DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on 7/24/2026 to the Application filed on 3/20/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 11, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim 20 recites “means for receiving”, “means for determining”, and “means for estimating”. In the specification, paragraphs [0049]-[0051] disclose the structure used to limit claim 20. As such, “means for receiving” will be interpreted to mean “An AP 300, including the processor 310 and the receiver 344 is a means for configuring the plurality of receive chains”, “means for determining” will be interpreted to mean “The AP 300, including the processor 310 and the receiver 344 is a means for configuring the plurality of receive chains. In an example, the AP 300 may receive an indication from an external resource (e.g., the server 806) to perform GNSS operations.”, and “means for estimating” will be interpreted to mean “The AP 300, including the processor 310 and the memory 311 is a means for estimating the position of the wireless node.”, and “means for reallocating” will be interpreted to mean “The AP 300, including the processor 310 and the receiver 344 is a means for configuring the plurality of receive chains.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-12, 14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasner, U. S. Patent Publication 6111540 published on 2000-08-29 (hereinafter Krasner) in view of Eaton et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20200266850 published on 2020-08-20 (hereinafter Eaton).
As for independent claim 1, Krasner discloses an apparatus and a method for obtaining a position estimate with an access point, comprising: receiving, with a first one or more receive chains of
(Krasner discloses an access point (called a base station) receiving communication signals and attached to the access point is a circuit capable of receiving GPS and other communication, “An example of a combined GPS and communication system having shared circuitry is shown in FIG. 1A. A combined mobile unit 100 includes circuitry for performing the functions required for processing GPS signals as well as the functions required for processing communication signals received through a communication link. The communication link, such as communication link 14a, is typically a radio frequency communication link to another component, such as a basestation” Col 3, Lines 46-54 “assigns such users to other channels in which they may communicate” “Col 6, Lines 45-47”)
the
(Krasner discloses the default mode of the system is the receive wireless communication, “In this situation, the receiver begins in a communications receiving mode such that communication signals from the communication link 14a are being monitored. Therefore, in step 20 the processor 10 tunes the converter 7 to the communication system access channel. This is a channel (typical of cellular networks) that broadcasts addresses of users for which there are messages and assigns such users to other channels in which they may communicate.” Col 6, Lines 39-47)
determining a positioning opportunity;
(Krasner discloses determining a position opportunity (by interpreting a command to find the position) and receiving GPS signals based on that command “If there is a command to determine position, which may be referred to as a GPS command… The receiver then enters the GPS mode, and Processor 10 retunes the receiver to the GPS band and collects and processes the GPS signals… In step 25, the processor 10 calculates position information from the GPS signals”; Krasner Col 6 Line 20“receiving a GPS signal (e.g. from a GPS satellite)” Col 6, Lines 51-64)
reallocating, responsive to determining the positioning opportunity,
(Krasner discloses in response to receiving the command to determine position it switching to GPS receive mode, “If there is a command to determine position, which may be referred to as a GPS command as indicated in step 23, then this measurement of the carrier frequency allows the GPS receiver to compensate for local oscillator errors thereby speeding the acquisition of GPS signals. The receiver then enters the GPS mode, and Processor 10 retunes the receiver to the GPS band and collects and processes the GPS signals in step 24.” Col 6 Lines 52-58)
receiving, with the
(Krasner discloses determining a position opportunity (by interpreting a command to find the position) and receiving GPS signals based on that command “If there is a command to determine position, which may be referred to as a GPS command… The receiver then enters the GPS mode, and Processor 10 retunes the receiver to the GPS band and collects and processes the GPS signals… In step 25, the processor 10 calculates position information from the GPS signals”; Krasner Col 6 Line 20“receiving a GPS signal (e.g. from a GPS satellite)” Col 6, Lines 51-64)
and responsive to determining that the estimating of the position of the access point is complete, reallocating the
(Krasner figure 2 shows after step 25 it returns to step 20 which is to receive wireless communications over a cellular network)
Krasner does not appear to disclose an apparatus or method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains or such that the first one or more receive chains is capable of receiving wireless network communications while the second one or more receive chains is capable of receiving global satellite communications
However, Eaton does disclose an apparatus and method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains and such that the first one or more receive chains is capable of receiving wireless network communications while the second one or more receive chains is capable of receiving global satellite communications
(Eaton discloses an array (at least two) of antennas (or receive chains) that are capable of switching their input/output and their capabilities include wireless communication and GPS and the system supports dual inputs such that the antennas are capable of receiving two inputs in parallel, “In particular, a telematics control unit (TCU) and various software interfaces and corresponding hardware modules may serve to provide wireless (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, GPS, Bluetooth, near-field communication (NFC) or other wireless protocols) connectivity internal to the vehicles.” [0015] “At a high-level, diagram 300 includes a schematic representing a switching network for an antenna system, which may operate in connection with various vehicle devices and sub-systems (e.g., a TCU of a vehicle). For example, the antenna system may include a wireless capability (e.g., a Wi-Fi capability) which may enable the antenna system to use either internal antennas (e.g., antennas 324 and/or 338) of the vehicle (e.g., TCU antennas) or to switch (e.g., via switch 313) to an external antenna (e.g., antenna 316) on an external antenna path. In some embodiments, an internal antenna (e.g., antenna 338) of the vehicle may include two Wi-Fi antennas internal to the TCU that may serve to support separate dual band multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antennas in the approximately 5 GHz and the approximately 2.4 GHz bands. In some embodiments, one of the antenna paths may be split to go to the external antenna (e.g., antenna 324) such that Wi-Fi performance is maintained inside the vehicle.” [0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Eaton, adding multiple parallel systems, to the antenna system of Krasner in order to make the system more diverse and powerful with parallel processes.
