DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki et al. [US 2017/0148596].
Claim 1, Ozaki et al. discloses a bushing with a connection terminal for a high-power relay [100], comprising a housing part [4] with a through-opening [411] and a connection terminal arrangement [31], which is fed through the through-opening and is sealed from the through-opening by a fixing material [51; paragraph 0051], wherein the connection terminal arrangement [31] comprises a connection terminal [312/313] made of a first material [copper; paragraph 0063] and a pipe lead [71] made of a second material [alloy 42 (Fe-42Ni) or Kovar; paragraph 0090], the pipe lead [71] enclosing at least a part of the connection terminal [31] and the fixing material [51] being arranged between an outer wall of a sleeve portion of the pipe lead and an inner wall of the through-opening [figure 9A and 9B, protruding portion 518] in order to seal the connection terminal arrangement [figure 5], there being a first gap between an inner wall of the sleeve portion and the connection terminal [air gap between 71 and 312; figure 5], wherein the connection terminal arrangement further comprises a flexible element [314] via which the pipe lead [71] is connected to the connection terminal [31], the flexible element enclosing a pin portion of the connection terminal and there being a second gap between the pin portion of the connection terminal and the flexible element [figure 5], wherein i) the flexible element is formed integrally with the pipe lead as a portion of the pipe lead having a reduced thickness, ii) the flexible element is made from a third material, or iii) the flexible element is formed integrally with the connection terminal [figure 5].
Claim 2, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the connection terminal [31] has a collar [313] and the flexible element [314] according to variant i) or ii) is connected to the latter on a side of the collar facing toward the through-opening, or in that in the case of an integral embodiment with the pipe lead according to variant iii) the portion of the connection terminal forming the flexible element starts on the side of the collar facing toward the through-opening [figure 5].
Claim 3, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the connection terminal [31] has a collar [313] and the flexible element [314] according to variant i) or ii) is connected to the latter on a lateral face of the collar [figure 5].
Claim 4, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 2, wherein the collar [313] is arranged outside the through-opening [411; figure 5].
Claim 5, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the pipe lead [71] has a continuous or abrupt increase in diameter outside the through-opening on a side facing toward the flexible element [314; figure 5], and the pipe lead is connected to the flexible element in this region with an increased diameter [figure 5].
Claim 7, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the fixing material and an adjacent portion of the housing part are covered with an insulation material on an upper side and/or on a lower side of the bushing [fixing material 51 is an insulating material paragraph 0086, 0143; figure 5].
Claim 8, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 7, wherein the insulation material is configured as a disk of electrically insulating material [washer; figure 4A; paragraph 0143] or as a coating of an electrically insulating material.
Claim 10, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the first material [ copper; paragraph 0063] has a lower electrical resistance than the second material [alloy 42 (Fe-42Ni) or Kovar; paragraph 0090] and/or in that the first material has a lower modulus of elasticity than the second material.
Claim 11, further limits alternative limitation ii which is not required, therefore Ozaki et al. discloses the claimed bushing.
Claim 12, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the first material is a nonferrous metal [copper; paragraph 0063].
Claim 13, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 12, wherein the nonferrous metal is selected from the group consisting of brass, copper, copper alloys, aluminum and aluminum alloys [copper; paragraph 0063].
Claim 19, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the fixing material is selected from a glass, a glass-ceramic or a ceramic [paragraph 0157].
Claim 22, Ozaki et al. discloses a housing [figure 1] comprising a bushing of claim 1.
Claim 23, Ozaki et al. discloses a relay [figure 1] comprising at least two bushings of claim 1 and a contacting device [22] for establishing an electrical connection between the connection terminals of the two bushings [figure 1].
Claims 1-5, 10, 12, 13, 17, 19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mamiya et al. [US 20220262588].
Claim 1, Mamiya et al. discloses a bushing with a connection terminal for a high-power relay, comprising a housing [12] part with a through-opening [11] and a connection terminal arrangement [13/15], which is fed through the through-opening and is sealed from the through-opening by a fixing material [14], wherein the connection terminal arrangement comprises a connection terminal [15] made of a first material [silver, copper, aluminum, a silver-based alloy, a copper-based alloy, or an aluminum-based alloy; paragraph 0051] and a pipe lead made [13] of a second material [iron or an iron-based alloy; paragraph 0053], the pipe lead enclosing at least a part of the connection terminal [figure 1b] and the fixing material [14] being arranged between an outer wall of a sleeve portion of the pipe lead [14] and an inner wall of the through-opening [11; figure 1b] in order to seal the connection terminal arrangement, there being a first gap between an inner wall of the sleeve portion and the connection terminal [figure 1b], wherein the connection terminal arrangement further comprises a flexible element [17] via which the pipe lead [13] is connected to the connection terminal [15], the flexible element enclosing a pin portion of the connection terminal [figure 1b] and there being a second gap between the pin portion of the connection terminal and the flexible element [figure 1b], wherein i) the flexible element is formed integrally with the pipe lead as a portion of the pipe lead having a reduced thickness [embodiment in figure 2, 27 has a reduced thickness], ii) the flexible element is made from a third material, or iii) the flexible element is formed integrally with the connection terminal.
