CTNF 18/610,970 CTNF 101792 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Henry et al. US Patent Publication 20220070816 A1 (hereinafter Henry) . Regarding claim 19, Henry teaches A wireless target device (WTD) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor, in signal communication with the at least one transceiver, and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to: receive, with the at least one transceiver, a coarse location command from a management entity (ME); "an apparatus can include an interface configured to enable network communications, and one or more processors coupled to the interface. The one or more processors can be configured to perform operations "[0094] “the mobile device 300 includes a Wi-Fi chipset 320 for providing Wi-Fi functionality, a BLE chipset 335 for providing BLE functionality, and a UWB chipset 350 for providing UWB functionality, with the Wi-Fi chipset 320 including Fbaseband processors 330, the BLE chipset 335 including a BLE radio transceiver 340 and a BLE baseband processor 345, and the UWB chipset 350 including a UWB radio transceiver 355 and a UWB baseband processor 360 . The mobile device 300 also includes one or more processors 305 (e.g., microprocessor(s) and/or microcontroller(s)) and a memory 310 that stores control logic 315.”[0039] Paragraph [0039], [0042], [0044] discloses Transceivers 225, 240, 325, 340, 355, 455 capable of receiving signal determine a coarse location of the WTD (mobile device) utilizing a plurality of base stations based on the coarse location command; "The location server can cooperate with the radio devices to estimate a coarse location of the mobile device using a localization technique other than a UWB localization technique, i.e., using a technique that does not involve UWB transmissions. For example, the location server can estimate the coarse location using lateration (e.g., based on RSSI values from the access points) and/or an angle-of-arrival (AoA) technique." [0021] receive a fine location command (unicast message notifying) from the ME based on the coarse location of the WTD; "the location server 590 can engage a hybrid mode in which the mobile device 550 is sent a unicast message notifying the mobile device 550 about its primary anchor. "[0060] measure fine positional data from beacon signals of at least one wireless client device based on the fine location command; " UWB ranging can include time-of-flight (ToF), time-of-arrival (ToA), time-difference-of-arrival (TDoA), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), or other analyses of UWB transmissions. " [0016] " the primary anchor can communicate with the mobile device to complete a location exchange, while secondary anchors in RF proximity to the primary anchor can operate as “receive-only anchors,” which passively receive UWB transmissions from the mobile device and from the primary anchor but do not send communications to the mobile device. " [0024] and transmit, to the ME with the at least one transceiver, a fine location of the WTD or the fine positional data, wherein the fine location is based on the fine positional data. " the radio devices 105, peripheral anchor devices 115, standalone anchor devices 120, and/or mobile devices 140 can be configured to perform certain location computations and, potentially, to report results from those computations to the location server 190"[0037] “the mobile device 300 includes a Wi-Fi chipset 320 for providing Wi-Fi functionality, a BLE chipset 335 for providing BLE functionality, and a UWB chipset 350 for providing UWB functionality, with the Wi-Fi chipset 320 including F baseband processors 330, the BLE chipset 335 including a BLE radio transceiver 340 a nd a BLE baseband processor 345, and the UWB chipset 350 including a UWB radio transceiver 355 and a UWB baseband processor 360. The mobile device 300 also includes one or more processors 305 (e.g., microprocessor(s) and/or microcontroller(s)) and a memory 310 that stores control logic 315.”[0039] Paragraph [0039], [0042], [0044] discloses Transceivers 225, 240, 325, 340, 355, 455 capable of receiving signal Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-5, 8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Reitsma et al., US Patent Publication 20160330675 A1 (hereinafter Reitsma) . Regarding claim 1, Henry discloses device, method , and A management entity (ME) (location server) for determining a location of a wireless target device (WTD) (mobile device), the ME comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor, in signal communication with the at least one transceiver, and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to: obtain a coarse location of the WTD; obtain a coarse location of the WTD; "a location server estimates a coarse location of a mobile device using a non-UWB localization technique, i.e., using a technique that does not involve UWB transmissions. For example, the location server can estimate the coarse location using lateration and/or an AoA technique. The localization technique may involve, e.g., Wi-Fi, BLE, or other non-UWB transmissions from/to one or more access points or other radio devices." [0065] " Each of the radio devices 105 can communicate with (i.e., send transmissions to, and/or receive transmission from) one or more of the mobile devices 140 using a relatively short-range wireless local area communication technology, such as (but not limited to) Wi-Fi WLAN, BLE, and/or UWB. " [0026] Transmit [information], in response to obtaining the coarse location “In at least one embodiment, the computing device 1600 may include one or more processor(s) 1605 , one or more memory element(s) 1610, storage 1615, a bus 1620, one or more network processor unit(s) 1625 ”, [0079] Paragraph [0039], [0042], [0044] discloses Transceivers 225, 240, 325, 340, 355, 455 capable of receiving signal and transmit, in response to obtaining the coarse location, a beacon mode command ( command ) to at least one wireless client device, of a plurality of wireless client devices ( candidate anchors ), located near the WTD to switch to a beacon mode based on the coarse location of the WTD. "the location server defines an area around the coarse location to identify a set of candidate anchors for UWB ranging for the mobile device. For example, the location server can use a convex hull algorithm, such as a Slow Convex Hull or Graham's Scan, to define the area as a convex hull spanning all access points within RF range of one another within an envelope around the coarse location "[0066] "the location server selects a primary anchor from the modified set of candidate anchors."