As for claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Krasner discloses an apparatus and a method wherein determining the positioning opportunity includes receiving an indication from a network resource to perform navigation operations, wherein receiving radio frequency signals transmitted from the satellite vehicle with at least one of the
(Krasner Col 6, Lines 51-64 and Col 8, Lines 17-20 discloses determining a position opportunity (collects and processes the GPS signals) by an indication received from a network resource (called a base station). “ If there is a command to determine position, which may be referred to as a GPS command …. The receiver then enters the GPS mode, and Processor 10 retunes the receiver to the GPS band and collects and processes the GPS signals… The flow chart of FIG. 3 begins at step 101 with a command from the basestation 17 to initialize a GPS processing”)
Krasner does not appear to disclose an apparatus or method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains with a second receive chain.
However, Eaton does disclose an apparatus and method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains with a second receive chain.
(Eaton discloses an array (at least two) of antennas (or receive chains) that are capable of switching their input/output and their capabilities include wireless communication and GPS and the system supports dual inputs such that the antennas are capable of receiving two inputs in parallel, “In particular, a telematics control unit (TCU) and various software interfaces and corresponding hardware modules may serve to provide wireless (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, GPS, Bluetooth, near-field communication (NFC) or other wireless protocols) connectivity internal to the vehicles.” [0015] “At a high-level, diagram 300 includes a schematic representing a switching network for an antenna system, which may operate in connection with various vehicle devices and sub-systems (e.g., a TCU of a vehicle). For example, the antenna system may include a wireless capability (e.g., a Wi-Fi capability) which may enable the antenna system to use either internal antennas (e.g., antennas 324 and/or 338) of the vehicle (e.g., TCU antennas) or to switch (e.g., via switch 313) to an external antenna (e.g., antenna 316) on an external antenna path. In some embodiments, an internal antenna (e.g., antenna 338) of the vehicle may include two Wi-Fi antennas internal to the TCU that may serve to support separate dual band multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antennas in the approximately 5 GHz and the approximately 2.4 GHz bands. In some embodiments, one of the antenna paths may be split to go to the external antenna (e.g., antenna 324) such that Wi-Fi performance is maintained inside the vehicle.” [0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Eaton, adding multiple parallel systems, to the antenna system of Krasner in order to make the system more diverse and powerful with parallel processes.
As for claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed. Krasner discloses an apparatus and a method wherein the indication is included in one or more overlapping master neighbor (OMN) messages.
(Krasner paragraph Col 6, Lines 51-54 discloses the access point receiving and sending channel, address, and location setup messages (which is the same as an OMN) as those messages including a position request command, “This is a channel (typical of cellular networks) that broadcasts addresses of users for which there are messages and assigns such users to other channels in which they may communicate… If there is a command to determine position, which may be referred to as a GPS command”)
As for claim 10, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Krasner discloses an apparatus and a method wherein receiving radio frequency signals transmitted from the satellite vehicle with at least one of the
(Krasner Col 3 Lines 54-56 disclose the receive chain having antennas, “The combined mobile unit 100 includes a GPS antenna 1 and a communication antenna”)
Krasner does not appear to disclose an apparatus or method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains with a second receive chain.
However, Eaton does disclose an apparatus and method wherein the receive chain being one of a plurality of receive chains with a second receive chain.
(Eaton discloses an array (at least two) of antennas (or receive chains) that are capable of switching their input/output and their capabilities include wireless communication and GPS and the system supports dual inputs such that the antennas are capable of receiving two inputs in parallel, “In particular, a telematics control unit (TCU) and various software interfaces and corresponding hardware modules may serve to provide wireless (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, GPS, Bluetooth, near-field communication (NFC) or other wireless protocols) connectivity internal to the vehicles.” [0015] “At a high-level, diagram 300 includes a schematic representing a switching network for an antenna system, which may operate in connection with various vehicle devices and sub-systems (e.g., a TCU of a vehicle). For example, the antenna system may include a wireless capability (e.g., a Wi-Fi capability) which may enable the antenna system to use either internal antennas (e.g., antennas 324 and/or 338) of the vehicle (e.g., TCU antennas) or to switch (e.g., via switch 313) to an external antenna (e.g., antenna 316) on an external antenna path. In some embodiments, an internal antenna (e.g., antenna 338) of the vehicle may include two Wi-Fi antennas internal to the TCU that may serve to support separate dual band multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antennas in the approximately 5 GHz and the approximately 2.4 GHz bands. In some embodiments, one of the antenna paths may be split to go to the external antenna (e.g., antenna 324) such that Wi-Fi performance is maintained inside the vehicle.” [0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Eaton, adding multiple parallel systems, to the antenna system of Krasner in order to make the system more diverse and powerful with parallel processes.
