Detailed Action
Claims 1-24 are pending for examination. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “low" and "highly correlated” in claims 4, 12, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “low" and "highly correlated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claims recite undefined standards for "low predictive power" and "highly correlated" .
Claim 5 recites “wherein determining the trained prediction model comprises”. It is unclear what the operation for determining the trained prediction model is. Claim 1 recites “training a prediction model” and “storing the trained prediction model”. It does not recite a step for “determining the trained prediction model”. Claims 13 and 21 recite similar limitations and are also rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-8 are directed to a method, claims 9-16 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable media, and claims 17-20 are directed to a system. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Regarding Claim 1:
2A Prong 1:
determining one or more default protected attribute values for the prediction model, (This step for determining default protected attribute values is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
determining an overlap profile between the protected attribute feature and a designated feature of the plurality of features, the overlap profile indicating a respective degree of overlap among the plurality of training observations between first selected values corresponding to the protected attribute feature and second selected values corresponding to the designated feature, (This step for determining an overlap profile is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation).)
determining based on the overlap profile that a designated one of the respective degrees of overlap indicates a positivity violation, and (This step for determining a positivity violation is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
identifying one or more value replacement rules for correcting the positivity violation by replacing a feature value; (This step for identifying value replacement rules is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
A method of training a prediction model comprising:
training a prediction model via a processor based on training data including a plurality of training observations (Training a model is understood as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)), a subset of the plurality of training observations each including (1) a respective target value, (2) a respective plurality of feature values corresponding with a plurality of features, and (3) a respective protected attribute value corresponding with a protected attribute feature selected from the group consisting of: race, ethnicity, sex, gender, national origin, religion, disability status, age, genetic information, marital status, and receipt of public assistance (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the training data- See MPEP 2106.05(h).), wherein training the prediction model includes:
storing the trained prediction model on a storage device (This step directed to storing information, is understood to be insignificant extra- solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).), wherein the trained prediction model is configured to determine a predicted target value for an inference observation including a plurality of inference data values corresponding with the plurality of features by: (1) replacing an inference data value of the plurality of inference data values with a replacement feature value based on the one or more value replacement rules, (2) replacing a protected attribute value with a default protected attribute value of the one or more default protected attribute values, and (3) applying the trained prediction model to the inference observation including the replacement feature value and the default protected attribute value. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely applying a trained prediction model as a tool to perform the abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)
The additional elements as disclosed above alone or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application as they are insignificant extra solution activity in combination of generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the disclosed abstract idea above.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
A method of training a prediction model comprising:
training a prediction model via a processor based on training data including a plurality of training observations (Training a model is understood as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)), a subset of the plurality of training observations each including (1) a respective target value, (2) a respective plurality of feature values corresponding with a plurality of features, and (3) a respective protected attribute value corresponding with a protected attribute feature selected from the group consisting of: race, ethnicity, sex, gender, national origin, religion, disability status, age, genetic information, marital status, and receipt of public assistance (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the training data- See MPEP 2106.05(h).), wherein training the prediction model includes:
storing the trained prediction model on a storage device (This step is directed to storing information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity as identified by the court (MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll)(IV))))), wherein the trained prediction model is configured to determine a predicted target value for an inference observation including a plurality of inference data values corresponding with the plurality of features by: (1) replacing an inference data value of the plurality of inference data values with a replacement feature value based on the one or more value replacement rules, (2) replacing a protected attribute value with a default protected attribute value of the one or more default protected attribute values, and (3) applying the trained prediction model to the inference observation including the replacement feature value and the default protected attribute value. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely applying a trained prediction model as a tool to perform the abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)
The additional elements as disclosed above in combination of the abstract idea
are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as they are
well, understood, routine and conventional activity as disclosed in combination
of generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the disclosed abstract idea above.
Regarding Claim 9: see the rejection of claim 1 above. Same rationale applies.
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim recites another additional element “One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method of training a prediction model, the method comprising:” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claim 17: see the rejection of claim 1 above. Same rationale applies.
