Claim Interpretation
Applicant claims a “battery pack” while only setting forth one battery cell. The term battery pack in the battery art routinely refers to multiple cells electrically connected. Applicant sets forth their ideal battery packs in the specification as (i) battery, circuit board, and battery holder [0021] and (ii) battery and circuit board [0058]. Therefore, battery pack is constrained to mean any combinations of the products set forth in the specification in addition to the definition given to it by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al CN113015075A, herein referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a battery with a cylindrical shape and a circuit board conformed to surround the periphery of the battery [n0006 & n0047]. The circuit board further comprises a first end plate and a first connecting segment [n0007]. The first end plate is a plate, acting as a reinforcing portion, used to mount a microphone to the flexible circuit board [n0007] and the first connecting segment is a segment used to connect the microphone on the end plates to the flexible printed substrate [n0007, n0061].
Therefore, Zhang fully discloses a battery pack comprising: a battery including an electrode portion and having a cylindrical shape; and a circuit board disposed on a circumferential side surface of the battery, wherein the circuit board includes a circuit component mounting portion and a wiring part, the circuit component mounting portion includes a reinforcing portion, and the wiring part includes a flexible printed substrate.
Regrading claim 2, Zhang additionally teaches, that the flexible circuit board includes the first end plate and first connecting segment [n0007]. Namely, Zhang disclose that the flexible circuit board has the end plates placed on the board for mounting a device and the connecting segment connect this device to the flexible printed circuit board [n0007, Fig. 12]. Therefore, Zhang fully anticipates wherein the circuit component mounting portion and the wiring part include an integrated flexible printed substrate.
Regrading claim 3, Zhang additionally teaches, a first and second end plate and first and second connecting segment [n0007]. The first end plate and connecting segment is used for mounting a microphone and the second end plate and connecting segment is used for mounting a switch [n0013]. Therefore, Zhang fully anticipates wherein a plurality of the circuit component mounting portions are provided on the circuit board, and the plurality of circuit component mounting portions are coupled by the wiring part.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang additionally teaches, that the battery, receiver, and chip can be connected together by the flexible circuit board [0016]. Zhang further discloses that the microphone affixed to the end plate can include a conductive contact plate [0033]. While not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the battery art would understand that the conductive contact plate is placed on the microphone to allow the microphone to be electrically connected to the flexible printed circuit board which is connected to the battery as disclose. See MPEP 2144.01. Therefore, Zhang discloses wherein the circuit component mounting portion and the electrode portion are electrically connected to each other.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang additionally teaches, a device portion used for mounting a device [n0006]. The device portion is not the flexible printed circuit board and can split the flexible printed circuit board in two [n0008]. The device portion acts as a reinforcing portion for mounting devices to the flexible circuit board as shown in figure 11. The device portion is flush with the bottom of the annular sections of the flexible circuit board surrounding the battery, thereby making the device portion flush with the battery [n009 & Fig. 12]. Therefore, Zhang fully anticipates wherein a part of the circumferential side surface of the battery and a part of the reinforcing portion are in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang additionally illustrates in Fig. 16 that the microphone (41) mounted on the first end plate (315) can face the battery (32). Therefore, Zhang fully anticipates wherein the circuit component mounted on the circuit component mounting portion faces the circumferential side surface of the battery.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang disclose the battery pack of claim 1. Furthermore, Zhang disclose that the flexible circuit board and battery are to be used in a hearing aid worn by a user [n0001 – n0002]. Therefore, Zhang discloses a wearable device comprising the battery pack according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further in view of Sueyoshi et al. US 2021/0135300 A1, herein referred to as Sueyoshi.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang fully discloses the battery pack according to claim 6. Zhang does not disclose wherein a resin is provided in a facing gap between the circuit component and the circumferential side surface of the battery.
Sueyoshi disclose a flexible circuit board [0012] with a first joint base portion [0085]
with connection wires laid atop [0082]. The first joint base portion is included in the second insulating base layer [0080]. Sueyoshi teaches that resins are insulating materials and can be used for base layers [0058]. Furthermore, Sueyoshi discloses that the inner face of the first joint base portion is in contact with the front peripheral side of the secondary battery [0165]. Namely, Sueyoshi disclose connection wires laid against a battery with a resin layer disposed between the wires and the battery. Sueyoshi disclose that their battery pack can be made into a small size [0006].
