CTNF 18/610,723 CTNF 70344 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, 11-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ishii (U.S. Patent No. 5,851,298) . Regarding claim 1, Ishii ‘298 discloses a substrate support (Abstract, FIGS. 2A or 9A of Ishii ‘298, susceptor structure #36 for supporting a semiconductor wafer) comprising: a base made of a conductive material (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, susceptor structure includes a base made of alumina; alumina necessarily has some degree of conductivity; FIG. 9A of Ishii ‘298, susceptor structure includes a base made of copper); an electrostatic chuck disposed on the base (FIGS. 2A or 9A of Ishii ‘298, electrostatic chuck includes electrode #14 embedded in AlN layer #6), the electrostatic chuck being made of a ceramic material (FIGS. 2A and 9A of Ishii ‘298, electrode #14 embedded in AlN ceramic material to form the electrostatic chuck; AlN is a ceramic material); and a boundary layer disposed between the base and the electrostatic chuck (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44; FIG. 9A of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72), the boundary layer including a mixture composition of the conductive material and the ceramic material (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 includes a mixture of alumina and AlN; FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 ceramic), wherein a composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition changes from the base toward the electrostatic chuck in the boundary layer (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 includes a linearly transited mixture of alumina and AlN wherein composition ration of AlN is higher toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side; FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes linearly transited mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 wherein composition ration of Al 2 O 3 is higher toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side). Regarding claim 2, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition gradually decreases from the base toward the electrostatic chuck (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 includes a linearly transited mixture of alumina and AlN wherein composition ration of AlN is higher toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side; FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes linearly transited mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 wherein composition ration of Cu diminishes toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side). Regarding claim 3, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition linearly decreases from the base toward the electrostatic chuck (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 includes a linearly transited mixture of alumina and AlN wherein composition ration of alumina diminishes toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side; FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes linearly transited mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 wherein composition ration of Cu diminishes toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side). Regarding claim 4, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition decreases from the base toward the electrostatic chuck in a stepwise manner (8:8-12 of Ishii ‘298, composition ratio may be stepwise transited). Regarding claim 5, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition decreases from 100% to 0% toward the electrostatic chuck (FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes linearly transited mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 wherein composition ration of Cu diminishes from 100% to 0% toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side). Regarding claim 6, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the conductive material to the ceramic material in the mixture composition decreases from 100% to 0% toward the electrostatic chuck (FIG. 9B, 9:1-5 of Ishii ‘298, fourth layer #72 includes linearly transited mixture of Cu and Al 2 O 3 wherein composition ration of Cu diminishes from 100% to 0% toward the upper or electrostatic chuck side). Regarding claim 11, Ishii ‘298 discloses an assembly part used in a plasma processing apparatus (Abstract, FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, susceptor structure #36 for supporting a semiconductor wafer; 5:9-10 of Ishii ‘298, susceptor used in ECR plasma CVD equipment), the part comprising: a first member made of a first material (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, first layer #40 made of AlN); a second member made of a second material (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, third layer #42 made of Al 2 O 3 ); and a boundary layer disposed between the first member and the second member (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44), the boundary layer including a mixture composition of the first material and the second material (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 made of a mixture of Al 2 O 3 and AlN), wherein a composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition changes from the first member toward the second member within the boundary layer (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, second layer #44 made of a mixture of Al 2 O 3 and AlN changes linearly from the first layer to the third layer). Regarding claim 12, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition gradually decreases from the first member toward the second member (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, amount of AlN in second layer #44 decreases linearly from the first layer to the third layer). Regarding claim 13, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition linearly decreases from the first member toward the second member (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, amount of AlN in second layer #44 decreases linearly from the first layer to the third layer). Regarding claim 14, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition decreases from the first member toward the second member in a stepwise manner (8:8-12 of Ishii ‘298, composition ratio may be stepwise transited). Regarding claim 15, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition decreases from 100% to 0% toward the second member (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, amount of AlN in second layer #44 decreases linearly from 100% to 0% from the first layer to the third layer). Regarding claim 16, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the composition ratio of the first material to the second material in the mixture composition decreases from 100% to 0% toward the second member (FIG. 2B of Ishii ‘298, amount of AlN in second layer #44 decreases linearly from 100% to 0% from the first layer to the third layer). Regarding claim 19, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the first material is aluminum alloy, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide or titanium (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, first layer is made of AlN; claim only requires one of the recited materials), and the second material is aluminum oxide or silicon carbide (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, third layer #42 is made of Al 2 O 3 ). Regarding claim 20, Ishii ‘298 discloses that the first material is aluminum alloy, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide or titanium (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, first layer is made of AlN; claim only requires one of the recited materials), and the second material is aluminum oxide or silicon carbide (FIG. 2A of Ishii ‘298, third layer #42 is made of Al 2 O 3 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii ‘298 in view of Bandyopadhyay et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0361600 A1, cited in IDS submitted March 20, 2024) . Regarding claims 7, 8, 17 and 18, Ishii ‘298 does not specifically disclose that the boundary layer is formed by melting and solidifying. Moreover, Ishii ‘298 discloses forming the susceptor structure using sintering (Abstract of Ishii ‘298). Bandyopadhyay, however, discloses a method of manufacturing composite materials including metals and ceramics with a compositional gradient (Abstract of Bandyopadhyay) wherein the compositional gradient layer is formed by melting ([0046] of Bandyopadhyay) and solidification ([0047] of Bandyopadhyay). According to Bandyopadhyay, the method can efficiently and cost effectively produce bulk final products with desired profiles of structure, composition gradient and other physical properties ([0008] of Bandyopadhyay). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the boundary layer in the method of Ishii ‘298 by melting and solidifying. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to efficiently and cost effectively produce the susceptor structure with the desired profile of composition gradient and other physical properties as taught by Bandyopadhyay ([0008] of Bandyopadhyay) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii ‘298 in view of Ishii (U.S. Patent No. 5,701,228) . Regarding claims 9 and 10, Ishii ‘298 does not specifically disclose that the conductive material is aluminum alloy, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide or titanium, and the ceramic is aluminum oxide or silicon carbide. Moreover, Ishii ‘298 discloses embedding the electrodes of the electrostatic chuck in an AlN ceramic first layer, a second layer comprising a mixture of AlN and alumina and a third layer of alumina (FIG. 1A of Ishii ‘298). Ishii ‘228, however, discloses an electrostatic chuck comprising alumina ceramic above the electrode and AlN ceramic below the electrode with a graded composition transition in between (FIG. 2, 6:23-34 of Ishii ‘228). According to Ishii ‘228, the alumina forming the surface of the support is more durable and the AlN has higher thermal conductivity (6:24-30 of Ishii ‘228). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the susceptor structure of Ishii ‘298 with alumina above the electrode and AlN below the electrode with a graded transition therebetween. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide the susceptor structure with enhanced durability and thermal conductivity as taught by Ishii ‘228 (6:24-30 of Ishii ‘228). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND whose telephone number is (571) 270-7560. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 7:00-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Orlando can be reached at (571) 270-5038. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND Primary Examiner Art Unit 1746 /CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 2 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 3 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 4 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 5 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 6 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 8 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/610,723 Page 9 Art Unit: 1746