled to the frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 12; Y axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output (see Fig. 12; hand pitch); and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 12; Z axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 and 12 below, wherein opposite rotation directions of actuators B and D results in hand yaw). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Huang with a first arm segment, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result: the first actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, B) and the second actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, D) are disposed within a common housing (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, K), and wherein the frame (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, A) is attached to the common housing (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result: an attachment interface for an end effector (Bsili, Fig. 11, end effector interface) coupled to the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I) and an attachment interface (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, L) for an arm segment (Huang, A-D) coupled to the common housing (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, K).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result: a compound motion plate (Bsili, annotated Fig. 12, J) coupled to the wrist frame (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11 below, A) such that the compound motion plate is rotatable with the first output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 12, G) about the first axis (Bsili, Fig. 12; Y axis).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result: the first actuator output defines a third axis (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; output axis of C), wherein the second actuator output defines a fourth axis (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; output axis of E), wherein the compound motion plate (Bsili, annotated Fig. 12, J) defines the first axis (Bsili, Fig. 12, Y axis), and wherein the first actuator, the second actuator, and the compound motion plate are oriented such that the third axis, the fourth axis, and the first axis are parallel (Bsili, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result: the first mechanical linkage comprises a first four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure), wherein the second mechanical linkage comprises a second four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure) coupled to a spherical linkage (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, M), wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, H), and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses a robot (see Fig. 18; 100) comprising: a robot torso (120); a robotic arm (see annotated Fig. 18 below; A, B, C, D) coupled to the robot torso, the robotic arm comprising a robotic wrist (see annotated Fig. 18 below; E). Huang fails to disclose the robotic wrist comprises: a wrist frame; a first actuator having a first actuator output; a second actuator having a second actuator output; a first mechanical linkage comprising a first input coupled to the first actuator output and a first output coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage comprising a second input coupled to the second actuator output and a second output coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output. However, Bsili teaches the robotic wrist (see Fig. 11; wrist) comprising: a wrist frame (see annotated Fig. 11 below; A); a first actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; B) having a first actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; C); a second actuator (see annotated Fig. 11 below; D) having a second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; E); a first mechanical linkage (right side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a first input (see annotated Fig. 12 below; F) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (see annotated Fig. 12 below; G) coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 11; left side four-bars linkage in the figure) comprising a second input (see annotated Fig. 11 below; H) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I) coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 12; Y axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output (see Fig. 12; hand pitch); and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 12; Z axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see annotated Fig. 11 and 12 below, wherein opposite rotation directions of actuators B and D results in hand yaw). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Huang with a robotic wrist, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I) comprises an attachment interface for the end effector (Bsili, Fig. 11, end effector interface), and further comprising an end effector (Bsili, Fig. 11, hand) coupled to the robotic wrist at the attachment interface.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, B) and the second actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, D) are disposed within a common housing (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, K), and wherein the wrist frame (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, A) is attached to the common housing (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result: the first mechanical linkage comprises a first four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure), wherein the second mechanical linkage comprises a second four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure) coupled to a spherical linkage (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, M), wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, H), and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I).
Claim 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (CN 109048988 A) in view of Bsili.
Regarding claim 6, Xiong discloses an axial axis (see Fig. 2, axis of 42) of the compound motion plate (41, 42) is aligned with the first axis (horizontal axis). Xiong fails to disclose the first axis is parallel to the third axis and the fourth axis. However, Bsili teaches the first axis (see Fig. 12; Y-axis) is parallel to the third axis (see annotated Fig. 11 below, axis of C) and the forth axis (see annotated Fig. 11 below, axis of E). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Xiong with the first, third and fourth axes being parallel, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract). Additionally, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts, which does not modify the operation of the device, is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this instance, modifying Xiong to have a first, third and fourth axes which are parallel would not change the principle operation of the wrist, i.e., the wrist would still rotate on both the horizontal axis and the vertical axis and is therefore considered an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 8, Xiong fails to disclose the second mechanical linkage further comprises a spherical linkage coupled to the second four-bar linkage, and wherein the spherical linkage includes the second output. However, Bsili teaches the second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 11; left side four-bars linkage in the figure) further comprises a spherical linkage (see annotated Fig. 11 below, M) coupled to the second four-bar linkage (see Fig. 12), and wherein the spherical linkage includes the second output (see annotated Fig. 11 below; I). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Xiong with a spherical linkage, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract).
