DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2024; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-13, 16-20, 22, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), and or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20220007443-A1 to XU et al, from hereon Xu.
Regarding claim 1 Xu teaches…a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to (Fig. 3, P. 32 discloses… Processing elements may include, for example: processors and associated memory, portions or circuits of individual processor cores, entire processor cores, processor arrays, circuits such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), programmable hardware elements such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA): transmit, to at least one of a first network node associated with a first cell group or a second network node associated with a second cell group, at least one of (Fig. 2, P. 49 discloses communication between UE and a base station; furthermore P. 101-103 indicate communication between UE and base station P.103…): first information associated with splitting a data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group, or second information associated with sharing UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.103… The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ); and communicate via the first cell group and the second cell group in accordance with at least one of: a split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information (P.118… the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit UE assistance information, e.g., via one or more RRC message to the MN 1204 (1320). The UE assistance information may include the same information as described above with respect to 1220. However, the format, timing, and resources used for the transmission may be different (e.g., RRC instead of MAC CE). The remainder of FIG. 13 (e.g., 1230, 1240, and 1250) may proceed as described above with respect to FIG. 12. [0119] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a suggestion related to a split bearer suggestion. Similar to FIGS. 12 and 13, the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit a bearer suggestion indicating a split bearer and associated suggested configuration parameters (1420). ), or an allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information (P. 111 the UE 106 may operate according to the (e.g., updated) selected bearer configuration of 806. For example, the UE may use a bearer indicated by the configuration, and, if that bearer is a split bearer, the UE may use any offloading ratio and/or threshold for directing data of split bearer to the MCG and/or SCG).
Regarding claim 2 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 1, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the at least one of the first information or the second information, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the first information, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to communicate via the first cell group and the second cell group, are configured to cause the UE to communicate via the first cell group and the second cell group in accordance with the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information (P.103 the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.). Such suggestions or preferences may be based on any or all of: battery level of the UE, thermal status (e.g., temperature) of the UE or of any particular component(s), active applications, whether the device is locked or actively in use, etc. The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ).
Regarding claim 3 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 2, Xu teaches…wherein the first information includes UE assistance information that indicates a UE preference for splitting the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.103… the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.) ).
Regarding claim 4 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 3, Xu teaches…wherein the UE assistance information indicates a preferred splitting threshold for splitting the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.103 discloses… the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.) ).
Regarding claim 5 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 3, Xu teaches…wherein the UE assistance information indicates a request to increase or decrease a previously signaled splitting threshold for splitting the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.116 discloses… the UE 106 may overheat or approach a threshold of overheating. Accordingly, the UE may signal the network to change DC parameters to increase use of the MCG 1002 (e.g., LTE) ).
Regarding claim 6 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node and based at least in part on the UE assistance information, an indication of the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.7 discloses… a UE may transmit information to the network. The network may select bearer configurations including a range of values for a split bearer parameter based on the information, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configuration to the UE, e.g., if the selected bearer configuration is used for uplink transition by the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration and dynamically adjusting the split bearer parameter within the range of values. In addition, the network may also select a downlink bearer configuration based on the UE transmitted information and may exchange data with the UE using the selected downlink bear configuration; furthermore).
Regarding claim 7 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 2,Xu teaches… wherein the first information indicates the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.87 discloses… the UE may support three bearer types, e.g., MCG-bearer, SCG-bearer, and split bearer (e.g., using both the MCG and SCG). In some embodiments, for a split bearer configuration, UL transmissions up to a (e.g., configurable) threshold amount of data may be transmitted via only the primary RLC entity (e.g., via the MCG, although the SCG may also serve as the primary RLC entity, if desired). In some embodiments, for UL transmission equal to or greater than the threshold amount, transmission may occur via both primary RLC entity and secondary RLC entity. In existing MR-DC mechanisms (e.g., including Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) Terrestrial Radio Access (EUTRA)-NR-DC (EN-DC), in which LTE is the MCG and NR is the SCG), the bearer type and (for split bearer) the UL amount of data threshold may be configured by the network. The split between the MCG and SCG may be referred to as split bearer configuration. The split bearer configuration may include both the threshold for initiating splitting (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold) and the portion of data to be transmitted by each cell group after the threshold is reached. Such a threshold may be evaluated relative to the amount of data in the UE's UL buffer, e.g., for the split bearer. In other words, in some embodiments, if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG ).
