Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
.Claim(s) 1-5, 10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zaki et Al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0383077 A1,hereinafter, ‘Zaki’.
Consider Claim 1, Zaki teaches a method of operating a wireless communication device for performing a cell search (e.g., see at least abstract, and figure 3-5 and 9), the method comprising: generating a first accumulated signal by accumulating a downlink signal by a first reference number of times, the generating of the first accumulated signal being based on an interval of a first synchronization signal included in the downlink signal(e.g., see at least 0050 “ ,,,accumulate energy from multiple synchronization signals in order to facilitate the detection. As a baseline for comparison, in one example, a Cat-M UE may need to accumulate energy from combining 64 half-frames in order to detect synchronization signals 320 from base station 105 with 95% confidence…”, see also figure 3); calculating a first quality metric based on the first accumulated signal (e.g., see at least 930 of figure 9 – generate a detection metric); determining whether the first quality metric exceeds a first threshold value (e.g., see at least 940 and 950 of figure 9 - threshold); and updating the first accumulated signal in response to determining the first quality metric does not exceed the first threshold value to obtain an updated first accumulated signal (e.g., this is met based on at least 960 and paragraph 0094).
Consider Claim 18, Zaki teaches a wireless communication device for performing a cell search, the wireless communication device comprising: processing circuitry (e.g., see hardware architecture illustrated in at least figure 1) configured to generate a first accumulated signal by accumulating a downlink signal by a first reference number of times, the first accumulated signal being generated based on an interval of a first synchronization signal included in the downlink signal(e.g., see at least 0050 “ ,,,accumulate energy from multiple synchronization signals in order to facilitate the detection. As a baseline for comparison, in one example, a Cat-M UE may need to accumulate energy from combining 64 half-frames in order to detect synchronization signals 320 from base station 105 with 95% confidence…”, see also figure 3), calculate a first quality metric based on the first accumulated signal, determine whether the first quality metric exceeds a first threshold value(e.g., see at least 930 of figure 9 – generate a detection metric), update the first accumulated signal in response to determining the first quality metric does not exceed the first threshold value, generate a second accumulated signal in response to determining the first quality metric exceeds the first threshold value, the second accumulated signal being generated by accumulating the downlink signal by a second reference number of times based on an interval of a second synchronization signal included in the downlink signal, calculate a second quality metric based on the second accumulated signal, determine whether the second quality metric exceeds a third threshold value, update the second accumulated signal in response to determining the second quality metric does not exceed the third threshold value, and perform a decoding for a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) included in the downlink signal in response to determining the second quality metric exceeds the third threshold value (e.g., see at least 0092, figure 9. Paragraph 0092 teaches – “the UE may identify a detection threshold associated with the at least one synchronization signal for determining whether the synchronization procedure can be terminated prior to receiving a predetermined number of synchronization signals.” – 0058-“…under the control of synchronization manager 515, receiver 510 may receive slots or subframes having a PSS, SSS, and PBCH for use in a synchronization procedure such as a cell search or DRX wakeup procedure…”).
Consider Claims 2 and 19, Zaki teaches wherein the updating of the first accumulated signal comprises: determining whether the first quality metric exceeds a second threshold value, the second threshold value being less than the first threshold value (see second threshold noted in 0092); and updating the first accumulated signal by first additionally accumulating the downlink signal by the first reference number of times in response to determining the first quality metric does not exceed the second threshold value, the first additionally accumulating being based on the interval of the first synchronization signal(i.e., this is met bet on the flow chart of figure 9- see threshold detection and accumulation process), or second additionally accumulating the downlink signal by a third reference number of times in response to determining the first quality metric exceeds the second threshold value, the second additionally accumulating including setting the third reference number of times based on a first additional accumulation reference table, and the second additionally accumulating being based on the interval of the first synchronization signal (e.g., this limitation/ claim is met based on the teachings of at least 0092. 0092 teaches a second threshold- “ The detection threshold may include a first detection threshold for use with an initial cell search, and a second detection threshold for use with a DRX-based timing synchronization procedure. The first detection threshold may be different than the second detection threshold. In some aspects, the detection threshold may include a first detection threshold for detecting PSS, and a second detection threshold for detecting SSS.
