Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the 1st sentence repeats information in the title. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31 - 33, 35, 41 - 44, 46, 49 - 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20230045501 A1; WO2021141347A1 version provided in the International Search Report).
Regarding claim 31, Kim discloses a wireless communication method (Fig. 1; [0007] discloses wireless; Fig. 10) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication terminal from a wireless communication node, a paging message (Fig. 10, step 1020) indicating the wireless communication terminal to receive mobile terminated small data transmission, MT-SDT, data (Title & [0001] discloses small data; Fig. 10, step 1020; [0168] discloses “The base station may generate data of a small size to be transmitted to the UE receiving the EDT configuration information….…the base station may transmit a paging message to the UE (step 1020). In this case, the paging message may include an indicator indicating an MT-EDT trigger in the PagingRecord IE containing the ID of the UE…”);
and receiving, by the wireless communication terminal from the wireless communication node, the MT-SDT data according to the paging message and an MT-SDT configuration (Fig. 10, step 1020; [0168] discloses “… The base station may generate data of a small size to be transmitted to the UE receiving the EDT configuration information …”).
Regarding claim 32, Kim discloses the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT configuration from the wireless communication node ([0168] discloses “… The base station may generate data of a small size to be transmitted to the UE receiving the EDT configuration information … “);
wherein the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT configuration in a first RRC message, and the first RRC message comprises an RRC setup message, an RRC reconfiguration message, or an RRC release message ([0149] discloses “The UE receiving the EDT configuration information ….The RRC layer of the UE receiving the system information containing the EDT configuration information primarily determines ….”; [0064] discloses “RRC connection release message”);
and wherein the wireless communication terminal transmits a second RRC message to the wireless communication node to confirm the MT-SDT configuration ([0168], last 2 sentences disclose “Upon receiving the paging message containing the indicator, the UE may determine which uplink will be used for the MT-EDT operation (step 1025). The RRC layer of the UE may request an MT-EDT trigger from the lower MAC layer when at least the following conditions are satisfied.”; wherein the 2nd RRC message is the UE request).
Regarding claim 33, Kim discloses the MT-SDT configuration comprises at least one of:
frequency domain resource information (Fig. 7; [0084] – [0090] describes Fig. 7);
time domain resource information;
a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier, CS-RNTI ([0045] discloses “Table 1 having connection setup and reestablishment parameters, including RNTI);
or Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information ([0046] discloses HARQ).
Regarding claim 35, Kim discloses the paging message comprises an MT-SDT indicator indicating the wireless communication terminal to receive MT-SDT data ([0168] discloses “In this case, the paging message may include an indicator indicating an MT-EDT trigger in the PagingRecord IE containing the ID of the UE”);
and wherein the MT-SDT indicator comprises an indication on a paging cause with a value for MT-SDT ([0184] discloses “… establishment cause information…”).
Regarding claim 41, Kim discloses the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT data in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, INACTIVE state or an RRC Idle state ([0046] discloses “…The disclosure proposes a technique for transmitting and receiving user data of a predetermined small size when the UE in an idle mode (RRC_idle) or an inactive mode (RRC_inactive) performs a random access procedure with the base station without switching to a connected mode (RRC_connected)…”).
Claim 42 is similarly analyzed as claim 31, with claim 42 reciting equivalent operations as performed by the node side.
Claim 43 is similarly analyzed as claim 32, with claim 43 reciting equivalent operations as performed by the node side.
Claim 44 is similarly analyzed as claim 33.
Claim 46 is similarly analyzed as claim 35.
Claim 49 is similarly analyzed as claim 41.
Claim 50 is similarly analyzed as claim 31, with claim 50 reciting equivalent apparatus operations. Communication unit and processor are disclosed by Kim (Fig. 14; [0220] – [0221]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39 - 40, 47 - 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230045501 A1; WO2021141347A1 version provided in the International Search Report) in view of Shih et al. (US 20220086899 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Kim does not disclose the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT data on a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, according to the MT-SDT configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Shih discloses the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT data on a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, according to the MT-SDT configuration ([0382] – [0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by Shih, in the system of Kim because PDSCH channel is known for high speed and efficiency, low latency etc.
Regarding claim 40, Kim does not disclose the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT data on a PDSCH without a scheduling from the wireless communication node.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Shih discloses the wireless communication terminal receives the MT-SDT data on a PDSCH without a scheduling from the wireless communication node ([0337] discloses RA procedure for SDT and subsequent transmissions could be scheduled by the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by Shih, in the system of Kim because non-scheduling could allow for transmitting data immediately.
Claim 47 is similarly analyzed as claim 39.
Claim 48 is similarly analyzed as claim 40.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34, 36 - 38, 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to Small Data transmission.:
Kim et al. (US 20240407049 A1) discloses Small Data Transmission Timer
Alfarhan et al. (US 20240365316 A1) discloses Methods, Apparatus and Systems for Uplink Transmission of Small Data.
Jeon et al. (US 20230413379 A1) discloses Paging for Small Data Transmission.
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632