DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/20/2024 where claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 03/20/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 recites “One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of”
The specification , printed publication, described in para [0085] a method, a system, or a computer-program product. Accordingly, the embodiments may take the form of a hardware embodiment, or an embodiment combining software and hardware. The present technology may take the form of a computer-program product that includes computer-useable instructions embodied on one or more computer-readable media.
However, cited portions , while describing computer program that is implemented in one of a hardware embodiment, or an embodiment combining software and hardware
The limitation “One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of” for the instructions claimed as software per se. They are neither computer components nor statutory processes. Such claimed “One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of” do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other claimed elements of a computer which permit the computer program's functionality to be realized.
The Examiners suggest to amend the claim language to “A non-transitory one or more computer readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitazoe; Masato (US 20090011783 A1)hereinafter Kitazoe
As to claim 1. Kitazoe teaches One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of utilizing dynamic wireless network protocols, the method comprising ([0105] Fig. 11, Processor 1112 of a base station coupled to a data store 404 that can store information related to protocols, data to be transmitted, received data, related to selecting UE dynamic capability associated with a mobile device)
receiving, at a node, a user equipment (UE) capability message from a UE indicating a type of the UE; ([0055] Fig. 1, base station 102 can receive the UE capability information from the mobile device 116, and can store the UE capability information. )
and
based on the type of UE, determining, at the node, a dynamic wireless network protocol specific to the type of UE. ([0055][0078] , the base station 102 can include a selector 402 that can select a UE dynamic capability to be utilized by a mobile device 116 during a connection and/or communication associated with the mobile device 116 and predefined selection criteria type of communication (e.g., voice calling, messaging, best effort data, protocol layer signaling, etc./protocol specific to type of UE)
Claim 9 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 17. Kitazoe teaches A system for utilizing dynamic wireless network protocols, the system comprising ([0105]Fig. 1, Fig. 4, system using suitable information that can facilitate selecting UE dynamic capability associated)
a user equipment (UE); ([0077] Fig. 4, a mobile device)
and a node configured to wirelessly communicate with the UE, ([0077] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, system includes a base station 102 that can communicate wirelessly with one or more mobile devices)
wherein the node is configured to: receive a UE capability message from a UE indicating a type of the UE; ([0074] ([0079] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, mobile device 116 can include a capability communicator 302 that can communicate UE capability information, such as UE semi-static capability information and/or UE dynamic capability information, for the mobile device 116 to the base station 102 to facilitate determining and/or selecting a UE dynamic capability (e.g., UE class, type of UE) to be employed)
based on the type of UE, determining a dynamic wireless network protocol specific to the type of UE; ([0055][0078] [0079]Fig. 1, , the base station 102 can include a selector 402 that can select a UE dynamic capability to be utilized by a mobile device 116 during a connection and/or communication associated with the mobile device 116 and predefined selection criteria type of communication (e.g., voice calling, messaging, best effort data, protocol layer signaling, etc.) to facilitate determining and/or selecting a UE dynamic capability (e.g., UE class, type of UE) to be employed)
and initiate the dynamic wireless network protocol specific to the type of UE. ([0078][0055] [0079]Fig. 1, Based at least in part on received UE capability information, the selector 402 can select a UE dynamic capability to be utilized by the mobile device 116 during a connection and/or communication associated with the mobile device 116 to facilitate determining and/or selecting a UE dynamic capability (e.g., UE class, type of UE) to be employed)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazoe and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20210153062 A1)hereinafter Zhang
As to claim 2. Kitazoe does not teach wherein the type of UE comprises one of: a home customer premises equipment (CPE), a fixed internet of things (IoT) sensor, or an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) device.
Zhang teaches UE comprises one of: a home customer premises equipment (CPE), a fixed internet of things (IoT) sensor, or an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) device. ([0207] a wireless customer-premise equipment (CPE),)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Kitazoe because Zhang teaches that a wireless customer-premise equipment (CPE) or a host computer refers to the hardware devices located at the subscriber’s premises that enable access to telecommunication and internet services. (Zhang[0076] [0242])
Claims 10, 18 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. Kitazoe teaches initiating, at the node([0092] base station utilizing UE capability associated with the mobile device can select a desired (e.g., optimal) UE dynamic capability to be utilized by the mobile device during the connection and communication)
the dynamic wireless network protocol comprising ([0053][0092] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
Kitazoe does not teach further comprising, based on the type of UE comprising the home CPE, comprising local authentication
Zhang teaches further comprising, based on the type of UE comprising the home CPE, ([0207] a wireless customer-premise equipment (CPE), initiating, at the node, comprising local authentication. ([0089] the link establishment procedure, UEs are engaged in isolated (non-relay) one-to-one communication to negotiate IP address allocation mechanisms and mutual authentication is performed during the link establishment procedure if a secure layer-2 link is required to be established over the sidelink.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Kitazoe because Zhang teaches that a wireless customer-premise equipment (CPE) or a host computer refers to the hardware devices located at the subscriber’s premises that enable access to telecommunication and internet services. (Zhang[0076] [0242])
Claim 11 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazoe, Zhang and further in view of Chun (US 20220116908 A1)hereinafter Chun
As to claim 4. The combination of Kitazoe and Zhang specifically Kitazoe teaches , wherein the dynamic wireless network protocol comprises ([0053] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
The combination of Kitazoe and Zhang does not teach no communications with a core network.
