DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the amendment filed on 05/27/2026, wherein claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1, 8, 15 are amended, wherein claims 1, 8, 15 are recited in independent form. The present Application claims priority to provisional application 63/616,208 with a filing date of 12/29/2023.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations for the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered, the arguments are directed to limitations added by amendment. The Examiner addresses the amendment and arguments by introduction of a new ground of rejection, wherein the new ground of rejection does not rely on reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner asserts the new grounds of rejection of d1 in view of d2 in view of US-20160037458 (d3), meets the claims as amended. Specifically, as to the limitation “wherein to instruct, the combination of the one or more processors is configured to send an instruction to at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device via an 802. 11 k neighbor report or an 802. 11 v channel usage response frame” attention is directed to d3 which, in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0001) discloses communication using at least 802. 11 k, 802. 11 v and suggests at least use of neighbor reports associated therewith (see d3 para. 0035).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) as d3 (see d3 para. 0001), involving similar procedure (wireless communication control) wherein d1, d2 and d3 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1, d2, d3 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing wireless communication control in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide improved network performance (see d3 para. 0035). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 and/or d2 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (wireless communication control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, as the change in grounds of rejection is necessitated by Applicant amendment, the Rejection is made final herein according to the reasoning set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20150312891 (hereinafter d1) in view of US-20190222997 (hereinafter d2) in view of US-20160037458 (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “An apparatus comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, a combination of the one or more processors configured to: determine, based on a first proximity between (i) an access point and (ii) a first wireless dock and a first device, a first communication frequency that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the first communication frequency” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 3) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d1 para. 0011-0012) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 4-5; para. 0013-0016) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d1 para. 0011) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 4) including determining, based on a proximity between an access dock and a device a first communication frequency that the wireless dock and the device should use for communication with each other (see d1 para. 0018) wherein the determination of device location (see d1 para. 0022) including enterprise WLAN and geolocation database; including a query to data base (see d1 para. 0023; figure 4, block 407: channel availability received by client device), and instructing the device and the dock to communicate with the first communication frequency (see d1 para. 0024, figure 4, block 408).
d1 discloses all the limitations noted above. In the event d1 is shown to not disclose one or more of the limitations noted above and, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which together with the disclosure of d1 addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses a system (see d2 Fig. 1) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d2 Fig. 3) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d2 Fig. 2) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d2 para. 0079) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 2) including At block 202, a device (e.g., the user device(s) 120 and/or the AP 102 of FIG. 1) may coordinate with one or more docking stations on a Wi-Fi network to determine a first docking channel to be used for wireless docking of a first station device. Coordinating with one or more docking stations further comprises the processing circuitry being configured to time synchronize transmissions across the network with the one or more docking stations, coordinate channels with the one or more docking stations, or coordinate transmit power with the one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0070); At block 204, the device may adjust a transmit (TX) power of a beacon frame during a discovery mode associated with the wireless docking. The beacon frame is part of a periodic discovery beacons, wherein the periodic discovery beacons are sent at a predefined interval (see d2 para. 0071); At block 206, the device may determine a discovery channel configured to be different from the first docking channel used for the wireless docking. The discovery channel is assigned by a central dock controller, wherein the central dock controller controls one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0072). At block 208, the device may identify a request from a first station device requesting wireless docking, wherein the request is received on the discovery channel (see d2 para. 0073). At block 210, the device may initiate a wireless docking session with the first station device using the first docking channel. Initiating a wireless docking session comprises initiating pairing with the first station device. Pairing with the first station device may be performed while a user operating the first station device is walking (see d2 para. 0074). The disclosure equating to the limitations of the claims at least in combination with d1 rendering the limitations of the claims obvious.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
D1 in view of d2 do not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein to instruct, the combination of the one or more processors is configured to send an instruction to at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device via an 802. 11 k neighbor report or an 802. 11 v channel usage response frame” attention is directed to d3 which, in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0001) discloses communication using at least 802. 11 k, 802. 11 v and suggests at least use of neighbor reports associated therewith (see d3 para. 0035).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) as d3 (see d3 para. 0001), involving similar procedure (wireless communication control) wherein d1, d2 and d3 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1, d2, d3 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing wireless communication control in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide improved network performance (see d3 para. 0035). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (wireless communication control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to: determine, based on the first proximity, a transmission power that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the transmission power” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses reception of RSSI parameters, from which it is obvious to determine a transmission power to reliably communicate with the dock (see d1 para. 0022-0023, 0028).
