DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wetjens et al. (# US 2012/0314011) in view of Lee et al. (# US 2002/0086914).
Wetjens et al. discloses:
1. A method of digital printing on an article (see Abstract; see figure: 1-5), the method comprising steps of
providing a rotary carrier including a support wheel (element: 56, figure: 4) and a transfer unit (element: 80, figure: 4) coupled to the support wheel for rotation about an axis with the support wheel (figure: 4),
providing an ink solution in a storage vessel (element: 10, figure: 4),
pre-heating the ink solution in the storage vessel to provide a pre-heated ink solution ([0051]),
transferring the pre-heated ink solution from the storage vessel to an inkjet print head (element: 12, see figure: 4; [0051]),
heating the pre-heated ink solution in the print head to provide a fully-heated ink solution ([0051]-[0055]; figure: 4),
discharging the fully-heated ink solution on the transfer unit to provide a decoration-forming deposit at a first angular position about the axis (figure: 4),
rotating the rotary carrier, the transfer unit, and the decoration-forming deposit about the axis from the first angular position to a second angular position (figure: 4),
cooling, at least partially, the decoration-forming deposit after the step of applying the decoration-forming deposit on the transfer unit ([0006]; [0018]; [0036]), and
transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit to the article (element: 20, figure: 4) when the transfer unit is at the second angular position to provide a decorated article (figure: 4).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the step of cooling includes actively cooling the decoration-forming deposit by blowing air on the decoration forming deposit (figure: 4).
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material and the step of cooling further includes drawing heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier using the transfer unit (figure: 4).
Wetjens et al. explicitly did not discloses:
1. The article is a polymeric article.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the ink solution includes a flexographic ink.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the flexographic ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of heating and the step of heating is configured to lower the viscosity of the flexographic ink to below 100 cP.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the step of heating the flexographic ink includes heating the flexographic ink to at least 75° C.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the conductive material forming the transfer unit includes aluminum loaded silicone.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers,
wherein the oligomeric ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of heating and the step of heating is configured to lower the viscosity of the oligomeric ink to below 100 cP,
wherein the step of heating the oligomeric ink includes heating the oligomeric ink to at least 75° C., and
wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to raise the viscosity of the decoration-forming deposit above 100 cP prior to the decoration-forming deposit being transferred to the polymeric article.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising a step of returning the transfer unit to the first angular position and applying a second dose of fully-heated ink solution on the transfer unit after transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit to the polymeric article.
Lee et al. teaches to have high quality, durable, aeration resistance printed image,
1. The article is a polymeric article (see Abstract).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the ink solution includes a flexographic ink ([0086]).
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers ([0035]-[0042]).
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the flexographic ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of heating and the step of heating is configured to lower the viscosity of the flexographic ink to below 100 cP ([0024]).
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the step of heating the flexographic ink includes heating the flexographic ink to at least 75° C ([0098]-[0099]; see Examples).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the conductive material forming the transfer unit includes aluminum loaded silicone.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers ([0035]-[0042]),
wherein the oligomeric ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of heating and the step of heating is configured to lower the viscosity of the flexographic ink to below 100 cP ([0024]),
wherein the step of heating the oligomeric ink includes heating the oligomeric ink to at least 75° C. ([0098]-[0099]; see Examples) and
wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to raise the viscosity of the decoration-forming deposit above 100 cP prior to the decoration-forming deposit being transferred to the polymeric article ([0024]).
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising a step of returning the transfer unit to the first angular position and applying a second dose of fully-heated ink solution on the transfer unit after transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit to the polymeric article (see Abstract; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method of digital of Wetjens et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Lee et al. in order to have the high quality, durable, aeration resistance printed image.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wetjens et al. (# US 2012/0314011) in view of Lee et al. (# US 2002/0086914) and Platt (# US 2013/0145944).
Wetjens et al. discloses:
12. A method of digital printing on an article (see Abstract; figure: 1-5), the method comprising steps of
providing a carrier (element: 56, figure: 4) and a transfer unit coupled to the carrier (element: 80, figure: 4),
providing an ink solution in a storage vessel (element: 10, figure: 4),
decreasing a viscosity of the ink solution in the storage vessel to provide a thinned ink solution (element: 12, figure: 4),
transferring the thinned ink solution from the storage vessel to an inkjet print head (element: 12, figure: 4),
discharging the thinned ink solution onto the transfer unit to provide a decoration-forming deposit on the transfer unit (figure: 4),
moving the carrier, the transfer unit, and the decoration-forming deposit from a first position to a second position (figure: 4),
cooling, at least partially, the decoration-forming deposit after the step of applying the decoration-forming deposit on the transfer unit ([0006]; [0018]; [0036]), and
transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit to the article when the transfer unit is at the second position (see figure: 4).
