DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/24/26 with respect to claims 1-3 and 10-11 have been considered but do not apply to the references used in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartmann (JP 2013539919A).
Regarding claim 1, Hartman discloses a semiconductor apparatus (Fig.3) comprising: an insulating substrate (24) including an insulating layer including a first main surface (top surface of 24) ,and a circuit pattern (26) disposed directly on the first main surface and including a first portion (see 48); and an electrode including a second portion (16) bonded to the first portion (48), wherein bonding between the first portion and the second portion is ultrasonic bonding ( part 34 is ultrasound bonded to 26), and one of the first portion and the second portion is fitted in the other of the first portion and the second portion ( 34 is fitted into 48:Fig.3).
Regarding claim 2, Hartman discloses wherein the first portion has a recess (48), and the second portion (34) is fitted in the recess.
Regarding claim 3, Hartman discloses, wherein in a planar view of the first main surface, a step of the recess extends in a direction perpendicular to a direction of ultrasonic vibration applied for the ultrasonic bonding ( step of 48 extends in top down direction and ultrasound is done in left right direction).
Regarding claim 11, Hartman discloses method of manufacturing a semiconductor apparatus, comprising: preparing an insulating substrate (11) and an electrode (16), the insulating substrate including an insulating layer and a circuit pattern (26) disposed directly on the insulating layer (24) and including a first portion (48), the electrode including a second portion (bottom of 16); fitting one of the first portion and the second portion into the other of the first portion and the second portion (see bottom of 16 fitted into 48); and ultrasonically bonding the first portion and the second portion (16 and 48 are ultrasound bonded).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yutaka et al. (JP 2014056917 A1) hereinafter Yutaka.
Regarding claim 4, Hartmann discloses the insulating layer includes a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (see bottom of 24 opposite to the top surface; Fig.3).
Hartmann is silent with respect to the insulating substrate includes a heat dissipation plate disposed on the second main surface.
Yutaka discloses the insulating substrate includes a heat dissipation plate disposed on the second main surface (see 6 disposed on bottom of surface of 51;Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Yutaka to modify the device of Hartmann in order to perform heat dissipation to prevent damage to the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847