DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahina (US 4,870,896) in view of Amfitheatrof (US 2,678,991):
Regarding claim 1, Asahina discloses a bread machine comprising a housing (10); a bread container (1) removably disposed within the housing including a paddle (16) and a magnetic plate (14); a motor (17) disposed in the housing and configured to rotate the paddle; and a magnetic locking mechanism disposed within the housing and including a magnet (13) configured to selectively engage and disengage the magnetic plate of the bread container. However, the magnet is not an electromagnet. Amfitheatrof teaches locking a container (36 or 118) having a magnetic plate (bottom of the container) and an electromagnet (48,30,34 or 86,74,106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have employed an electromagnet as taught by Amfitheatrof instead of a permanent magnet to provide better control of locking.
Regarding claim 2, plural electromagnets are not disclosed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have duplicated the electromagnets so as to have provided more force to retain the container. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) concerning the obviousness of duplicating parts.
Regarding claim 3, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) held a specific arrangement of plural elements obvious over a single element.
Regarding claim 4, Amfitheatrof further teaches that the container is removable only when unlocked (see col. 2, lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 5, Amfitheatrof further teaches a control interface (58, 64) to initiate cooking
Regarding claim 6, Amfitheatrof further teaches providing a signal to disengage the electromagnet (see col. 2, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 7, the magnetic locking mechanism includes a pan stand mount (5) disposed on a base of the housing, the pan stand mount including the magnet.
Regarding claim 8, the magnetic plate of the bread container is aligned with the pan stand mount including the magnet when the bread container is disposed within the housing (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Amfitheatrof further teaches that the electromagnet is disposed in a recess formed in a center area of a pan stand mount (see Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, Asahina discloses a plurality of posts (3) and Amfitheatrof teaches posts (106).
Regarding claim 11, Asahina discloses a cover over the magnet (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, the magnetic locking mechanism includes a pan stand mount (5) disposed on a base of the housing, the pan stand mount including the magnet. The magnetic plate of the bread container is aligned with the pan stand mount including the magnet when the bread container is disposed within the housing (see Fig. 5). Amfitheatrof further teaches that the electromagnet is disposed in a recess formed in a center area of a pan stand mount (see Figs. 2 and 5). Asahina discloses a plurality of posts (3) and Amfitheatrof teaches posts (106). Asahina discloses a cover over the magnet (see Fig. 5). Amfitheatrof further teaches providing a signal to disengage the electromagnet (see col. 2, lines 44-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have duplicated the electromagnets so as to have provided more force to retain the container. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) concerning the obviousness of duplicating parts. Amfitheatrof further teaches that the container is removable only when unlocked (see col. 2, lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 13, Asahina discloses a method of securing a bread machine for use, the method comprising: providing the bread machine having: a housing (10), a bread container (1) removably disposed within the housing including a paddle (16) and a magnetic plate (14), a motor (17) disposed in the housing and configured to rotate the paddle, and a magnetic locking mechanism disposed within the housing and including a magnet (13) configured to selectively engage and disengage the magnetic plate of the bread container; and one of: engaging the bread container with the magnetic locking mechanism, thereby locking the bread container within the housing; and engaging the bread container from the electromagnetic locking mechanism, thereby unlocking the bread container from the housing (see Fig. 8). However, the magnet is not an electromagnet. Amfitheatrof teaches locking a container (36 or 118) having a magnetic plate (bottom of the container) and an electromagnet (48,30,34 or 86,74,106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have employed an electromagnet as taught by Amfitheatrof instead of a permanent magnet to provide better control of locking.
Regarding claim 14, plural electromagnets are not disclosed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have duplicated the electromagnets so as to have provided more force to retain the container. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) concerning the obviousness of duplicating parts.
Regarding claim 15, making a loaf of bread by operating the motor to rotate the paddle within the bread container is disclosed (see col. 1, lines 62-66, col. 5, lines 23-28).
Regarding claim 16, Amfitheatrof further teaches a step of providing a signal to disengage the electromagnetic locking mechanism (see col. 2, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 17, Asahina further discloses that the magnetic locking mechanism includes a pan stand mount (5) disposed on a base of the housing and the step of engaging the bread container further includes a step of aligning the magnetic plate with the pan stand mount (see Figs. 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, the discussion of the advantages of automation in col. 1 lines 11-26 of Asahina would have suggested engaging and disengaging automatically to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 19, Asahina further discloses ensuring, by a feedback system, that the bread container is securely engaged (see col. 7, lines 12-50).
Regarding claim 20, Asahina discloses a method of method of using a bread machine to make a loaf of bread from ingredients, the method comprising: providing the bread machine having: a housing (10), a bread container (1) removably disposed within the housing including a paddle (16) and a magnetic plate (14), a motor (17) disposed in the housing and configured to rotate the paddle, and an magnetic locking mechanism disposed within the housing and including an magnet (13) configured to selectively engage and disengage the magnetic plate of the bread container; providing the ingredients; adding the ingredients to the bread container; engaging the bread container with the magnetic locking mechanism (see col. 5, lines 20-23, Fig. 8), thereby locking the bread container within the housing; mixing the ingredients with the paddle, thereby forming a bread dough; kneading the bread dough with the paddle (see col. 5, lines 23-26); proofing the bread dough (see col. 5, line 41); baking the bread dough (see col. 5, line 42, thereby forming a loaf of bread see col. 1, lines 62-66; and disengaging the bread container from the magnetic locking mechanism, thereby unlocking the bread container from the housing (see col. 5, lines 20-23). However, the magnet is not an electromagnet. Amfitheatrof teaches locking a container (36 or 118) having a magnetic plate (bottom of the container) and an electromagnet (48,30,34 or 86,74,106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have employed an electromagnet as taught by Amfitheatrof instead of a permanent magnet to provide better control of locking.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774