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier (figure: 4).
18. The method of claim 12, wherein the step of cooling includes actively cooling the decoration-forming deposit by blowing air on the decoration forming deposit (figure: 4).
Wetjens et al. explicitly did not discloses:
12. The article is a polymeric article.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the ink solution includes a flexographic ink.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the flexographic ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution and the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution is configured to lower the viscosity of the flexographic ink to below 100 cP.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the step of decreasing the viscosity of the flexographic ink includes heating the flexographic ink to at least 75° C.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier.
19. The method of claim 12, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers,
wherein the oligomeric ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution and
the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution is configured to lower the viscosity of the oligomeric ink to below 100 cP,
wherein the step of decreasing the viscosity of the oligomeric ink includes heating the oligomeric ink to at least 75° C., and
wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to raise the viscosity of the decoration-forming deposit above 100 cP prior to the decoration-forming deposit being transferred to the polymeric article.
20. The method of claim 19, further comprising a step of returning the transfer unit to the first position and applying a second dose of thinned ink solution on the transfer unit after transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit to the polymeric article.
Lee et al. teaches to have high quality, durable, aeration resistance printed image,
12. The article is a polymeric article (see Abstract).
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the ink solution includes a flexographic ink ([0086]).
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers ([0035]-[0042]).
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the flexographic ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution and the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution is configured to lower the viscosity of the flexographic ink to below 100 cP ([0024]).
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the step of decreasing the viscosity of the flexographic ink includes heating the flexographic ink to at least 75° C ([0098]-[0099]; see Examples).
PLATT is also related to using a rotary carrier (101) to transfer ink from an inkjet print head (115) (Fig 1, abstract, para [0041]) and suggests forming the rotary carrier (101) of a thermally conductive material to cause a step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from a decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043], ..imaging member 101 heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption..
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the transfer unit of WETJENS in view of LEE to include a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to facilitate uniformity of temperature transitions from zone to zone, as suggested by PLATT (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043], ..Imaging member 101...a heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption..").
Regarding claim 17, WETJENS in view of LEE disclose the subject matter of claim 12, as described above, in which the transfer unit (80) is configured for cooling (WETJENS, Fig 4, para [0051], The ejected ink droplet 18a, upon application on the surface of the intermediate receiving member 80 (hereinafter also referred to as intermediate 80), cools down, thereby becoming a thickened droplet 18b..").
WETJENS in view of LEE fail to disclose wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the carrier.
PLATT is also related to using a rotary carrier (101) to transfer ink from an inkjet print head (115) (Fig 1, abstract, para [0041]) and suggests forming the rotary carrier (101) of a thermally conductive material to cause a step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from a decoration-forming deposit toward the carrier (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043], ..imaging member 101 heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption..
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the transfer unit of WETJENS in view of LEE to include a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to facilitate uniformity of temperature transitions from zone to zone, as suggested by PLATT (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043], ..Imaging member 101...a heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption..").
Regarding claim 19, WETJENS in view of LEE disclose the subject matter of claim 12, as described above, wherein the ink solution includes an oligomeric ink having both monomers and oligomers, wherein the oligomeric ink has a viscosity above 100 cP prior to the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution and the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution is configured to lower the viscosity of the oligomeric ink to below 100 cP (LEE, para [0038]. 'oligo/resin' shall be user to refer collectively to oligomers and polymers One or more oligo/resins may be Incorporated into fluid compositions of the present invention in order to provide many benefits, including viscosity control, reduced shrinkage upon curing, durability, flexibility, outdoor weatherability..' para [0039], the monomers and/or oligo/resins of the present invention may include functionality to help enhance the performance of the fluid compositions of the present invention.. para [0098], "Oligomer A viscosity of the product was determined to be 2500 CP 25 C..", para [0099], "Oligomer B. viscosity of the product was determined to be 9000 CP at 25 C..", para [0024], .fluid compositions of the present invention have a viscosity of below about 30 centipoise typically from ambient temperature up to about 65° C the optimum viscosity characteristics for a particular composition will depend upon the Jetting temperature and the type of inkjet system that will be used to apply the composition onto the substrate..")
WETJENS in view of LEE fail to disclose wherein the step of decreasing the viscosity of the oligomeric ink includes heating the oligomeric ink to at least 75° C, and wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to raise the viscosity of the decoration-forming deposit above 100 cP prior to the decoration-forming deposit being transferred to the polymeric article.