Regarding claim 8 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 7, Xu teaches…wherein the first information includes an indication of a splitting threshold that indicates the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group for at least one of downlink communications or uplink communications (P.87… the UE may support three bearer types, e.g., MCG-bearer, SCG-bearer, and split bearer (e.g., using both the MCG and SCG). In some embodiments, for a split bearer configuration, UL transmissions up to a (e.g., configurable) threshold amount of data may be transmitted via only the primary RLC entity (e.g., via the MCG, although the SCG may also serve as the primary RLC entity, if desired). In some embodiments, for UL transmission equal to or greater than the threshold amount, transmission may occur via both primary RLC entity and secondary RLC entity. In existing MR-DC mechanisms (e.g., including Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) Terrestrial Radio Access (EUTRA)-NR-DC (EN-DC), in which LTE is the MCG and NR is the SCG), the bearer type and (for split bearer) the UL amount of data threshold may be configured by the network. The split between the MCG and SCG may be referred to as split bearer configuration. The split bearer configuration may include both the threshold for initiating splitting (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold) and the portion of data to be transmitted by each cell group after the threshold is reached. Such a threshold may be evaluated relative to the amount of data in the UE's UL buffer, e.g., for the split bearer. In other words, in some embodiments, if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG ).
Regarding claim 10 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 7, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: select the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.87 discloses… The split between the MCG and SCG may be referred to as split bearer configuration. The split bearer configuration may include both the threshold for initiating splitting (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold) and the portion of data to be transmitted by each cell group after the threshold is reached. Such a threshold may be evaluated relative to the amount of data in the UE's UL buffer, e.g., for the split bearer. In other words, in some embodiments, if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG. ).
Regarding claim 11 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 10, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to select the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group, are configured to cause the UE to: select the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on channel state information associated with the first cell group and the second cell group (Fig. 16, P.130 discloses…a network (e.g., BS 102 or other network element) selecting a bearer configuration based on UE information. As shown, the UE may be configured in a DC mode, e.g., as described above with respect to 802 (1210). The network may provide configuration information including instructions for the UE to take and report one or more measurements. The UE may provide a measurement report to the network, e.g., via a transmission to a BS 102 providing the MN (1620). In the illustrated example, the measurement report may include one or more RSRP measurements. However, it will be appreciated that alternative and/or additional measurements may be included. The measurement(s) may be of a PCell, a PSCell, and/or other cell or cell group. Further, the measurement report may include or be associated with other reports (e.g., a BSR, a report on thermal status of the UE, etc.). The measurement report may be or be associated with a regularly scheduled report to the network, such as channel state information (CSI). Based on the measurement report, the network may select a bearer configuration and transmit configuration message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating the selected bearer configuration (1630). The bearer configuration message may be based on one or more of: measurements reported in the measurement report, buffer status of the UE, and/or measurements taken by the BS 102 (and/or other BS 102s)).
Regarding claim 12 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 10, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, configuration information associated with selecting the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.95 discloses…he BS 102 may provide initial configuration information, e.g., related to dual connectivity. Such configuration information may include an indication of a bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split). Similarly, the configuration information may include an indication of a threshold for use of both cell groups in a split bearer configuration (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold or dl-DataSplitThresold) and/or an indication of what portion of data to transmit using the SCG of the threshold is reached. Further, the configuration may include whether data should initially be split on a split bearer or all transmitted on the MCG, e.g., via a parameter ul-DataSplitDRB-ViaSCG (e.g., true may indicate that both cell groups should be used, false may indicate that only MCG should be used initially). ).
Regarding claim 13 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 1, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the at least one of the first information or the second information, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the second information, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to communicate via the first cell group and the second cell group, are configured to cause the UE to communicate via the first cell group and the second cell group in accordance with the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information(P.103 the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.). Such suggestions or preferences may be based on any or all of: battery level of the UE, thermal status (e.g., temperature) of the UE or of any particular component(s), active applications, whether the device is locked or actively in use, etc. The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ).
Regarding claim 16 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 13, Xu teaches…wherein the second information includes UE assistance information that indicates a request for increasing UE resources allocated for a first one of the first cell group or the second cell group (P. 85 and P.116 discloses the use or assistance information that increases resources allocation…following is an example of additional resource allocated to decrease overheating due to prolong usage of resources… the UE may signal the network to change DC parameters to increase use of the MCG 1002 (e.g., LTE). This may lead to undesirable cycling of overheating and signaling related to the beginning and ending of overheating conditions ).