[0068] "the location server causes a command to be sent (either by the location server or a controller or other device cooperating with the location server) to cause the selected anchors to complete a UWB ranging procedure with the mobile device."[0070] "the location server can send (or cooperate with a controller or other device, which sends) a signal to the primary anchor to invoke a mode in which the primary anchor sends to the mobile device a “nudge” message that suggests that the mobile device range with the primary anchor." [0071] "each of the mobile devices 140 can include a mobile wireless phone, computer, tablet, smart glasses, Augmented Reality tool, an electronic tag (which may, e.g., be coupled to, or associated with, an electronic or non-electronic object), or another device or object now known or hereinafter developed."[0027] Henry fails to expressly teach method and device comprising transmit, in response to obtaining the coarse location, a beacon mode command to at least one wireless client device, of a plurality of wireless client devices, located near the WTD to switch to a beacon mode based on the coarse location of the WTD. However, Reitsma teaches system and method comprising: at least one transceiver; a plurality of wireless client devices, located near the WTD to switch to a beacon mode based on the coarse location of the WTD and transmit, in response to obtaining the coarse location, a beacon mode command to at least one wireless client device, of a plurality of wireless client devices, located near the WTD to switch to a beacon mode based on the coarse location of the WTD. Reitsma teaches " The default mode 42 prevents the broadcasting of beacons, but permits the ad hoc wireless networking device 11 to respond to find network requests, such as 802.11 poll requests. "[0024]"At step 58, the ad hoc wireless networking device 11 transitions from the default mode 42 to the access point mode 43 and operates as the access point for the client wireless networking device ."[0041]"Operating as an access point in the access point mode 43, the ad hoc wireless networking device 11 broadcasts beacons periodically and serves as an access point to client wireless networking devices in association therewith. "[0043]" the ad hoc wireless networking devices 11 are one or more of a mix of mobile and stationary devices, such as two-way radios, public safety long term evolution (PS LTE) devices, smart phones, tablets, surveillance cameras, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) and devices in command vehicles ."[0053] “a wireless networking device that includes a radio transc eiver for communicating within a wireless network”, [0013] Accordingly, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Henry’s server commanded ranging architecture with Reitsma’s beacon mode switching mechanism for the benefit of applying the established IEEE 802.11 STA-to-AP beacon broadcasting mode switch as the ranging activation mechanism within Henry’s server commanded indoor location architecture, achieving a complete system in which a location server commands nearby Wi-Fi devices that normally operate in station mode to switch to AP beacon mode for precision ranging anchors against which the tracked device performs fine location measurements. Regarding claim 3 limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above. Henry teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of receive the fine location of the WTD from the WTD or determine the fine location of the WTD from fine positional data received from the WTD Henry teaches "The secondary anchors may, for example, report the UWB transmissions, and/or information (times of arrival, etc.) based on the received UWB transmissions, to the location server for processing." [0070] " The location server 190 can be configured to return results of that processing to the particular one of the mobile devices 140, e.g., through one or more of the radio devices 105, or to some other entity seeking that location information, if so desired." [0037] Regarding claim 4, limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above. Henry teaches method and device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine an updated fine location ( dynamically change the UWB anchor assignment ) of the WTD (mobile device) utilizing the at least one wireless client device, and at least one of receive the updated fine location of the WTD from the WTD or determine the updated fine location of the WTD from updated fine positional data received from the WTD. Henry teaches "The location server also may be configured to dynamically change the UWB anchor assignment if, and as, the mobile device moves within the space."[0019] Regarding claim 5, limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above. Henry teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the fine location of the WTD by being further configured to perform at least one ranging estimation (UWB ranging) between the WTD and the at least one wireless client device ( primary anchor ). " UWB ranging can include time-of-flight (ToF), time-of-arrival (ToA), time-difference-of-arrival (TDoA), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), or other analyses of UWB transmissions. " [0016] " the primary anchor can communicate with the mobile device to complete a location exchange, while secondary anchors in RF proximity to the primary anchor can operate as “receive-only anchors,” which passively receive UWB transmissions from the mobile device and from the primary anchor but do not send communications to the mobile device. " [0024] Regarding claim 8, limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above. Henry teaches The ME of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a second beacon mode command to the at least one wireless client device, located near the WTD ( mobile device ), to switch to the beacon mode based on the fine location of the WTD, and determine an updated location of the WTD utilizing the at least one wireless client device. Henry teaches " the location server also may be configured to dynamically change the UWB anchor assignment if, and as, the mobile device moves within the space ."