As for independent claim 11, claim 11 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. As for the structural limitations of claim 11, Krasner discloses at least one memory; a plurality of receive chains communicatively coupled to at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver:
(Krasner FIG. 1A shows a memory (19), a receive chain (whole figure), a transceiver (5), and a processor (10))
As for claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 12 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed. Claim 14 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 19, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 19 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 10 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 20, claim 20 reflects article of manufacture for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 3, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasner in view of Eaton in further view of Nakajima et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 6559794 published on 2003-05-06 (hereinafter Nakajima).
As for claim 3, the limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed. Nakajima discloses an apparatus and a method wherein the indication includes one or more time periods.
(Nakajima Col 2 Lines 26-29 disclose a controller controlling a position determining unit indicating it should determine its position for a set period of time, “a controller which controls a time interval at which the position of the receiver is determined by said position determining unit”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Nakajima, adding a timing system, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to conserve power by controlling how long the GPS unit is active.
As for claim 9, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Nakijima discloses an apparatus and a method comprising transmitting schedule information to the plurality of user equipment, wherein the schedule information corresponds to a time period when the access point is configured to receive radio frequency signals transmitted from the satellite vehicle.
(Nakijima Col 10 Lines 57-62 and Col 12 Lines 53-56 disclose the GPS signals and time intervals being sent to the user and the GPS signals being received for a predetermined amount of time “The GPS processor 3 controls the display unit to display a navigation image for informing the user of the present position, and stores the time the present position has been determined in the RAM … During the predetermined period of time A, the GPS processor 3 continues to be activated, that is, the electric current is supplied thereto, and it can continuously receive the signals from the satellites”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Nakajima, adding a timing system, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to better control how long the GPS signals are received.
As for claim 13, the limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed. Claim 13 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasner in view of Eaton in further view of Shellhammer et al, WIPO Patent Publication No. 2012097341 published on 2012-07-19 (hereinafter Shellhammer).
As for claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Shellhammer discloses an apparatus and a method comprising determining the positioning opportunity is based at least in part on one or more of a time of day, network traffic information, historical information, network configuration information, and combinations thereof.
(Shellhammer paragraph [0008], [0080], and [00101] discloses an access point which can determine its location using GPS and some inputs of this method being the configuration (Mode II), history, the time of day (schedule a quiet time), and network traffic (traffic indication map), “The portable Mode II devices may need to have geo-location capability… the AP may schedule a quiet time for itself… the AP may transmit one or more traffic indication map (TIM) messages and delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) messages on a regular basis. Inside each TIM, a counter may be present that counts down to the next DTIM. The AP may use this structure to schedule transmission of a DTIM immediately before transmitting a CVS message”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Shellhammer, adding a diverse activation criteria, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to allow for more detailed control of the access point functions.
As for claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 15 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 6-8, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasner in view of Eaton in further view of Fischer et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20220373636 publish on 2022-11-24 (hereinafter Fischer).
As for claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Fischer discloses an apparatus and a method wherein the determining the positioning opportunity is based at least in part on an available processing capability of the access point
(Fischer paragraph [0091] discloses a device (UE) taking its processing capabilities into account when determining if it can do a position finding task (called a position technique) “Positioning techniques may be characterized and/or assessed based on one or more criteria such as position determination accuracy and/or latency… Latency may depend on processing capability”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Fischer, adding a diverse activation criteria, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to better prioritize position finding tasks.
As for claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed. Fischer discloses an apparatus and a method wherein the determining the available processing capability of the access point is based on a processing unit utilization level being below a threshold value.
(Fischer paragraph [0116] discloses a UE not being assigned more position opportunity (called DL PRS) if the processing capability is maxed out, “The UE processing capability may indicate a maximum number of DL PRS resources that a UE can process in a slot under it.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Fischer, adding a diverse activation criteria, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to better prioritize position finding tasks.
As for claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed. Fischer discloses an apparatus and a method wherein the determining the available processing capability of the access point is based on a number of user equipment in the plurality of user equipment being below a threshold.
(Fischer paragraph [0091] discloses a device (UE) being limited by the number of devices (TRPs) can process position determination opportunities (called PRS), “Other examples of capabilities that may affect latency are a number of TRPs from which the UE can process PRS, a number of PRS that the UE can process, and a bandwidth of the UE.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the antenna system of Fischer, adding a diverse activation criteria, to the antenna system of Eaton and Krasner in order to better prioritize position finding tasks.
As for claim 16, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 16 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 17, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed. Claim 17 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 18, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed. Claim 18 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 8 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation
No argument was made in response to the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for claim 20. As such, the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the previous office action is maintained.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thomas U. S. Patent Publication No. 20250151023 discloses determining position estimation based on processing capabilities in paragraph [0030]
Park U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210400645 discloses determining position estimation based on processing capabilities in paragraph [0126]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646