Regarding claim 17 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 16, Xu teaches…wherein the UE assistance information further indicates a request for decreasing UE resources allocated for a second one or the first cell group or the second cell group (P.133 discloses the mechanism used to increase as well as decreasing resources to the UE… he UE may decrease ULDataSplitThreshold as low as b6400 (e.g., lower limit in this example) or any value between b51200 and b6400 without having any communication with network about change in UL-DataSplitThreshold. If UE does not make measurements of the MCG (or is otherwise unable to make any conclusion about UL-DataSplitThreshold), it may use the initial network configured value (e.g., b51200 in this example) ).
Regarding claim 18 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 16, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node and based at least in part on the UE assistance information, an indication of the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group(P.103 the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.). Such suggestions or preferences may be based on any or all of: battery level of the UE, thermal status (e.g., temperature) of the UE or of any particular component(s), active applications, whether the device is locked or actively in use, etc. The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ).
Regarding claim 19 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 13, Xu teaches…wherein the second information includes a dynamic capability update that indicates an updated allocation of the UE resources supported by the UE, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node and based at least in part on the dynamic capability update, an indication of a change from a previous allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group to the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.131 discloses the dynamic capability of updating and assigning resources…a network (e.g., BS 102 or other network element) may configure a UE to operate flexibly within a range of parameters. For example, (e.g., in 802 and/or 806), the BS 102 may transmit configuration information indicating the range of parameters and (e.g., in 808) the UE may dynamically select parameter values within that range while communicating with the network. In some embodiments, the range of parameters may be selected by the network based on information provided by the UE (e.g., preferences and/or measurements, e.g., in 804). In other embodiments, the range of parameters may be selected by the network without input from the UE (e.g., in 802 and so that 804 and 806 are omitted) ).
Regarding claim 20 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 13, Xu teaches…wherein the second information indicates the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group (P.131-132 discloses the allocation of the UE resources across the first and second group…In some embodiments, the range of parameters may be selected by the network based on information provided by the UE (e.g., preferences and/or measurements, e.g., in 804). In other embodiments, the range of parameters may be selected by the network without input from the UE (e.g., in 802 and so that 804 and 806 are omitted)….[0132] The range of parameters may include a range of split threshold, a range of offloading ratios, and/or a selection of possible bearer types (e.g., MCG, SCG, and/or split), among various possibilities. The UE may then autonomously (or automatically) change actual values within the range of parameters according to its internal preference. For example, the UE may dynamically adjust the parameter (e.g., a data split threshold, offloading ratio, etc.) within the range based on detecting a change in radio conditions ).
Regarding claim 22 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 20, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: select the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on channel state information associated with the first cell group and the second cell group(Fig. 16, P.130 discloses…a network (e.g., BS 102 or other network element) selecting a bearer configuration based on UE information. As shown, the UE may be configured in a DC mode, e.g., as described above with respect to 802 (1210). The network may provide configuration information including instructions for the UE to take and report one or more measurements. The UE may provide a measurement report to the network, e.g., via a transmission to a BS 102 providing the MN (1620). In the illustrated example, the measurement report may include one or more RSRP measurements. However, it will be appreciated that alternative and/or additional measurements may be included. The measurement(s) may be of a PCell, a PSCell, and/or other cell or cell group. Further, the measurement report may include or be associated with other reports (e.g., a BSR, a report on thermal status of the UE, etc.). The measurement report may be or be associated with a regularly scheduled report to the network, such as channel state information (CSI). Based on the measurement report, the network may select a bearer configuration and transmit configuration message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating the selected bearer configuration (1630). The bearer configuration message may be based on one or more of: measurements reported in the measurement report, buffer status of the UE, and/or measurements taken by the BS 102 (and/or other BS 102s)).
Regarding claim 24 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 20, Xu teaches…wherein the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group includes a time pattern for switching between different allocations of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group (P. 57 discloses the switching between cell groups also known as radio access transmission RAT).
Regarding claim 25 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 13, Xu teaches…wherein the UE resources include at least one of radio frequency resources, baseband resources, or UE antennas (P.51 discloses the usage of antennas as part of the building blocks of the network devices).
