Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 2. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (GB 2374780) in view of Seiler (US 20170345122) further in view of Roman (US 20080107174) and further in view of Buck-Gengler (US 6125437).
Regarding claim 1, Hartog teaches:
A tile address computation module configured to convert a cache line address into a two-dimensional address based on a stride width, to transform the two-dimensional address into a pixel address, and to compute a tile address using the pixel address and a main memory configuration (Page 5, Paragraph 1, This algorithm translates the scalar memory address initially provided by the operating system or the software application, and that is intended for use with a memory in which the pixel values are linearly arranged);
While Hartog fails to disclose the following, Roman teaches:
A quotient of a number of bytes per line and a bytes per pixel (BPP) (Paragraph 211, the row size is calculated by dividing the total bytes in a row of the super image by the number of bytes per pixel).
Roman and Hartog are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Roman and calculate the quotient of bytes per line and bytes per pixel. Doing so would have allowed for determining the row size which can be used to determine other attributes (image size, etc.).
While the combination of Hartog and Roman fails to disclose the following, Buck-Gengler teaches:
Wherein the pixel address is scaled (Column 1, Lines 54-57, To define a particular memory location, i.e., to transform an x,y address to a linear address (LA), the following formula can be used. X,Y.fwdarw.Linear Address (LA)=y.cndot.Byte Stride (BS)+x+Base Address (BA); Column 1, Line 66 – Column 2, Line 1, plugging the numbers into the formula we have LA=2("y" dimension).cndot.640 (byte stride)+3("x" dimension)+1093632(Base Address)=1094915). Note: Roman teaches calculating the quotient and Buck-Gengler teaches scaling an address.
Buck-Gengler and the combination of Hartog and Roman are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog and Roman to incorporate the teachings of Buck-Gengler and scale the pixel address. Doing so would have allowed for using a known algorithm to determine where in memory pixel information is stored.
While the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler fails to disclose the following, Seiler teaches:
An image attributes cache module coupled to the tile address computation module, the image attributes cache module configured to store one or more image attributes (Paragraph 199, image/texture data stored in the one or more cache(s)).
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and couple an image cache module to the tile address computation module. Doing so would have allowed for storing additional image information related to the compressed tile address.
Method claim 10 corresponds to apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 1. While the combination as previously presented fails to disclose the following, Seiler further teaches:
Wherein the one or more image attributes includes a compression ratio parameter (Paragraph 31, That format is used to compress groups of 2 units, four units, eight units (and so forth) for whatever maximum compression ratio that is specified for a given product).
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and cache a compression ratio. Doing so would have allowed for effectively and easily decompressing the compressed image.
Method claim 11 corresponds to apparatus claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Claim 4 recites the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as above.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional address comprises a first dimension address and a second dimension address (Hartog, Page 12, Paragraph 1, initially provided scalar address is first converted to an-x, y rectangular address).
Method claim 12 corresponds to apparatus claim 3. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 1. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Seiler further teaches:
Wherein the tile address computation module is further configured to receive one or more tile address requests (Paragraph 43, the CG system receives an access request (e.g., read or write) to a memory resource (e.g., a tiled resource)).
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and receive a tile address request. Doing so would allow for easily accessing the stored tile information.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 5. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Seiler further teaches:
Wherein the one or more tile address requests includes one or more read requests and one or more write requests (Paragraph 68, This includes ignoring writes and returning a null value, typically all zeros, on reads).
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and handle both a read request and a write request. Doing so would prevent race conditions, deadlocks, or inconsistent results when reading from or writing to memory.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 6. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Seiler further teaches:
A tile hazard module coupled to the tile address computation module, the tile hazard module configured to check dependencies between the one or more read requests and the one or more write requests (Paragraph 148, While waiting for data from memory or one of the shared functions, dependency logic within the execution units 1308A-1308N causes a waiting thread to sleep until the requested data has been returned).
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and handle dependencies between a read request and a write request. Doing so would prevent race conditions, deadlocks, or inconsistent results when reading from or writing to memory.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 7. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Seiler further teaches:
Wherein the tile hazard module is further configured to segregate the one or more read requests and the one or more write requests (Paragraph 214, the access request being a write operation; Paragraph 225, the access requesting being a read operation). Seiler teaches various workflows that perform different actions depending on the type of request.
