DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on the applications filed on March 20th, 2023 (KR10-2023-0035784) & May 26th, 2023 (KR10-2023-0068691). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated March 20th, 2024, September 27th, 2024, and May 9th, 2025 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s arguments, filed on May 20th, 2026, with respect to the restriction requirement(s) for the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the restriction requirements set forth previously have been withdrawn and all the claims shall be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11, 14-18, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 104777617A) (Note a translated version of this document is being cited below and has been attached) in view of Chang et al. (US 2023/0324699 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a face cover detachably coupled to a head-mounted display apparatus that includes a lens and a lens barrel configured to surround the lens and adjust positions of the lens (See, e.g., Figs. 1-4 which show this), the face cover comprising:
a housing including an opening formed in an area thereof (See, e.g., Fig. 2 which shows the main body 2 with an opening for adjustment wheel 261 to be exposed);
a lens adjustment member disposed in the opening so that at least a portion thereof is exposed through the opening (See, e.g., Fig. 2 which shows adjustment wheel 261 exposed); and
wherein in case that the lens adjustment member rotates in a first rotation direction in a state where the lens adjustment member and the lens barrel are in contact with each other, the lens barrel is configured to rotate in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction such that a diopter of the lens is adjusted (See, e.g., paragraph [0053] which explains how the adjustment wheel 261 of diopter adjustment mechanism 26 drives a moveable bracket back and forth to adjust the spacing L1 which is shown in Fig. 5 and 6).
Yang lacks an explicit disclosure of an elastic member that includes opposite ends arranged in the housing and a central portion thereof coupled to the lens adjustment member, and is configured to provide an elastic force so as to allow the lens adjustment member to move in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction, wherein in case that an external force is applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens adjustment member is configured to be moved in the first direction such that the lens adjustment member comes into contact with the lens barrel.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chang teaches an elastic member that includes opposite ends arranged in the housing and a central portion thereof coupled to the lens adjustment member (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows elastic element 122C having two ends and a central portion coupled to a lens adjustment member 124 and paragraphs [0030]-[0031]), and is configured to provide an elastic force so as to allow the lens adjustment member to move in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Note as the elastic member is a spring-type it provides an elastic force in opposite linear directions to move the gears into/out of contact), wherein in case that an external force is applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens adjustment member is configured to be moved in the first direction such that the lens adjustment member comes into contact with the lens barrel (See, e.g., paragraphs [0030]-[0031] which explain that the natural state of the mechanism is to have the spring keep the gears separated, thus when external force pushes on the spring the gears can engage each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens adjustment member of Yang to include a spring-based elastic member for engaging/un-engaging the gears, as taught by Chang, for the purpose of being able to keep the gears from moving unintentionally by having the lens adjustment member separate from the drive train.
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in a state where the head-mounted display apparatus and the face cover are coupled to each other and the external force is not applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens barrel and the lens adjustment member are arranged to be spaced apart by a first distance (Note as modified above this is the case per paragraphs [0030]-[0031] of Chang).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in a state where a distance between the lens barrel and another lens barrel of the head-mounted display apparatus is increased, the lens barrel and the lens adjustment member are spaced apart by a second distance that is greater than the first distance (Note when one of the two lens barrels is moved for diopter adjustment the overall distance between the two lens barrels would increase and thus increase the distance between the lens adjustment member and the moving lens barrel, meeting this limitation).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein the lens adjustment member includes at least one of a wheel or a gear (See, e.g., Fig. 6 of Yang which shows this).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein the elastic member includes at least one of a plate spring or a coil spring (Note as modified above the elastic member corresponds to a spring as shown in Fig. 3 of Chang).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in case that the lens adjustment member rotates in the first rotation direction, the lens is configured to move in a front direction or a rear direction of the head-mounted display apparatus (See, e.g., paragraph [0053] of Yang which explains how the adjustment wheel 261 of diopter adjustment mechanism 26 drives a moveable bracket back and forth to adjust the spacing L1 which is shown in Fig. 5 and 6 of Yang).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches a wearable electronic device comprising the face cover of claim 1 (See, e.g., the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the wearable electronic device comprises the head- mounted display apparatus that further comprises: a body part detachably coupled to the face cover (See, e.g., face-fitting foam 3 in Fig. 2), wherein based on the lens adjustment member of the face cover rotating in a first rotation direction, the lens barrel is configured to rotate in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, and the lens is configured to move in a front direction or a rear direction of the head-mounted display apparatus (See, e.g., paragraph [0053] of Yang which explains how the adjustment wheel 261 of diopter adjustment mechanism 26 drives a moveable bracket back and forth to adjust the spacing L1 which is shown in Fig. 5 and 6 of Yang).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a face cover detachably coupled to a head-mounted display apparatus, the face cover comprising:
a housing including an opening formed in an area thereof (See, e.g., Fig. 2 which shows the main body 2 with an opening for adjustment wheel 261 to be exposed);
a lens adjustment member disposed in the opening so that at least a portion thereof is exposed through the opening (See, e.g., Fig. 2 which shows adjustment wheel 261 exposed); and
wherein in case that the lens adjustment member rotates in a first rotation direction, the lens barrel is configured to rotate in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction such that a diopter of the lens is adjusted (See, e.g., paragraph [0053] which explains how the adjustment wheel 261 of diopter adjustment mechanism 26 drives a moveable bracket back and forth to adjust the spacing L1 which is shown in Fig. 5 and 6).
