DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitations, “the first ground terminal of the first raised post,” and, “the second ground terminal of the second raised post,” which lack antecedent basis because the raised posts have not been previously recited as including the ground terminals and these limitations do not establish that relationship. For examination purposes, the limitations will be interpreted as referencing the scope of claim 1, “the first ground terminal of the first platform,” and, “the second ground terminal of the second platform.”
Claim 12 rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1)(a2) as being unpatentable over Schweiger (US 2022/0149604 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches a compression limiter and ground block (CLB) assembly for a vehicle having a vehicle component, a ground structure, and multiple electrical wires, the CLB assembly comprising:
a central body (i.e. 10) formed with a substantially rigid and electrically conductive body material, the central body including a compression limiter slot (i.e. 20) configured to physically mount the vehicle component and electrically couple the electrical wires to the ground structure; a first platform (i.e. 30) projecting from a first side of the central body and formed with an electrically conductive first material, the first platform including a first ground terminal (i.e. 34) configured to electrically couple with a first ground wire of the electrical wires; and a second platform (i.e. 32) projecting from a second side of the central body and formed with an electrically conductive second material, the second platform including a second ground terminal (i.e. 36) configured to electrically couple with a second ground wire of the electrical wires.
Regarding claim 2: Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches the CLB assembly of claim 1, wherein the central body, the first platform, and the second platform are integrally formed as a single-piece CLB connector unit.
Regarding claim 9: Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches the CLB assembly of claim 2, wherein the central body includes a planar mounting base (i.e. that of 10) defining therethrough the compression limiter slot.
Regarding claim 14: Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches a method of manufacturing a compression limiter and ground block (CLB) assembly (i.e. 1) for a vehicle (i.e. vehicle of paragraph [0003]), the vehicle having a vehicle component (i.e. radio of paragraph [0003]), a ground structure (i.e. vehicle body of paragraph [0003]), and multiple electrical wires (i.e. cables of paragraph [0003]), the method comprising:
forming a central body (i.e. 10) with a substantially rigid and electrically conductive body material such that the central body includes a compression limiter slot (i.e. 20) configured to physically mount the vehicle component and electrically couple the electrical wires to the ground structure; forming a first platform (i.e. 30) with an electrically conductive first material such that the first platform projects from a first side of the central body and includes a first ground terminal (i.e. 34) configured to electrically couple with a first ground wire of the electrical wires; and forming a second platform (i.e. 32) with an electrically conductive second material such that second first platform projects from a second side of the central body and includes a second ground terminal (i.e. 36) configured to electrically couple with a second ground wire of the electrical wires.
Regarding claim 15: Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches the method of claim 14, wherein forming the central body, forming the first platform, and forming the second platform includes integrally forming the central body, the first platform, and the second platform as a single-piece CLB connector unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 10-12, and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweiger and Mathews (US 2019/0267728 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Schweiger teaches the CLB assembly of claim 2, but does not specifically teach wherein the central body includes an oblong ring defining therethrough the compression limiter slot.
However, Mathews (Figure 1) teaches wherein the central body (i.e. 46) includes an oblong ring (i.e. 42) defining therethrough the compression limiter slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compression limiter slot taught by Schweiger to be an oblong ring as taught by Mathews to accommodate the desired shape fastener.
Regarding claim 4: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 3, Schweiger teaches further comprising an electrically conductive fastener (i.e. screw or bolt of paragraph [0019]), wherein the fastener is configured to pass through a mounting structure of the vehicle component and mate with a complementary slot in the ground structure to thereby mount the vehicle component and electrically couple the electrical wires to the ground structure.
but does not specifically teach the electrically conductive fastener passing through without threadably mating with the compression limiter slot,
however, Mathews teaches an electrically conductive fastener (i.e. fastener of 12) passing through without threadably mating with the compression limiter slot,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly taught by Schweiger and Mathews to have an electrically conductive fastener passing through without threadably mating as taught by Mathews so as to make the desired type of connection between the vehicle component and the ground structure.
Regarding claim 5: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 3, Schweiger (Figure 1) further teaches wherein the first platform includes a first arcuate wing (i.e. 22) projecting transversely from the first side of the central body, and the second platform includes a second arcuate wing (i.e. 24) projecting transversely from the second side of the central body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side.
Regarding claim 6: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 5, Schweiger (Figure 1) further teaches wherein the single-piece CLB connector unit is a stamped metal plate, and wherein the body material of the central body, the first material of the first platform, and the second material of the second platform are a same metallic material.
Regarding claim 10: Schweiger teaches the CLB assembly of claim 9, but does not specifically teach wherein the first platform includes a first raised post projecting substantially orthogonally from the first side of the central body, and the second platform includes a second raised post projecting substantially orthogonally from the second side of the central body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side.