Seiler and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Seiler and segregate a read request and a write request. Doing so would allow for efficiently handling different types of requests to the module.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Seiler, further in view of Roman and further in view of Buck-Gengler as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-12 above and further in view of Beard (US 20220327009).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the apparatus of claim 4. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Beard teaches:
Further comprising a stash/snoop address computation module coupled to the image attributes cache module, the stash/snoop address computation module configured to produce a stash address and a snoop address (Paragraph 57, cache stash requests may specify the virtual address and address space identifier registered with it; Paragraph 123, a snoop response 134 indicating the translated physical address).
Beard and the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler to incorporate the teachings of Beard and produce a stash address and snoop address. Doing so would allow for efficiently tracking the cache requests and responses.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Seiler, further in view of Roman and further in view of Buck-Gengler as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-12 above and further in view of Champion (US 20020109698).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the method of claim 12. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Champion teaches:
Wherein the stride width measures a memory address distance between consecutive pixels of an image (Paragraph 96, Accordingly, pixel data for vertically adjacent pixels do not have adjacent memory addresses. For example, referring to FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C, pixels 0, 8, 16, and 24 are a series of vertically adjacent pixels, forming a vertical column. However, pixel data for pixels 0 and 16 are not at neighboring addresses in first memory device 650 (pixel data for pixels 15 and 18 are at neighboring addresses to pixel data for pixel 16)). Champion teaches calculating the difference between memory addresses for consecutive pixels.
Champion and the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler to incorporate the teachings of Champion and use a stride width to measure memory address distance between consecutive pixels of an image. Doing so would allow for determining how to effectively reconstruct/decompress the desired image by determining locations of consecutive pixels.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Champion teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the first dimension address depends on a remainder function of a ratio between the cache line address and the stride width (Hartog, Page 12, Paragraphs 10-11, The hardware will perform equation (1) backwards to determine the x and y coordinates for use in the tiling algorithm. The hardware subtracts the surface base address from the linear address, and this result is divided by P. The integer portion of the quotient is the y coordinate, and the remainder of the quotient is the x coordinate).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Champion teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the second dimension address depends on a quotient of the cache line address and the stride width. (Hartog, Page 12, Paragraphs 10-11, The hardware will perform equation (1) backwards to determine the x and y coordinates for use in the tiling algorithm. The hardware subtracts the surface base address from the linear address, and this result is divided by P. The integer portion of the quotient is the y coordinate, and the remainder of the quotient is the x coordinate).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Seiler, further in view of Roman and further in view of Buck-Gengler as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-12 above and further in view of Berger (US 20220222771).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler teaches the method of claim 12. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Berger teaches:
Wherein the pixel address depends on an image format (Paragraph 108, calculating cache virtual pixel addresses for the input image pixel coordinates… virtual address values may be assigned to pixels according to an algorithm such as a standard or technique, for example NV12 format).
Berger and the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler to incorporate the teachings of Berger and use image format to determine pixel address. Doing so would allow for segregating different areas of memory for different image formats, allowing for more efficient image reconstruction.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Berger teaches the method of claim 16. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Berger further teaches:
Retrieving a compressed tile data from a compressed memory using the tile address (Paragraph 100, receives the addresses (virtual or physical) and then performs the read of the addressed tiles. This may include obtaining multiple tiles on a single read access or cycle, such as four tiles forming a rectangular block, but the tiles could be retrieved in any desired combination that can be handled by the system).
Berger and the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, and Seiler to incorporate the teachings of Berger and retrieve compressed tile data using the tile address. Doing so would allow for efficient access to the compressed tile data.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Seiler and Roman further in view of Buck-Gengler and further in view of Berger as applied to claims 16-17 above and further in view of Jain (US 20220012592).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Berger teaches the method of claim 17. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Jain teaches:
Converting the compressed tile data into a cache line data using a decompression process (Paragraph 64, the meta-data cache line 502 indicates a decompression process to be executed for the respective tiles).
