Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2023/0390737 to Imai et al. (hereinafter “Imai”).
The examiner notes that the instant application has an effective filing date of 3/23/2023 and the reference to Imai has an effective filing date of 2/22/2022. The examiner, also, notes that Imai reference shares one of two assignees and some of the inventors of the instant application.
With respect to claims 1, 7-9, and 15-18, Imai discloses a formed adsorber for high performance canisters (Abstract) comprising:
activated carbon fiber, granular activated carbon, and a binder,
5 to 100 parts by weight ratio of activated carbon fiber and 0 to 95 parts by weights of granular activated carbon ([0148]-[0149]),
the ratio of the content of the binder in the formed adsorber to the content of the activated carbon in the formed adsorber may be 0.3 to 20 parts by weight of the binder to 100 parts by weight of the activated carbon ([0151]),
the formed adsorber having a total pore volume in the range of 0.5-1.20 cm3/g ([0077]), and
the formed adsorber having a mean pore diameter in the range of 0.5 to 2.5 nm ([0080] & [0081]).
Imai is silent with respect to the claimed total pore volume of the granulated activated carbon and total pore volume of the activated carbon fiber.
However, it is noted Imai discloses the formed adsorber having a total pore volume in the range of 0.5-1.20 cm3/g ([0077]). Imai further discloses that setting the total pore volume in the disclosed range would result in the formed adsorber having excellent adsorption-desorption performance for fuel vapor ([0078]). It is to be noted that the claimed range for the total pore volume for granular activated carbon and for activated carbon fiber overlap, 0.9-2.5 cm3/g and 0.5-1.20 cm3/g, respectively. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant claimed invention to select the size of the total pore volume for both the granulated activated carbon and the activated carbon to have a total pore volume in the range of 0.5-1.20 cm3/g which overlaps the claimed ranges. Overlapping ranges have bee held to be prima facie obvious.
With respect to claims 2-4 directed to properties of granular activated carbon, Imai discloses the formed adsorber having a mean pore diameter in the range of 0.5 to 2.5 nm ([0080] & [0081]) and a surface area in the range of 100 to 2500 m2/g ([0074] & [0075]). Although Imai is directed to the formed adsorber of mixed activated carbon (granular and fiber types), it is understood that the mean pore diameter and the surface area of each type of activated carbon would have the disclosed ranges. The disclosed ranges overlap with the claimed ranges and overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obvious.
With respect to claims 10-12 directed to effective adsorption-desorption ratio for n-butane, Imai discloses 75% or more ([0142] & [0143]).
With respect to claims 13-14 directed the binder being a fibrous binder, Imai discloses fibrous binders ([0150, lines 6-7]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Imai is deemed to be the closest prior art which discloses claimed formed adsorber comprising activated carbon fiber, granular activated carbon, and a binder. Imai further discloses using a mixture of different forms of activated carbon such as powdered activated carbon, granular activated carbon, and activated carbon fiber ([0149]). Imai discloses properties directed to total pore volume, mean pore diameter, and specific surface area of the final formed adsorber and not individually to granular activated carbon and activated carbon fiber. Therefore, it would not be obvious to one skilled in the art to arrive at claimed comparison of pore volume and mean pore diameter between the activated carbon fiber and the granular activated carbon as recited specifically in claim 5 and 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18, provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/618341 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each set of claims is directed to a formed adsorber having comprising activated carbon fiber, granular activated carbon, and a binder for canisters. Instant claims and the reference application have overlapping weight ratio of activated carbon fiber to granular activated carbon and overlapping weight ratio of binder to combined activated carbon fiber and granular activated fiber. The reference application’s claims 1 and 9 read on instant claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0198111 to Imai et al. discloses formed adsorber comprising activated carbon fiber and a binder for canisters.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772