DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the above application filed on 20 March 2024. Claims 1-5 are examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Abstract is objected. “suppress of eliminate a fire” is believed to be in error for – suppress or eliminate a fire -.
P. 4, ll. 5-6, “housing that has a bottom, side walls” is believed to be in error for – housing that has a bottom XX, side walls XX–; where XX are to be reference characters that match the reference characters of bottom and side walls in Figs. 1-3.
P. 6, l. 12, “on the bottom or sides of the sled” is believed to be in error for – on the bottom XX or sides XX,XX of the sled ––; where XX are to be reference characters that match the reference characters of bottom and side walls in Figs. 1-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figures 1-7 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference character(s) mentioned in the description: Figures 1-3, and 4-7 do not include reference characters for bottom and sides of sled 10. Additionally, the missing reference characters for bottom and side walls, in the Figures, need to be added to the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1:
The recitation “the left side tee being connected to the left side pipe at one opening, a second left side pipe at a second opening, and a left side water distribution nozzle at the third opening;” (ll. 12-14) is believed to be in error for – the left side tee being connected to the left side pipe at one opening of the left side tee, a second left side pipe at a second opening of the left side tee, and a left side water distribution nozzle at a third opening of the left side tee –.
The recitation “a battery compartment of a an electric vehicle” (ll. 16-17, and ll. 23-24) is believed to be in error for – the electric vehicle lithium-ion battery compartment of an electric vehicle –.
The recitation “the right side tee being connected to the right side pipe at one opening, a second right side pipe at a second opening, and a right side water distribution nozzle at the third opening;” (ll. 19-21) is believed to be in error for – the right side tee being connected to the right side pipe at one opening of the right side tee, a second right side pipe at a second opening of the right side tee, and a right side water distribution nozzle at a third opening of the right side tee –.
Regarding Claim 2:
The recitation “a second tee connected to the second left side pipe, … and a second tee connected to the second right side pipe,” (ll. 2-4) is believed to be in error for – a second left side tee connected to the second left side pipe, … and a second right side tee connected to the second right side pipe,–.
Regarding Claim 4:
The recitation “the nozzles” (l. 1) is believed to be in error for – the left side and the right side water distribution nozzles –.
Regarding Claim 5:
The recitation “a feedline nozzle” (l’. 1-2) is believed to be in error for – a feeding nozzle –.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park 2023/0241432 in view of Dunbar 1493327, Goble 4858695, and further in view of Wintering 2006/0060676.
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches a cooling sled 1200 for preventing thermal runaway of an electric vehicle 1100 lithium-ion battery compartment 1110, the cooling sled 1200 comprising:
a housing 1205 having a bottom [b], sides [c, d] and a top [a] and including (Annotated Fig. 7, below):
a water supply (fire extinguishing medium, via pipe 1271, connected to fire truck) to the sled 1200 ([0070]; Fig. 7)
a left side water distribution nozzle 1255, [g] at an opening (Nozzles 1255 extending through top of housing 1205, seen in Fig. 7, inherently extend through openings on the top [a] of the housing);
the left side water distribution nozzle 1255, [g] extending through the top [a] of the housing 1205 for distributing water (fire extinguishing medium) to a battery compartment 1110 of an electric vehicle 1100 ([0069-71; 0094-95]; Figs. 9-10; Annotated Fig. 7, below);
and a right side water distribution nozzle 1255, [h] at the opening (Nozzles 1255 extending through top of housing 1205, seen in Fig. 7, inherently extend through openings on the top [a] of the housing);
the right side water distribution nozzle 1255, [h] extending through the top of the housing 1205 for distributing water (fire extinguishing medium) to a battery compartment 1110 of an electric vehicle 1100 ([0069-71; 0094-95]; Figs. 9-10; Annotated Fig. 7, below);
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 7 of Park (U.S. 2023/0241432)
Park does not teach a first tee having a first opening for connecting a water supply to the sled,
a second opening for connecting a left leg pipe, and a third opening for connecting a right leg pipe.
Dunbar teaches
a first tee 18 having a first opening [m] for connecting a supply (fire extinguishing chemical) to the spray pipe system 14-17 having a left leg pipe 17, a right leg pipe 17, left side pipe 15, and right side pipe 14 (Col. 2, ll. 87-107; Annotated, Fig. 2, below),
a second opening [n] for connecting a left leg pipe 17, and a third opening [p] for connecting a right leg pipe 17 (Annotated, Fig. 2, below).
Dunbar further teaches that the shape or formation of the spray pipes can be changed at will be based on any special requirements such as danger zones of different shapes, sizes, dimensions and the like. (Col. 2, ll. 107-112).
Figure B: Annotated Fig. 2 of Dunbar (U.S. 1493327)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling sled 1200 of Park to include spray pipe system 14-17 comprising a first tee 18, connected to Park’s pipe 1271, and a first tee 18 having a first opening [m] for connecting a supply (fire extinguishing chemical) to Park’s cooling sled 1200, a second opening [n] for connecting a left leg pipe 17, and a third opening [p] for connecting a right leg pipe 17, as taught by Dunbar, in order to distribute fire extinguishing chemical throughout the entire danger zone or engine compartment of any motor driven vehicle (Dunbar, Col. 3, ll. 1-11). Note, Dunbar’s spray pipe system 14-17 is applied for its stated and intended use of distributing fire extinguishing chemical throughout the entire danger zone or engine compartment of any motor driven vehicle, and not for its location in the prior art.