Yang lacks an explicit disclosure of an elastic member that includes opposite ends arranged in the housing and a central portion thereof coupled to the lens adjustment member, and is configured to provide an elastic force so as to allow the lens adjustment member to move in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chang teaches an elastic member that includes opposite ends arranged in the housing and a central portion thereof coupled to the lens adjustment member (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows elastic element 122C having two ends and a central portion coupled to a lens adjustment member 124 and paragraphs [0030]-[0031]), and is configured to provide an elastic force so as to allow the lens adjustment member to move in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Note as the elastic member is a spring-type it provides an elastic force in opposite linear directions to move the gears into/out of contact), wherein in case that an external force is applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens adjustment member is configured to be moved in the first direction such that the lens adjustment member comes into contact with the lens barrel (See, e.g., paragraphs [0030]-[0031] which explain that the natural state of the mechanism is to have the spring keep the gears separated, thus when external force pushes on the spring the gears can engage each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens adjustment member of Yang to include a spring-based elastic member for engaging/un-engaging the gears, as taught by Chang, for the purpose of being able to keep the gears from moving unintentionally by having the lens adjustment member separate from the drive train.
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein the head-mounted display apparatus includes the lens and a lens barrel configured to surround the lens and adjust a position of the lens (See, e.g., Figs. 1-6 of Yang which show this).
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in case that an external force is applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens adjustment member is configured to be moved in the first direction such that the lens adjustment member comes into contact with the lens barrel (See, e.g., paragraphs [0030]-[0031] of Chang which explain that the natural state of the mechanism is to have the spring keep the gears separated, thus when external force pushes on the spring the gears can engage each other), and wherein in case that the lens adjustment member rotates in a first rotation direction in a state where the lens adjustment member and the lens barrel are in contact with each other, the lens barrel is configured to rotate in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction such that the diopter of the lens is adjusted (See, e.g., paragraph [0053] of Yang which explains how the adjustment wheel 261 of diopter adjustment mechanism 26 drives a moveable bracket back and forth to adjust the spacing L1 which is shown in Fig. 5 and 6 of Yang).
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in a state where the head-mounted display apparatus and the face cover are coupled to each other and the external force is not applied to the lens adjustment member in the first direction, the lens barrel and the lens adjustment member are arranged to be spaced apart by a first distance (Note as modified above this is the case per paragraphs [0030]-[0031] of Chang).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein in a state where a distance between the lens barrel and another lens barrel of the head-mounted display apparatus is increased, the lens barrel and the lens adjustment member are spaced apart by a second distance that is greater than the first distance (Note when one of the two lens barrels is moved for diopter adjustment the overall distance between the two lens barrels would increase and thus increase the distance between the lens adjustment member and the moving lens barrel, meeting this limitation).
Regarding claim 21, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein the lens adjustment member includes at least one of a wheel or a gear (See, e.g., Fig. 6 of Yang which shows this).
Regarding claim 22, Yang in view of Chang teaches the device set forth above and as modified above further teaches wherein the elastic member includes at least one of a plate spring or a coil spring (Note as modified above the elastic member corresponds to a spring as shown in Fig. 3 of Chang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the elastic member includes: a third portion between the first portion and the second portion, which is coupled to a central shaft of the lens adjustment member.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the head-mounted display apparatus further includes multiple first magnets, and wherein the face cover further comprises multiple second magnets corresponding to the multiple first magnets.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach a second spring coupled to a second end of the bar.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the body part includes multiple Hall effect integrated circuits (ICs) arranged adjacent to the lens barrel and configured to detect a magnetic field, wherein the lens barrel includes a magnet attached to inside of the lens barrel, and wherein the multiple Hall effect ICs are configured to detect information on a diopter of the lens through changes in a magnetic field according to a rotation of the magnet, which corresponds to the rotation of the lens barrel.
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 20, these claims depend on an allowable base claim and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
/MITCHELL T OESTREICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872