[0019]"the location server 590 can be configured to cause client ranging procedures to be initiated upon entry of the mobile device 550 into the venue 505" [0047] Regarding claim 9, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Henry teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the beacon mode command to the at least one wireless client device ( candidate anchors ) by being further configured to query the at least one wireless client device for availability to switch to the beacon mode, and determine to either transmit the beacon mode command if the at least one wireless client device is available to switch or schedule to transmit the beacon mode command if the at least one wireless client device is not available to switch. "the location server 590 determines UWB capabilities (or a lack of UWB capability) for each of the candidate anchors . For example, the location server 590, or a controller or other device in communication with the location server 590, can send one or more communications to the candidate anchors to determine which of the candidate anchors has UWB functionality " [0051]"The location server also may be configured to dynamically change the UWB anchor assignment if, and as, the mobile device moves within the space."[0019] Regarding claim 10 , claim 10 reflects a Method for implementing article of manufacture in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 11 , Limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 11 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 12 , Limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. Claim 12 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 13 , Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Claim 13 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 14 , Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Claim 14 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 15, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 17, Limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 8 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 18 , Limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 6-7,16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry in view of Reitsma and in further view of Blistad US Patent Publication 20200245286 A1 . Regarding claim 2 limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Bilstad teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit (send) a fine location command ( instructions (e.g., commands) for localization to )to the WTD to determine a fine location of the WTD utilizing the at least one wireless client device ( wireless arbitrary device ), and the at least one processor is configured to receive the coarse location by being further configured to at least one of receive the coarse location of the WTD from the WTD or determine the coarse location of the WTD from coarse positional data received from the WTD. “At operation 210, the cloud network entity (or wireless device of the localization space) sends instructions (e.g., commands) to anchor nodes within the localization space to prepare for localization of the wireless arbitrary device. In one example, the anchor nodes are within close proximity of the access point that is associated with the wireless arbitrary device.” [0061] ”At operation 218, the cloud network entity sends instructions (e.g., commands) for localization to the localization or tracker App of the wireless arbitrary device .”[0062] " a wireless arbitrary device scans and associates to a local area network (LAN) wireless device (e.g., WiFi access point as per normal WiFi protocols) or wide area network device. After association at operation 204, a localization or tracking Application of the wireless arbitrary device registers with a cloud network entity and reports identification and network information (e.g., L2 MAC address, current WiFi channel, and current BSSID (AP MAC)) of the wireless arbitrary device at operation 206. " [0058] Accordingly, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bilstad’s cloud localization pipeline with Henry’s server commanded ranging architecture and Reitsma’s beacon mode switching mechanism. Which all address the identical problem of improving indoor wireless device location accuracy through server coordinated use of surrounding Wi-Fi devices. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a complete indoor asset location system in which the management entity receives coarse positional data directly from the tracked device, commands nearby Wi-Fi client devices that normally operate in station mode to switch to beacon mode, and transmit the fine location to the tracked device directing it to determine its fine location. The combination requires only routine substitution of known techniques, and the result is predictable and no unexpected results arise from the combination. Regarding claim 6, limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Henry teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the beacon mode command by being configured to transmit the beacon mode command to a sub-plurality (subgroups) of the wireless client devices, of the plurality of wireless devices, based on a pre-determined positional accuracy ( convex hull spanning all access points …within RF range )for the location of the WTD and a