DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “traveling direction” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Paragraph [0102] of Applicant’s Specification refers to Fig. 12 in relation to a traveling direction of the vehicle. However, it is unclear from Fig. 12 (or any other figure disclosed), which is the traveling direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 115534615 A to Shao et al. (Shao).
In reference to independent claim 1, Shao discloses:
An air conditioning system (1) for a vehicle (see Title), the air conditioning system comprising:
a housing (100) having an internal space (see Fig. 2) connected to an air inlet path (120, 130) and an air outlet path (140, 150), the air outlet path being divided into an internal passage (140) and an external passage (150);
air conditioning doors (420, 430, 450, 451, 452, 460) provided in the housing (100) (see Fig. 2) and configured to allow air to selectively flow to the internal passage (140) or the external passage (150);
a first heat exchange unit (300) provided in the internal space (see Fig. 2) of the housing (100); and
a second heat exchange unit (310) provided to face the first heat exchange unit (300) in the internal space of the housing (see Fig. 2),
wherein air introduced into the internal space through the air inlet path (120, 130) flows to the first heat exchange unit (300) and the second heat exchange unit (310) (see Fig. 2), and
wherein the air is discharged to a vehicle interior (via 141, 142, or 143) or exterior (via 150), depending on open or closed positions of the air conditioning doors (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Shao further discloses: the internal space (see Fig. 2) of the housing (100) includes a flow space (112, 113) and first and second air conditioning spaces disposed to be spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 2 annotated below), wherein the air inlet path (120, 130) is connected to the flow space (112, 113) (see Fig. 2), and wherein first and second air outlet paths (140, 150) (see passages and paths within air duct piece connected to outlets 140, including 141-143, and 150) are respectively connected to the first and second air conditioning spaces (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Shao further discloses: the air inlet path (120, 130) is divided into an inside air inlet path (120) and an outside air inlet path (130), and wherein inside/outside air doors (410, 440) are provided in the housing (100) and selectively open or close the inside air inlet path (120) and the outside air inlet path (130) (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 5, Shao further discloses: the inside/outside air doors comprise a first inside/outside air door (410) and a second inside/outside air door (440), wherein the first inside/outside air door (410) is installed in the flow space of the housing (100) (see Fig. 2), corresponds to the first heat exchange unit (300), and adjusts an amount of inside air or outside air flowing to the first heat exchange unit (see Fig. 2), and wherein the second inside/outside air door (440) is installed in the flow space of the housing (see Fig. 2), corresponds to the second heat exchange unit (310), and adjusts an amount of inside air or outside air flowing to the second heat exchange unit (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 7, Shao further discloses: the first heat exchange unit (300) is provided in the first air conditioning space (refer to annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the second heat exchange unit (310) is provided in the second air conditioning space (refer to annotated Fig. 2 above), and wherein the first heat exchange unit and the second heat exchange unit (300 and 310) are disposed to face each other (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Shao further discloses: the air conditioning doors (420, 430, 450, 451, 452, 460) comprise a first air conditioning door and a second air conditioning door, wherein the first air conditioning door (420, 430) is provided at a branch point between the external passage (150) and the internal passage (140) connected to the first air conditioning space and determines a flow route for the air having passed through the first heat exchange unit (300) (see Figs. 8, 12), and wherein the second air conditioning door (440) is provided at a branch point between the external passage (150) and the internal passage (140) connected to the second air conditioning space and determines a flow route for the air having passed through the second heat exchange unit (310) (see Fig. 12).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20180103310 A to Won et al. (Won).
