DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority is not claimed for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a power supply input coupled to a second power supply node” from claim 4 and “a power supply input coupled to a third power supply node” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, it’s not clear where a power supply input coupled to a second power supply node is in the figures. This makes the claim indefinite as examiner is unsure how these connections are being made. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 12, it’s not clear where a power supply input coupled to a third power supply node is in the figures. This makes the claim indefinite as examiner is unsure how these connections are made. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 9564874 by Alzaher et al.
Regarding claim 1, Alzaher teaches an amplification circuit (fig. 3) comprising:
an amplifier (308) including an inverting input configured to receive a signal;
an impedance (302, 306) coupled between the inverting input and an output (Vo) of the amplifier; and
a resistive element (aR) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 6, Alzaher teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the amplifier further includes a non-inverting input coupled to a voltage reference node (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Alzaher teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the amplifier comprises a class-AB or class-G output stage (Col. 15 lines 60-67 and Col. 16 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Alzaher teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
amplifying an input signal via an amplification circuit (Fig. 3) to generate an amplified signal, wherein the amplification circuit comprises (i) an amplifier (308) including an inverting input configured to receive the input signal (Vi);
(ii) an impedance (302, 306) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
(iii) a resistive element (aR) including a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and including a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit; and
outputting the amplified signal (Vo).
Regarding claim 20, Alzaher teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the amplifier comprises a class-AB or class-G output stage (Col. 15 lines 60-67 and Col. 16 lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 1 5-6, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20140332670 by Tateiwa.
Regarding claim 1, Tateiwa teaches an amplification circuit (fig. 5) comprising:
an amplifier (62) including an inverting input (64a) configured to receive a signal;
an impedance (68, 72) coupled between the inverting input and an output (66) of the amplifier; and
a resistive element (80) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 5, Tateiwa teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, further comprising a capacitive element (82) coupled in series between the second terminal of the resistive element (80) and the reference potential node (ground).
Regarding claim 6, Tateiwa teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the amplifier further includes a non-inverting input (64b) coupled to a voltage reference node (Vpd).
Regarding claim 17, Tateiwa teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
amplifying an input signal via an amplification circuit (Fig. 5) to generate an amplified signal, wherein the amplification circuit comprises (i) an amplifier (62) including an inverting input configured to receive the input signal;
(ii) an impedance (68, 72) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
(iii) a resistive element (80) including a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and including a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit; and
outputting the amplified signal (output of 62).
Regarding claim 19, Tateiwa teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the amplification circuit is a transimpedance amplification circuit (Par. 26).
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 6774725 by Miki et al.
Regarding claim 1, Miki teaches an amplification circuit (Fig. 3) comprising:
an amplifier (CMP) including an inverting input configured to receive a signal (Receives feedback signal);
an impedance (Rb1/Rb2) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
a resistive element (Rb3) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 8, Miki teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the output of the amplifier (CMP) is coupled to a power supply node of another amplifier (HPA).
Regarding claim 9, Miki teaches the amplification circuit of claim 8, wherein the output of the amplifier comprises a power supply voltage (the output of CMP goes through inductor 234 and supplies power to the HPA).
Regarding claim 10, Miki teaches a wireless device comprising:
an amplification circuit (Fig. 3) comprising:
a first amplifier (CMP) including an inverting input configured to receive a signal (receives feedback signal);
an impedance (Rb1/Rb2) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the first amplifier; and
a resistive element (Rb3) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit; and
a second amplifier (HPA) including a first power supply node coupled to an output of the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 14, Miki teaches the wireless device of claim 10, wherein the first amplifier further includes a non-inverting input coupled to a voltage reference node (Vref).
Regarding claim 16, Miki teaches the wireless device of claim 10, wherein:
the amplification circuit is configured to generate a power supply voltage based on the signal (Col. 8 lines 6-27); and
the output of the amplification circuit comprises the power supply voltage (output of CMP provides a voltage to the power supply node of the HPA).
Regarding claim 17, Miki teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
amplifying an input signal via an amplification circuit (Fig. 3) to generate an amplified signal, wherein the amplification circuit comprises (i) an amplifier (CMP) including an inverting input configured to receive the input signal;
(ii) an impedance (Rb1/Rb2) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
(iii) a resistive element (Rb3) including a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and including a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (ground) for the amplification circuit; and
outputting the amplified signal (output of CMP).
Regarding claim 18, Miki teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising controlling a power supply voltage of another amplifier, based on the amplified signal (Col. 8 lines 6-27; output of CMP is coupled to the power supply node of the HPA).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11705876 by Drogi et al.