Consider Claim 3, Zaki teaches further comprising: generating a second accumulated signal by accumulating the downlink signal by a second reference number of times, the generating of the second accumulated signal being based on an interval of a second synchronization signal included in the downlink signal, and the generating the second accumulated signal being performed in response to determining that the updated first accumulated signal exceeds the first threshold value; calculating a second quality metric based on the second accumulated signal; determining whether the second quality metric exceeds a third threshold value; and performing at least one of updating the second accumulated signal in response to determining the second quality metric does not exceed the third threshold value to obtain an updated second accumulated signal, or performing decoding on a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) included in the downlink signal in response to determining the second quality metric exceeds the third threshold value(this is met based on 0092 – “the UE may identify a detection threshold associated with the at least one synchronization signal for determining whether the synchronization procedure can be terminated prior to receiving a predetermined number of synchronization signals.” – 0058-“…under the control of synchronization manager 515, receiver 510 may receive slots or subframes having a PSS, SSS, and PBCH for use in a synchronization procedure such as a cell search or DRX wakeup procedure…”)
Consider Claims 4 and 20, Zaki teaches wherein the updating of the second accumulated signal comprises: determining whether the second quality metric exceeds a fourth threshold value that is less than the third threshold value; and updating the second accumulated signal by third additionally accumulating the downlink signal by a second reference number of times in response to determining the second quality metric does not exceed the fourth threshold value, and the third additionally accumulating being based on the interval of the second synchronization signal; or fourth additionally accumulating the downlink signal by a fourth reference number of times in response to determining the second quality metric exceeds the fourth threshold value, fourth additionally accumulating including setting the fourth reference number of times based on a second additional accumulation reference table, and the fourth additionally accumulating being based on the interval of the second synchronization signal (e.g., this is met based on 0092 – “the UE may identify a detection threshold associated with the at least one synchronization signal for determining whether the synchronization procedure can be terminated prior to receiving a predetermined number of synchronization signals.”.)
Consider Claim 5, Zaki teaches wherein the first quality metric includes any one of: a peak value of a first correlation between the downlink signal and a first synchronization signal sequence, a reference signal received power (RSRP) calculated based on the peak value of the first correlation, or a signal to noise ratio (SNR) calculated based on the peak value of the first correlation; and the second quality metric includes any one of: a peak value of a second correlation between the downlink signal and a second synchronization signal sequence, an RSRP calculated based on the peak value of the second correlation, or an SNR calculated based on the peak value of the second correlation (e.g., this is met based on the context of correlation metrics noted in at least 0053-0055).
Consider Claim 10, Zaki teaches the claimed invention further comprising: calculating an updated first quality metric based on the updated first accumulated signal; determining whether the updated first quality metric exceeds the first threshold value; calculating an updated second quality metric based on the updated second accumulated signal; and determining whether the updated second quality metric exceeds the third threshold value e.g., this is met based on 0092 – “the UE may identify a detection threshold associated with the at least one synchronization signal for determining whether the synchronization procedure can be terminated prior to receiving a predetermined number of synchronization signals.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaki et Al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0383077 A1,hereinafter, ‘Zaki’ in view of Ryden et al. US Patent No.: 12,621, 688, hereinafter, ‘Ryden’.
Consider Claim 6, Zaki teaches the claimed invention except further comprising: increasing an accumulated count value by the first reference number of times after the generating of the first accumulated signal, wherein the updating of the first accumulated signal comprises updating the first accumulated signal based on a second threshold value that is less than the first threshold value, and the accumulated count value.
In analogous art, Ryden teaches utilizing an accumulation count value to track a particular signaling count – claim 1. Col. 3 lines 39-52 states “…The proposed reporting format according to some of the embodiments herein also allows the UE to use counters to estimate its signal quality change over time, the benefit being that the UE does not need to store multiple samples in its memory, but only needs to update a number of counters…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try increasing an accumulated count value by the first reference number of times after the generating of the first accumulated signal, wherein the updating of the first accumulated signal comprises updating the first accumulated signal based on a second threshold value that is less than the first threshold value, and the accumulated count value UE to use counters to estimate its signal quality change over time, the benefit being that the UE does not need to store multiple samples in its memory.
Consider Claim 8, Zaki teaches the claimed invention except, further comprising: initializing the accumulated count value before the generating of the second accumulated signal; and increasing the accumulated count value by the second reference number of times after the generating of the second accumulated signal, wherein the updating of the second accumulated signal comprises updating the second accumulated signal based on a fourth threshold value and the accumulated count value, the fourth threshold value being less than the third threshold value.
In analogous art, Ryden teaches utilizing an accumulation count value to track a particular signaling count – claim 1. Col. 3 lines 39-52 states “…The proposed reporting format according to some of the embodiments herein also allows the UE to use counters to estimate its signal quality change over time, the benefit being that the UE does not need to store multiple samples in its memory, but only needs to update a number of counters…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try initializing the accumulated count value before the generating of the second accumulated signal; and increasing the accumulated count value by the second reference number of times after the generating of the second accumulated signal, wherein the updating of the second accumulated signal comprises updating the second accumulated signal based on a fourth threshold value and the accumulated count value, the fourth threshold value being less than the third threshold value to use counters to estimate its signal quality change over time, the benefit being that the UE does not need to store multiple samples in its memory.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not specifically teach the concepts outlined with respect to resetting a frequency band and updating as noted with respect to claims 7 and 9 .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646