Claim 10-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20210199183 A1) in view of Xiong (CN 109048988 A).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a robotic arm (see annotated Fig. 18 below; A, B, C, D) comprising: a plurality of arm segments (A, B, C, D) coupled together in series (see Fig. 18), and a first arm segment of the plurality of arm segments (D). Huang fails to disclose the first arm segment comprises: a frame; a first actuator having a first actuator output; a second actuator having a second actuator output; a first mechanical linkage comprising a first input coupled to the first actuator output and a first output coupled to the frame; a second mechanical linkage comprising a second input coupled to the second actuator output and a second output coupled to the frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output. However, Xiong teaches the first arm segment (see Fig. 1; 2) comprising: a frame (see annotated Fig. 2 below; A); a first actuator (upper 21 in the figure) having a first actuator output (output shaft of upper 21); a second actuator (lower 21 in the figure) having a second actuator output (output shaft of lower 21); a first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1; upper 3 in the figure) comprising a first input (upper 31 in the figure) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (upper 321 in the figure) coupled to the frame; a second mechanical linkage (lower 3 in the figure) comprising a second input (lower 31 in the figure) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (lower 321 in the figure) coupled to the frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 2; horizontal axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 2; vertical axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Huang with the first arm segment as taught by Xiong, to provide a connecting rod transmission, the structure has strong rigidity; the wrist parallel structure compared with the traditional serial structure, reduces the transmission error accumulation, which effectively overcomes the deviation problem of the initial position of the wrist in tendon in transmission mode (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first actuator (Xiong, upper 21) and the second actuator (Xiong, lower 21) are disposed within a common housing (Xiong, 2), and wherein the frame (Xiong, annotated Fig. 2 below, A) is attached to the common housing (Xiong, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: an attachment interface (Xiong, interface of 1) for an end effector (Xiong, 1) coupled to the second output (Xiong, lower 321) and an attachment interface (Xiong, flange of 2) for an arm segment (Huang, A-D) coupled to the common housing (Xiong, 2).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: a compound motion plate (Xiong, 41, 42) coupled to the frame (Xiong, A) such that the compound motion plate is rotatable with the first output (Xiong, upper 321) about the first axis (Xiong, horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses a robot (see Fig. 18; 100) comprising: a robot torso (120); a robotic arm (see annotated Fig. 18 below; A, B, C, D) coupled to the robot torso, the robotic arm comprising a robotic wrist (see annotated Fig. 18 below; E). Huang fails to disclose the robotic wrist comprises: a wrist frame; a first actuator having a first actuator output; a second actuator having a second actuator output; a first mechanical linkage comprising a first input coupled to the first actuator output and a first output coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage comprising a second input coupled to the second actuator output and a second output coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output. However, Xiong teaches the robotic wrist (see Fig. 1) comprising: a wrist frame (see annotated Fig. 2 below; A); a first actuator (upper 21 in the figure) having a first actuator output (output shaft of upper 21); a second actuator (lower 21 in the figure) having a second actuator output (output shaft of lower 21); a first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1; upper 3 in the figure) comprising a first input (upper 31 in the figure) coupled to the first actuator output and a first output (upper 321 in the figure) coupled to the wrist frame; a second mechanical linkage (lower 3 in the figure) comprising a second input (lower 31 in the figure) coupled to the second actuator output and a second output (lower 321 in the figure) coupled to the wrist frame; wherein a rotational position of the first output about a first axis (see Fig. 2; horizontal axis) is responsive to a position of the first actuator output; and wherein a rotational position of the second output about a second axis (see Fig. 2; vertical axis) that is transverse to the first axis is responsive to a difference between a position of the first actuator output and a position of the second actuator output (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Huang with the robotic wrist as taught by Xiong, to provide a connecting rod transmission, the structure has strong rigidity; the wrist parallel structure compared with the traditional serial structure, reduces the transmission error accumulation, which effectively overcomes the deviation problem of the initial position of the wrist in tendon in transmission mode (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second output (Xiong, lower 321) comprises an attachment interface (Xiong, interface of 1) for the end effector (Xiong, 1), and further comprising an end effector (Xiong, 1) coupled to the robotic wrist at the attachment interface (Xiong, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first actuator (Xiong, upper 21) and the second actuator (Xiong, lower 21) are disposed within a common housing (Xiong, 2), and wherein the wrist frame (Xiong, A) is attached to the common housing (Xiong, Fig. 2).
