DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/20/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 03/20/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. (US 20210068075 A1), hereinafter “Uesaka”; and in further view of Chincholi et al. (US 20180324654 A1), hereinafter “Chincholi”.
Regarding claim 1, Uesaka A user device for performing narrowband Internet of Things-based communication, the user device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to [Uesaka: Abstract teaches method and medium for decoding of narrowband information blocks]
descramble narrowband physical broadcast channels (NPBCHs) respectively included in at least two frames to obtain at least two descrambled NPBCHs, the NPBCHs including identical data and having different phases from each other [Uesaka: Figs. 2,9; Par. 10, 43, 51- 65 teaches of decoding NPBCH where NPBCH are in subframe symbols 0-2 (Par. 63),
However, Uesaka does not teach measure narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP) based on the at least two descrambled NPBCHs.
Nevertheless, Chincholi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches measure narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP) based on the at least two descrambled NPBCHs [Chincholi: Fig. 11; Par. 98; 105 teaches of determining NRSRP for reselection triggering so that subsequent NPBCH decoding on target cell].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chincholi for performing NRSRP measurement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chincholi in the Uesaka system in order to provide subsequent NPBCH decoding on a target cell can be run and save current consumption [Chincholi: Par. 105].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to measure the NRSRP based on an average value of received power of first resource elements (REs), the first REs being included in each of the at least two descrambled NPBCHs, and the first REs corresponding to each other [Chincholi: Par. 100 teaches NRSRP estimation may be performed on a per Tx antenna basis by coherently averaging available NRS tones across 40 ms and then non-coherently averaging the results].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches each of the at least two descrambled NPBCHs includes K REs, K being an integer of 100 or less; and the processing circuitry is configured to
generate K average values of received power based on the first REs, and
measure the NRSRP based on each of the K average values of received power [Uesaka: Par. 9 teaches 100 Res available for NPBCH].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to measure the NRSRP based on a differential correlation value of two REs, the two REs being included in each of two consecutive descrambled NPBCHs among the at least two descrambled NPBCHs, and the two REs corresponding to each other Chincholi: Par. 100 teaches NRSRP estimation may be performed on a per Tx antenna basis by coherently averaging available NRS tones across 40 ms and then non-coherently averaging the results].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches the at least two frames are received from a neighboring cell; and
the processing circuitry is configured to request a serving cell for a handover to the neighboring cell based on the NRSRP [Chincholi: Fig. 11; Par. 98; 105 teaches of determining NRSRP for reselection triggering so that subsequent NPBCH decoding on target cell; Par. 7 teaches of UE decision to initiate a handover based on the measurement].
Regarding claim 10, Uesaka An operating method of a user device for performing narrowband Internet of Things-based communication, the operating method comprising [Uesaka: Abstract teaches method and medium for decoding of narrowband information blocks]
extracting narrowband physical broadcast channels (NPBCHs) from at least two frames to obtain extracted NPBCHs, the NPBCHs including identical data and having different phases from each other [Uesaka: Figs. 2,9; Par. 10, 43, 51- 65 teaches of decoding NPBCH where NPBCH are in subframe symbols 0-2 (Par. 63) generating at least two descrambled NPBCHs by descrambling the extracted NPBCHs [Uesaka: Fig. 9; Par. 80- 89 teaches of decoding NPBCHs from different subframes],
However, Uesaka does not teach measure narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP) based on the at least two descrambled NPBCHs.
Nevertheless, Chincholi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches measure narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP) based on the at least two descrambled NPBCHs [Chincholi: Fig. 11; Par. 98; 105 teaches of determining NRSRP for reselection triggering so that subsequent NPBCH decoding on target cell].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chincholi for performing NRSRP measurement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chincholi in the Uesaka system in order to provide subsequent NPBCH decoding on a target cell can be run and save current consumption [Chincholi: Par. 105].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches storing the at least two descrambled NPBCHs in a memory [Uesaka: Abstract].
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches wherein the at least two frames includes eight frames [Uesaka: Par. 10 teaches of having eight NPBCH sub-frames].
