DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Chanjae et al. (KR1022-20693B1).
As to claim 1, Chanjae discloses a battery pack (Battery pack (10) [0044]) comprising: a case (Upper covering (3) and lower covering (5) [0044]); a battery cell accommodated at an upper position in the case in a gravity direction (Battery cell (20) [0047] figs. 3 and 4); a gas outlet between the battery cell and the case at a lower position of the case (Gap S [0078] fig. 6) and facing a vent portion of the battery cell ((Vent holes (97) [0080] fig. 6); and a fireproof fire-extinguishing layer between the battery cell and the gas outlet (Fire protection paints (3b) and (5b) [0065]).
As to claim 2, Chanjae discloses the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer comprises fireproof paint (Fire protection paints (3b) and (5b) [0065]).
As to claim 3, Chanjae discloses the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer (3b & 5b) is configured to foam in when exposed to high temperatures [0071]. to block introduction of air from an ignition point, (the spread of the flame is physically blocked and heat is shielded to prevent the spread of the fire [0072]
As to claim 4, Chanjae discloses the vent portion (vent hole (97)) is at a lower end portion of the battery cell (Battery cell (20) fig. 6).
As to claim 5, Chanjae discloses comprising a thermal-insulating member (3a) & (5b) heat resistant material [0073]) between the battery cell (20) and the gas outlet (Gap S) (figs. 8a & 8b).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Chanjae discloses the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer ((3b & 5b) is on the thermal-insulating member ((3a & 5a) [0066].
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Chanjae discloses the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer ((3b & 5b)) is on an inner surface of the thermal-insulating member ((3a & 5a), the inner surface facing the battery cell (fig. 8a).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Chanjae discloses the battery cell is a circular battery cell having a circular cross-section (Cylindrical battery (20) [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanjae et al. (KR1022-20693B1).
Regarding claim 8, The battery pack as claimed in claim 6, wherein the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer is on an outer surface of the thermal-insulating member, the outer surface opposing the battery cell. The location of the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer does not change the response of the fireproof fire-extinguishing layer to heat and the fire-extinguishing layer of Chanjae on an outer surface would behave in the same manner as claimed, and it is noted the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Narbonne et al. (US2012/0003508A1) Battery pack with fire extinguishing
function.
Kim et al. (KR2020-0104619A) Fire extinguisher with foam able paint.
Lindstrom et al. (US11217857B2) Managing thermal runaway gases.
Kim et al. (KR1008-52727B1) Battery with flame resistant paint.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728