Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-7, 15, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/07/2026.
Status of claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 7/26/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 4-7, 15, and 16 are withdrawn and claims 1-3, 8-14, and 17-20 are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Control module” in claim 8.
“Control module” in claim 17, line 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)(2) as being anticipated by Masaaki (DE 10149712 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Masaaki (DE 10149712 A1) teaches a grinding wheel (2; fig. 1; para. 15) comprising: a wheel body (4; fig. 5; para. 15) positioned over a wafer (38; fig. 3; para. 19); a plurality of wheel tips (36; fig. 5; para. 36) disposed on the wheel body (disposed on the underside of the wheel body as seen in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18); and a support block (as annotated in fig. 5 below; para. 18) disposed on the wheel body (disposed on the underside of the wheel body as seen in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18) and an outer side surface of each of the wheel tips (as annotated in fig. 5 below; para. 18).
Regarding claim 2, Masaaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and further teaches wherein the support block has a lower surface (bottom surface of the support block; annotated fig. 5; para. 18) that is higher than a lower end of each of the wheel tips (lower end is considered the region towards the bottom face of the wheel tips, limitations met as seen in annotated fig. 5 above; para. 18).
Regarding claim 3, Masaaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and further teaches wherein the support block has an inner side surface (as annotated in fig. 5 above; para. 18) that contacts the outer side surface of each of the wheel tips (as shown in annotated fig. 5 above; para. 18).
Regarding claim 13, Masaaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and further teaches wherein the wheel body comprises: a wheel (as annotated in fig. 5 above; para. 18) arranged over the wafer (fig. 3; para. 22); and a base shank (as annotated in fig. 5 above; para. 18) arranged on an edge portion of a lower surface of the wheel (base shank is located at the radially outward edge of the wheel as seen in fig. 5 above), wherein the wheel tips are disposed on the base shank (the top face of the wheel tips are disposed on the bottom face of the base shank as seen in annotated fig. 5 above and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Masaaki (DE 10149712 A1) teaches a grinding wheel (2; fig. 1; para. 15) comprising: a wheel (as annotated in fig. 5 below; para. 18) arranged over a wafer (fig. 3; para. 22); a base shank (as annotated in fig. 5 below; para. 18) arranged on an edge portion of a first surface of the wheel (edge portion is the bottom portion of the annotated wheel, limitation met as seen in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18); a plurality of wheel tips (36; fig. 5; para. 36) arranged on a first surface of the base shank (as shown in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18); and a support block (as annotated in fig. 5 below; para. 18) disposed on the base shank (disposed on the base shanks first surface, as shown in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18) and an outer side surface of each of the wheel tips (as shown in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18), wherein the support block has a first surface (first surface” is considered the bottom face of the support block; fig. 5; para. 18) that is higher than a first end of each of the wheel tips (“first end” is considered the region towards the bottom face of the wheel tips, limitations met as seen in annotated fig. 5 below; para. 18).
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)(2) as being anticipated by Gon (KR 101547654 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Gon (KR 101547654 B1) discloses a grinding wheel (110; fig. 4; para. 21) comprising: a wheel body (110, 10 and 20; fig. 3; para. 19) positioned over a wafer (as seen in fig. 8; para. 34); a plurality of wheel tips (multiple tips seen on surface 70; fig. 3; para. 28) disposed on the wheel body (disposed on the wheel body via intermediate components; fig. 3; paras. 28 and 29); and a support block (30; fig. 3; para. 28) disposed on the wheel body (disposed on the wheel body via component 25; fig. 3; para. 28) and an outer side surface of each of the wheel tips (outer side surface, 80, is seen housed within 35; figs. 3 and 7; para. 29).
Regarding claim 8, Gon teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the grinding wheel further comprises a control module (25, 40, 50, and 60; fig. 3; para. 32) that controls a position of the support block (paras. 28, 34 and 35; figs. 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 17, Gon (KR 101547654 B1) discloses a grinding wheel (110; fig. 4; para. 21) comprising: a wheel (110; fig. 4; para. 21) arranged over a wafer (as seen in fig. 8; para. 34); a base shank (20; fig. 3; para. 19) arranged on an edge portion of a lower surface of the wheel (“edge portion” is considered the outer radial portion of the wheel, limitations met as seen in fig. 4); a plurality of wheel tips (multiple tips seen on surface 70; fig. 7; para. 29) arranged on a lower surface of the base shank (arranged on the lower surface of the base shank via intermediate components 30 and 25; figs. 3 and 7; para. 28); a support block (30; fig. 3; para. 28) disposed on the base shank (disposed on the base shank via component 25; fig. 3; para. 28) and an outer side surface of each of the wheel tips outer side surface, component 80, is seen housed within 35; figs. 3 and 7; para. 29); and a control module (25, 40, 50, and 60; fig. 3; para. 32) that controls a position of the support block (paras.28, 34 and 35; figs. 3 and 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Gon, emblematic of the best prior art, discloses the limitations of claim 8 as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein the control module comprises: a resilient member (60; fig. 3; para. 32) that movably connects the support block with the wheel body (figs. 3 and 8; paras. 28, 34 and 35) and a control block (20; fig. 3; para. 34);
However, Gon does not explicitly teach wherein the control block forms an air chamber between the control block and the support block and an air line formed in the control block to selectively supply air to the air chamber. There is no obvious combination to modify in a reference to overcome the stated limitations.
Claims 10-12 are objected to since they are dependent on claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, Gon, emblematic of the best prior art, discloses the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein the control module comprises: a resilient member (60; fig. 3; para. 32) that movably connects the support block with the base shank (support block pivots on the base shank via component 25; figs. 3 and 8; paras. 28, 34 and 35).
However, Gon does not explicitly teach wherein the control module comprises a control block that forms an air chamber between the control block and the support block and an air line formed in the control block to selectively supply air to the air chamber. There is no obvious combination to modify in a reference to overcome the stated limitations.
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to since they are dependent on claim 18.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL THADDUES FARRELL JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723