DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 10/19/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are pending with claims 3, 9, 12 and 18 cancelled and claims 19-20 newly added.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/20/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0276276) in view of Miura et al. (JP 61091445 A).
Regarding claim 1, Goel discloses an air conditioner unit comprising: an outdoor heat exchanger (110) and an outdoor fan (160); an indoor heat exchanger (140) and an indoor fan (170); a compressor (120, 130) in fluid communication with the outdoor heat exchanger and the indoor heat exchanger to circulate a refrigerant between the outdoor heat exchanger and the indoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1; paragraph 20); an outdoor temperature assembly disposed apart from the indoor heat exchanger and configured to detect an outdoor temperature (paragraphs 37, 44); a controller (180) in operative communication with the compressor and the outdoor temperature assembly, the controller being configured to initiate a protective operation (crankcase heater operation) comprising receiving a temperature signal from the outdoor temperature assembly corresponding to the outdoor temperature (determined temperature; paragraph 46), determining a heating wattage for the compressor based on the received temperature signal (wattage supplied to crankcase heater based on determined ambient temperature; paragraph 46), and heating (via 125, 135) the compressor according to the determined heating wattage (paragraphs 26, 46), wherein heating the compressor comprises directing a heating current to the compressor (heating current to crankcase heater 125, 135).
Goel does not explicitly teach the heating current being an alternating current.
Miura teaches the concept of a compressor for an air conditioner operating in low temperatures that utilizes heating the compressor comprising directing a heating current to the compressor, the heating current being an alternating current that allows for the compressor to not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power (see paragraph 1 of the machine translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air conditioner unit of Goel to have the heating current being an alternating current taught by Miura in order to provide heating to the compressor during low temperature operation that does not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power.
Regarding claim 2, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 1, wherein determining the heating wattage comprises calculating the heating wattage using a predetermined function, graph, or look-up table (paragraphs 46, 48).
Regarding claim 10, Goel discloses a method of operating an air conditioner unit (100), the method comprising: receiving a temperature signal from an outdoor temperature assembly corresponding to an outdoor temperature (paragraphs 37, 44); determining a heating wattage for a compressor of the air conditioner unit based on the received temperature signal (wattage supplied to crankcase heater based on determined ambient temperature; paragraph 46); and heating (via crankcase heaters 125, 135) the compressor according to the determined heating wattage (paragraphs 26, 46), wherein heating the compressor comprises directing a heating current to the compressor (heating current to crankcase heater 125, 135).
Goel does not explicitly teach the heating current being an alternating current.
Miura teaches the concept of a compressor for an air conditioner operating in low temperatures that utilizes heating the compressor comprising directing a heating current to the compressor, the heating current being an alternating current that allows for the compressor to not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power (see paragraph 1 of the machine translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of operating the air conditioner unit of Goel to have the heating current being an alternating current taught by Miura in order to provide heating to the compressor during low temperature operation that does not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power.
Regarding claim 11, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 10, wherein determining the heating wattage comprises calculating the heating wattage using a predetermined function, graph, or look-up table (paragraphs 46, 48).
Claim(s) 4-8, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0276276) in view of Miura et al. (JP 61091445 A), further in view of Yan et al. (US PG Pub. 2016/0047579).
Regarding claim 4, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein heating the compressor further comprises calculating the heating current based on the determined heating wattage and a resistance value of the compressor prior to directing the heating current to the compressor.
Yan teaches the concept of an air conditioner unit with compressor heating that calculates the electrical resistance of the stator windings of the compressor (0.1 ohm each; paragraph 48), and to induce 40 watts of heat to the compressor, 7 amps of current may be passed through each phase wire to generate heat for the compressor (paragraphs 48-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air conditioner of Goel to further comprise calculating the heating current based on the determined heating wattage and a resistance value of the compressor prior to directing the heating current to the compressor taught by Yan in order to properly determine the amount of current needed to heat the compressor.
Regarding claim 5, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 4, wherein the resistance value is a predetermined, fixed value programmed within the controller. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the stator winding resistance of 0.1 ohm would be easily programmed to the controller to deliver the proper level of current to achieve the desired heating wattage; paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 6, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 4, wherein heating the compressor further comprises measuring resistance across the compressor (across the stator windings 208; paragraph 48) to determine the resistance value.
Regarding claim 7, Goel discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency.
Yan teaches it is known for an air conditioner unit with compressor heating to include directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency (DC current delivered with pulse width modulation; paragraphs 41, 42, Fig 3) that achieves an overall higher efficiency of the inverter of the compressor as compared with a continuously delivered lower current level (paragraph 42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air conditioner unit of Goel to have directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency taught by Yan in order to increase of the efficiency of the inverter.
Regarding claim 8, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 7, wherein the fixed frequency is less than or equal to 10 Hertz (compressor drive controller 144 capable of operating in the claimed frequency range).
Regarding claim 13, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein heating the compressor further comprises calculating the heating current based on the determined heating wattage and a resistance value of the compressor prior to directing the heating current to the compressor.