Claim 2, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the connection terminal [15] has a collar [portion of 15 of the larger diameter in contact with 18] and the flexible element [17] according to variant i) or ii) is connected to the latter on a side of the collar facing toward the through-opening [at 18; figure 1b], or in that in the case of an integral embodiment with the pipe lead according to variant iii) the portion of the connection terminal forming the flexible element starts on the side of the collar facing toward the through-opening.
Claim 3, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the connection terminal has a collar and the flexible element according to variant i) or ii) is connected to the latter on a lateral face of the collar [figure 1b].
Claim 4, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 2, wherein the collar is arranged outside the through-opening [figure 1b].
Claim 5, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the pipe lead has a continuous [figure 1b] or abrupt increase in diameter outside the through-opening on a side facing toward the flexible element, and the pipe lead [13] is connected to the flexible element [17] in this region with an increased diameter.
Claim 10, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the first material [silver, copper, aluminum, a silver-based alloy, a copper-based alloy, or an aluminum-based alloy; paragraph 0051] has a lower electrical resistance than the second material [iron or an iron-based alloy; paragraph 0053], and/or in that the first material has a lower modulus of elasticity than the second material.
Claim 12, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the first material is a nonferrous metal [silver, copper, aluminum, a silver-based alloy, a copper-based alloy, or an aluminum-based alloy; paragraph 0051].
Claim 13, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 12, wherein the nonferrous metal is selected from the group consisting of brass, copper, copper alloys, aluminum and aluminum alloys [paragraph 0051].
Claim 17, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the second material is a steel or a steel alloy [iron-based alloy; paragraph 0053].
Claim 19, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, wherein the fixing material [14] is selected from a glass, a glass-ceramic or a ceramic [paragraph 0051].
Claim 22, Mamiya et al. discloses a housing [figures 1] comprising a bushing of claim 1.
Claim 23, Mamiya et al. discloses a relay [figures 1 and 5] comprising at least two bushings of claim 1 and a contacting device for establishing an electrical connection between the connection terminals of the two bushings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki et al. [US 2017/0148596] in view of Ishikawa et al. [US 5,812,041].
Claim 6, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, with the exception of the connection terminal has a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side in order to fasten a connection line.
Ishikawa et al. teaches a relay with a connection terminal [9] has a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side in order to fasten a connection line [12; col. 3 lines 47-53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side of the connection terminal of Ozaki et al. as taught by Ishikawa et al. in order to facilitate connection of wire to the terminal.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamiya et al. [US 20220262588] in view of Ishikawa et al. [US 5,812,041].
Claim 6, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, with the exception of the connection terminal has a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side in order to fasten a connection line.
Ishikawa et al. teaches a relay with a connection terminal [9] has a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side in order to fasten a connection line [12; col. 3 lines 47-53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a threaded bore on an outwardly facing side of the connection terminal of Mamiya et al. as taught by Ishikawa et al. in order to facilitate connection of wire to the terminal.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki et al. [US 2017/0148596] in view of Strand [US 20190326083].
Claim 14, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, with the exception of an end side of the connection terminal is coated with a contact material in order to reduce the contact resistance and/or to reduce sparking.
Strand teaches an electrical switching device wherein an end side of the connection terminal [100/200] is coated with a contact material in order to reduce the contact resistance and/or to reduce sparking [paragraph 0125].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the protective coating of Strand on the end of the contact terminal of Ozaki et al. in order to reduce the contact resistance and protect the copper from oxidation [Strand paragraph 0125].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamiya et al. [US 20220262588] in view of Strand [US 20190326083].
Claim 14, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 1, with the exception of an end side of the connection terminal is coated with a contact material in order to reduce the contact resistance and/or to reduce sparking.
Strand teaches an electrical switching device wherein an end side of the connection terminal [100/200] is coated with a contact material in order to reduce the contact resistance and/or to reduce sparking [paragraph 0125].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the protective coating of Strand on the end of the contact terminal of Mamiya et al. in order to reduce the contact resistance and protect the copper from oxidation [Strand paragraph 0125].
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki et al. [US 2017/0148596].
Claim 18, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 17, with the exception of the steel is a ferritic steel, or the steel alloy is a nickel steel alloy or a chromium steel alloy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use various types of iron alloy other than the one disclosed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 20, Ozaki et al. discloses the bushing of claim 19 with the exception of the glass is selected from a borosilicate glass, a sodium-barium glass, an alkali glass, a silicate glass or a soda-lime glass. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use various types of glass other than the glass disclosed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamiya et al. [US 20220262588].
Claim 18, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 17, with the exception of the steel is a ferritic steel, or the steel alloy is a nickel steel alloy or a chromium steel alloy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use various types of iron alloy other than the one disclosed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 20, Mamiya et al. discloses the bushing of claim 19 with the exception of the glass is selected from a borosilicate glass, a sodium-barium glass, an alkali glass, a silicate glass or a soda-lime glass. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use various types of glass other than the glass disclosed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 15, 16, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837