Regarding claim 1, Drogi teaches an amplification circuit (Fig. 3a) comprising:
an amplifier (103) including an inverting input configured to receive a signal (Env);
an impedance (111) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
a resistive element (113) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (Env) for the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 6, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the amplifier further includes a non-inverting input coupled to a voltage reference node (Vref).
Regarding claim 8, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, wherein the output of the amplifier (103) is coupled to a power supply node of another amplifier (51).
Regarding claim 9, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 8, wherein the output of the amplifier (103) comprises a power supply voltage (the output of 103 goes through inductor 131 and supplies power to 51).
Regarding claim 10, Drogi teaches a wireless device comprising:
an amplification circuit (Fig. 3a) comprising:
a first amplifier (103) including an inverting input configured to receive a signal (Env);
an impedance (111) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the first amplifier; and
a resistive element (113) including (i) a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and (ii) a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (Env) for the amplification circuit; and
a second amplifier (51) including a first power supply node coupled to an output of the amplification circuit (103).
Regarding claim 14, Drogi teaches the wireless device of claim 10, wherein the first amplifier (103) further includes a non-inverting input coupled to a voltage reference node (Vref).
Regarding claim 16, Drogi teaches the wireless device of claim 10, wherein:
the amplification circuit (103) is configured to generate a power supply voltage based on the signal (Env); and
the output of the amplification circuit comprises the power supply voltage (output of 103 is supplied to 51 through inductor 131).
Regarding claim 17, Drogi teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
amplifying an input signal via an amplification circuit (Fig. 3a) to generate an amplified signal, wherein the amplification circuit comprises (i) an amplifier (103) including an inverting input configured to receive the input signal;
(ii) an impedance (111) coupled between the inverting input and an output of the amplifier; and
(iii) a resistive element (113) including a first terminal coupled to the inverting input and including a second terminal coupled to a reference potential node (Env) for the amplification circuit; and
outputting the amplified signal (output of 103).
Regarding claim 18, Drogi teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising controlling a power supply voltage of another amplifier, based on the amplified signal (The output of 103 controls the power supply that’s provided to 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9564874 by Alzaher et al. in view of US 20190199290 by Karmaker et al.
Regarding claim 2, Alzaher teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, but fails to teach that it further comprises a current source coupled between a first power supply node and the first terminal of the resistive element.
However, Karmaker teaches an amplifier circuit (Fig. 6) with a current source (612) coupled between a first power supply node (Vdd) and the first terminal of the resistive element (602).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the current source of Karmaker with the amplification circuit of Alzaher as the current source provides a biasing current (Par. 47 of Karmaker).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Alzaher and Karmaker teaches the amplification circuit of claim 2, and while the current source 612 in fig. 6 is not programmable, this is simply a known design choice in the art and one can make the current programmable if they choose to. Fig. 6 of Karmaker shows another current source 426 that is variable.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140332670 by Tateiwa in view of US 20190199290 by Karmaker et al.
Regarding claim 2, Tateiwa teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, but fails to teach that it further comprises a current source coupled between a first power supply node and the first terminal of the resistive element.
However, Karmaker teaches an amplifier circuit (Fig. 6) with a current source (612) coupled between a first power supply node (Vdd) and the first terminal of the resistive element (602).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the current source of Karmaker with the amplification circuit of Tateiwa as the current source provides a biasing current (Par. 47).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Alzaher and Karmaker teaches the amplification circuit of claim 2, and while the current source 612 in fig. 6 is not programmable, this is simply a known design choice in the art and one can make the current programmable if they choose to. Fig. 6 of Karmaker shows another current source 426 that is variable.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140332670 by Tateiwa.
Regarding claim 7, Tateiwa teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, but is silent on the classes of the amplifiers. However, different amplifier classes are well known in the art as shown in the abstract for US 20240410922 by Abouzied.
Regarding claim 20, Tateiwa teaches the amplification circuit of claim 17, but is silent on the classes of the amplifiers. However, different amplifier classes are well known in the art as shown in the abstract for US 20240410922 by Abouzied.
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11705876 by Drogi et al.
Regarding claim 7, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 1, but is silent on the class of the amplifier. However, different amplifier classes are well known in the art as shown in the abstract for US 20240410922 by Abouzied.
Regarding claim 15, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 10, but is silent on the class of the amplifier. However, different amplifier classes are well known in the art as shown in the abstract for US 20240410922 by Abouzied.
Regarding claim 20, Drogi teaches the amplification circuit of claim 17, but is silent on the classes of the amplifiers. However, different amplifier classes are well known in the art as shown in the abstract for US 20240410922 by Abouzied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAREH SHAMIRYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843