DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on November 7, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-17, 21-23 are present in the application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated due to claim amendments and addition of new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0186146), and further in view of Bathory (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0404344).
Regarding claim 1, Baughman teaches a method for managing a virtual event, the method comprising:
creating a stage (Paragraph 0069 virtual event platform) supporting a presentation from a presenter to a plurality of virtual attendees, wherein creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Fig. 5 Main Stage: “AI Trends”), providing a description of the presentation (Paragraphs 0070-0071 virtual event content), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0071 vendor/exhibitors allowed to present with multiple channels) (Paragraphs 0069 virtual event platform supporting, Paragraph 0071 supporting live sessions from presenter to attendees);
creating a session supporting a live two-way interaction between the presenter and a virtual attendee from the plurality of attendees (Paragraphs 0069-0071, 0074 creating virtual events with live Q&A, discussions);
presenting, using the stage, a video of the presentation in real time to the plurality of virtual attendees (Paragraphs 0071, 0074, 0076, Fig. 5 item 505);
receiving a selection of the session by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0071 selecting any channel/ booth session, 0076 selecting any recommended session); and
providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session (Paragraphs 0071 providing one-on-one video chat meetings between presenters/exhibiters and attendees, providing connection for one-in-one private conversation) (Paragraphs 0052-0079 for complete details).
Baughman does not teach defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and also does not teach providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee.
However, in the similar field, Bathory teaches creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Paragraph 0018 defining live event), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0050 performer names), and defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation (Paragraphs 0018, 0050-0051, 0053-0055, 0058, 0060), and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0046-0047, 0053-0055, 0058, 0065-0066).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman to include defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee as taught by Bathory in order to enable interaction “limited in duration (e.g., interaction by the spectator limited to being available for a particular time window such as ten seconds or less, or thirty seconds or less, or one minute or less, or a longer window) or continuously available as desired, based on the benefit level” (Bathory, Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 2, Baughman teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraph 0071 connecting with different sessions as selected by attendees).
Bathory teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraphs 0051, 0060 different attendees with audio only, video only, audio and video, fixed camera view, close to the stage camera view etc. based on ticket benefit level).
Regarding claim 4, Baughman teaches the presentation is further presented to a plurality of in-person attendees at an event venue (Paragraph 0098 “both users are physically present at a venue of a hybrid event, the system determines the location of both users within the venue and plots a path for one or both users to travel to meet the other user in the venue”).
Regarding claim 5, Baughman teaches tracking attendance of the virtual event and an amount of time of the attendance of the virtual event; and presenting the attendance and the amount of time of the attendance to an event organizer (Paragraph 0072 tracking user attendance, time spent at each event, perform analytics and report to organizers to understand engagement).
Regarding claim 6, Baughman teaches recording the presentation; and presenting the recorded presentation to attendees after the virtual event has concluded (Paragraphs 0071, 0076, 0099 recording live event and user interactions, user may replay recordings).
Bathory teaches recording the presentation; and presenting the recorded presentation to attendees after the virtual event has concluded (Paragraphs 0046 recorded for playback to the audience at a later time).
Regarding claim 7, Baughman teaches collecting data indicative of movements of the virtual attendee throughout the virtual event; and recommending a customized schedule to the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0098-0100 collecting user movements according to time and determining recommendation to guide the user from one point to another point, 0071 based on scheduled virtual event).
Regarding claim 8, Baughman teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, perform a method of managing a virtual event (Paragraphs 0026-0033), the method comprising:
creating a stage (Paragraph 0069 virtual event platform) supporting a presentation from a presenter to a plurality of virtual attendees (Paragraphs 0069 virtual event platform supporting (Paragraph 0071 supporting live sessions from presenter to attendees);
creating a stage (Paragraph 0069 virtual event platform) supporting a presentation from a presenter to a plurality of virtual attendees, wherein creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Fig. 5 Main Stage: “AI Trends”), providing a description of the presentation (Paragraphs 0070-0071 virtual event content), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0071 vendor/exhibitors allowed to present with multiple channels) (Paragraphs 0069 virtual event platform supporting, Paragraph 0071 supporting live sessions from presenter to attendees);
creating a session supporting a live two-way interaction between the presenter and a virtual attendee from the plurality of attendees (Paragraphs 0069-0071, 0074 creating virtual events with live Q&A, discussions);
presenting, using the stage, a video of the presentation in real time to the plurality of virtual attendees (Paragraphs 0071, 0074, 0076, Fig. 5 item 505);
receiving a selection of the session by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0071 selecting any channel, 0076 selecting any recommended session); and
providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session (Paragraphs 0071 providing one-on-one video chat meetings between presenters/exhibiters and attendees, providing connection for one-in-one private conversation) (Paragraphs 0052-0079 for complete details).