Regarding claim 26 Xu teaches…a first network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first network node to Fig. 3, P. 32 discloses… Processing elements may include, for example: processors and associated memory, portions or circuits of individual processor cores, entire processor cores, processor arrays, circuits such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), programmable hardware elements such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA): receive, from a user equipment (UE), at least one of: first information associated with splitting a data volume across a first cell group associated with the first network node and a second cell group associated with a second network node(Fig. 2, P. 49 discloses communication between UE and a base station; furthermore P. 101-103 indicate communication between UE and base station P.103…), or second information associated with sharing UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group; and communicate with the UE in accordance with at least one of: a split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information group (P.103… The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ), or an allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information(P.118… the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit UE assistance information, e.g., via one or more RRC message to the MN 1204 (1320). The UE assistance information may include the same information as described above with respect to 1220. However, the format, timing, and resources used for the transmission may be different (e.g., RRC instead of MAC CE). The remainder of FIG. 13 (e.g., 1230, 1240, and 1250) may proceed as described above with respect to FIG. 12.
Regarding claim 27 Xu teaches…the first network node of claim 26, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first network node to receive the at least one of the first information or the second information, are configured to cause the first network node to receive the first information, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first network node to communicate with the UE, are configured to cause the first network node to communicate with the UE in accordance with the split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information(P.103 the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.). Such suggestions or preferences may be based on any or all of: battery level of the UE, thermal status (e.g., temperature) of the UE or of any particular component(s), active applications, whether the device is locked or actively in use, etc. The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ).
Regarding claim 28 Xu teaches…the first network node of claim 26, Xu teaches…wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first network node to receive the at least one of the first information or the second information, are configured to cause the first network node to receive the second information, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first network node to communicate with the UE, are configured to cause the first network node to communicate with the UE in accordance with the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information(P.103 the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.). Such suggestions or preferences may be based on any or all of: battery level of the UE, thermal status (e.g., temperature) of the UE or of any particular component(s), active applications, whether the device is locked or actively in use, etc. The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ).
Regarding claim 29 Xu teaches…a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising(Fig. 3, P. 32 discloses… Processing elements may include, for example: processors and associated memory, portions or circuits of individual processor cores, entire processor cores, processor arrays, circuits such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), programmable hardware elements such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA): transmitting, to at least one of a first network node associated with a first cell group or a second network node associated with a second cell group, at least one of(Fig. 2, P. 49 discloses communication between UE and a base station; furthermore P. 101-103 indicate communication between UE and base station P.103…): first information associated with splitting a data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group, or second information associated with sharing UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group(P.103… The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ); and communicating via the first cell group and the second cell group in accordance with at least one of: a split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information(P.118… the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit UE assistance information, e.g., via one or more RRC message to the MN 1204 (1320). The UE assistance information may include the same information as described above with respect to 1220. However, the format, timing, and resources used for the transmission may be different (e.g., RRC instead of MAC CE). The remainder of FIG. 13 (e.g., 1230, 1240, and 1250) may proceed as described above with respect to FIG. 12. [0119] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a suggestion related to a split bearer suggestion. Similar to FIGS. 12 and 13, the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit a bearer suggestion indicating a split bearer and associated suggested configuration parameters (1420). ),, or an allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information(P. 111 the UE 106 may operate according to the (e.g., updated) selected bearer configuration of 806. For example, the UE may use a bearer indicated by the configuration, and, if that bearer is a split bearer, the UE may use any offloading ratio and/or threshold for directing data of split bearer to the MCG and/or SCG).