Claim 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20210199183 A1) in view of Xiong (CN 109048988 A) and Bsili.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first actuator output (Xiong, upper 31) defines a third axis (Xiong, axis of upper 31), wherein the second actuator output (Xiong, lower 31) defines a fourth axis (Xiong, axis of lower 31), wherein the compound motion plate (Xiong, 41, 42) defines the first axis (Xiong, horizontal axis). Huang in view of Xiong fail to disclose the first actuator, the second actuator, and the compound motion plate are oriented such that the third axis, the fourth axis, and the first axis are parallel. However, Bsili teaches the first actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; C), the second actuator (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; E), and the compound motion plate (Bsili, annotated Fig. 12, J) are oriented such that the third axis (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; output axis of C), the fourth axis (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11; output axis of E), and the first axis (Bsili, Fig. 12, Y axis) are parallel (Bsili, Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Huang in view of Xiong with the first, third and fourth axes being parallel, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract). Additionally, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts, which does not modify the operation of the device, is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this instance, modifying Xiong to have a first, third and fourth axes which are parallel would not change the principle operation of the wrist, i.e., the wrist would still rotate on both the horizontal axis and the vertical axis and is therefore considered an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of claim 10 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, upper 3 in the figure) comprises a first four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the upper motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2K), and the second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, lower 3 in the figure) comprises a second four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the lower motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2J). Huang in view of Xiong fail to disclose the second four-bar linkage coupled to a spherical linkage, wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input, and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output. However, Bsili teaches the second four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure) coupled to a spherical linkage (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, M), wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, H), and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Xiong with a spherical linkage, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of claim 16 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, upper 3 in the figure) comprises a first four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the upper motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2K), and the second mechanical linkage (see Fig. 1, lower 3 in the figure) comprises a second four-bar linkage (31, 34, 1 and the elements between the vertical axis and the rotation shaft of the lower motor 21; note that the four-bar linkage disclosed by Xiong is substantially similar to the four-bar linkage disclosed by Applicant in Fig. 2J). Huang in view of Xiong fail to disclose the second four-bar linkage coupled to a spherical linkage, wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input, and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output. However, Bsili teaches the second four-bar linkage (Bsili, Fig. 11, right side four-bars linkage in the figure) coupled to a spherical linkage (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, M), wherein the second four-bar linkage comprises the second input (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, H), and wherein the spherical linkage comprises the second output (Bsili, annotated Fig. 11, I). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Xiong with a spherical linkage, as taught by Bsili, to relocate the distal masses closer to the robot’s base which increases the overall payload, and to obtain an almost uniform and large range of motion of both axes (see Abstract).
1 - Bsili Fig. 11 Annotated
2 - Bsili Fig. 12 Annotated
3 - Huang (US 20210199183 A1) Fig. 18 Annotated
4 - Xiong (CN 109048988 A) Fig. 2 Annotated
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 20170189257 A1 discloses a spherical link robot joint.
US 20240131686 A1 discloses a spherical link robot joint.
US 20090071282 A1 discloses two four-bar linkage robot joint.
US 20220111511 A1 discloses a robot wrist joint.
US 20230364808 A1 discloses a robot joint with spherical links.
US 20030101838 A1 discloses a robot wrist joint.
US 6658962 B1 discloses a wrist joint with spherical links.
US 6116844 A discloses actuated joints.
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618