Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 10, 17, and 26, the invention now requires “zone is capable of being controlled”. Consequently, the claimed invention is not supported by the specification as originally filed. This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 32-35 recites the phrase “the stored lighting intensity”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-21, 23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zolotykh et al. US20190034043 in view of Poloman et al. US20210235567.
With respect to independent claims 1, 17, and 26, Zolotykh et al. discloses a method comprising [Fig. 2]: defining a scene for at least two zones in an area of a building 30, wherein each zone of the at least two zones comprises at least one lighting control device configured to control a corresponding at least one lighting load in the area of the building [paragraphs 36 and 38]; displaying a color interface for each zone of the at least two zones for being controlled in the scene on a graphical user interface 25 [paragraph 26], wherein the graphical user interface comprises a first control interface comprising a first palette for respective first zone 30 of the at least two zones [paragraphs 36-38 and Fig. 5], wherein the first palette identifies a color setting for controlling the at lest one lighting load for the respective first zone for which the first palette is being displayed, wherein the first palette is configured to display different color control configurations in response to an actuation from a user, wherein the different color control configurations comprise a first color control configuration of colors at different color temperatures 10c at which the at least one lighting load of the respective first zone is being controlled [paragraphs 30 and 34-36] and a second color control configuration 15a comprising a full color gamut of colors at which the at least one lighting load of the respective first zone is being controlled [paragraphs 25-27 and 42], wherein the graphical user interface 25 comprises a second control interface comprising a second palette for a respective second zone 31, 30 of the at least two zones [paragraphs 36-38], wherein the second palette identifies a color setting for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective second zone for which the second palette is being displayed, wherein the second palette comprises colors at different color temperatures at which the at least one lighting load of the respective second zone is being controlled [paragraphs 30 and 34-36] or a full color gamut of colors at which the at least one lighting load of the respective second zone is capable of being controlled [paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; receiving, via the graphical user interface, a selection of the color setting on the first palette for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective first zone for which the first palette is displayed paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; receiving, via the graphical user interface, a selection of the color setting on the second palette for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective second zone for which the second palette is displayed [paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; storing the respective selected color setting for each respective zone of the at least two zones as a configuration for the scene [paragraph 75+]; and sending the configuration for the scene to at least one device for enabling control of each zone of the at least two zones in response to a triggering event configured to trigger the control for the scene [paragraph 68].
Zolotykh et al. fails to explicitly teach capable of being controlled.
Poloman et al. teaches user controls different types of lighting devices with different capabilities (i.e. capable of being controlled) [paragraphs 6-7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Poloman et al. into the method/device of Zolotykh et al. to achieve a desired lighting scene/effect thus improving the overall output as taught by Zolotykh et al. [paragraph 6].
With respect to claims 2, 18, and 27, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the control interface for each zone of the at least two zones is displayed based on the functionality of the at least one lighting control device comprised in the respective zone [paragraphs 17 and 24].
With respect to claims 3, 19, and 28, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the first palette is configured to display colors at different color temperatures 10c, and wherein the second palette is configured to display a full color gamut of colors 15a [paragraph 16].
With respect to claims 4 and 20, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the graphical user interface comprises a master color control configured to collectively control a color for each zone 31, 30 of the at least two zones [Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36-37].
With respect to claims 5, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the graphical user interface comprises a master intensity control configured to collectively control a lighting intensity 10b for each zone of the at least two zones [paragraphs 36-37].
With respect to claims 7 and 23, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses comprising: storing a respective lighting intensity for each respective zone of the at least two zones in a configuration for the scene [paragraph 75]; receiving an indication to provide real-time feedback at the at least one at least one lighting control device comprised in each of the at least two zones [paragraph 3]; and controlling the at least one at least one lighting control device comprised in each of the at least two zones according to the lighting intensity and the selected color settings for the scene in real time [paragraphs 3 and 16].
With respect to claims 8, 21, and 30, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses comprising receiving the triggering event to trigger the scene [paragraphs 36 and 38]; and
controlling the at least two zones in the area of the building according to a respective lighting intensity and the color setting in response to the triggering event [paragraph 16].