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim recites another additional element “A computing system including a processor, memory, and a communication interface, the computing system configured to perform a method of training a prediction model comprising:” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 18
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the prediction model is a regression model that includes a plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the plurality of features, a designated one or more regression coefficients of the plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the protected attribute feature (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the prediction model - See MPEP 2106.05(h).), wherein applying the prediction model to the inference observation involves determining a constant term based on the default protected attribute value and the designated one or more regression coefficients. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely applying a prediction model as a tool to perform the abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 19
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the prediction model is a neural network that includes a plurality of neurons corresponding with the plurality of features, a designated neuron of the plurality of neurons corresponding with the protected attribute feature (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the prediction model - See MPEP 2106.05(h).), wherein applying the prediction model to the inference observation involves determining a constant value for the designated neuron based on the default protected attribute value. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely applying a prediction model as a tool to perform the abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 20
2A Prong 1:
the method further comprising: identifying one or more features of the plurality of features that lack a causal effect on the target values based on having low predictive power but being highly correlated with the protected attribute values (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).); and removing the one or more features from the plurality of features. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claims 5, 13, and 21
2A Prong 1:
wherein determining the trained prediction model comprises performing a backdoor adjustment to prevent one or more of the plurality of features from acting as a proxy for the protected attribute values. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claims 6, 14, and 22
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the predicted target value reflects a causal relationship between the plurality of inference data values and the predicted target value while excluding one or more correlations between the protected attribute feature and the predicted target value. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the predicted target value - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claims 7, 15, and 23
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the prediction model is selected from the group consisting of: a tree-based model, a neural network model, and a gradient boosting model. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the prediction model - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claims 8, 16, and 24
2A Prong 1:
wherein one or more of the respective protected attribute values are imputed based on a one or more of the feature values. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., judgment/evaluation).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-12, 15-17, 19-20, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bak et al. (US 11,354,297 B2) in view of Golding (US 2020/0302309 A1, hereinafter "Golding") and Himanshi et al. (US 2021/0334654 A1, hereinafter "Himanshi").
Regarding Claim 1
Bak discloses: A method of training a prediction model comprising:
training a prediction model via a processor based on training data including a plurality of training observations ([Para 0017 and Fig 1] describes refined cohort is used to train a machine learning algorithm.),
determining an overlap profile between the ([Col 2 lines 29-45, Col 13 lines 12-19, Fig 1, and Fig 3-5] describes overlapping features.)
determining based on the overlap profile that a designated one of the respective degrees of overlap indicates a positivity violation, ([Col 2 lines 29-45, Col 6 lines 6-39, and Fig 5-6] describes indicating a positive violation) and
identifying one or more value ([Col 3 lines 36-44, Col 10 lines 20-25, and Fig 5] describes refining and removing features values to correct positivity valuations.)
Bak does not explicitly disclose: training a prediction model via a processor based on training data including a plurality of training observations, a subset of the plurality of training observations each including (1) a respective target value, (2) a respective plurality of feature values corresponding with a plurality of features, and (3) a respective protected attribute value corresponding with a protected attribute feature selected from the group consisting of: race, ethnicity, sex, gender, national origin, religion, disability status, age, genetic information, marital status, and receipt of public assistance, wherein training the prediction model includes:
storing the trained prediction model on a storage device, wherein the trained prediction model is configured to determine a predicted target value for an inference observation including a plurality of inference data values corresponding with the plurality of features by: (1) replacing an inference data value of the plurality of inference data values with a replacement feature value based on the one or more value replacement rules, (2) replacing a protected attribute value with a default protected attribute value of the one or more default protected attribute values, and (3) applying the trained prediction model to the inference observation including the replacement feature value and the default protected attribute value.