Chun teaches no communications with a core network.([0242] Fig. 8, user plane communication between UE and eNB, no communication to Core )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Chun with the teaching of Kitazoe and Zhang because Chun teaches that terminal may transmit and receive gap information using an RRC message or a MAC message instead of a NAS message thereby since information is processed in the RAN, the burden on the CN may be reduced. (Chun [0443])
Claim 12 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 5 The combination of Kitazoe and Zhang specifically Kitazoe teaches , wherein the dynamic wireless network protocol comprises([0053] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
The combination of Kitazoe and Zhang does not teach no user plane with a core network.
Chun teaches no user plane with a core network. ([0242] Fig. 8, user plane communication between UE and eNB, no communication to Core )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Chun with the teaching of Kitazoe and Zhang because Chun teaches that terminal may transmit and receive gap information using an RRC message or a MAC message instead of a NAS message thereby since information is processed in the RAN, the burden on the CN may be reduced. (Chun [0443])
Claims 13 and 19 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazoe, and Chun
As to claim 6. Kitazoe teaches further comprising initiating, at the node ([0092] base station utilizing UE capability associated with the mobile device can select a desired (e.g., optimal) UE dynamic capability to be utilized by the mobile device during the connection and communication)
, the dynamic wireless network protocol comprising([0053] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
Kitazoe does not teach based on the type of UE comprising the IoT sensor([0682]IOT device type sensor) signaling only no user plane or mobility with a core network. ([0242] Fig. 8, user plane communication/signaling between UE and eNB, no communication to Core )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Chun with the teaching of Kitazoe and Zhang because Chun teaches that terminal may transmit and receive gap information using an RRC message or a MAC message instead of a NAS message thereby since information is processed in the RAN, the burden on the CN may be reduced. (Chun [0443])
Claims 14 and 20 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazoe, and further in view of Hosseini et al. (US 20200221399 A1)hereinafter Hosseini
As to claim 7. Kitazoe teaches further comprising, initiating, at the node, node ([0092] base station utilizing UE capability associated with the mobile device can select a desired (e.g., optimal) UE dynamic capability to be utilized by the mobile device during the connection and communication)
the dynamic wireless network protocol comprising([0053] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
Kitazoe does not teach based on the type of UE comprising the URLLC device, no Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ).
Hosseini teaches based on the type of UE comprising the URLLC device, ([0150] [0155] when the UE supports URLLC, and the traffic type is differentiable at the PHY layer, PUCCH for URLLC without HARQ-ACK or SR or PUSCH for URLLC without HARQ-ACK on MCG)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hosseini with the teaching of Kitazoe because Hosseini teaches that PUSCH on MCG without HARQ-ACK may have a lower priority thereby reducing power of lower priority transmission on symbols that overlap with symbols occupied by higher priority transmission. (Hosseini [0129])
Claim 15 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazoe, and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 20240138021 A1)hereinafter Zheng
As to claim 8. Kitazoe teaches , further comprising, based on the type of UE, initiating, at the node, ([0092] base station utilizing UE capability associated with the mobile device can select a desired (e.g., optimal) UE dynamic capability to be utilized by the mobile device during the connection and communication)
the dynamic wireless network protocol comprising ([0053] UE dynamic capability, which can include a UE class, and UE semi-static capability, which can include supported UE classes protocol version)
Kitazoe does not teach a 6G device no radio link control (RLC) acknowledge mode (AM).
Zheng teaches a 6G device no radio link control (RLC) acknowledge mode (AM). ([0064] [0113]Fig. 4, TX UE, RX UE in the NR system, for example, a 6th Generation (6G) communication system, direct communication request (DCR) uses a sidelink signaling radio bearer with unprotected PC5-S, that is, (SL-Signaling Radio Bearer, SL-SRB) 0 (using a (Transparent Mode Radio Link Control, TM RLC) mode without a signaling feedback acknowledgement mechanism AM)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Zheng with the teaching of Kitazoe because Zheng teaches that unicast sidelink establishment can be completed within one cycle of the first DRX thereby improves sidelink establishment efficiency and can further achieve the purpose of reducing terminal power consumption.(Zheng [0096])
Claim 16 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHU; Yuanping et al. [US 20200163012 A1] NETWORK ACCESS METHOD, DEVICE, AND SYSTEM
Muruganathan; Siva et al. [US 20210250149 A1] LOW OVERHEAD APERIODIC TRIGGERING OF MULTI-SYMBOL SRS
Alabbasi; Abdulrahman et al. [US 20220039144 A1] DYNAMIC AND FLEXIBLE CONFIGURATIONS FOR CONFIGURED GRANTS
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413