Regarding claim 30 Xu teaches…a method of wireless communication performed by a first network node, comprising Fig. 3, P. 32 discloses… Processing elements may include, for example: processors and associated memory, portions or circuits of individual processor cores, entire processor cores, processor arrays, circuits such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), programmable hardware elements such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA): receiving, from a user equipment (UE), at least one of: first information associated with splitting a data volume across a first cell group associated with the first network node and a second cell group associated with a second network node(Fig. 2, P. 49 discloses communication between UE and a base station; furthermore P. 101-103 indicate communication between UE and base station P.103…), or second information associated with sharing UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group(P.103… The suggestions may include one or more of: a suggested bearer (e.g., MCG, SCG, or split), preferred RAT for UL transmission and DL reception (e.g., LTE or NR, etc.), preferred NR frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2), preferred primary RLC entity for a split bearer (e.g., LTE, NR FR1, NR FR2), and/or preferred offloading ratio and/or threshold for a split bearer (e.g., 70% to SCG for transmissions greater than 1000 Mbytes, etc.). For example, the suggestions may include a range for each RAT, e.g., a range for a split threshold for each RAT. For example, the suggestion(s) may include a split threshold range for LTE and a second split threshold range for NR ); and communicating with the UE in accordance with at least one of: a split of the data volume across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the first information, or an allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the second information(P.118… the UE may be configured in DC mode as described above with respect to 1210. The UE may transmit UE assistance information, e.g., via one or more RRC message to the MN 1204 (1320). The UE assistance information may include the same information as described above with respect to 1220. However, the format, timing, and resources used for the transmission may be different (e.g., RRC instead of MAC CE). The remainder of FIG. 13 (e.g., 1230, 1240, and 1250) may proceed as described above with respect to FIG. 12..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220007443-A1 to XU et al, from hereon Xu in view of US-2022003442-A1 to Laghate et al., from hereon Laghate.
Regarding claim 14 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 13, wherein the second information includes UE capability information associated with a capability of the UE for sharing the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: but does not teach…transmit, to the first network node, first channel state information (CSI) associated with the first cell group; transmit, to the second network node, second CSI associated with the second cell group; and receive, from at least one of the first network node and the second network node, an indication of a change from a previous allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group to the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the UE capability information, the first CSI, and the second CSI.
Laghate teaches… transmit, to the first network node, first channel state information (CSI) associated with the first cell group; transmit, to the second network node, second CSI associated with the second cell group; and receive, from at least one of the first network node and the second network node, an indication of a change from a previous allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group to the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group based at least in part on the UE capability information, the first CSI, and the second CSI (Fig. 6, P. 142 discloses… FIG. 6, example 610 includes a base station 110 and a UE 120 communicating to perform beam management using CSI-RSs. Example 610 depicts a second beam management procedure (e.g., P2 CSI-RS beam management). The second beam management procedure may be referred to as a beam refinement procedure, a base station beam refinement procedure, a TRP beam refinement procedure, a transmit beam refinement procedure, and/or the like. As shown in FIG. 6 and example 610, CSI-RSs may be configured to be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UE 120. The CSI-RSs may be configured to be aperiodic (e.g., using DCI and/or the like). The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure). The base station 110 may transmit a CSI-RS using each transmit beam of the one or more transmit beams for beam management. The UE 120 may measure each CSI-RS using a single (e.g., a same) receive beam (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements performed in connection with the first beam management procedure). The second beam management procedure may enable the base station 110 to select a best transmit beam based at least in part on measurements of the CSI-RSs (e.g., measured by the UE 120 using the single receive beam) reported by the UE 120 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Xu by incorporating the teachings of Laghate because the method and device allow determination of the channel condition based on cell search and adjust and transmitting reports that include the CSI and other parameters that include modified channel conditions values and candidate resources (Laghate, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 15 Xu and Laghate teach…the UE of claim 14, Laghate teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information indicating a mapping between each candidate allocation, of a set of candidate allocations of the UE resources, and a respective set of parameters to be used for that candidate allocation, wherein the set of candidate allocations of the UE resources is based at least in part on the UE capability information, and wherein the indication indicates a change from a first candidate allocation of the set of candidate allocations of the UE resources to a second candidate allocation of the set of candidate allocations of the UE resources (P. 154 discloses… Alternatively, the first RAT and the second RAT may be the same RAT, such as in the case of NRDC. In some aspects, there may multiple second cells that may be candidates for dual connectivity with the first cell in a similar manner as described herein).
Regarding claim 23 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 22, but does not teach…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, configuration information associated with selecting the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group.
