DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 09/08/2026, with respect to objection to the title and drawing have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification and the drawing have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/08/2026 with regards to the Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 11-15, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Emert et al. (US 5,756,428) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., antifoulant compositions for refinery applications ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s).
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Since Elmer discloses the same composition comprising a polyisobutylene (PIB) derivative and a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt, it would be an of an antifoulant composition to a medium.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
With regards to claim 1, the applicant argues that “Although Emert does also disclose dispersant concentrates, even in concentrate form, the dispersant is present at about 20 to about 80 wt. % of a concentrate that further includes base oil. See col. 13, 11. 30-44 of Emert. However, the Office has not identified any concentrate comprising a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt.” (See Arguments page 10, 2nd para.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Emert discloses By the use of halogen, about 65 to 95 wt. % of the polyolefin, e.g. polyisobutylene will normally react with the dicarboxylic acid material. (Col. 6 l. 9-10) and Representative of conventional anti-wear agents are zinc dialkyl-dithiophosphate, and zinc diaryldithiophosphate. (Col. 15 l. 6-8).
Therefore, Emert discloses the limitations as written.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Emert et al. (US 5,756,428) (“Emert” herein – cited previously).
Claim 1.
Emert discloses a method of inhibiting fouling, comprising:
adding an effective amount of an antifoulant composition to a medium, (Col. 12 I. 9-61) wherein the antifoulant composition comprises from
about 30 wt. % to about 99 wt. % of a polyisobutylene (PIB) derivative (Col. 5 l.. 23-37; Col. 6 I. 9-15) and
about 1 wt. % to about 50 wt. % of a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I.
22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Since Elmer discloses the same composition comprising a polyisobutylene (PIB) derivative and a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt, it would be an antifoulant composition to a medium.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 2.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising dispersing an asphaltene in the medium. (Col. 12 I. 9-61) .
Claim 3.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the composition comprises from about 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. % of the PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and about 10 wt. % to about 50 wt. % of the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Claim 7.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt is selected from the group consisting of zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate (ZDDP), molybdenum dialkyl dithiophosphate (MoDDP), and any combination thereof. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Claim 10.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the effective amount is from about 1 ppm to about 50,000 ppm. (Col. 12 I. 9-61)
Claim 11.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the composition consists of or consists essentially of the PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Claim 12.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the medium is selected from the group consisting of a petroleum product, crude oil, a hydrocarbon feedstock, a hydrocarbon stream, slop oil, heavy residua, atmospheric or vacuum residua, shale oil, liquified coal and tar sand effluent, and any combination thereof. (Col. 12 I. 9-61)
Claim 13.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is carried out in a crude unit, a coker unit, a visbreaker unit, and any combination thereof. (Col. 12 I. 9-61)
Claim 14.
Emert discloses an antifoulant composition, comprising:
about 30 wt. % to about 99 wt. % of a PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and
about 1 wt. % to about 50 wt. % of a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Since Elmer discloses the same composition comprising a polyisobutylene (PIB) derivative and a dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt, it would be an of an antifoulant composition..
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 .
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 15.
Emert discloses the composition of claim 14, wherein the composition comprises from about 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. % of the PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and about 10 wt. % to about 50 wt. % of the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Claim 18.
Emert discloses the composition of claim 14, wherein the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt is selected from the group consisting of ZDDP, MoDDP, and any combination thereof. (Col. 13I 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
, Claim 20.
Emert discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the composition consists of or consists essentially of the PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 16,17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmer as applied to claims 1, 4, 7, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of Yichao Lin (Antifriction and Antiwear Characteristics of Molybdenum Dithiophosphate in Engine Oils) ("Yichao" herein – cited previously).
Claim 4.
Emert discloses the method of claim 1. Emert however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the PIB derivative is a PIB imide. (Same as claims 5 and 7) .
Claim 5 and 17.
Elmer discloses the method of claims 4 and 16. Elmer however does not explicitly disclose wherein the PIB imide comprises a structure selected from:
and any combination thereof, wherein each m and n are independently selected from an integer ranging from 0 to 100.
Yichao teaches the above limitation (See Table 1 & Page 856→ Yichao teaches this limitation in that Table 1 shows the molecular structure formula for Base Oil and Engine Oil Additives:
for the purpose of having optimum fuel/energy saving benefit through friction and wear reduction. (Page 855, Introduction)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Elmer with the above limitation, as taught by Yichao, in order to have friction and wear reduction.
Claim 6 and 16
Elmer discloses the method of claims 1 and 14. Elmer however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the PIB derivative has a weight average molecular weight between about 500 amu and about 4,200 amu. (Same as claim 5 and 17)
Claim 8.
Elmer discloses the method of claim 7. Elmer however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the ZDDP comprises the following structure:
wherein each R is independently selected from a C₁ - C20 alkyl group. (Same as claims 5 and 17)
Claim 9.
Elmer discloses the method of claims 7. Elmer however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the MoDDP comprises the following structure:
wherein each R is independently selected from a C₁ - C20 alkyl group. (Same as claims 5 and 17)
Claim 19.
Emer discloses the composition of claim 18, consists essentially of the PIB derivative (Col. 12 I. 9-61) and the dialkyl dithiophosphate metal salt. (Col. 13 I. 22-52; Col. 15 I. 4-38) Emert discloses the composition of claim 18. Emert however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the ZDDP comprises the following wherein each R is independently selected from a C₁ - C₂₀ alkyl group. (Same as claims 5 and 17)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 10/22/2026