Yan teaches the concept of an air conditioner unit with compressor heating that calculates the electrical resistance of the stator windings of the compressor (0.1 ohm each; paragraph 48), and to induce 40 watts of heat to the compressor, 7 amps of current may be passed through each phase wire to generate heat for the compressor (paragraphs 48-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air conditioner of Goel to further comprise calculating the heating current based on the determined heating wattage and a resistance value of the compressor prior to directing the heating current to the compressor taught by Yan in order to properly determine the amount of current needed to heat the compressor.
Regarding claim 14, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the resistance value is a predetermined, fixed value programmed within a controller of the air conditioner unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the stator winding resistance of 0.1 ohm would be easily programmed to the controller to deliver the proper level of current to achieve the desired heating wattage; paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 15, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 13, wherein heating the compressor further comprises measuring resistance across the compressor (across the stator windings 208; paragraph 48) to determine the resistance value.
Regarding claim 16, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency.
Yan teaches it is known for an air conditioner unit with compressor heating to include directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency (DC current delivered with pulse width modulation; paragraphs 41, 42, Fig 3) that achieves an overall higher efficiency of the inverter of the compressor as compared with a continuously delivered lower current level (paragraph 42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Goel to have directing the heating current comprises directing the heating current at a fixed frequency taught by Yan in order to increase of the efficiency of the inverter.
Regarding claim 17, Goel as modified discloses the method of claim 16, and Yan further teaches the duty cycle of the “On” and “Off” periods may be 40% to achieve overall higher efficiency operation of the inverter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Goel to have the fixed frequency is less than or equal to 10 Hertz in order to reduce the duty cycle of the compressor leading to increased efficiency of the inverter.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0276276) in view of Lowes (US Pat. 4,918,931).
Regarding claim 19, Goel discloses an air conditioner unit (100) comprising: an outdoor heat exchanger (110) and an outdoor fan (160); an indoor heat exchanger (140) and an indoor fan (170); a compressor (120, 130) in fluid communication with the outdoor heat exchanger and the indoor heat exchanger to circulate a refrigerant between the outdoor heat exchanger and the indoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1; paragraph 20), the compressor comprising a motor configured to rotate at one or more conditioning speeds (variable speed compressor) during heating, cooling, or dehumidification operations according to one or more operating frequencies (variable speed compressor capable of rotating at one or more conditioning speeds during heating, cooling, or dehumidification operations; paragraphs 30, 35); an outdoor temperature assembly disposed apart from the indoor heat exchanger and configured to detect an outdoor temperature (paragraphs 37, 44); a controller (180) in operative communication with the compressor and the outdoor temperature assembly, the controller being configured to initiate a protective operation (crankcase heater operation) comprising receiving a temperature signal from the outdoor temperature assembly corresponding to the outdoor temperature (determined temperature; paragraph 46), determining a heating wattage for the compressor based on the received temperature signal (wattage supplied to crankcase heater based on determined ambient temperature; paragraph 46), and heating (via 125, 135) the compressor according to the determined heating wattage (paragraphs 26, 46).
Goel does not explicitly teach heating the compressor comprises directing a heating alternating current through the motor of the compressor, the heating alternating current having a heating frequency less than the one or more operating frequencies.
Lowes teaches the concept of a compressor for an air conditioner operating in low temperatures that utilizes heating the compressor comprising directing a heating alternating current to the motor of the compressor, the heating alternating current having a heating frequency less than the one or more operating frequencies (crankcase heater operates by maintaining a partial supply of alternating current as a trickle current to keep the compressor warm; column 2, lines 30-34) as a known type of electrical current that provides a source of low frequency trickle current to provide heat for the compressor in low temperature operations to prevent slugging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air conditioner unit of Goel to have heating the compressor comprises directing a heating alternating current through the motor of the compressor, the heating alternating current having a heating frequency less than the one or more operating frequencies taught by Lowes in order to provide heating to the compressor during low temperature operation that does not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power.
Regarding claim 20, Goel as modified discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 7, wherein the heating frequency is less than or equal to 10 Hertz (compressor drive controller 144 capable of operating in the claimed frequency range).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 6, filed 10/09/2025, with respect to claims 9 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 9 and 18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant arguments, see Remarks pages 7-9, with respect to claims 1-3, 10-12 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 4-9 and 13-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art references fail to teach “heating a compressor according to a determined heating wattage, wherein heating the compressor comprises directing a heating current through a motor of the compressor, the heating current being an alternating current” and therefore claims 1 and 10 and their corresponding dependent claims are allowable. This is not found persuasive because Goel teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the newly amended limitation of the heating current being an alternating current. Miura teaches the concept of a compressor for an air conditioner operating a low temperatures that utilizes heating the compressor comprises directing a heating current to the compressor, the heating current being an alternating current that allows for the compressor to not require the installation of any special heating means, does not generate vibration or noise, and does not require the rotating parts of the compressor to rotate, and heats the compressor from within, thereby improving the heat retention effect of the compressor with little power. Therefore, the combination of Goel and Miura when taken together and considered as a whole meets the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763