Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “true prior associated” should be --true prior set associated--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 2010/0042881) in view of Ghimire et al. (WO 2022/090766). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Wong discloses a network node (fig. 2, item 202; para. 27, last two lines) for wireless communication, comprising (para. 61): one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to (para. 61): receive, from a user equipment (UE) (item 206.1), a codeword (item 215; para. 27, third sentence; note: ARQ feedback; para. 23, second sentence; note: HARQ) including a
However, Wong fails to disclose a codeword including a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) bits, decoding each of the plurality of HARQ bits, and a decoding rule that is based at least in part on posterior probabilities. Ghimire discloses these features (page 27, lines 20-21; page 31, line 18 to page 32, lines 10; fig. 8, item S158; page 7, lines 18-27; note: posterior probabilities are updated probabilities in the broadest reasonable interpretation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a codeword including a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) bits, decoding each of the plurality of HARQ bits, and a decoding rule that is based at least in part on posterior probabilities in the invention of Wong. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, realizing physical data transmissions (using bits) and providing current metrics for communication decisions as is known in the art (Ghimire, fig. 8 and pages 7, 27 and 31-32; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 9, Wong in view of Ghimire teaches and makes obvious the network node of claim 1, wherein the threshold is tuned to achieve a first bit error rate (BER) associated with decoding ACK bits and a second BER associated with decoding NACK bits (Wong, figs. 7 and 9-11; paras. 17, 51, 53-55 and 57).
Regarding claim 10, Wong in view of Ghimire teaches and makes obvious the network node of claim 1, wherein the threshold is tuned such that an ACK signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at which a first bit error rate (BER) associated with decoding ACK bits is achieved is equal to a NACK SNR at which a second BER associated with decoding NACK bits is achieved (Wong, figs. 7 and 9-11; paras. 17, 51, 53-55 and 57; note: the SNR is equal for given error rates for ACK and NAK, i.e., a given SNR (vertical line) has an error rate for an ACK and NAK).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1. In addition, Wong discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (para. 61) storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of the network node, cause the network node to perform the method of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11, 13-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462