However, Mathews (Figure 1) teaches wherein the first platform (i.e. 44) includes a first raised post (i.e. 16) projecting substantially orthogonally from the first side of the central body,
Because Mathews teaches securing the wires via a fastener, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the CLB assembly taught by Schweiger to have a first raised post as taught by Mathews to allow securing of the cables in the desired manner. Furthmore, due to Schweiger’s symmetrical CLB assembly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the same modification on the second platform of Schweiger such that Schweiger and Mathews teach, in combination,
the second platform (i.e. 32 of Schweiger) includes a second raised post (i.e. a second 16 of Mathews) projecting substantially orthogonally from the second side of the central body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side.
Regarding claim 11: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 10, per the combination Schweiger and Mathews teach further comprising: an electrically conductive second threaded fastener (i.e. 18 of Mathews) threadably mating with a first fastener hole (i.e. 20 of Mathews) of the first ground terminal of the first raised post; and an electrically conductive third threaded fastener (i.e. duplicate of 18 of Mathews) threadably mating with a second fastener hole (i.e. duplicate of 20 of Mathews) of the second ground terminal of the second raised post.
Furthermore, Mathews further teaches an electrically conductive first threaded fastener (i.e. fastener of 12) passing through without threadably mating with the compression limiter slot (i.e. 42);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the CLB assembly taught by Schweiger and Mathews with the electrically conductive first threaded fastener passing through without threadably mating with the compression limiter slot as taught by Mathews so as to connect the fastener in the desired manner.
Regarding claim 12: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 11, wherein the body material of the central body, the first material of the first platform, and the second material of the second platform are a same metallic material,
but do not specifically teach wherein the single-piece CLB connector unit is a cast metal structure,
However, cast metal is a known material in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a suitable material to form the single-piece CLB connector unit with.
See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 16: Schweiger teaches the method of claim 15, but does not specifically teach wherein the central body includes an oblong ring defining therethrough the compression limiter slot.
However, Mathews (Figure 1) teaches wherein the central body (i.e. 46) includes an oblong ring (i.e. 42) defining therethrough the compression limiter slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Schweiger to include an oblong ring as taught by Mathews to accommodate the desired shape vehicle component.
Regarding claim 17: Schweiger and Mathews teach the method of claim 16, Schweiger (Figure 1) further teaches wherein the first platform includes a first arcuate wing (i.e. 22) projecting transversely from the first side of the central body, and the second platform includes a second arcuate wing (i.e. 24) projecting transversely from the second side of the central body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side.
Claims 7-8, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweiger, Mathews, and Baydoun (US 2024/0421514 A1).
Regarding claim 7: Schweiger and Mathews teach the CLB assembly of claim 5, but do not specifically teach further comprising: a first threaded fastener mating with a first fastener hole of the first ground terminal to thereby electrically couple the first ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit; and a second threaded fastener mating with a second fastener hole of the second ground terminal to thereby electrically couple the second ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit.
however, Baydoun (Figure 2) teaches a first threaded fastener (i.e. 28) mating with a first fastener hole (i.e. hole of 45) of the first ground terminal (i.e. ground of 45) to thereby electrically couple the first ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit (i.e. 45); and a second threaded fastener (i.e. second 28) mating with a second fastener hole (i.e. a second hole of 45) of the second ground terminal (i.e. ground of 45) to thereby electrically couple the second ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit.
Because Baydoun teaches a crimp-type terminal terminating in an eyelet configured to ground a crimped wire to a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second ground terminals of the CLB assembly taught by Schweiger in view of Mathews to accommodate such a terminal as taught by Baydoun so as to ground the desired terminal type securely.
Regarding claim 8: Schweiger, Mathews, and Baydoun teach the CLB assembly of claim 7, Baydoun (Figure 3) teaches further comprising: a first crimp-type terminal connector (i.e. 46) connected via the first threaded fastener to the first ground terminal and configured to crimp thereto the first ground wire; and a second crimp-type terminal connector (i.e. a second 46) connected via the second threaded fastener to the second ground terminal and configured to crimp thereto the second ground wire.
Regarding claim 18: Schweiger and Mathews teach the method of claim 17, but do not specifically teach further comprising: mating a first threaded fastener with a first fastener hole of the first ground terminal to thereby electrically couple the first ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit; and mating a second threaded fastener with a second fastener hole of the second ground terminal to thereby electrically couple the second ground wire to the single-piece CLB connector unit.
however, Baydoun (Figure 2) teaches mating a first threaded fastener (i.e. 28) with a first fastener hole (i.e. hole of 45) of the first ground terminal (i.e. ground of 45) to thereby electrically couple the first ground wire (i.e. wire of 60) to the single-piece CLB connector unit (i.e. 45); and mating a second threaded fastener (i.e. second 28) with a second fastener hole (i.e. a second hole of 45) of the second ground terminal (i.e. ground of 45) to thereby electrically couple the second ground wire (i.e. second wire of 60) to the single-piece CLB connector unit.
Because Baydoun teaches a crimp-type terminal terminating in an eyelet configured to ground a crimped wire to a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Schweiger in view of Mathews to include the first and second ground terminals of the CLB assembly accommodating such terminals as taught by Baydoun so as to ground the desired terminal type securely.