Sueyoshi and Zhang constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention small form factor batteries for wearable electronics as evidenced by the abstract. See MPEP 2141.01(a). Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulating resin layer between the circuit components and the side of the battery for the purposes of reducing battery pack size.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further in view of You et al. US 2021/0151804 A1, herein referred to as You, further in view of Shim et al. CN 103794746 A, herein referred to as Shim. Miura US 4,306,275 is further included as an evidentiary reference.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang fully discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Zhang does not disclose what their end plates can be made of therefore, Zhang does not disclose wherein the reinforcing portion includes at least one of a glass epoxy resin, a polyimide resin, and a metal plate.
You discloses a stiffener interposed between a connector and a flexible printed circuit board [0055]. The stiffener maybe made of a reinforced resin [0071]. The purpose of the stiffener is to prevent damage caused by vibration that would normally causes the flexible printed circuit board to stretch and break [0069]. You is analogous art to the claimed invention as You seeks to reinforce a flexible printed circuit board in a similar manner discussed by applicant in Par. 20 of the specification. You does not disclose a composition for the reinforced resin but does disclose the reinforced resin must be strong enough to not degraded due to vibration and be electrically insulating [0071]. In the same field of endeavor of reinforcing flexible printed circuit boards Shim discloses the use of epoxide resin glass (glass epoxy) for making a reinforcing plate to increase the stiffness of a flexible printed circuit board [0059]. Glass epoxy resins are known electrically insulators in the circuit board art as shown by evidentiary reference Miura col. 2 ln. 45-49.
Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the end plate of Zhang, with the reinforced resin disclosed by You, for the purposes of improving mounting strength. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the reinforced resin of You with glass epoxy resin as disclosed by Shim for the purposes of strengthening the flexible printed circuit board. Thereby creating a reinforcing portion with a glass epoxy resin.
Claims 9 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further in view of Park US 2021/0203031 A1, herein referred to as Park, in further view of Sueyoshi et al. JP 2020-123524, herein referred to as Sueyoshi ‘524.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang fully discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Zhang does not disclose further comprising a battery holder attached to the battery and including a resin.
Park discloses a battery pack with circuit boards on opposing terminals of a battery and flexible lines connecting the boards [0007]. The pack further includes an insulating support [0011]. The insulating support guides the position of the battery cell and the first circuit board [0011]. While Park does disclose that the support is insulating, it does not disclose what the insulating support is made of. However, it is known in the art that insulating supports can be made of thermosetting resins as evidenced by Sueyoshi ‘524 which is in the same field of endeavor of small form factor batteries for wearable electronics.
Sueyoshi ‘524 disclose an insulating resin fixing portion which is a cylindrical shape resin formed to match the outer shape of the battery [0155] and in contact with the positive terminal [0197]. The purpose of the insulating resin fixing portion is to hold the coil-equipped substrate to the battery [0155]. Sueyoshi ‘524 further discloses the insulating resin fixing portion should be made of insulating thermosetting compositions containing a thermosetting resin [0157] to strengthen the battery pack [0156].
Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the insulating support of Park for the purposes of guiding the alignment of the circuit board to battery and furthermore, make the insulating support of the insulating thermosetting resin of Sueyoshi ‘524 to improve the strength. Thereby creating a battery holder made of resin.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang further in view of Park and Sueyoshi ‘524 disclose the battery pack according to claim 9. Park further discloses that the insulating support has a side wall surrounding the side surface of the battery [0049]. Therefore, Zhang in further view of Park discloses wherein the battery holder includes a columnar member erected around the battery.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang further in view of Park and Sueyoshi ‘524 disclose the battery pack according to claim 10.Park further discloses the use of flexible lines for connecting a first and second circuit board [0007]. The flexible lines can be formed around the edge of the insulating support [0052]. Namely, Park discloses that the flexible line, which act as wiring between circuit boards [0014, 0015], wrap around the side wall of the insulating support. Therefore, Park discloses wherein the wiring part is in contact with an outside of the columnar member.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Park disclose the battery pack according to claim 1. Park further teaches the insulating support side wall surrounds the side surface of the battery completely [0049]. Therefore, Park discloses wherein a shape of a side of the reinforcing portion facing the circumferential side surface of the battery is substantially the same as a shape of a part of the facing circumferential side surface.