Lagathe teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, configuration information associated with selecting the allocation of the UE resources across the first cell group and the second cell group (Fig. 6, P. 142 discloses… FIG. 6, example 610 includes a base station 110 and a UE 120 communicating to perform beam management using CSI-RSs. Example 610 depicts a second beam management procedure (e.g., P2 CSI-RS beam management). The second beam management procedure may be referred to as a beam refinement procedure, a base station beam refinement procedure, a TRP beam refinement procedure, a transmit beam refinement procedure, and/or the like. As shown in FIG. 6 and example 610, CSI-RSs may be configured to be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UE 120. The CSI-RSs may be configured to be aperiodic (e.g., using DCI and/or the like). The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure). The base station 110 may transmit a CSI-RS using each transmit beam of the one or more transmit beams for beam management. The UE 120 may measure each CSI-RS using a single (e.g., a same) receive beam (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements performed in connection with the first beam management procedure). The second beam management procedure may enable the base station 110 to select a best transmit beam based at least in part on measurements of the CSI-RSs (e.g., measured by the UE 120 using the single receive beam) reported by the UE 120 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Xu by incorporating the teachings of Laghate because the method and device allow determination of the channel condition based on cell search and adjust and transmitting reports that include the CSI and other parameters that include modified channel conditions values and candidate resources (Laghate, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220007443-A1 to XU et al, from hereon Xu in view of US-20250024364-A1 to You et al., from hereon You.
Regarding claim 9 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 7, but does not teach….wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, an acknowledgement of the first information (P.117 discloses acknowledge messages for various mechanisms including the acknowledgement of information send by the network node to the UE… FIGS. 12 and 13 illustrate examples of a UE transmitting a bearer suggestion to a network. As shown in FIG. 12, a UE 106 may be configured in a DC mode (e.g., EN-DC) with a LTE master node (MN) 1204 (e.g., a PCell of an MCG) and a NR secondary node (SN) 1206 (e.g., a PSCell of a SCG) (1210). The configuration may be as described above with respect to 802. The UE may transmit a bearer suggestion to the MN (1220). The bearer suggestion may be an example of the information transmitted as described above with respect to 804. The bearer suggestion may be transmitted as a MAC CE. In the illustrated example, the bearer suggestion may indicate the UE's suggestion to the network to configure an SCG bearer on NR FR1 cell(s). The MN may exchange information regarding this suggestion with the SN (1230). For example, the MN may inform the SN that the SCG bearer will be configured on NR FR1 cells, and the SN may acknowledge the message and/or may confirm that resources are available. The MN may transmit an RRC configuration (e.g., reconfiguration) message to the UE, e.g., indicating that the SCG bearer configuration includes a logical channel (LCH) mapped on to NR FR1 cell(s) (1240). The RRC reconfiguration message may be an example of the transmission of configuration information described above with respect to 806. The UE may communicate with the SN using NR FR1 (1250). The communication may be an example of the further communication described above with respect to 808. The communication may include UL transmissions on FR1, e.g., according to the RRC reconfiguration ).
You teaches…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, an acknowledgement of the first information (P.169 discloses… S504: After the second network device receives the second request information from the first network device, if the second network device determines that the terminal device can be admitted, the second network device may allocate radio resources to the terminal device, and send an acknowledge message to the first network device, where the acknowledge message may be, for example, a secondary base station addition request acknowledge message. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Xu by incorporating the teachings of You because the method and device allow for various modes of sending request for resources and receiving acknowledgement of those request (You, P. 212). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 21 Xu teaches…the UE of claim 20, but does not teach…wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, an acknowledgement of the second information.
You teaches… wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one of the first network node or the second network node, an acknowledgement of the second information (P.169 discloses… S504: After the second network device receives the second request information from the first network device, if the second network device determines that the terminal device can be admitted, the second network device may allocate radio resources to the terminal device, and send an acknowledge message to the first network device, where the acknowledge message may be, for example, a secondary base station addition request acknowledge message. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Xu by incorporating the teachings of You because the method and device allow for various modes of sending request for resources and receiving acknowledgement of those request (You, P. 212). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: S. Jung and S. Bahk, "Online Control of Traffic Split and Distributed Cell Group State Decisions for Multi-connectivity," 2020 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference (WCNC), Seoul, Korea (South), 2020, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/WCNC45663.2020.9120660 (Year: 2020), C. -H. Yu and O. Tirkkonen, "Distributed Inter-Cell Interference Coordination based on rate splitting," 2010 7th International Symposium on Wireless Communication Systems, York, UK, 2010, pp. 711-715, doi: 10.1109/ISWCS.2010.5624306 (Year: 2010), and US-12389351-B2 to Paz.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476