Regarding claim 18, Uesaka A user device for performing narrowband Internet of Things-based communication, the user device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to [Uesaka: Abstract teaches method and medium for decoding of narrowband information blocks]
measure first narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP) based on at least two first narrowband physical broadcast channels (NPBCHs), the at least two first NPBCHs being included in each of at least two frames among at least N consecutive frames received from a first cell, N being an integer of 2 or greater [Uesaka: Figs. 2,9; Par. 10, 43, 51- 65 teaches of decoding NPBCH where NPBCH are in subframe symbols 0-2 (Par. 63) he first cell being connected to the user device, and the at least two first NPBCHs including identical data and having different phases from each other [Uesaka: Fig. 9; Par. 80- 89 teaches of decoding NPBCHs from different subframes],
However, Uesaka does not teach measure a second NRSRP based on at least two second NPBCHs included in each of at least two frames among at least N consecutive frames received from a second cell, the second cell being different from the first cell, and the at least two second NPBCHs including identical data and having different phases from each other, and
determine whether to request a handover based on the first NRSRP and the second NRSRP.
Nevertheless, Chincholi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches measure a second NRSRP based on at least two second NPBCHs included in each of at least two frames among at least N consecutive frames received from a second cell, the second cell being different from the first cell, and the at least two second NPBCHs including identical data and having different phases from each other[Chincholi: Fig. 11; Par. 98; 105 teaches of determining NRSRP for reselection triggering so that subsequent NPBCH decoding on target cell];
determine whether to request a handover based on the first NRSRP and the second NRSRP [Chincholi: Par. 7 teaches of UE decision to initiate a handover based on the measurement].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chincholi for performing NRSRP measurement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chincholi in the Uesaka system in order to provide subsequent NPBCH decoding on a target cell can be run and save current consumption [Chincholi: Par. 105].
Regarding claim 19, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 18. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches measure the first NRSRP based on an average value of received powers of first resource elements (REs), the first REs being included in each of the at least two first NPBCHs, and the first REs corresponding to each other; and measure the second NRSRP based on an average value of received powers of second resource elements (REs), the second REs being included in each of the at least two second NPBCHs, and the second REs corresponding to each other [Chincholi: Par. 100 teaches NRSRP estimation may be performed on a per Tx antenna basis by coherently averaging available NRS tones across 40 ms and then non-coherently averaging the results].
Regarding claim 20, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 18. Uesaka in view of Chincholi further teaches measure the first NRSRP based on a differential correlation value of received powers of two third REs, the two third REs being included in each of two consecutive descrambled NPBCHs among the at least two first NPBCHs, and the two third REs corresponding to each other; and
measure the second NRSRP based on a differential correlation value of received powers of two fourth REs, the two fourth REs being included in each of two consecutive descrambled NPBCHs among the at least two second NPBCHs, and the two fourth REs corresponding to each other [Chincholi: Par. 100 teaches NRSRP estimation may be performed on a per Tx antenna basis by coherently averaging available NRS tones across 40 ms and then non-coherently averaging the results].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
A full search was conducted and the features of the instant claims 5-8, 15-16 were not found to be in any reasonable combination of the closest prior art in combination of Uesaka in view of Chincholi.
With respect to exemplary, the prior arts in above teach of method and devices for narrowband decoding of NPBCH [Uesaka: Abstract; Fig. 9; Par. 80- 89] and measuring of NRSRP based on NPBCH [Chincholi: Abstract, Fig. 11; Par. 820 92].
However, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 5 and 15 reciting;
“wherein the at least two frames include N consecutive frames, N being an integer of 2 or greater;
the at least two descrambled NPBCHs include N descrambled NPBCHs;
each of the N descrambled NPBCHs includes K resource elements, K being an integer of 100 or less; and
the measuring of the NRSRP comprises
generating (N−1)*K differential correlation values based on the second REs, and
measuring the NRSRP based on the (N−1)*K differential correlation values”
In addition, the combined Uesaka in view of Chincholi does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 6-8, and 16 reciting;
“wherein the processing circuitry is
configured to:
generate T first descrambled NPBCHs by descrambling NPBCHs included in a first frame group, T being an integer of 2 or greater;
generate T second descrambled NPBCHs by descrambling NPBCHs included in a second frame group, each of the first frame group and the second frame group including T frames; and
measure the NRSRP based on a first cumulative value and a second cumulative value, the first cumulative value being generated based on cumulative received powers of third REs, the third REs being included in each of the T first descrambled NPBCHs, the third REs corresponding to each other, the second cumulative value being generated based on cumulative received powers of fourth REs, the fourth REs being included in each of the T second descrambled NPBCHs, and the fourth REs corresponding to each other”.
Therefore, Claims 5-8, 15-16 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter and allowed over the closest Prior Art references of Lee in view of Nguyen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412