Park in view of Dunbar of does not teach the left leg pipe being connected to a left elbow for distributing water along the left side of the sled; the right leg pipe being connected to a right elbow for distributing water along the right side of the sled; the left elbow being connected to a left side pipe, which is connected to a left side tee, the left side tee being connected to the left side pipe at one opening, a second left side pipe at a second opening, and a left side water distribution nozzle at the third opening; the right elbow being connected to a right side pipe, which is connected to a right side tee, the right side tee being connected to the right side pipe at one opening, a second right side pipe at a second opening, and a right side water distribution nozzle at the third opening.
Goble teaches a first pipe 170 being connected to an elbow 178 for distributing water to a sprinkler head 180, and the elbow 178 being connected to a second pipe 174 (Col. 7, ll. 32-44; Fig. 2).
Wintering teaches a system (seen in Fig. 1) supplying water (from fluid source 24 [0027]) to the nozzle assembly 26. The system comprising plurality of pipes 48 connected to plurality of T-fittings 46, each having one openings [x], a second openings [y], and a third openings [z]. The T-fitting 46 (tee) being connected to first pipe 48 at one opening [x], a second pipe 48 at a second opening [y], and water distribution nozzle 44 at a third opening [z] ([0027; 0030; 0033]; annotated Fig. 1, below).
Figure C: Annotated Fig. 1 of Wintering (U.S. 2006/0060676)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the spray pipe system 14-17 of Park in view of Dunbar by making the pipe system separable and incorporate the combination of Goble’s pipe 174, elbow joint 178 and Wintering’s pipes 48 connected to plurality of tees (T-fittings) 46, each having one openings [x], a second openings [y], and a third openings [z], in order to provide a conduit for moving fluid from the source to a nozzle (Goble Col. 7, ll. 39-42), because it has been held that making separable is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the spray pipe system 14-17 of Park in view of Dunbar and make Park in view of Dunbar’s the left leg pipe 17 be connected to Goble’s left elbow 178 for distributing water along the left side [c] of the sled 1200; the right leg pipe 17 being connected to Goble’s right elbow 178 for distributing water along the right side [d] of the sled 1200; the left elbow 178 being connected to Wintering’s left side pipe 48, which is connected to a left side tee 46, the left side tee 46 being connected to the left side pipe 48 at one opening [x], a second left side pipe 48 at a second opening [y], and Park’s left side water distribution nozzle 1255, [g] at the third opening [z]; the right elbow 178 being connected to Wintering’s right side pipe 48, which is connected to a right side tee 46, the right side tee 46 being connected to the right side pipe 48 at one opening [x], a second right side pipe 48 at a second opening [y], and Park’s right side water distribution nozzle 1255, [h] at the third opening [z], as taught by Goble and Wintering, because it was known in the prior art to use a connection of several pipes 48, 174, elbow joints 178, and tees 46 (T-fittings 46), in order to provide a conduit for moving fluid from the source to a nozzle (Goble Col. 7, ll. 39-42).
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, as discussed so far, does not teach a second tee connected to the second left side pipe, the second tee being connected to a second left side nozzle; and a second tee connected to the second right side pipe, the second tee also being connected to a second right side nozzle.
Goble further teaches a first pipe 170 being connected to an elbow 178 for distributing water to a sprinkler head 180, and the elbow 178 being connected to a second pipe 174 (Col. 7, ll. 32-44; Fig. 2).
Wintering further teaches a system (seen in Fig. 1) supplying water (from fluid source 24 [0027]) to the nozzle assembly 26. The system comprising plurality of pipes 48 connected to plurality of T-fittings 46, each having one openings [x], a second openings [y], and a third openings [z]. The T-fitting 46 (tee) being connected to first pipe 48 at one opening [x], a second pipe 48 at a second opening [y], and water distribution nozzle 44 at a third opening [z] ([0027; 0030; 0033]; annotated Fig. 1, below).
Figure C: Annotated Fig. 1 of Wintering (U.S. 2006/0060676)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling sled 1200 and the spray pipe system 14-17 of Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering to include Wintering’s second tee 46 connected to Wintering’s second left side pipe 48, the second tee 46 being connected to a second left side nozzle 44; and Wintering’s second tee 46 connected to Wintering’s second right side pipe 48, the second tee 46 also being connected to a second right side nozzle 44, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, and further in view of Ryczek 2019/0176168.
Regarding Claim 3, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, does not teach water supply is connected to the sled via a camlock fitting.
Ryczek teaches a camlock fitting 10 (connection fitting 10, seen in Fig. 1 is a camlock fitting) used for fluidly coupling two conduits such as pipes ([0029]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the water supply pipe 1271 of Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering and incorporate Ryczek’s camlock fitting 10, in order to fluidly couple two pipes (Ryczek, [0029], ll. 5-7).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, and further in view of Mitchell 6702033.
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, does not teach nozzles comprise mushroom shaped water distribution heads.
Mitchell teaches
nozzle 160 comprise mushroom shaped water distribution head 165 (mushroom shaped water distribution head 165, seen in Fig. 3) (Col. 3, ll. 30-34; Col. 12, ll. 23-25; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the water distribution nozzle 1255,[g,h] of Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering to comprise mushroom shaped water distribution head 165, as taught by Mitchell, because it was known in the prior art to use a nozzle comprising a mushroom shaped water distribution head 165, in order to suppress a fire (Mitchell, Col. 12, ll. 23-25).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, and further in view of Shin 2021/0290997.
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering, does not teach water supply also comprises a feedline nozzle.
Shin teaches a spray pipe 81 with plurality of feedline nozzles 82 for spraying fire extinguishing agent, with the nozzles 82 arranged at intervals along the pipe to uniformly spray the fire extinguishing agent ([0047-48]; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the water supply (fire extinguishing medium, via pipe 1271, connected to fire truck) of Park in view of Dunbar, Goble, and Wintering to include Shin’s feedline nozzle 25, in order to spray additional fire extinguishing agent where it is needed.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741