DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN111717169A to Sykula et al. (Sykula).
In reference to independent claim 1, Sykula discloses:
A nozzle assembly (36) comprising:
at least two nozzle passage portions (76, 78), wherein a fluid is introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions;
a plurality of discharge ports (38, 40) configured to discharge the fluid flowing through the at least two nozzle passage portions,
wherein the fluid introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions is configured to flow independently of each other (The first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78 are arranged such that fluid cannot flow from one to the other; a first barrier 84 is disposed between the first ends 80 and a second barrier 86 is disposed between the second ends 82, the first barrier 84 and the second barrier 86 preventing washer fluid from flowing between the first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78) (see Fig. 4); and
a partition wall (84, 86) configured to prevent fluid communication between the at least two nozzle passage portions.
In reference to dependent claim 4, Sykula further discloses: a guide surface (92) facing a discharge port (each of the nozzles 39, 40 comprises a flat deflecting surface 92 and an outlet 94 directed towards the deflecting surface 92) of the plurality of the discharge ports, wherein the guide surface is configured to guide the fluid to flow through the discharge port (fluid exiting the first cavity 76 or the second cavity 78 through one of the outlets 94 strikes the respective deflection surface 92).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykula.
In reference to dependent claim 6, Sykula is silent regarding the fluid being compressed air. However, usage of water and compressed air as the cleaning fluid are both well known in the prior art, and modifying the nozzle of Sykula to use compressed air would only require routing skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykula in view of CN 215612413 U to Wu et al. (Wu).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Sykula further discloses: the first nozzle and the second nozzle are shaped to spray fluid in a flat fan pattern (see [0054] and Fig. 2).
However, Sykula is silent regarding each cross-sectional area of the plurality of the discharge ports is configured to incrementally expand in a direction away from a corresponding nozzle passage portion among the at least two nozzle passage portions.
Wu teaches a similar nozzle (see Figs. 1-2) including an outlet (23) that is shaped as a flat and long arc-shaped (see [0034] and Figs. 1-2). Moreover, fluid sprayed from the nozzle (23) is spread in a fan shape similar to the sprays from the nozzles in Sykula.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured each of the nozzles of Sykula to gradually expand in a direction away from a corresponding nozzle passage portion in order to eject fluid in a flat fan pattern as taught by Wu.
In reference to independent claim 7, Sykula discloses:
A sensor cleaning system comprising:
an environment sensor (42); and
a nozzle assembly (36) connected to the environment sensor (42) (see Fig. 2) and configured to spray a fluid onto the environment sensor (42) (first and second nozzles 38, 40 of the annular member 36 spray cleaning liquid at sensor window 34; see Fig. 2),
wherein the nozzle assembly (36) comprises:
at least two nozzle passage portions (76, 78), wherein the fluid is introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions; and
a plurality of discharge ports (38, 40) configured to discharge the fluid flowing through the at least two nozzle passage portions toward the environment sensor (see Fig. 2),
wherein the fluid introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions is configured to flow independently of each other (The first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78 are arranged such that fluid cannot flow from one to the other; a first barrier 84 is disposed between the first ends 80 and a second barrier 86 is disposed between the second ends 82, the first barrier 84 and the second barrier 86 preventing washer fluid from flowing between the first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78) (see Fig. 4), and
the two nozzle passage portions (first nozzle and the second nozzle 38, 40) are shaped to spray fluid in a flat fan pattern (see [0054] and Fig. 2).
However, Sykula is silent regarding each cross-sectional area of the plurality of the discharge ports is configured to expand toward the environment sensor.
Wu teaches a similar nozzle (see Figs. 1-2) including an outlet (23); the fluid sprayed from the outlet (23) is spread in a fan shape similar to the sprays from the nozzles in Sykula.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured each of the nozzles of Sykula to gradually expand in a direction away from a corresponding nozzle passage portion in order to eject fluid in a flat fan pattern as taught by Wu.
In reference to dependent claim 8, Sykula further discloses: a partition wall (84, 86) configured to prevent fluid communication between the at least two nozzle passage portions.
In reference to dependent claim 10, Sykula further discloses: the at least two nozzle passage portions (76, 78) are respectively connected to a first passage and a second passage through which the fluid is supplied (see Figs. 1-2; inlets 88, 90 connected to first and second cavities 76, 78 are connected to a liquid supply line 72 and a valve 74 for supplying cleaning fluid).
In reference to dependent claim 11, Sykula further discloses: main passage (see Fig. 1) branched into the first passage and the second passage (72).