Double Patenting
Murata Manufacturing Co., LTD., the assignee in the instant application, have multiple co-pending applications in which they are in assignee that use similar claim language and figures as the instant application. While these co-pending applications are similar, none rise to the level of double patenting as presently filed. The following is a list of co-pending applications with similar language and figures.
US 2022/0209356 A1 Sato et al. disclose a battery pack includes a circuit board, a battery cell, an exterior case having a cylindrical shape, and a pair of external terminals respectively provided at both ends of the exterior case, in which each of the external terminals includes an inserted portion to be inserted into the exterior case and an uninserted portion not to be inserted into the exterior case, at least a part of the circuit board is disposed between the battery cell and the external terminals, and an elastic resin is provided so as to be in contact with the battery cell, the at least part of the circuit board, and the external terminals.
US 2023/0076491 A1 Sato et al. disclose a battery pack including a secondary battery and a circuit board, in which the secondary battery includes a metal exterior portion, a first external terminal, and a second external terminal, the circuit board has a plurality of connection portions connected to the first external terminal or the second external terminal, at least one of the connection portions has a first opening, and the connection portion having the first opening is solder-bonded to the first external terminal or the second external terminal.
US 2025/0226697 A1 Kaiwa et al. disclose a wireless power receiving device is a wireless power receiving device that wirelessly receives power from an external power transmitting device and includes a rechargeable battery, a power receiving coil provided to face at least one of an upper surface and a lower surface of the rechargeable battery, a holder structure that has a side plate surrounding a side surface of the rechargeable battery and holds the rechargeable battery, a charging circuit that is provided on or in the side plate of the holder structure and controls charging of the rechargeable battery, and an external output terminal connected to the side plate of the holder structure for establishing an electrical connection to an external mounting board. The external output terminal is provided at a position that does not overlap either the rechargeable battery or the power receiving coil in plan view.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
US 2020/0178395 A1 Graber et al. disclose systems, methods, and computer-readable media are disclosed for ring-shaped devices with voice integration. In one embodiment, an example device may include an antenna element that at least partially forms an outer surface of the ring-shaped device, an outer shell coupled to the antenna element, an inner shell coupled to the outer shell, a curved battery disposed along a first side of the ring-shaped device, and a flexible printed circuit assembly coupled to the curved battery and disposed along a second side of the ring shaped device.
US 6,865,279 B2 Leedom et al. disclose a hearing aid assembled from three sections includes a first section having a first housing containing a microphone and electronics, a second section having a second housing containing a battery a flex circuit mounted around the battery and a third section having a compliant tip and a receiver contained within a receptacle in the tip. The flex circuit provides solder less electrical connections among the electrical components of the hearing aid. The hearing aid also includes an actuator switch that allows the user to engage the hearing aid in an ON or an OFF mode of operation. Preferably, the actuator is electrically connected to the hearing aid without the use of solder. Connection between the first and second sections includes a mechanical securing mechanism, such as an interlocking joint.
US 2015/0022957 A1 Hiroki et al. disclose an electronic device of a novel embodiment, specifically an arm-worn electronic device used while being worn on an arm, is provided. An arm-worn secondary battery used while being worn on an arm is provided. An electronic device is provided, which includes a structure body having a curved surface as a support structure body, a flexible secondary battery including a film as an exterior body over the curved surface of the support structure body, and a display portion including a plurality of display elements between a pair of films over the secondary battery. The plurality of display elements and the secondary battery overlap with each other at least partly. It is possible to provide an electronic device which has a small maximum thickness of 1 cm or less and a light weight of 50 g or less even when an arm-worn secondary battery is provided with a display portion.
Conclusion
/J.R.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782