With respect to independent claim 10, Zolotykh et al. discloses a system comprising: a first device configured to establish a configuration for a scene configured to control each zone of at least two zones [paragraphs 36 and 38]; and a second device configured to receive the configuration for the scene from the first device and control each zone of the at least two zones in accordance with the configuration [paragraphs 4 and 69], wherein the first device is configured to: define the scene 30 for controlling each zone of the at least two zones, wherein each zone of the at least two zones comprises at least one lighting control device configured to control a corresponding at least one lighting load in an area of a building [paragraph 36 and 38]; display, on a display scene, a control interface for each zone of the at least two zones in the scene on a graphical user interface 25 [paragraph 26], wherein the graphical user interface display, on a display screen, a control interface for each zone of the at least two zones in the scene on a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a first control interface comprising a first palette for a respective first zone of the at least two zones, wherein the first palette identifies a color setting for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective first zone for which the first palette is being displayed, wherein the first palette is configured to display different color control configurations in response to an actuation from a user, wherein the different color control configurations [paragraphs 36-38 and Fig. 5] comprise a first color control configuration of colors at different color temperatures at which the at least one lighting load of the respective first zone is being controlled [paragraphs 30 and 34-36] and a second color control configuration comprising a full color gamut of colors at which the at least one lighting load of the respective first zone is being controlled [paragraphs 25-27 and 42] wherein the graphical user interface comprises a second control interface comprising a second palette for a respective second zone of the at least two zones [paragraphs 36-38], wherein the second palette identifies a color setting for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective second zone for which the second palette is being displayed, wherein the second palette comprises colors at different color temperatures at which the at least one lighting load of the respective second zone is being controlled [paragraphs 30 and 34-36] or a full color gamut of colors at which the at least one lighting load of the respective second zone is being controlled [paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; receive, via the graphical user interface, a selection of the color setting on the first palette for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective first zone for which the first palette is displayed [paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; receive, via the graphical user interface, a selection of the color setting on the second palette for controlling the at least one lighting load for the respective second zone for which the second palette is displayed [paragraphs 25-27 and 42]; store the respective selected color setting for each respective zone of the at least two zones as the configuration for the scene [paragraphs 75+]; and send the configuration for the scene to the second device; and wherein the second device is further configured to: store the selected color setting for each zone of the at least two zones in the configuration for the scene; receive a triggering event to trigger the scene [paragraphs 36 and 38]; and control each zone of the at least two zones in the area of the building according to the selected color setting in the configuration for the zone in response to the triggering event [paragraph 68].
Zolotykh et al. fails to explicitly teach capable of being controlled.
Poloman et al. teaches user controls different types of lighting devices with different capabilities (i.e. capable of being controlled) [paragraphs 6-7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Poloman et al. into the system of Zolotykh et al. to achieve a desired lighting scene/effect thus improving the overall output as taught by Zolotykh et al. [paragraph 6].
With respect to claim 11, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the first device is configured to display the control interface for each zone of the at least two zones based on the functionality of the at least one lighting control device comprised in the respective zone [paragraphs 17 and 24].
With respect to claim 12, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the first palette is configured to display colors at different color temperatures 10c, and wherein the second palette is configured to display a full color gamut of colors 15a [paragraph 16].
With respect to claim 13, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the graphical user interface comprises a master intensity control configured to collectively control a lighting intensity for each zone 31, 30 of the at least two zones [Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36-37].
With respect to claim 15, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the first device is configured to: store a respective lighting intensity for each respective zone of the at least two zones in a configuration for the scene [paragraph 75]; receive an indication to provide real-time feedback at the at least one at least one lighting control device comprised in each of the at least two zones [paragraph 3]; and send the indication to the second device [paragraphs 4 and 69]; and wherein the second device is configured to: control the at least one at least one lighting control device comprised in each of the at least two zones according to the lighting intensity and the selected color settings in the scene in real time based on the indication [paragraphs 3 and 16].
With respect to claim 29, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the graphical user interface comprises a master intensity control configured to collectively control a lighting intensity 10b for each zone of the at least two zones [paragraphs 36-37].
Claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zolotykh et al. US20190034043 and Poloman et al. US20210235567 as applied to claims 1, 10, 17, and 26 above, and further in view of Sooch et al. US20180077766.
With respect to claim 32, 34, 35, and 36, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses the method/device of claims 1, 17, and 26, respectively. Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses
displaying a lighting intensity 10b for each zone of the at least two zones for being controlled in the scene on a graphical user interface [paragraphs 36-37]; storing a respective intensity for each respective zone of the at least two zones [paragraph 75]; and receiving an indication to provide real-time feedback of the at least two zones [paragraph 3]. Zolotykh et al. fails to teach determining that the respective lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone are different; and receiving an indication of a relative change in the lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone, wherein the stored lighting intensity comprises the lighting intensity for the at least two zones after the indication of the relative change in the lighting intensities has been received.
Sooch et al. teaches determining that the respective lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone are different [paragraphs 7 and 9-12]; and receiving an indication of a relative change in the lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone [paragraphs 15, 17, and 21], wherein the stored lighting intensity comprises the lighting intensity for the at least two zones after the indication of the relative change in the lighting intensities has been received [paragraphs 27-30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Sooch et al. into the method/device of Zolotykh et al. to improve lighting effect/scene as taught by Sooch et al..
With respect to claim 33, Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses the system of claim 10. Zolotykh et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the first device is configured to: display a lighting intensity 10b for each zone of the at least two zones in the scene on a graphical user interface [paragraphs 36-37]; storing a respective intensity for each respective zone of the at least two zones [paragraph 75]; and receiving an indication to provide real-time feedback of the at least two zones [paragraph 3]. Zolotykh et al. fails to teach determine that the lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone are different; and receive an indication of a relative change in the lighting intensity for the first zone and the second zone, wherein the stored lighting intensity comprises the lighting intensity for the at least two zones after the indication of the relative change in the lighting intensities has been received.
Sooch et al. teaches determining that the respective lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone are different [paragraphs 7 and 9-12]; and receiving an indication of a relative change in the lighting intensities for the first zone and the second zone [paragraphs 15, 17, and 21], wherein the stored lighting intensity comprises the lighting intensity for the at least two zones after the indication of the relative change in the lighting intensities has been received [paragraphs 27-30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Sooch et al. into the system of Zolotykh et al. to improve lighting effect/scene as taught by Sooch et al..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-21, 23, 26-30, and 32-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sooch et al. US20180075714 shows a global keypad
Dimberg et al. US20190005809 shows a control device for controlling an electrical load
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845