Baughman does not teach defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and also does not teach providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee.
However, in the similar field, Bathory teaches creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Paragraph 0018 defining live event), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0050 performer names), and defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation (Paragraphs 0018, 0050-0051, 0053-0055, 0058, 0060), and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0046-0047, 0053-0055, 0058, 0065-0066).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman to include defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee as taught by Bathory in order to enable interaction “limited in duration (e.g., interaction by the spectator limited to being available for a particular time window such as ten seconds or less, or thirty seconds or less, or one minute or less, or a longer window) or continuously available as desired, based on the benefit level” (Bathory, Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 9, Baughman teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraph 0071 connecting with different sessions as selected by attendees).
Bathory teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraphs 0051, 0060 different attendees with audio only, video only, audio and video, fixed camera view, close to the stage camera view etc. based on ticket benefit level).
Regarding claim 11, Baughman teaches the presentation is further presented to a plurality of in-person attendees at an event venue (Paragraph 0098 “both users are physically present at a venue of a hybrid event, the system determines the location of both users within the venue and plots a path for one or both users to travel to meet the other user in the venue”).
Regarding claim 12, Baughman teaches tracking attendance of the virtual event and an amount of time of the attendance of the virtual event; and presenting the attendance and the amount of time of the attendance to an event organizer (Paragraph 0072 tracking user attendance, time spent at each event, perform analytics and report to organizers to understand engagement).
Regarding claim 13, Baughman teaches recording the presentation; and presenting the recorded presentation to attendees after the virtual event has concluded (Paragraphs 0071, 0076, 0099 recording live event and user interactions, user may replay recordings).
Bathory teaches recording the presentation; and presenting the recorded presentation to attendees after the virtual event has concluded (Paragraphs 0046 recorded for playback to the audience at a later time).
Regarding claim 14, Baughman teaches collecting data indicative of movements of the virtual attendee throughout the virtual event; and recommending a customized schedule to the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0098-0100 collecting user movements according to time and determining recommendation to guide the user from one point to another point, 0071 based on scheduled virtual event).
Regarding claim 15, Baughman teaches a system for managing a virtual event the system comprising: at least one processor; and a data store, string computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, perform a method of managing a virtual event (Paragraphs 0026-0033), the method comprising:
creating a stage (Paragraph 0069 virtual event platform) supporting a presentation from a presenter to a plurality of virtual attendees, wherein creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Fig. 5 Main Stage: “AI Trends”), providing a description of the presentation (Paragraphs 0070-0071 virtual event content), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0071 vendor/exhibitors allowed to present with multiple channels) (Paragraphs 0069 virtual event platform supporting, Paragraph 0071 supporting live sessions from presenter to attendees);
creating a session supporting a live two-way interaction between the presenter and a virtual attendee from the plurality of attendees (Paragraphs 0069-0071, 0074 creating virtual events with live Q&A, discussions);
presenting, using the stage, a video of the presentation in real time to the plurality of virtual attendees (Paragraphs 0071, 0074, 0076, Fig. 5 item 505);
receiving a selection of the session by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0071 selecting any channel, 0076 selecting any recommended session); and
providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session (Paragraphs 0071 providing one-on-one video chat meetings between presenters/exhibiters and attendees, providing connection for one-in-one private conversation) (Paragraphs 0052-0079 for complete details).
Baughman does not teach defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and also does not teach providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee.