Regarding claim 3, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine, based on the first proximity, a second communication frequency to be used by the first wireless dock and the first device to communicate with each other, wherein the second communication frequency is in a different frequency domain than the first communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses querying for a second set of channels and updating based on changes (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to: determine, based on the first proximity, a bandwidth that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the bandwidth” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses frequency which incorporates a bandwidth (see d1 para. 0026, d2 para. 0115).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine at least one of a radio frequency density at the first wireless dock, a traffic level for the first wireless dock, or channel state information for the first wireless dock, wherein the first communication frequency is determined based on the at least one of the radio frequency density, the traffic level, or the channel state information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses considerations including dense enterprise environment (i.e. rf density and traffic level) (see d2 para. 0012, 0016, 0023, 0089, 0096).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first communication frequency is further based on a second proximity between (i) the access point and (ii) a second wireless dock and a second device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses updating in real-time (i.e. second proximity, device and AP) (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, at to the limitation “The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine, based on a second proximity between (i) the access point and (ii) a second wireless dock and a second device, a second communication frequency that the second wireless dock and the second device should use when communicating with each other, wherein the first communication frequency is different from the second communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses multiple devices and docks in the system (see d1 Fig. 2) and updating in real-time (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitations “A method comprising: determining, based on a first proximity between (i) an access point and (ii) a first wireless dock and a first device, a first communication frequency that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instructing at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the first communication frequency” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 3) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d1 para. 0011-0012) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 4-5; para. 0013-0016) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d1 para. 0011) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 4) including determining, based on a proximity between an access dock and a device a first communication frequency that the wireless dock and the device should use for communication with each other (see d1 para. 0018) wherein the determination of device location (see d1 para. 0022) including enterprise WLAN and geolocation database; including a query to data base (see d1 para. 0023; figure 4, block 407: channel availability received by client device), and instructing the device and the dock to communicate with the first communication frequency (see d1 para. 0024, figure 4, block 408).
d1 discloses all the limitations noted above.
In the event d1 is shown to not disclose one or more of the limitations noted above and, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which together with the disclosure of d1 addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses a system (see d2 Fig. 1) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d2 Fig. 3) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d2 Fig. 2) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d2 para. 0079) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 2) including At block 202, a device (e.g., the user device(s) 120 and/or the AP 102 of FIG. 1) may coordinate with one or more docking stations on a Wi-Fi network to determine a first docking channel to be used for wireless docking of a first station device. Coordinating with one or more docking stations further comprises the processing circuitry being configured to time synchronize transmissions across the network with the one or more docking stations, coordinate channels with the one or more docking stations, or coordinate transmit power with the one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0070); At block 204, the device may adjust a transmit (TX) power of a beacon frame during a discovery mode associated with the wireless docking. The beacon frame is part of a periodic discovery beacons, wherein the periodic discovery beacons are sent at a predefined interval (see d2 para. 0071); At block 206, the device may determine a discovery channel configured to be different from the first docking channel used for the wireless docking. The discovery channel is assigned by a central dock controller, wherein the central dock controller controls one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0072). At block 208, the device may identify a request from a first station device requesting wireless docking, wherein the request is received on the discovery channel (see d2 para. 0073). At block 210, the device may initiate a wireless docking session with the first station device using the first docking channel. Initiating a wireless docking session comprises initiating pairing with the first station device. Pairing with the first station device may be performed while a user operating the first station device is walking (see d2 para. 0074). The disclosure equating to the limitations of the claims at least in combination with d1 rendering the limitations of the claims obvious.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
D1 in view of d2 do not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein to instruct, the combination of the one or more processors is configured to send an instruction to at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device via an 802. 11 k neighbor report or an 802. 11 v channel usage response frame” attention is directed to d3 which, in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0001) discloses communication using at least 802. 11 k, 802. 11 v and suggests at least use of neighbor reports associated therewith (see d3 para. 0035).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) as d3 (see d3 para. 0001), involving similar procedure (wireless communication control) wherein d1, d2 and d3 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1, d2, d3 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing wireless communication control in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide improved network performance (see d3 para. 0035). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (wireless communication control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, at to the limitation “determining, based on a first proximity between (i) an access point and (ii) a first wireless dock and a first device, a first communication frequency that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instructing at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the first communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses reception of RSSI parameters, from which it is obvious to determine a transmission power to reliably communicate with the dock (see d1 para. 0022-0023, 0028).
