DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 4,419,873 to Sopko.
Sopko discloses a lock comprising: a lock body (10) comprising a lock housing (23) and having at least one locking element receiver (11, 12); a locking element (28) which can be brought into a locked state in which the locking element is inserted with a locking section (end portion of 28 with notch) into the locking element receiver; and a locking mechanism (25) which is at least partially accommodated in the lock housing and selectively blocks the locking element in its locked state from leaving the locking element receiver or releases it for leaving the locking element receiver; wherein the lock housing comprises a cup element (reception area of 10) having a base and a circumferential wall projecting from the base, and a cover element (30) which closes the cup element, wherein the cup element comprises a first through-opening (11) and an engaging section (cavity where 26 moves within), wherein the locking section of the locking element can be inserted through the first through-opening into the locking element receiver, and wherein the cover element comprises a cover section (15) and a first leg (18) projecting from the cover section which engages behind the engaging section of the cup element, in order to secure the cover element to the cup element (shown in figure 2), wherein the cover element is formed as an integral one-piece component (as best shown in figures 1 and 6, the cover element is comprised of a singular element), as in claim 1.
Sopko also discloses the first through-opening is formed at the base of the cup element (figure 2), as in claim 2, and the engaging section of the cup element is formed by an edge portion of the first through-opening, wherein the first leg of the cover element extends through the first through-opening (shown in figure 2), as in claim 3, as well as the cup element comprises at least a first engaging recess (respective side of central cavity), wherein the first leg of the cover element engages with the first engaging recess, and wherein the engaging section of the cup element is formed by an edge portion (flanges of 20 and 21) of the first engaging recess, as in claim 4, wherein the wall of the cup element comprises a plurality of first engaging recesses (respective ends of the cup element have 20 and 21), wherein the cup element comprises a plurality of engaging sections (flange of 20 and 21) each formed by an edge portion of one of the plurality of first engaging recesses, and wherein the first leg of the cover element engages with one of the plurality of first engaging recesses and engages behind the edge portion of this engaging recess (shown in figure 2), as in claim 5.
Sopko further discloses the locking section of the locking element is inserted into the locking element receiver of the lock body, the locking element substantially fills the first through-opening of the cup element in such a way that the locking element blocks access to the first leg of the cover element through the first through-opening (as best shown in figure 2 and 6), as in claim 6, and in the locked state of the locking element, the first leg of the cover element is blocked against release from the engaging section of the cup element by the locking section inserted in the locking element receiver (16 and 17 have cap portions which ride over wall sections 20 and 21 as the respective screws are turned down into the respective boss portions of the cylinder guard to hold the guard tightly fastened to the lock), as in claim 7, as well as the first leg of the cover element is pretensioned against the engaging section of the cup element (shown in figure 2), as in claim 9.
Sopko additionally discloses the first leg of the cover element has a longitudinal extent (distal extent of the leg), wherein the first leg comprises at an end of its longitudinal extent remote from the cover section a fastening projection (screw threads therein) which projects from the first leg transverse to the longitudinal extent of the first leg (figures 1 and 5), as in claim 10, wherein the fastening projection is formed as a bend (threads curve about the axis of 18 and 19), as in claim 11.
Sopko also discloses the cup element comprises a further engaging section, and wherein the cover element comprises a second leg (19) projecting from the cover section which engages behind the further engaging section of the cup element in order to secure the cover element to the cup element (figure 2), as in claim 12, wherein the first leg of the cover element lies against a first wall section (20) of the wall of the cup element, and wherein the second leg of the cover element lies against a second wall section (21) of the wall of the cup element, which is arranged opposite to the first wall section (figure 2), as in claim 13, wherein the lock body comprises a further locking element receiver, wherein in the locked state the locking element is inserted with a further locking section into the further locking element receiver, and wherein the cup element comprises a second through-opening through which the further locking section can be inserted into the further locking element receiver (assembly shown in figure 2), as in claim 14, and where the wall of the cup element comprises at least a second engaging recess, wherein the second leg of the cover element engages with the second engaging recess, and wherein the further engaging section of the cup element is formed by an edge portion of the second engaging recess (cutouts within the respective flanges 20 and 21; figure 2), as in claim 15.
Sopko further discloses the locking element comprises a coupling section (long leg of 28 having a flange) with which the locking element is permanently mounted to the lock body, as in claim 16, and the locking section of the locking element comprises a locking recess (notch that receives 26), wherein the first leg of the cover element of the lock housing comprises a locking recess (channel the latch extends through), and wherein the locking mechanism comprises a latch (26) which is adjustable between a locking position and an unlocking position, and in the locking position engages in the locking recess of the locking section and also engages in the locking recess of the first leg provided that the locking element is in the locked state, and thereby blocks the locking section against leaving the locking element receiver(As shown in figure 2), as in claim 17, as well as the cup element comprises an opening through which the locking mechanism extends through or can be operated (shown in figures 1, 3 and 5), as in claim 18, and where the cover element is formed rotationally-symmetrical and/or mirror-symmetrical (as best shown in figures 1 and 3), as in claim 19.
