Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1,
“wherein a first configuration” should be –wherein in a first configuration--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “wherein a first configuration the removable circular saw is standalone and in a second configuration is connected to the miter saw and in a third configuration is connected to the bench” is confusing as it is not clear in second configuration what element is connected to the miter saw and in the third configuration what element is connected to the bench.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Behr (2013/0092001 A1), provided with eth IDS submitted on 03/20/2024. Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Behr teaches a triple saw system having a miter saw (112, 122), a bench 120, and a removable circular saw 200, wherein a first configuration (Fig. 6A) the removable circular saw 200 is standalone and in a second configuration is connected to the miter saw (112, 122) and in a third configuration (104) is connected to the bench 120. See Figs. 1-17B in Behr.
Regarding claim 4, Behr teaches everything noted above including that the bench 120 is an indented area.
Regarding claim 6, Behr teaches everything noted above including that the bench 120 is connected to the miter saw (112, 122).
Regarding claim 7, Behr teaches everything noted above including that the miter saw (112, 122) has a tightening knob (Fig. 3, not numbered, used to adjust the angular position of the arm of the miter saw.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
7. Claims 2-3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behr in view of Keller (4,483,573) or Halstead (6,349,712 B1), both provided with eth IDS submitted on 30/20/2024, or Rue (2005/0183559 A1). Regarding claim 2, Behr does not explicitly teach that the removable circular saw has a bottom plate with receiving holes. However, Keller teaches a removable circular saw 78 has a bottom plate 66 with receiving holes 67. See Figs. 1-5 in Keller. Halstead also teaches a removable circular saw 20 has a bottom plate 24 with receiving holes 58. See Figs. 1-3 in Halstead. Rue also teaches a removable saw (104, 106) has a bottom plate 110 with receiving holes (defined by holes 210 for screws 410 and holes, not numbered, for screws 202; Fig. 2). See Figs. 1-4 in Rue. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Behr’s circular saw with receiving holes for bolts, as taught by Keller or Halstead or Rue, since both removing mechanisms for the circular saw in Behr and Keller or Halstead or Rue are art-recognized equivalents which produce the same results.
Regarding claim 3, Behr, in view of Rue, teaches everything noted above including that front holes of the receiving holes 410 are larger than back holes (for screws 202) of the receiving holes. See Fig. 2 in Rue.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Behr, in view of Keller or Halstead or Rue, teaches everything noted above including that the indented area has a plurality of bolts (as taught by Keller or Halstead or Rue), to be received by receiving holes of a bottom plate of the removable circular saw.
8. Claims 1, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe (4,377,099) in view of Menge (3,680,609). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Howe teaches a triple saw system having a bench 11, and a removable circular saw 47, wherein a first configuration the removable circular saw 47 is standalone and in a third configuration is connected to the bench 11. See Figs. 1-5 in Howe. Howe, does not explicitly teach that the in a second configuration the circular saw is connected to a miter saw. However, Menge teaches that a circular saw 90 in a configuration is connected to a miter saw 10. See Figs. 1-2 in Menge. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Howe’s apparatus a miter saw in order to further place the circular saw in a miter saw position and create a versatility for the circular saw in a manner that the circular saw could be used also as a miter saw.
Regarding claim 4, Howe teaches everything noted above including that the bench 11 is an indented area.
Regarding claim 6, Howe, as modified by Menge, teaches everything noted above including that the bench 11 is connected to the miter saw (taught by Menge).
Regarding claim 7, Howe, as modified by Menge, teaches everything noted above including that the miter saw has a tightening knob (142; Fig. 4 in Menge).
9. Claims 2-3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe in view of Menge and in further view of Keller or Halstead or Rue. Regarding claim 2, Howe does not explicitly teach that the removable circular saw has a bottom plate with receiving holes. Howe, teaches that the clips 52 which holding the bottom plate 53 of the circular saw includes receiving holes for bolts 51. See Figs, 3-4 in Howe. However, Keller teaches a removable circular saw 78 has a bottom plate 66 with receiving holes 67. See Figs. 1-5 in Keller. Halstead also teaches a removable circular saw 20 has a bottom plate 24 with receiving holes 58. See Figs. 1-3 in Halstead. Rue also teaches a removable saw (104, 106) has a bottom plate 110 with receiving holes (defined by holes 210 for screws 410 and holes, not numbered, for screws 202; Fig. 2). See Figs. 1-4 in Rue. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the holding mechanism of the circular saw of Howe’s apparatus, as modified above, with the holding mechanism which includes receiving holes in the bottom plate for receiving bolts, as taught by Keller or Halstead or Rue, since both holding mechanisms for the circular saw in Howe and Keller or Halstead or Rue are art-recognized equivalents which produce the same results.
Regarding claim 3, Howe, in view of Rue, teaches everything noted above including that front holes of the receiving holes 410 are larger than back holes (for screws 202) of the receiving holes. See Fig. 2 in Rue.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Howe, in view of Keller or Halstead or Rue, teaches everything noted above including that the indented area has a plurality of bolts (as taught by Keller or Halstead or Rue), to be received by receiving holes of a bottom plate 53 (Figs. 3-4 in Howe) of the removable circular saw.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wood (7,293,489 B1) and Hoff (3,139,124) teach a circular saw.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
September 17, 2025