pre-determined accuracy of at least one ranging estimation based on a round trip time (RTT) measurement between the WTD and the sub-plurality of the wireless client devices. "the location server 590, or a controller or other device in communication with the location server 590, can send one or more communications to the candidate anchors to determine which of the candidate anchors has UWB functionality (whether integrated within the candidate anchor or provided through a peripheral or other device) " [0051]"the location server 590 may use a convex hull algorithm, such as a Slow Convex Hull or Graham's Scan, to define the area 705 as a convex hull spanning all access points 510-517 and 522 within RF range of one another within an envelope around the coarse location 605 ." [0050]"the location server 590 can form as many subgroups as possible from the modified set of candidate anchors." [0054] Henry fails to expressly teach method and device comprising a pre-determined accuracy of at least one ranging estimation based on a round trip time (RTT) measurement between the WTD and the sub-plurality of the wireless client devices. However, Bilstad teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the beacon mode command by being configured to transmit the beacon mode command to a sub-plurality of the wireless client devices, of the plurality of wireless devices, based on a pre-determined positional accuracy for the location of the WTD and a pre-determined accuracy of at least one ranging estimation based on a round trip time (RTT) measurement between the WTD and the sub-plurality of the wireless client devices. " The master node 410 may initially perform two way time of flight with RTT and fractional distance…to each of the sniff nodes. " [0067] Accordingly, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bilstad’s cloud localization pipeline with Henry’s server commanded ranging architecture and Reitsma’s beacon mode switching mechanism. . Which all address the identical problem of improving indoor wireless device location accuracy through server coordinated use of surrounding Wi-Fi devices. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the benefit of producing a complete sub-plurality selection system in which the management entity selects nearby wireless client devices based on both pre-determined positional accuracy derived from geometric coverage of the course location area and pre-determined RTT ranging accuracy derived from two way time of flight measurements between the WTD and each device within the selected sub-plurality. The combination requires only routine substitution of known techniques operating by their established functions. The result is entirely predictable and no unexpected results arise from the combination. Regarding claim 7, limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above. Blistad teaches wherein the ME is configured on a user equipment (UE), the UE includes a location determination device configured to determine a location for the UE, and the at least one processor is further configured to determine the fine location of the WTD (wireless arbitrary device) relative to the location of the UE. "The operations of method 200 may be executed by a wireless device, a wireless control device of a hub (e.g., an apparatus) , cloud network entity, or system, which includes processing circuitry or processing logic… In one embodiment, at least one wireless device within a localization space and a cloud network entity perform the operations of method 200 " [0057]"At operation 210, the cloud network entity (or wireless device of the localization space) sends instructions (e.g., commands) to anchor nodes within the localization space to prepare for localization of the wireless arbitrary device ."[0061] ” At operation 226, the cloud network entity (or wireless device) computes location of the wireless arbitrary device within the localization space (e.g., location of the wireless arbitrary device) using TDoA techniques on ranging data for ranging measurements between the wireless devices and wireless arbitrary device of the localization space. ” [0066] Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Blistad’s teaching that the operations of the management entity method may be executed by a wireless device with the localization space with Henry’s server commanded indoor location architecture and Reitsma’s beacon mode switching mechanism for the benefit of enabling a user equipment within the localization space to perform the management entity functions of obtaining the coarse location of the WTD and transmitting the beacon mode command to nearby wireless client devices, producing the predictable result of distributing the management entity functionality onto a user equipment already present in the localization space rather than requiring a dedicated remote server. Regarding claim 16 , Limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. Claim 16 reflects a method for implementing the article of manufacture in claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale. Regarding claim 20 limitations of parent claim 19 have been discussed above. Blistad teaches “wherein the WTD is a user equipment (UE)” "an arbitrary device is tracked or located with a wireless sensor network that includes wireless nodes (e.g., hubs, sensors nodes, anchor nodes having known locations, access points)…A localization cloud service or cloud network entity has a compute capability and connectivity to anchor nodes and arbitrary devices (e.g., arbitrary wireless cellular device, arbitrary wireless local area network devices, arbitrary wireless WiFi devices ). "[0030] Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAVOUR O MADU whose telephone number is (571)272-9730. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached at (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646 /JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/610,970 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/610,970 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646