However, Golding discloses in the same field of endeavor: training a prediction model via a processor based on training data including a plurality of training observations ([Para 0021, 0039, 0102 and Fig 1-3] describes training a machine learning algorithm.), a subset of the plurality of training observations each including (1) a respective target value ([Para 0073, 0076, 0090, 0101 and Fig 1-2] describes training data with labels.), (2) a respective plurality of feature values corresponding with a plurality of features ([Para 0039, 0006 and Fig 1-2] describe features with values.), and (3) a respective protected attribute value corresponding with a protected attribute feature selected from the group consisting of: race, ethnicity, sex, gender, national origin, religion, disability status, age, genetic information, marital status, and receipt of public assistance ([Para 0040, 0046, and 0081] describe data values which describe protected attributes (e.g. race).), wherein training the prediction model includes:
storing the trained prediction model on a storage device ([Para 0026-0027 and Fig 1-2] describes a machine learning system storing a trained prediction model), wherein the trained prediction model is configured to determine a predicted target value for an inference observation including a plurality of inference data values corresponding with the plurality of features by: (1) replacing an inference data value of the plurality of inference data values with a replacement feature value based on the one or more value replacement rules,([Para 0123, 0126 and Fig 11] describes transforming prediction data set represented by vector x into a transformed vector x and further describes assigns the corresponding features or markers of the vector to zero ( or any arbitrary constant ) for all values of x.) ([Para 0123-0126 and Fig 11] describes predicting using transformed features.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Deep AI System disclosed by Golding into the method of Bak to train and store the prediction model. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Deep AI System disclosed by Golding as all the references are in the field of machine learning. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to prevent causing predictions that are unfairly biased.
Bak in view of Golding does not explicitly disclose: determining one or more default protected attribute values for the prediction model,
(2) replacing a protected attribute value with a default protected attribute value of the one or more default protected attribute values,
However, Himanshi discloses in the same field of endeavor: determining one or more default protected attribute values for the prediction model, ([Para 0035, 0082, 0119, and Fig 7] describes protected age values replaced with predetermined values such as 35 (i.e. default protected attribute values).)
([Para 0035, 0082, 0119, and Fig 7] describes a replacement rule for replacing attributes vales of protected attributes. [Para 0029] describes attributes values as feature values.)
(2) replacing a protected attribute value with a default protected attribute value of the one or more default protected attribute values, ([Para 0035, 0082, 0119, and Fig 7] describes protected age values replaced with predetermined values such as 35 (i.e. default protected attribute values).) and (3) applying the trained prediction model to the inference observation including the replacement feature value and the default protected attribute value. ([Para 0035, 0082, 0119, and Fig 7] describes a set of modified records generated by replacing the attribute value of the protected attribute of each biased record of the set of biased records with a pre-determined unbiased value to further perform predictions.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of reducing bias disclosed by Himanshi into the method of Bak in view of Golding to perform replacement rules. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of reducing bias disclosed by Himansh as all the references are in the field of machine learning. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to develop a plurality of rules which check for biases and perform corrective actions to reduce bias.
Regarding Claim 9
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon for performing a method of training a prediction model ([Fig 1-2], Golding), the method comprising (Claim 9 is a non-transitory computer-readable media claim that corresponds to claim 1 and the rest of the limitations are rejected on the same ground)
Regarding Claim 17
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: A computing system including a processor, memory, and a communication interface, the computing system configured to perform a method of training a prediction model ([Fig 1-2], Golding) comprising: (Claim 17 is a system claim that corresponds to claim 1 and the rest of the limitations are rejected on the same ground)
Regarding Claim 3
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: The method recited in claim 1, wherein the prediction model is a neural network that includes a plurality of neurons corresponding with the plurality of features, a designated neuron of the plurality of neurons corresponding with the protected attribute feature, wherein applying the prediction model to the inference observation involves determining a constant value for the designated neuron based on the default protected attribute value. ([Para 0055, 0076, 0087, 0112], Golding describes a neural network.)
Regarding Claim 4
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: The method recited in claim 1, the method further comprising: identifying one or more features of the plurality of features that lack a causal effect on the target values based on having low predictive power but being highly correlated with the protected attribute values; and removing the one or more features from the plurality of features. ([Para 0007, 0028, 0101-0109, Fig 2-3, and Fig 10-11], Golding descries identifying and removing noncausal protected attribute proxies.)