Sopko additionally discloses a lock comprising: a lock housing (10) having a receiving opening (11); a locking element (28) comprising a locking section (end portion of 28 with notch), wherein the locking section is selectively inserted into the receiving opening of the lock housing in order to close the lock; and a locking mechanism (25) which selectively blocks the locking section of the locking element when inserted into the receiving opening; wherein the lock housing comprises a housing element (cavity within 10 that receives the lock cylinder) which accommodates the locking mechanism within a mounting space and a lid (30) which covers the mounting space of the housing element, wherein the housing element comprises an engaging section (20, 21), wherein the lid comprises a leg (18, 19) having a transverse fastening projection which engages behind the engaging section of the housing element in order to secure the lid to the housing element (fastened via 16 and 17), and wherein the locking section of the locking element, when inserted into the receiving opening of the lock housing, blocks the leg of the lid against release of the transverse fastening projection from the engaging section of the housing element, thereby preventing the lid from being removed from the housing element (as shown in figure 2), as in claim 20.
Sopko also discloses a lock comprising: a lock body (10) comprising a lock housing (23) and having at least one locking element receiver (11, 12); a locking element (28) which can be brought into a locked state in which the locking element is inserted with a locking section (end portion of 28 with notch) into the locking element receiver; and a locking mechanism (25) which is at least partially accommodated in the lock housing and selectively blocks the locking element in its locked state from leaving the locking element receiver or releases it for leaving the locking element receiver; wherein the lock housing comprises a cup element (reception area of 10) having a base and a circumferential wall projecting from the base, and a cover element (30) which closes the cup element, wherein the cup element comprises a first through-opening (11) and an engaging section (cavity where 26 moves within), wherein the locking section of the locking element can be inserted through the first through-opening into the locking element receiver, and wherein the cover element comprises a cover section (15) and a first leg (18) projecting from the cover section which engages behind the engaging section of the cup element, in order to secure the cover element to the cup element (shown in figure 2), wherein the first leg of the cover element is latched onto the engaging section of the cup element (18 and 19 of the cover element interact with 20 and 21 of the cup element, wherein additional fasteners are included to fasten the cover element to the cup element), as in claim 21.
Sopko further discloses a lock comprising: a lock body (10) comprising a lock housing (23) and having at least one locking element receiver (11, 12); a locking element (28) which can be brought into a locked state in which the locking element is inserted with a locking section (end portion of 28 with notch) into the locking element receiver; and a locking mechanism (25) which is at least partially accommodated in the lock housing and selectively blocks the locking element in its locked state from leaving the locking element receiver or releases it for leaving the locking element receiver; wherein the lock housing comprises a cup element (reception area of 10) having a base and a circumferential wall projecting from the base, and a cover element (30) which closes the cup element, wherein the cup element comprises a first through-opening (11) and an engaging section (cavity where 26 moves within), wherein the locking section of the locking element can be inserted through the first through-opening into the locking element receiver, and wherein the cover element comprises a cover section (15) and a first leg (18) projecting from the cover section which engages behind the engaging section of the cup element, in order to secure the cover element to the cup element (shown in figure 2), wherein in the locked state of the locking element, the first leg of the cover element is blocked against release from the engaging section of the cup element by the locking section inserted in the locking element receiver (figure 2); wherein the locking section occupies a space into which the first leg of the cover element must be laterally moved in order to be removed from the engaging section of the cup element (the shackle must be removed from the space to allow for removal fasteners and to separate the cover element from the cup element), as in claim 22.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are allowable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not teach or render obvious the combination set forth, including that of the first leg of the cover element is elastically deflectable in such a way that when the locking section of the locking element is not inserted into the locking element receiver of the lock body, by opposing a restoring force, the first leg may be released from the engaging section of the cup element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that the cover element of Sopko is not formed as an integral one-piece component, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Sopko discloses the cover element is comprised of a singular element, as best shown in figures 1 and 6, where the boss is of integral construction with the remainder of the cover element. Upon assembly of the elements, the bosses engage (interact mechanically; to cause mechanical parts to mesh) with the flanges to hold the cover element tightly fastened to the lock housing with the inclusion of additional fasteners, as seen in figure 2. The examiner notes the claims do not preclude additional structure to aid in the assembly of the lock.
In regards to the argument that Sopko does not disclose the first leg of the cover element is latched onto the engaging section of the cup element, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Sopko discloses screws 16 and 17 have cap portions which ride over flanges 20 and 21 as the respective screws are turned down into the respective boss portions of the cylinder guard to hold the guard tightly fastened to the padlock; therefore, mating mechanical parts engage to fasten but usually not to lock something. Thus, the screws latch the cover element to the cup element.
Responding to the argument that the shackle of Sopko does not occupy the space into which the screws would have to be laterally moved in order to be removed from the engaging sections of the cup element, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As clearly shown in figure 2, the shackle is in axial alignment with the fastener, wherein the shackle must be removed from a common space to access the fasteners, allowing for removal of the cover element from the cup element.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
February 18, 2026