DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
To help the reader, examiner notes in this detailed action claim language is in bold, strikethrough limitations are not explicitly taught and language added to explain a reference mapping are isolated from quotations via square brackets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetterman et al. (US 20200241111 hereinafter Fetterman) in view of Abt et al. (US 20200353942 hereinafter Abt).
Regarding claim 1, Fetterman teaches A radar blindness and blockage detector, comprising (Title “Apparatus And Method For Detecting Radar Sensor Blockage”): a radar sensor configured to provide sensor blockage information by monitoring properties of a radar signal (0001 “The present disclosure is related to automotive detection systems such as automotive radar systems and, in particular, to an apparatus and method for detecting and correcting for blockage of an automotive radar sensor”); and
a processing device configured to (0004 “processor”):
(i)
(ii) calculate a probability indicator of a sensor blockage of the radar sensor based on the received sensor data (0044 “For example, referring to FIG. 4C, if a value of 2,000.00 for filtered energy is received, it is likely to be unblocked sensor data, with a very small probability to be 50% blocked data, and virtually zero probability of being 80% blocked data”), and
(iii) determine a blindness and blockage of the radar sensor by processing the sensor blockage information from the radar sensor using the calculated probability indicator of the sensor blockage.
Fetterman does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Abt teaches receive sensor data from at least one further sensor and/or to receive data from an external data source, calculate a probability indicator of a sensor blockage of the radar sensor based on the received sensor data from the at least one further sensor and/or the received data from the external data source (0015 “determine an prior blockage probability of each single sensor of the plurality of sensors, to receive sensor data of the sensor of the plurality of sensors, to determine a performance of the sensor based on the received sensor data”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Abt with the teachings of Fetterman. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve efficiency (Abt 0054). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Abt merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features to determine blockage. Since both Abt and Fetterman disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to adapt one or more filter or threshold parameters for determining the blindness and blockage of the radar sensor based on the calculated probability indicator of the sensor blockage (Fetterman 0064 “the probability threshold at which it is declared that the probability indicates blockage can be changed”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to receive sensor data from an optical sensor and/or an ultrasonic sensor and/or a temperature sensor and/or a humidity sensor and/or a rain sensor (Abt 0037 “For the shown example, the blockage probability of a Lidar sensor may be determined as follows” [LIDAR corresponds to an optical sensor]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Abt with the teachings of Fetterman. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve efficiency (Abt 0054). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Abt merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features to determine blockage. Since both Abt and Fetterman disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to receive data from data from an external cloud service (Abt 0007 “The blockage of the particular sensors is determined taking into account data from external data sources, e.g., map data, for calculating the blockage probability of the sensor.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Abt with the teachings of Fetterman. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve efficiency (Abt 0054). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Abt merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features to determine blockage. Since both Abt and Fetterman disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to detect weather conditions in an environment of the radar blindness and blockage detector, and to calculate the probability indicator based on the detected weather condition (Abt 0008 “determining of a second blockage probability of the sensor of the plurality of sensors of the ego vehicle using a predefined performance of the sensor regarding a current weather condition. For example, a weather condition may comprise fog, rain, sunlight, snow, dirt, dust or ice.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Abt with the teachings of Fetterman. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve efficiency (Abt 0054). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Abt merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features to determine blockage. Since both Abt and Fetterman disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to dynamically increase and/or decrease the probability indicator of a sensor blockage based on the received sensor data from the at least one further sensor and/or the data from the external data source (Abt 0007 “The blockage of the particular sensors is determined taking into account data from external data sources, e.g., map data, for calculating the blockage probability of the sensor. The data from the external data sources defines the ground truth for determining the blockage probability of the sensor. By combining the prior blockage probability and the performance of the sensor, this may provide the advantage that the blockage of a particular sensor is identified more precisely and/or more efficiently.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Abt with the teachings of Fetterman. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve efficiency (Abt 0054). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Abt merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features to determine blockage. Since both Abt and Fetterman disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to dynamically increase and/or decrease thresholds or timers used to detect sensor blockage (Fetterman 0064 “the probability threshold at which it is declared that the probability indicates blockage can be changed”).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetterman et al. (US 20200241111 hereinafter Fetterman) in view of Abt et al. (US 20200353942 hereinafter Abt) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Li et al. (CN 208867962 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teaches The radar blindness and blockage detector according to claim 1,
Fetterman does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the processing device is configured to detect a driving surface in an environment of the radar blindness and blockage detector, and to calculate the probability indicator based on the detected driving surface (p.6 “The utility model claims a blind zone detection sensing device, suitable for mounting the bumper of the automobile tail, vehicle rearview mirror blind zone for detecting and feeding back the road condition information.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the road surface feedback of Li with the radar blockage probability indicator the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve driving safety (Li p.2). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Li merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensor features. Since both Li and the cited prior art disclose similar radars, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to application’s disclosure:
Lehner et al. (US PAT 7552012) discloses “A device for detecting objects in the blind spot on a side of vehicle includes a ranging main sensor, an auxiliary sensor, a comparison unit, and an output unit for outputting a warning signal which indicates objects in the blind spot. The detection range of the main sensor extends in the rear area of the vehicle and toward the respective vehicle side. The auxiliary sensor has a detection range which extends angularly offset to the detection range of the main sensor in the rear area of the vehicle. The comparison unit ascertains whether the detected object is a following vehicle on the basis of predefined correlations between the detection signals of the main sensor and the auxiliary sensor, and the detection unit blocks the output unit from outputting a warning signal when a following vehicle is recognized. (See abstract)”
/ISMAAEEL A. SIDDIQUEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648