Sykula and Wu are silent regarding the cleaning fluid being compressed air.
However, usage of water and compressed air as the cleaning fluid are both well known in the prior art, and modifying the nozzle of Sykula to use compressed air would only require routing skill in the art.
In reference to dependent claim 12, Sykula further discloses: a stopper configured to separate the nozzle assembly (36) from the environment sensor (42) by being disposed between neighboring discharge ports (38, 40) among the plurality of the discharge ports (see Fig. 2; annular member 36 is spaced apart from sensor 42, separated by air nozzle 64 and sensor window 34).
In reference to dependent claim 13, Sykula further discloses: the nozzle assembly (36) is integrated with the environment sensor (42) (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 14, Sykula further discloses: the environment sensor (42) is a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor (see [0036]) mounted to a vehicle.
In reference to dependent claim 15, Sykula further discloses: the sensor cleaning system is configured to clean the environment sensor mounted to a vehicle (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykula in view of CN 109394117 A to Zhu et al. (Zhu).
In reference to dependent claim 5, Sykula is silent regarding the each of the at least two nozzle passage portions has a cross-sectional area decreasing at a predetermined distance from a point where the fluid is introduced.
Zhu teaches a spraying arm formed with a flow channel (or nozzle passage) having at least two, all O-shaped annular flow channels. The cross-sectional areas of the annular flow passages gradually decreases from upstream to downstream in the direction of water flow (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the passage portions (76, 78) of Sykula to have narrowing cross-sections from upstream to downstream in the direction of the fluid flow in order to increase the flow rate of the fluid in the downstream direction, which leads to better cleaning as taught by Zhu (see [0033]).
In reference to independent claim 17, Sykula discloses:
A nozzle assembly (36) comprising:
at least two nozzle passage portions (76, 78), wherein a fluid is introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions; and
a plurality of discharge ports (38, 40) configured to discharge the fluid flowing through the at least two nozzle passage portions,
wherein the fluid introduced into the at least two nozzle passage portions is configured to flow independently of each other (The first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78 are arranged such that fluid cannot flow from one to the other; a first barrier 84 is disposed between the first ends 80 and a second barrier 86 is disposed between the second ends 82, the first barrier 84 and the second barrier 86 preventing washer fluid from flowing between the first cavity 76 and the second cavity 78) (see Fig. 4).
Sykula is silent regarding the each of the at least two nozzle passage portions has a cross-sectional area decreasing at a predetermined distance from a point where the fluid is introduced.
Zhu teaches a spraying arm formed with a flow channel (or nozzle passage) having at least two, all O-shaped annular flow channels. The cross-sectional areas of the annular flow passages gradually decreases from upstream to downstream in the direction of water flow (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the passage portions (76, 78) of Sykula to have narrowing cross-sections from upstream to downstream in the direction of the fluid flow in order to increase the flow rate of the fluid in the downstream direction, which leads to better cleaning as taught by Zhu (see [0033]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykula in view of Wu further in view of Zhu.
In reference to dependent claim 16, Sykula is silent regarding each of the at least two nozzle passage portions has a cross-sectional area decreasing at a predetermined distance from a point where the fluid is introduced.
Zhu teaches a spraying arm formed with a flow channel (or nozzle passage) having at least two, all O-shaped annular flow channels. The cross-sectional areas of the annular flow passages gradually decreases from upstream to downstream in the direction of water flow (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the passage portions (76, 78) of Sykula to have narrowing cross-sections from upstream to downstream in the direction of the fluid flow in order to increase the flow rate of the fluid in the downstream direction, which leads to better cleaning as taught by Zhu (see [0033]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykula in view of Zhu further in view of Wu.
In reference to dependent claim 18, Sykula further discloses: the first nozzle and the second nozzle are shaped to spray fluid in a flat fan pattern (see [0054] and Fig. 2).
However, Sykula and Zhu are silent regarding each cross-sectional area of the plurality of the discharge ports is configured to incrementally expand in a direction away from a corresponding nozzle passage portion among the at least two nozzle passage portions.
Wu teaches a similar nozzle (see Figs. 1-2) including an outlet (23) that is shaped as a flat and long arc-shaped (see [0034] and Figs. 1-2). Moreover, fluid sprayed from the nozzle (23) is spread in a fan shape similar to the sprays from the nozzles in Sykula.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured each of the nozzles of Sykula to gradually expand in a direction away from a corresponding nozzle passage portion in order to eject fluid in a flat fan pattern as taught by Wu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 17, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on September 3, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799