DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liou et al. (US PG. Pub. 2016/0196986).
Regarding claim 1 – Liou teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 2, 200), comprising: a first wiring board (202 [paragraph 0030] Liou states, “printed circuit board 202”) and a second wiring board (204 and also fig. 1, 100 [paragraph 0029] Liou states, “the package substrate 204 is the package substrate 100 illustrated in FIG. 1”) bonded (bonded through solder balls 220) to the first wiring board (202), a semiconductor element (206 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “integrated circuit 206”) being resin-sealed (208 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “encapsulation layer 208 includes an epoxy resin”) on a first surface (top surface) of the second wiring board (204) opposite to a surface (bottom surface) for bonding with the first wiring board (202), wherein a tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of an insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106 & fig. 2, 212) used for the second wiring board (fig. 1, 100 & fig. 2, 204) and a width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of a Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface give a value less than 0.5 when substituted in Formula 1 below; [Formula 1] 1/(1+Exp(-A)) ... (1) A = -15.45 - 0.1654 x Tensile strength + 11.31 x log (Cu pattern width), wherein the tensile strength is from 135 MPa to 170 MPa (In the instant application Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength 135 MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width being 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the less than .5 range of the formula above and would reasonably be considered to have the same properties, i.e. no cracking).
Regarding claim 2 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 1, wherein the tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of the insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106) used for the second wiring board (100 & fig. 2, 204) and the width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of the Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface (top surface of second wiring board 100 & fig. 2, 204) give a value of 0.1 or less when substituted in the Formula 1 (Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength of 135MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the 0.1 or less range of the formula above).
Regarding claim 3 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 1, where in the second wiring board (figs. 1 & 2, 100 & 204) is a multilayer wiring board (figures 1 and 2 show a multilayer wiring board comprised of layers 106, 112 & 108 of figure 1 and 212, 210 & 214 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 8 – Liou teaches a method of designing a wiring board unit (fig. 2, 200) including a first wiring board (202 [paragraph 0030] Liou states, “printed circuit board 202”) and a second wiring board (204 and also fig. 1, 100 [paragraph 0029] Liou states, “the package substrate 204 is the package substrate 100 illustrated in FIG. 1”) bonded (bonded through solder balls 220) to the first wiring board (202), a semiconductor element (206 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “integrated circuit 206”) being resin-sealed (208 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “encapsulation layer 208 includes an epoxy resin”) on a first surface (top surface) of the second wiring board (204) opposite to a surface (bottom surface) for bonding with the first wiring board (202), the method including setting a tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of an insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106 & fig. 2, 212) used for the second wiring board (fig. 1, 100 & fig. 2, 204) and a width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of a Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface (top surface of second wiring board 204) so that a value less than 0.5 is obtained when substituted in Formula 1 below; [Formula 1] 1/(1+Exp(-A)) ... (1) A = -15.45 - 0.1654 x Tensile strength + 11.31 x log (Cu pattern width), wherein the tensile strength is from 135 MPa to 170 MPa (In the instant application Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength 135 MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width being 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the less than .5 range of the formula above and would reasonably be considered to have the same properties, i.e. no cracking).
Regarding claim 9 – Liou teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 2, 200), comprising: a first wiring board (202 [paragraph 0030] Liou states, “printed circuit board 202”) and a second wiring board (204 and also fig. 1, 100 [paragraph 0029] Liou states, “the package substrate 204 is the package substrate 100 illustrated in FIG. 1”) bonded (bonded through solder balls 220) to the first wiring board (202), a semiconductor element (206 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “integrated circuit 206”) being resin-sealed (208 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “encapsulation layer 208 includes an epoxy resin”) on a first surface (top surface) of the second wiring board (204) opposite to a surface (bottom surface) for bonding with the first wiring board (202), wherein a tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of an insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106 & fig. 2, 212) used for the second wiring board (fig. 1, 100 & fig. 2, 204) and a width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of a Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface give a value less than 0.5 when substituted in Formula 2 below; [Formula 2] 1/(1+Exp(-A)) ... (2) A = 0.227 - 0.1619 x Tensile strength + 6.648 x log (Cu pattern width), wherein the tensile strength is from 135 MPa to 170 MPa (In the instant application Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength 135 MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width being 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the less than .5 range of the formula above and would reasonably be considered to have the same properties, i.e. no cracking).