However, WETJENS suggests decreasing the viscosity of the oligomeric ink includes heating the ink (para [0034], .heat the curable hot-melt ink to an elevated temperature, such that the ink has a low ink viscosity (e.g., less than 50 mPa.s)..").
LEE discloses heating the ink to a temperature of 65 centigrade to produce a viscosity<100 cP for ink-jetting (para [0024], ..fluid compositions of the present invention have a viscosity of below about 30 centipoise. typically from ambient temperature up to about 65°C the optimum viscosity characteristics for a particular composition will depend upon the jetting temperature and the type of inkjet system that will be used to apply the composition onto the substrate..").
PLATT is also related to using a rotary carrier (101) to transfer ink from an inkjet print head (115) (Fig 1, abstract, para [0041]) and suggests forming the rotary carrier (101) of a thermally conductive material to cause a step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from a decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043], .imaging member 101 heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption..")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the step of decreasing the viscosity of the ink solution of the oligomeric ink includes heating the oligomeric ink to at least 75° C, and wherein the transfer unit includes a conductive material to cause the step of cooling by providing a heat sink that draws heat from the decoration-forming deposit toward the rotary carrier to raise the viscosity of the decoration-forming deposit above 100 cP prior to the decoration-forming deposit being transferred to the polymeric article to facilitate uniformity of temperature transitions from zone to zone, as suggested by PLATT (Fig 1, para [0038], the imaging member may be formed of a material that has a thermal conductivity that is high enough to minimize significant temperature transitions from Zone to Zone, or region to region, across an inner circumferential surface of an imaging member formed as, for example, a drum..", para [0043],.imaging member 101 a heat sink effect that influences emissivity and/or heat absorption. and when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed by the prior art finding an optimum range or value is a matter of routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 20, WETJENS in view of LEE and PLATT disclose the subject matter of claim 19, as described above, further comprising a step of returning the transfer unit to the first position and applying a second dose of thinned (i.e., lower viscosity) ink solution (implicit to "second (later) rotation") on the transfer unit (80) after transferring the decoration-forming deposit from the transfer unit (80) to the polymeric article (WETJENS, Fig 4, 5A, 5B, para [0034], ..In the first stage, in order to provide the curable hot-melt ink to the inkjet print head 12 the ink supply unit 10 may-in an embodiment heat the curable hot-melt ink to an elevated temperature, such that the ink has a low ink viscosity (e.g. less than 50 mPa.s)..", para [0058], The image quality is improved since all applied and thickened droplets 18b are similarly heated on the intermediate 80 prior to or during transfer, thereby preventing differences between thickened droplets 18b applied during a first rotation and thickened droplets 18b applied during a subsequent (later) rotation.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Elejalde et al. (# US 2016/0205965) discloses a method of manufacturing a gum product comprises forming a gum mass into a gum sheet and printing on at least one surface of the gum sheet, wherein the gum sheet is printed online within 30 minutes of forming the gum sheet (see Abstract).
(2) Deguchi et al (# US 5113200) discloses a hot melt ink jet apparatus is disclosed which heats a normally solid ink into a molten state and then ejects the molten ink toward a printing sheet. When printing is performed on the printing sheet, the ink ejected onto the printing sheet quickly solidifies. After the printing operation, the printed sheet is fed between a supporting member and a pressing member. An intervention member is provided between the printed sheet and pressing member. The intervention member includes a layer which has a low cohesiveness and is softer than lumps of solidified ink on the printing sheet (see Abstract).
(3) Ream et al. (# US 2008/0152756) discloses an apparatus and method for packaging a non-contact printed edible substrate as well as the resultant packaged product. The packaging apparatus may include a non-contact printer, a carrier, and a package located at a discharge position. The carrier may be constructed and arranged to transport the edible substrate from the print position to the package and orient same in the package so that the printed ink indicia is visible through at least a portion of a panel of the package. At a print position, the non-contact printer is constructed and arranged to apply an edible ink indicia to an edible substrate. The packaging apparatus may form a packaged product having a plurality of compartments where at least one compartment at least partially defined by a panel. The interior of the compartment contains at least one edible substrate comprising a surface and a printed edible ink indicia on the surface so that the ink indicia is visible through at least a portion of the panel (see Abstract).
(4) Sawin et al. (# US 2018/0354253) discloses a method of digital printing on a polymeric article (see Abstract; [0017]; [0069]), the method comprising steps of providing a rotary carrier including a support wheel (element: 25, figure: 2) and a transfer unit (element: 24, figure: 2).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853