Regarding Claim 7
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: The method recited in claim 1, wherein the prediction model is selected from the group consisting of: a tree-based model, a neural network model, and a gradient boosting model. ([Para 0055, 0076, 0087, 0112], Golding describes a neural network.)
Regarding Claim 8
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: The method recited in claim 1, wherein one or more of the respective protected attribute values are imputed based on a one or more of the feature values. ([Para 0035, 0082, 0119, and Fig 7] Himanshi describes a set of modified records generated by replacing the attribute value of the protected attribute of each biased record of the set of biased records with a pre-determined unbiased value to further perform predictions.)
Regarding Claim 11
(Claim 11 recites analogous limitations to claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 3.)
Regarding Claim 12
(Claim 12 recites analogous limitations to claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 4.)
Regarding Claim 15
(Claim 15 recites analogous limitations to claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 7.)
Regarding Claim 16
(Claim 16 recites analogous limitations to claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 8.)
Regarding Claim 19
(Claim 19 recites analogous limitations to claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 3.)
Regarding Claim 20
(Claim 20 recites analogous limitations to claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 4.)
Regarding Claim 23
(Claim 23 recites analogous limitations to claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 7.)
Regarding Claim 24
(Claim 24 recites analogous limitations to claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 8.)
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 10, 13-14, 18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bak in view of Golding, Himanshi, and Pope et al. ("Implementing Anti-Discrimination Policies in Statistical Profiling Models", hereinafter "Pope").
Regarding Claim 2
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi discloses: The method recited in claim 1,
Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi does not explicitly discloses: wherein the prediction model is a regression model that includes a plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the plurality of features, a designated one or more regression coefficients of the plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the protected attribute feature, wherein applying the prediction model to the inference observation involves determining a constant term based on the default protected attribute value and the designated one or more regression coefficients
However, Pope discloses in the same field of endeavor: wherein the prediction model is a regression model that includes a plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the plurality of features, a designated one or more regression coefficients of the plurality of regression coefficients corresponding with the protected attribute feature, wherein applying the prediction model to the inference observation involves determining a constant term based on the default protected attribute value and the designated one or more regression coefficients ([Page 210-216] discloses a regression model with coefficients)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Anti-Discrimination Policies disclosed by Pope into the method of Bak in view of Golding and Himanshi to perform a regression model. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Anti-Discrimination Policies disclosed by Pope as all the references are in the field of machine learning. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to give appropriate relative weight to different predictors in a model.
Regarding Claim 5
Bak in view of Golding, Himanshi, and Pope discloses: The method recited in claim 1, wherein determining the trained prediction model comprises performing a backdoor adjustment to prevent one or more of the plurality of features from acting as a proxy for the protected attribute values. ([Pages 207-212, and Page 221-223], Pope describes adjusting model estimation for protected characteristics during training and eliminate proxy effects.)
Regarding Claim 6
Bak in view of Golding, Himanshi, and Pope discloses: The method recited in claim 1, wherein the predicted target value reflects a causal relationship between the plurality of inference data values and the predicted target value while excluding one or more correlations between the protected attribute feature and the predicted target value. ([Pages 206-207, page 223 last para], Pope describes predictive models excluding characteristics (i.e. protected attribute) and (depending on the situation) age, gender, sexual orientation, etc.)
Regarding Claim 10
(Claim 10 recites analogous limitations to claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 2.)
Regarding Claim 13
(Claim 13 recites analogous limitations to claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 5.)
Regarding Claim 14
(Claim 14 recites analogous limitations to claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 6.)
Regarding Claim 18
(Claim 18 recites analogous limitations to claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 2.)
Regarding Claim 21
(Claim 21 recites analogous limitations to claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 5.)
Regarding Claim 22
(Claim 22 recites analogous limitations to claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same ground as claim 6.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Doan Huu (US 20230342659 A1) describes a bias detection model.
/TEWODROS E MENGISTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2127