Regarding claim 10, at to the limitation “The method of Claim 8, further comprising determining, based on the first proximity, a second communication frequency to be used by the first wireless dock and the first device to communicate with each other, wherein the second communication frequency is in a different frequency domain than the first communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses querying for a second set of channels and updating based on changes (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, at to the limitation “The method of Claim 8, further comprising: determining, based on the first proximity, a bandwidth that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instructing at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the bandwidth” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses frequency which incorporates a bandwidth (see d1 para. 0026, d2 para. 0115).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2.
Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, at to the limitation “The method of Claim 8, further comprising determining at least one of a radio frequency density at the first wireless dock, a traffic level for the first wireless dock, or channel state information for the first wireless dock, wherein the first communication frequency is determined based on the at least one of the radio frequency density, the traffic level, or the channel state information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses considerations including dense enterprise environment (i.e. rf density and traffic level) (see d2 para. 0012, 0016, 0023, 0089, 0096).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, at to the limitation “The method of Claim 8, wherein the first communication frequency is further based on a second proximity between (i) the access point and (ii) a second wireless dock and a second device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses updating in real-time (i.e. second proximity, device and AP) (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, at to the limitation “The method of Claim 8, further comprising determining, based on a second proximity between (i) the access point and (ii) a second wireless dock and a second device, a second communication frequency that the second wireless dock and the second device should use when communicating with each other, wherein the first communication frequency is different from the second communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses multiple devices and docks in the system (see d1 Fig. 2) and updating in real-time (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitations “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a combination of one or more processors, cause the combination of one or more processors to: determine, based on a first proximity between (i) an access point and (ii) a first wireless dock and a first device, a first communication frequency that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the first communication frequency” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 3) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d1 para. 0011-0012) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 4-5; para. 0013-0016) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d1 para. 0011) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 4) including determining, based on a proximity between an access dock and a device a first communication frequency that the wireless dock and the device should use for communication with each other (see d1 para. 0018) wherein the determination of device location (see d1 para. 0022) including enterprise WLAN and geolocation database; including a query to data base (see d1 para. 0023; figure 4, block 407: channel availability received by client device), and instructing the device and the dock to communicate with the first communication frequency (see d1 para. 0024, figure 4, block 408).
d1 discloses all the limitations noted above.