However, in the similar field, Bathory teaches creating the stage comprises providing a name for the stage (Paragraph 0018 defining live event), defining a set of users with presentation privileges to present from the stage (Paragraph 0050 performer names), and defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation (Paragraphs 0018, 0050-0051, 0053-0055, 0058, 0060), and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee (Paragraphs 0046-0047, 0053-0055, 0058, 0065-0066).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman to include defining types of tickets accepted for different levels-of-access to the presentation, and providing a private one-on-one connection for the live two-way interaction between the presenter and the virtual attendee in the session for a specific amount of time that is associated with a type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee as taught by Bathory in order to enable interaction “limited in duration (e.g., interaction by the spectator limited to being available for a particular time window such as ten seconds or less, or thirty seconds or less, or one minute or less, or a longer window) or continuously available as desired, based on the benefit level” (Bathory, Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 16, Baughman teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraph 0071 connecting with different sessions as selected by attendees).
Bathory teaches connecting a number of virtual attendees to different sessions with the presenter (Paragraphs 0051, 0060 different attendees with audio only, video only, audio and video, fixed camera view, close to the stage camera view etc. based on ticket benefit level).
Regarding claim 21, Bathory teaches wherein providing the private one-on-one connection comprises: allocating a first amount of time for the private one-on-one connection in response to the type of ticket being of a first type; and allocating a different second amount of time for the private one-on-one connection in response to the type of ticket being of a second type (Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 22, Bathory teaches providing a private one-on-one connection for a live two-way interaction between the virtual attendee and one or more other virtual attendees from the plurality of virtual attendees based on the type of ticket purchased by the virtual attendee (Paragraph 0062 “Audience members may or may not be able to see and interact with other audience members depending upon the benefit level and/or event”).
Regarding claim 23, Baughman teaches generating a stage summary report at a conclusion of the presentation, a number of virtual attendees from the plurality of virtual attendees (how many people attended/watched, real-time attendance), and a length of attendance per virtual attendee from the plurality of virtual attendees (time spent by attendee) (Paragraph 0072). Baughman further teaches listing of presenters that present during the presentation (Paragraph 0071) and also attendee attending and spending time in particular channel i.e. presentation by particular presenter.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman and Bathory to include listing of presenters that presented during the presentation as an implementation choice to further refine the report as feedback to vendor/exhibitor performance.
Claims 3, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman and Bathory as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of DeMik (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0092153).
Regarding claim 3, Baughman and Bathory do not teach creating a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event.
However, in the similar field, DeMik teaches creating a plurality of booths (Fig. 2 items 210 in local and connected rooms) supporting different presentations (Fig. 4 items 414, 413, 435, 436) of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event (Paragraphs 0056-0060 displaying local (physically present) and connected room (virtual event) participants, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman and Bathory to create a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event as taught by DeMik in order to “communicate internally over the bridge and/or collectively communicate to the other classrooms” (DeMik, Paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 10, Baughman and Bathory do not teach creating a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event.
However, in the similar field, DeMik teaches creating a plurality of booths (Fig. 2 items 210 in local and connected rooms) supporting different presentations (Fig. 4 items 414, 413, 435, 436) of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event (Paragraphs 0056-0060 displaying local (physically present) and connected room (virtual event) participants, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman and Bathory to create a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event as taught by DeMik in order to “communicate internally over the bridge and/or collectively communicate to the other classrooms” (DeMik, Paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 17, Baughman and Bathory do not teach creating a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event.
However, in the similar field, DeMik teaches creating a plurality of booths (Fig. 2 items 210 in local and connected rooms) supporting different presentations (Fig. 4 items 414, 413, 435, 436) of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event (Paragraphs 0056-0060 displaying local (physically present) and connected room (virtual event) participants, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Baughman and Bathory to create a plurality of booths supporting different presentations of live event participants that are physically present at an event and virtual event participants that are physically absent from the event as taught by DeMik in order to “communicate internally over the bridge and/or collectively communicate to the other classrooms” (DeMik, Paragraph 0037).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HEMANT PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/HEMANT S PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694