DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention 1, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 08/18/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The Office Action does not identify how the specifically claimed assembled device would be produced in the absence of the heat treatment required in claim 1” (bottom paragraph of page 1) and thus does not “impose a serious search or examination burden” (page 2, 2nd paragraph).
This is not found persuasive because in semiconductor arts, historically, device claims and method of making claims were examined by different Examiners. Meaning, the burden was considered to be so overwhelming, that Examiners specialized in one or the other, and restriction between device and method of making is therefore basically mandatory. The assembly could be accomplished by many other techniques, including adhesion rather than a heat treatment.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/18/26.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because:
There is an issue with FIG. 2C. For whatever reason, 2nd substrate (200) became invisible. It was present in FIG. 2B and it reappears in FIG. 2D.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 5 recite the limitation "the section" at the bottom of respective claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-2022/0139855) by Hwang et al (“Hwang”) in view of (US-2022/0336405) by Liu et al (“Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses in FIGs. 5, 8, & 14 and related text, e.g., a bonding method comprising the steps of:
- providing a first substrate (FIG. 5, 12; in FIG. 14, the 12 also includes all the wiring layers (CS)) comprising a first face (FIG. 14, CS side of things) and a second face (the 12 side of things), the first face of the first substrate comprising a first dielectric material (155) and first metal pads (various BLa/BLb/CL/PCL in BLBA/WLBA/PA area);
- providing a second substrate (FIG. 5, 32; in FIG. 14, the 32 also includes all the wiring layers (PS)) comprising a first face (FIG. 14, PS side of things) and a second face (the 32 side of things), the first face of the second substrate comprising a second dielectric material (unmarked; dielectric between all the 237/239/235), second metal pads (237/239) and a metal portion (235);
- placing the first face of the first substrate in contact with the first face of the second substrate (see FIG. 14);
wherein the first metal pads, the second metal pads and the metal portion are disposed so that, when placing the first face of the first substrate in contact with the first face of the second substrate, in a first zone (FIG. 5, the specific object marked as CR; inside it, FIG. 14, BLBA area) the first metal pads are disposed facing the second metal pads of the second substrate (see FIG. 14, BLBA area; specifically the places where 237/239 align with BLa/BLb) and in a second zone (FIG. 5, the specific object that is directly to the right of the one marked as CR; inside it, FIG. 14, WLBA area and to the right of it) the first metal pads are disposed facing the second dielectric material (see WLBA/PA area where CL’s do not face metal, but face dielectric) and the metal portion is disposed facing the first dielectric material (see that 235 is facing a lot of 155, thus meeting limitations); and
- removing the section of the second substrate, disposed at the second zone (see FIG. 8, SR; various CR’s are singulated along the SR lines (see pars. 71, 178, etc.)); this thus separates the “second zone” (first substrate and second substrate, both) from the “first zone” (first substrate and second substrate, both), since they are located in different CRs, and thus are separated during singulation).
Hwang does not explicitly state “- performing a heat treatment to assemble the first substrate with the second substrate”.
To elaborate briefly on the above, Hwang does disclose “hybrid bonding” (pars. 35, 53, etc.), which is notoriously well-known to normally include a heating step, however Hwang does not explicitly state it. Hence, it is better to bring in a reference to teach such limitations.
Liu discloses in FIGs. 3E-F and related text, e.g., “- performing a heat treatment (par. 28) to assemble the first substrate (includes 210) with the second substrate (includes 105)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Hwang with “- performing a heat treatment to assemble the first substrate with the second substrate” as taught by Liu, in order to achieve hybrid bonding (see Abstract, etc.), in such a way as to improve adhesion, electrical characteristics and to form a they hybrid bonded structure (see par. 28).
Regarding claim 2, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., wherein the first dielectric material is an oxide or a nitride and/or the second dielectric material is an oxide or a nitride (see pars. 28, 34, 104, 111, 127, 142, 153, 156, etc.; both silicon oxide and silicon nitride are taught at as “dielectric materials” throughout the reference; hence, the above cited materials are at the very least obvious in light of Hwang’s explicit teachings).
Regarding claim 3, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., wherein the first dielectric material is a silicon oxide and/or the second dielectric material is a silicon oxide.
Regarding claim 4, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., wherein the first metal pads, the second metal pads and/or the metal portion are made of copper (see pars. 26, 32, etc.; copper is explicitly taught as material throughout the reference; hence, the above cited material is at the very least obvious in light of Hwang’s explicit teachings).
Regarding claim 5, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., wherein the removing step is carried-out according to the sub-steps of: i) cutting the second substrate so as to leave the section of the second substrate disposed at the second zone free (free from the other CRs) , ii) removing the section of the second substrate at the second zone (each individual CR is removed; hence, meeting limitations; see par. 71, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., wherein the cutting is done by laser, saw or chemical etching (see par. 178; “sawing” is explicitly taught, as a counter-point to “cutting”; hence, use of a “saw” is at the very least obvious in light of Hwang’s explicit teachings).
Regarding claim 7, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., substantially the entirety of claimed subject matter, but do not explicitly state “wherein sub-step ii) is carried-out by bonding an adhesive element on the second substrate”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the method of Hwang and Liu with “wherein sub-step ii) is carried-out by bonding an adhesive element on the second substrate”, in order to simplify the processing steps of making the device, by performing the singulation of individual CRs (par. 71, etc.) in a notoriously well-known way, and by using notoriously well-known materials.
Regarding claim 9, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., substantially the entirety of claimed subject matter, but do not explicitly state “wherein the first metal pads and/or the second metal pads have a surface with a largest dimension between 1 µm and 1 mm”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the method of Hwang and Liu with “wherein the first metal pads and/or the second metal pads have a surface with a largest dimension between 1 µm and 1 mm”, simply as a matter of march of technology; as is known to any reasonably informed member of the public, semiconductor industry is constantly shrinking the sizes of its devices, from arbitrarily larger sizes to arbitrarily smaller ones, over a period of 12-18 months (colloquially known as “Moore’s Law”, and it is often enough publicly discussed in popular media; hence, “any reasonably informed member of the public”); therefore, as feature sizes shrink, from arbitrarily large numbers to arbitrarily small numbers, skilled artisan would be drawn to the cited feature sizes, simply as a matter of march of technology, with no further consideration needed.
Regarding claim 10, the combined method of Hwang and Liu disclose in cited figures and related text, e.g., substantially the entirety of claimed subject matter, but do not explicitly state “wherein the surface is substantially rectangular or substantially square”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the method of Hwang and Liu with “wherein the surface is substantially rectangular or substantially square”, in order to simplify the processing steps of making a device, by using a notoriously well-known and notoriously well-known material shape (such as rectangle of square).
Conclusion
Additional references (if any) are cited on the PTO-892 as disclosing similar features to those of the instant invention.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alexander Belousov whose telephone number is (571)-272-3167. The examiner can normally be reached on 10 am-4 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff Natalini can be reached on 571-272-2266. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Alexander Belousov/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2894
10/31/26
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818