DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 04/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/30/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11969796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially similar graded multilayer composites.
Regarding instant claim 17, the limitations are met by claims 1, 9 of patent’796.
Regarding instant claim 18, the limitations are met by claims 1, 10 of patent’796.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 13-14, 16, 21, 25 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11571742, herein patent’742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially similar graded multilayer composites.
Regarding instant claim 1, the limitations are met by claims 1, 2 and 16 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 1, the limitations are met by claim 25 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 2, the limitations are met by claims 1, 2 and 16 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 2, the limitations are met by claim 25 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 3, the limitations are met by claim 13 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claims 7-8, the limitations are met by claim 28 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claims 7-8, the limitations are met by claim 21 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claims 10-12, the limitations are met by claims 1,2 and 16 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 13, the limitations are met by claim 13 of patent’742.
Regarding instant claim 16, the limitations are met by claim 14 of patent’742.
Claim 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 or 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11571742, herein patent’742, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sun et al. (CN110238403A) [IDS dated: 09/03/2024], herein Sun.
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of (CN110238403A). The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
In regards to Instant claim 9, ‘742 teaches the matrix is metal but does not expressly a specific alloy.
Sun teaches a metal matrix composite comprising ceramic hollow microspheres [0002, 0004]. The metal matrix is formed from one of a magnesium alloy powder, aluminum alloy powder, titanium alloy powder, or a mixture of magnesium alloy powder and aluminum alloy powder [0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the aluminum alloy, titanium alloy, or a mixture of magnesium alloy and aluminum alloy taught by Sun as the metal of the matrix of ‘742. One would have been motivated to do so as Sun teaches such metals or alloys are conventionally known for metal matrix composites and thus one would have had reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, the motivation for doing so is that the “selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [supports] a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024, 09/06/2024, 01/20/2025, 05/28/2025, 10/03/2025 and 10/03/2025 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (CN110238403A) [IDS dated: 09/03/2024], herein Sun.
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of (CN110238403A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
In regards to claims 1-2, and 11-12, Sun teaches a multilayer material system comprising a non-graded metal matrix composite comprising ceramic hollow microspheres, sandwiched between metal layers [0002, 0004]. The metal matrix is formed from one of a magnesium alloy powder, aluminum alloy powder, titanium alloy powder, or a mixture of magnesium alloy powder and aluminum alloy powder [0014]. The outer layers are metal layers [0009,0012, 0021, Fig. 1]. Here the non-graded multilayered composite is considered the to be one of the outer layers and the sandwich layer comprising the hollow microspheres.
In regards to claim 6, Sun further teaches the ceramic microspheres have a diameter of 3 mm (3000 µm) and a wall thickness of 100±5 μm, which is about 3.3 percent of diameter [0046].
In regards to claim 7, Sun further teaches the metal matrix is an aluminum alloy [0062-0064].
In regards to claim 8, Sun further teaches the metal matrix material is sintered [0020-0022].
In regards to claim 10, Sun further teaches the metal matrix material is uniform in composition [0014, 0062-0064].
Claims 1-2, 5-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaedler et al. (US 20160194762 A1), herein Schaedler.
In regards to claims 1-2, Schaedler teaches a multilayered material system comprising a core sandwich layer of microspheres and one outer layer of metal and the other outer layer a dense coating/filling [ Abstract, 0128, claims 1, 11, Figs. 6-7, 12]. Here the outer metal layer is considered the one layer joined to the non-graded multilayer composite.
In regards to claim 5, Schaedler further teaches the spheres have a diameter of 50 μm [0146].
In regards to claim 6, Schaedler further teaches the spheres have a diameter of 50 μm and a wall thickness of 1 μm, so about 2 percent of the diameter [0146].
In regards to claims 7, 9 and 10-11, Schaedler further teaches the non-graded layer comprises spheres that are in a nickel matrix [0152]. The layer is considered to be substantially unfirm in composition [0114, Fig. 3].
In regards to claim 8, Schaedler further teaches the matrix and spheres are sintered [0133].
In regards to claim 12, Schaedler further teaches spheres are hollow [0087, 0090, 0114, 0119, 0146, 0149].
In regards to claim 15, Schaedler further teaches the layer consists essentially of hollow spheres [0114, 0149, Figs. 1, 4-7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaedler et al. (US 20160194762 A1), herein Schaedler as applied to claims 2, 12 above.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Schaedler teaches the spheres comprise zirconium oxide-based ceramics [0014]. Schaedler further teaches the certain applications use yttria-stabilized zirconia in TBC for its low thermal conductivity [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the yttria-stabilized zirconia as the zirconium oxide-based ceramic of the spheres. One would have been motivated to do so as Schaedler yttria-stabilized zirconia is a conventionally known ceramic for TBCs and thus for doing so is that the “selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [supports] a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaedler et al. (US 20160194762 A1), herein Schaedler as applied to claims 2, 12 above, and further in view of Seals et al. (US 6071628 A) [IDs dated 09/03/2024], herein Seals.
In regards to claims 4 and 14, Schaedler teaches the spheres comprise hollow glass [0055, 0149]. Schaedler further teaches the glass may be an aluminosilicate glass [0149].
Seals teach hollow aluminosilicate glass spheres commonly referred to as cenospheres [Abstract, Col 4 lines 5-46]. The cenospheres comprise alumina, silica and iron [Col 4 lines 36-67, Col 5 lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the cenospheres of Seals as the aluminosilicate hollow glass spheres of Schaedler. One would have been motivated to do so as it would have been the simple substitution of one aluminosilicate glass for another to achieve predictable results.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784