Jain and the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Berger are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, Buck-Gengler, Seiler, and Berger to incorporate the teachings of Jain and convert the compressed tile data into cache line data using a decompression process. Doing so would allow for efficiently reconstructing the compressed tile data using the cache line.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Roman further in view of Buck-Gengler and further in view of Jain.
Regarding claim 19, Hartog teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, operable on a device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to implement processor access to compressed multimedia data, the computer executable code comprising:
Instructions for causing a computer to convert a cache line address into a two-dimensional address based on a stride width (Page 5, Paragraph 1, This algorithm translates the scalar memory address initially provided by the operating system or the software application, and that is intended for use with a memory in which the pixel values are linearly arranged);
Instructions for causing the computer to transform the two-dimensional address into a pixel address (Page 5, Paragraph 1, This algorithm translates the scalar memory address initially provided by the operating system or the software application, and that is intended for use with a memory in which the pixel values are linearly arranged);
Instructions for causing the computer to compute the tile address using the pixel address and a main memory configuration (Page 5, Paragraph 1, This algorithm translates the scalar memory address initially provided by the operating system or the software application, and that is intended for use with a memory in which the pixel values are linearly arranged);
While Hartog fails to disclose the following, Roman teaches:
A quotient of a number of bytes per line and a bytes per pixel (BPP) (Paragraph 211, the row size is calculated by dividing the total bytes in a row of the super image by the number of bytes per pixel).
Roman and Hartog are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Roman and calculate the quotient of bytes per line and bytes per pixel. Doing so would have allowed for determining the row size which can be used to determine other attributes (image size, etc.).
While the combination of Hartog and Roman fails to disclose the following, Buck-Gengler teaches:
Wherein the pixel address is scaled (Column 1, Lines 54-57, To define a particular memory location, i.e., to transform an x,y address to a linear address (LA), the following formula can be used. X,Y.fwdarw.Linear Address (LA)=y.cndot.Byte Stride (BS)+x+Base Address (BA); Column 1, Line 66 – Column 2, Line 1, plugging the numbers into the formula we have LA=2("y" dimension).cndot.640 (byte stride)+3("x" dimension)+1093632(Base Address)=1094915). Note: Roman teaches calculating the quotient and Buck-Gengler teaches scaling an address.
Buck-Gengler and the combination of Hartog and Roman are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog and Roman to incorporate the teachings of Buck-Gengler and scale the pixel address. Doing so would have allowed for using a known algorithm to determine where in memory pixel information is stored.
While the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler fails to disclose the following, Jain teaches:
Instructions for causing the computer to retrieve a compressed tile data from a compressed memory using a tile address (Paragraph 67, the data bridging circuitry 604 can determine the meta-data associated with the tile based on an address of the tile);
Instructions for causing the computer to convert the compressed tile data into a cache line data using a decompression process (Paragraph 64, the meta-data cache line 502 indicates a decompression process to be executed for the respective tiles); and
Instructions for causing the computer to retrieve a memory read request with the cache line address on an input databus (Paragraph 74, the memory 616 includes the meta-data (e.g., the meta-data cache line 502 of FIG. 5) and the tiles associated therewith… the data decompressing circuitry 614 can access the meta-data and the tiles stored in the memory 616 via the bus).
Jain and the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tiling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler to incorporate the teachings of Jain and retrieve compressed tile data using a tile address, convert the compressed tile data into cache line data using a decompression process, and receive a memory read request with the cache line address on an input databus. Doing so would have allowed for efficiently accessing the stored compressed tile data.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hartog, Roman, and Buck-Gengler, and Jain teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the two-dimensional address comprises a first dimension address wherein the first dimension address depends on a remainder function of a ratio between the cache line address and the stride width, and a second dimension address wherein the second dimension address depends on a quotient of the cache line address and the stride width (Hartog, Page 12, Paragraphs 10-11, The hardware will perform equation (1) backwards to determine the x and y coordinates for use in the tiling algorithm. The hardware subtracts the surface base address from the linear address, and this result is divided by P. The integer portion of the quotient is the y coordinate, and the remainder of the quotient is the x coordinate).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Roman teaches the quotient of bytes per line and bytes per pixel. Buck-Gengler teaches scaling the pixel address.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SNIGDHA SINHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2619
/JASON CHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2619