Regarding claim 19: Schweiger, Mathews, and Baydoun teach the method of claim 18, Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches further comprising: passing an electrically conductive threaded fastener (i.e. screw or bolt of paragraph [0019]) through the compression limiter slot; passing the electrically conductive threaded fastener through a mounting structure (i.e. structure which mounts the radio of paragraph [0003]) of the vehicle component; threadably mating the electrically conductive threaded fastener with a threaded slot in the ground structure to thereby mount the vehicle component and electrically couple the electrical wires to the ground structure (i.e. as understood from paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 20: Schweiger, Mathews, and Baydoun teach the method of claim 18, Baydoun (Figure 2) teaches further comprising: crimping a first crimp-type terminal connector (i.e. 46) to the first ground wire; connecting the first crimp-type terminal connector to the first ground terminal via the first threaded fastener; crimping a second crimp-type terminal connector (i.e. a second 46) to the second ground wire; and connecting the second crimp-type terminal connector to the second ground terminal via the second threaded fastener.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant admitted prior art (“AAPA”, see Introduction of the instant specification), Crane (US 2022/0224043 A1), Schweiger (US 2022/0149604 A1), and Cadillac (Cadillac V-Series.R, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cadillac_V-Series.R).
Regarding claim 13: AAPA (Paragraph [0002]) teaches a motor vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body (i.e. line 4) with an internal vehicle chassis (i.e. line 14), the vehicle body and/or the internal vehicle chassis defining a ground structure (i.e. lines 13-14); a vehicle electrical system (i.e. line 14) including a wire channel (i.e. supporting “one or more conductive wires of the vehicle’s electrical system,” in lines 13-14),
But does not specifically teach,
a plurality of road wheels attached to the vehicle body; a prime mover attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the motor vehicle;
a channel leg with a mounting platform projecting from the wire channel, and multiple electrical wires with first and second ground wires routed through the wire channel; and
a compression limiter and ground block (CLB) assembly, including: a plurality of electrically conductive fasteners including first, second and third fasteners; a central body mounted onto the mounting platform of the channel leg, the central body including a compression limiter slot receiving therethrough the first fastener and thereby physically mounting the channel leg to the ground structure and electrically coupling the first and second ground wires to the ground structure; a first platform projecting from a first side of the central body and including a first ground terminal with a first fastener hole receiving the second fastener and thereby electrically coupling with the first ground wire; and a second platform projecting from a second side of the central body and including a second ground terminal with a second fastener hole receiving the third fastener and thereby electrically coupling with the second ground wire, wherein the central body, the first platform, and the second platform are integrally formed as a single-piece CLB connector unit from a substantially rigid and electrically conductive metallic material.
However, Crane (Figure 5) teaches a channel leg (i.e. 20) with a mounting platform (i.e. 24) projecting from the wire channel (i.e. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the vehicle taught by AAPA to have a channel leg as taught by Crane so as to provide at least a structural conduit between the wire channel and ground structure.
Furthermore, Schweiger (Figure 1) teaches multiple electrical wires (i.e. accepted by 30 and 32) with first and second ground wires routed through the wire channel (i.e. leading to 30 and 32 from elsewhere); and a compression limiter and ground block (CLB) assembly (i.e. 1), including: a plurality of electrically conductive fasteners including first (i.e. screw or bolt of paragraph [0019]), second (i.e. 37) and third fasteners (i.e. 37); a central body (i.e. 10), the central body including a compression limiter slot (i.e. 20) receiving therethrough the first fastener and electrically coupling the first and second ground wires to the ground structure; a first platform (i.e. 30) projecting from a first side of the central body and including a first ground terminal (i.e. 34) with a first fastener hole (i.e. 38) receiving the second fastener and thereby electrically coupling with the first ground wire; and a second platform (i.e. 32) projecting from a second side of the central body and including a second ground terminal (i.e. 36) with a second fastener hole (i.e. 38) receiving the third fastener and thereby electrically coupling with the second ground wire, wherein the central body, the first platform, and the second platform are integrally formed as a single-piece CLB connector unit from a substantially rigid and electrically conductive metallic material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the vehicle taught by AAPA and Crane to have the CLB assembly as taught by Schweiger to provide a structure to route ground wires to.
Now, per the combination of AAPA and Crane and Schweiger, the central body (i.e. 10 of Schweiger) is mounted onto the mounting platform (i.e. 20 of Schweiger screwed/bolted to 24 of Crane) of the channel leg, thereby physically mounting the channel leg to the ground structure.
Lastly, Cadillac (See background and 2023 sections) teaches a plurality of road wheels (i.e. wheels of the Cadillac) attached to the vehicle body (i.e. Dallara body); a prime mover (i.e. V8 engine) attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more (i.e. rear wheel drive) of the road wheels to thereby propel the motor vehicle;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the vehicle taught by AAPA, Crane, and Schweiger to have a plurality of road wheels driven by a prime mover as taught by Cadillac so as provide a vehicle capable of driving.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Weaver (US 2023/0124123 A1),
Simonazzi (US 2021/0281089 A1),
Tang (US 10116068 B1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834