Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Michel (US Pat. No. 3,386,191).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 17, Michel discloses:
A device (abstract; FIG 1) for assisting a user to manipulate an instrument 86, the device comprising:
a framework (28, 40, 50, 94, 118, 120) resting on a surface (“desk” col. 2, l. 28); and
a hand and wrist support 60 coupled to the framework and coupled to the instrument, the hand and wrist support being configured to slide horizontally (along slot 53) and longitudinally (via channel 28) along the framework.
Regarding claims 9, 10 and 16, Michel further discloses an instrument retainer 78, a linkage 82 and a clamp 80 as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel in view of West (US Pat. No. 4,683,836).
Michel discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, regarding claims 2 and 18, Michel does not disclose the second lateral support as claimed. West discloses two lateral supports 34 and 34 (see FIG 4, for example) used for the purpose of better supporting a device for assisting a user to manipulate an instrument. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the two lateral supports taught by West in combination with the Michel device for the purpose of better supporting the instrument of the combination.
Regarding the further features of 3-7, 11, 13, 19 and 20, Michel is configured to operate in the manners as claimed.
Regarding the semi-spherically shaped hand support of claim 12, the additionally claimed hand support is an old and well-known functional equivalent of the support taught by Michel for supporting a hand. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use semi-spherical hand support as claimed to provide a more comfortable support for a user of the device.
Regarding the further features of claims 14 and 15, the additionally claimed features are old and well-known functional equivalents of the components taught by Michel used for coupling two known components together. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the recess and protrusion as claimed in place of the coupling feature taught by Michel based on end-user and/or manufacturer preferences.
Conclusion
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
28 OCT 2026