In reference to independent claim 1, Won discloses:
An air conditioning system (400) for a vehicle (see Title), the air conditioning system comprising:
a housing (see Figs. 1, 3-11) having an internal space (see Figs. 3-11) connected to an air inlet path (311-314, 321-324) and an air outlet path (316-319, 326-329), the air outlet path being divided into an internal passage (318-319, 328-329) and an external passage (316, 326);
air conditioning doors (431a-d, 432a-d) provided in the housing (see Figs. 3-11) and configured to allow air to selectively flow to the internal passage (318-319, 328-329) or the external passage (316, 326) (see Figs. 3-11);
a first heat exchange unit (412) provided in the internal space (see Figs. 3-11) of the housing; and
a second heat exchange unit (414) provided to face the first heat exchange unit (412) in the internal space of the housing (see Figs. 3-11),
wherein air introduced into the internal space through the air inlet path (311-314, 321-324) flows to the first heat exchange unit (412) and the second heat exchange unit (414) (see Figs. 3-11), and
wherein the air is discharged to a vehicle interior (S11, S12) or exterior (S2), depending on open or closed positions of the air conditioning doors (see Figs. 3-11).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Won further discloses: the first heat exchange unit (412) comprises a first heat exchanger (412) and a first blower (422), and wherein the second heat exchange unit (414) comprises a second heat exchanger (414) and a second blower (421).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Won further discloses: the internal space of the housing includes a flow space and first and second air conditioning spaces disposed to be spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 3 annotated below), wherein the air inlet path (311-314, 321-324) is connected to the flow space (see Figs. 3-11), and wherein first and second air outlet paths (316-319, 326-329) are respectively connected to the first and second air conditioning spaces (see Figs. 3-11).
In reference to dependent claim 9, Won further discloses: a first duct part (327) connected to the internal passage (328-329) of the first air outlet path (326-329); and a second duct part (317) connected to the internal passage (318-319) of the second air outlet path (316-319), and wherein each of the first and second duct parts (317, 327) extend and include a plurality of routes (see [0037], [0047]) to provide air-conditioning air to different regions in the vehicle interior (S11, S12).
In reference to dependent claim 10, Won further discloses: the first air outlet path (326-329) is divided into a plurality of routes in the first air conditioning space (see Figs. 3-11), wherein the second air outlet path (316-319) is divided into a plurality of routes in the second air conditioning space (see Figs. 3-11), and wherein the external passage (326) of the first air outlet path (326-329) and the external passage (316) of the second air outlet path (316-319) extend in the same direction (toward S2).
In reference to dependent claim 12, Won further discloses: the first air outlet path (326-329) is divided into a plurality of routes in the first air conditioning space(see Figs. 3-11), wherein the second air outlet path (316-319) is divided into a plurality of routes in the second air conditioning space (see Figs. 3-11), and wherein the housing comprises a first discharge duct configured to communicate with the external passage (326) of the first air outlet path, and a second discharge duct configured to communicate with the external passage (316) of the second air outlet path.
In reference to dependent claim 13, Won further discloses: the first and second discharge ducts (see annotated Fig. 3 below) are formed to be open in a traveling direction (see Figs. 3-11; the “discharge ducts” shown in annotated Fig. 3 are open on both ends along the horizontal direction).
In reference to dependent claim 14, Won further discloses: the housing is installed on a roof (11) of a vehicle (see Fig. 1 and [0022]), wherein the air inlet path (311-314, 321-324) is divided into an inside air inlet path (312, 322) and an outside air inlet path (314, 324), wherein the inside air inlet path is provided in a lower surface of the housing and communicates with the vehicle interior (S12) (see Fig. 1), and wherein the outside air inlet path (314, 324) is provided in a lateral or upper surface of the housing (via roof duct 300; see Fig. 1) and communicates with the exterior (S2) (see [0031], [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won.
In reference to dependent claim 11, Won further discloses: the external passage (326) of the first air outlet path and the external passage (316) of the second air outlet path extend in a direction oblique to a traveling direction (assumed to be the horizontal direction in Figs. 3-11), and wherein outlets of the external passages (316, 326) are positioned in the direction oblique to the traveling direction (assumed to be the horizontal direction in Figs. 3-11).
Won is silent regarding the external passages and outlets thereof extending in a direction opposite of the traveling direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the orientation of the external passages and their outlets of Won to be in a direction opposite of the traveling direction as a matter of design choice since it shifting the orientation of the external passages and their outlets would require only routine skill in the art and would not have not have modified the operation of the vehicle or air conditioning system. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799