In the event d1 is shown to not disclose one or more of the limitations noted above and, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which together with the disclosure of d1 addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses a system (see d2 Fig. 1) including a device comprising at least one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see d2 Fig. 3) wherein the one or more processors configured to execute a method (see d2 Fig. 2) embodied as a non-transitory computer readable medium (see d2 para. 0079) the functionality of the method (see d1 Fig. 2) including At block 202, a device (e.g., the user device(s) 120 and/or the AP 102 of FIG. 1) may coordinate with one or more docking stations on a Wi-Fi network to determine a first docking channel to be used for wireless docking of a first station device. Coordinating with one or more docking stations further comprises the processing circuitry being configured to time synchronize transmissions across the network with the one or more docking stations, coordinate channels with the one or more docking stations, or coordinate transmit power with the one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0070); At block 204, the device may adjust a transmit (TX) power of a beacon frame during a discovery mode associated with the wireless docking. The beacon frame is part of a periodic discovery beacons, wherein the periodic discovery beacons are sent at a predefined interval (see d2 para. 0071); At block 206, the device may determine a discovery channel configured to be different from the first docking channel used for the wireless docking. The discovery channel is assigned by a central dock controller, wherein the central dock controller controls one or more docking stations (see d2 para. 0072). At block 208, the device may identify a request from a first station device requesting wireless docking, wherein the request is received on the discovery channel (see d2 para. 0073). At block 210, the device may initiate a wireless docking session with the first station device using the first docking channel. Initiating a wireless docking session comprises initiating pairing with the first station device. Pairing with the first station device may be performed while a user operating the first station device is walking (see d2 para. 0074). The disclosure equating to the limitations of the claims at least in combination with d1 rendering the limitations of the claims obvious.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
D1 in view of d2 do not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein to instruct, the combination of the one or more processors is configured to send an instruction to at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device via an 802. 11 k neighbor report or an 802. 11 v channel usage response frame” attention is directed to d3 which, in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0001) discloses communication using at least 802. 11 k, 802. 11 v and suggests at least use of neighbor reports associated therewith (see d3 para. 0035).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) as d3 (see d3 para. 0001), involving similar procedure (wireless communication control) wherein d1, d2 and d3 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1, d2, d3 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing wireless communication control in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide improved network performance (see d3 para. 0035). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (wireless communication control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, at to the limitation “The medium of Claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the combination of the one or more processors to: determine, based on the first proximity, a transmission power that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the transmission power” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses reception of RSSI parameters, from which it is obvious to determine a transmission power to reliably communicate with the dock (see d1 para. 0022-0023, 0028).
Regarding claim 17, at to the limitation “The medium of Claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the combination of the one or more processors to determine, based on the first proximity, a second communication frequency to be used by the first wireless dock and the first device to communicate with each other, wherein the second communication frequency is in a different frequency domain than the first communication frequency” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses querying for a second set of channels and updating based on changes (see d1 Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, at to the limitation “The medium of Claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the combination of the one or more processors to: determine, based on the first proximity, a bandwidth that the first wireless dock and the first device should use when communicating with each other; and instruct at least one of the first wireless dock or the first device to communicate with each other using the bandwidth” d1 in view of d2 discloses frequency which incorporates a bandwidth (see d1 para. 0026, d2 para. 0115).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments. Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002), among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, at to the limitation “The medium of Claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the combination of the one or more processors to determine at least one of a radio frequency density at the first wireless dock, a traffic level for the first wireless dock, or channel state information for the first wireless dock, wherein the first communication frequency is determined based on the at least one of the radio frequency density, the traffic level, or the channel state information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses considerations including dense enterprise environment (i.e. rf density and traffic level) (see d2 para. 0012, 0016, 0023, 0089, 0096).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (proximity based wireless communication control) wherein d1 and d2 contained the elements noted above and which may differ from the claimed invention by the substitution of some elements with other of either reference with elements in the other reference. It is noted that any substituted elements and their functions were known in the art (as demonstrated by d1 and d2 disclosure above) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute one known element for another, because the results of the substitution would have been predictable in performing in the same manner in each disclosure. It is noted that the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide high quality docking experience in dense environments (see d2 para. 0002). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved docking in dense environments, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (improve system performance) for similar purposes (proximity based control) and which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, at to the limitation “The medium of Claim 15, wherein the first communication frequency is further based on a second proximity between (i) the access point and (ii) a second wireless dock and a second device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses updating in real-time (i.e. second proximity, device and AP) (see d1 Fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643