Regarding claim 10 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 9, wherein the tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of the insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106) used for the second wiring board (100 & fig. 2, 204) and the width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of the Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface (top surface of second wiring board 100 & fig. 2, 204) give a value of 0.1 or less when substituted in the Formula 2 (Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength of 135MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the 0.1 or less range of the formula above).
Regarding claim 11 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 9, where in the second wiring board (figs. 1 & 2, 100 & 204) is a multilayer wiring board (figures 1 and 2 show a multilayer wiring board comprised of layers 106, 112 & 108 of figure 1 and 212, 210 & 214 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 16 – Liou teaches a method of designing a wiring board unit (fig. 2, 200) including a first wiring board (202 [paragraph 0030] Liou states, “printed circuit board 202”) and a second wiring board (204 and also fig. 1, 100 [paragraph 0029] Liou states, “the package substrate 204 is the package substrate 100 illustrated in FIG. 1”) bonded (bonded through solder balls 220) to the first wiring board (202), a semiconductor element (206 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “integrated circuit 206”) being resin-sealed (208 [paragraph 0028] Liou states, “encapsulation layer 208 includes an epoxy resin”) on a first surface (top surface) of the second wiring board (204) opposite to a surface (bottom surface) for bonding with the first wiring board (202), the method including setting a tensile strength ([paragraph 0019] Liou states, “the first additional layer 106 or the second additional layer 108 has a tensile strength within a range of 50 MPa to 150 MPa”) of an insulating resin material (fig. 1, 106 & fig. 2, 212) used for the second wiring board (fig. 1, 100 & fig. 2, 204) and a width ([paragraph 0022] Liou states, “line widths of circuit patterns formed on surfaces of the layers of the package substrate 100 are within a range of 6 microns to 25 microns”) of a Cu pattern (fig. 2, 216 [paragraph 0030 & 0033] Liou states, “circuit features 216…the circuit features are formed from copper”) formed on the first surface (top surface of second wiring board 204) so that a value less than 0.5 is obtained when substituted in Formula 2 below; [Formula 2] 1/(1+Exp(-A)) ... (2) A = 0.227 - 0.1619 x Tensile strength + 6.648 x log (Cu pattern width), wherein the tensile strength is from 135 MPa to 170 MPa (In the instant application Applicant specifies value ranges of tensile strength 135 MPa-170MPa (as claimed) and CU pattern width being 20-2000um (defined in specification), Liou teaches values within these ranges as quoted above and will therefore meet the less than .5 range of the formula above and would reasonably be considered to have the same properties, i.e. no cracking).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou et al.
Regarding claim 4 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the multilayer wiring board is formed by SAP or a damascene process.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. “the multilayer wiring board”, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. “formed by SAP or a damascene process”. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 12 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the multilayer wiring board is formed by SAP or a damascene process.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. “the multilayer wiring board”, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. “formed by SAP or a damascene process”. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Claim(s) 5-7, 13-15 & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou et al. as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Shimizu et al. (US PG. Pub. 2018/0166372).
Regarding claim 5 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 6 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 7 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 4, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 13 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 9, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 14 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 15 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 17 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Regarding claim 18 – Liou teaches the wiring board unit of claim 10, but fails to teach wherein the insulating resin material of the second wiring board is a photosensitive insulating resin.
Shimizu teaches a wiring board unit (fig. 3, 100) wherein an insulating resin material (61, 63 & 65) of a second wiring board (12) is a photosensitive insulating resin ([paragraph 0045] Shimizu states, “A photosensitive insulative resin, the main component of which is a phenol-based resin, a polyimide-based resin, or the like, for example, may be used as the material of the insulating layers 61, 63, 65”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wiring board unit having a second wiring board with an insulating resin material as taught by Liou with the insulating resin material of the second wiring board being a photosensitive insulating resin as taught by Shimizu because photolithography allows for direct and precision patterning as well as high-density interconnects for miniaturization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847