DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 27-39 in the reply, filed on 11/17/2025, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 30 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 30 recites “the assembly” which clearly refers back to previously cited “a preform assembly” in claim 27. However, cited “the assembly” in claim 30 (2nd and 3rd lines) needs to be modified as to “the preform assembly” for the purpose of the claim language consistency.
Claim 35 recites “the vacuum seals” which clearly refers back to previously cited “one or more vacuum seals” in claim 34. However, cited “the vacuum seals” in claim 35 needs to be modified as to “the one or more vacuum seals” for the purpose of the claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites “first and second outer edges of the product” in 2nd – 3rd lines which renders the claim vague and indefinite because prior to the cited limitation, claim 27, that claim 28 is dependent to, already recites “first and second outer edges” in 3rd line. It is not clear if the cited limitation in claim 28 refers to the same limitation in claim 27 or refers to a new limitation. Accordingly, reconsideration is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 - 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wassenberg et al. (DE 101 57 655) in view of Hosokawa et al. (US 2016/0059500), the following rejection relies on attached English Translation for Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655).
As to claim 27, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose a resin transfer injection apparatus for manufacturing a composite product comprising:
-first and second tools (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]), fashioned to at least partially correspond with first and second outer edges of the product;
[AltContent: textbox (1st and 2nd tools )][AltContent: textbox (A tool movement mechanism (3))]-a preform assembly, comprising a product preform (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) fashioned to define a shape of the product, fitted between the first and second tools (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 1st and 2nd cavity (5))][AltContent: textbox (A product preform (2))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (O ring seal (3))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Fasteners comprises shear pins)][AltContent: textbox (At least one spacing device (1) (1))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
-the first and second tools (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]) and the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) to reach at least a predefined temperature;
-at least one spacing device (a preform holder 1, ¶ [0021]) to form a first cavity (a gap 5, ¶ [0021]) between the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) and the first tool and a second cavity (a gap 5, ¶ [0021]) between the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) and the second tool (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]);
-a tool movement mechanism (at least one other device part can be compared with the preform holder via pneumatic, hydraulic, electrical and / or mechanical drive systems 3 to be raised so as to above the laminate to be impregnated a gap 5, ¶ [0021]) for closing and opening the first and second tools;
-at least one vacuum pump which establishes a partial vacuum (at least one of the device parts in or vacuum process of the preform 2 forming at least one gap 5, ¶ [0026]) between the first and second tools (at least two parts of the device enclosed cavity, ¶ [0026]); and
-a resin injection system which injects a volume of pressurized preheated resin (4) simultaneously into the first and second cavities (the resin 4 due to the pressure difference between the cavity and resin container in the at least one gap 5 flows, that after impregnation of the preform 2, the device parts are moved towards each other again to the resin 4, see the abstract), wherein injection pressure of the resin and the partial vacuum moves the resin throughout the first and second cavities and starts infusion of the resin into the product preform of the preform assembly simultaneously from the first and second cavities (the resin infusion process also has the potential to achieve higher quality laminates, and compared to fiber spraying, continuous fibers can be processed in the resin infusion process, ¶ [0005]), the first and second tools are closed to reduce the first and second cavities and apply pressure to accelerate infusion of the resin (4) into the product preform (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0027]) of the preform assembly simultaneously from the first and second cavities (gap 5, ¶ [0026] and ¶ [0027]) and the resin (4) is allowed to cure to form the product (the impregnated preform 2 cures under vacuum, ¶ [0026]).
Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) discloses the device is heated to the curing temperature of the resin and cured the resin, however, is silent on disclosing the heating process is performed by at least one heater to allow the first and second tools in order for the preform assembly to reach at least a predefined temperature, as claimed in claim 27.
Further, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) discloses establishing a partial vacuum (at least one of the device parts in or vacuum process of the preform 2 forming at least one gap 5 and the resin in the evacuated state of the cavity in the at least one gap 5 is supplied to impregnate the preform, ¶ [0026]) between the first and second tools (at least two parts of the device enclosed cavity, ¶ [0026])
However, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) is silent on disclosing that the vacuum process is established by at least one vacuum pump, as claimed in claim 27.
In the analogous art, Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500) disclose a production apparatus for a fiber-reinforced plastic, comprising: an upper mold and a lower mold which are capable of forming a mold cavity for disposing a preform that is made of a reinforcing fiber substrate and that has a three-dimensional shape and at least one of which is operatable toward the other; an inner mold operatable within the mold cavity so as to pressurize the preform in a lateral direction different from an up-down direction; resin injection means for injecting a matrix resin into the mold cavity; and heating means for hardening the matrix resin. (see claim 12)
As to claim 27, Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500) disclose at least one heater which allows the first and second tools (an upper mold 2 and a lower mold 3, ¶ [0026] – [0027]) and the preform assembly (a reinforcement portion 31, ¶ [0028]) to reach at least a predefined temperature.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vacuum Pump (18))]
Moreover, Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500) teach using a vacuum pump 18, via a resin trap 19, the inside of the mold cavity 4 is brought to a depressurized state by suction through a vacuum suction opening 15 formed in the upper mold 2. (¶ [0035])
As to claim 27, Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500) teach at least one vacuum pump (a vacuum pump 18, ¶ [0035]) which establishes a partial vacuum between the first and second tools (an upper mold 2 and a lower mold 3, ¶ [0026] – [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of Applicant’s Invention, through modifying the heating and vacuum steps, as disclosed by Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655), through providing at least one heater to heat the first and second tools and the preform assembly in order to improve and facilitate impregnating the resin into the preform assembly, as suggested by Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500): ¶ [0002], and through providing at least one vacuum pump to establish a partial vacuum between the first and second tools in order to improve and facilitate the flow of the molten resin through the mold cavity, as suggested by Hosokawa et al. (US ‘500): ¶ [0007])
As to claim 28, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose the first and second tools (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]) comprise outer mold line tools, fashioned to at least partially correspond with first and second outer edges of the product (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0027]). (see figure 2-3)
As to claim 29, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) comprises one or more inner mandrels and one or more outer mandrels. (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 30, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) comprises a first key block at a first periphery of the assembly and a second key block at a second, opposite, periphery of the assembly. (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 31, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the at least one spacing device (a preform holder 1, ¶ [0021]) comprises at least one gripper. (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 32, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose the at least one spacing device (a preform holder 1, ¶ [0021]) comprises at least one first resilient element between a first outer edge of the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) and the first tool (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]) to form the first cavity (a gap 5, ¶ [0021]) therebetween and at least one second resilient element between a second outer edge of the preform assembly (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]) and the second tool (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]) to form the second cavity (a gap 5, ¶ [0021]) therebetween. (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 33, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the at least one first resilient element and the at least one second resilient element comprise of a moving cam. (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 34, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose one or more vacuum seals positioned between the first tool and the second tool (tools or molds, ¶ [0002]) comprising any of a compliant O ring seal (3). (¶ [0027])
As to claim 35, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the vacuum seals are used in conjunction with a resin stop. (¶ [0027])
As to claim 36, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose one or more fasteners which provide fastening for the product preform (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]). (in figures 1-4)
As to claim 37, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the one or more fasteners comprises of one or more shear pins (mechanical drive systems 3, ¶ [0021]). (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 38, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) disclose one or more spacers which provide support for the product preform (a fiber preform 2, ¶ [0021]). (see figures 1-4)
As to claim 39, Wassenberg et al. (DE ‘655) teach the one or more spacers comprise of inflatable pressure tubes (3, ¶ [0021]). (see figures 1-4)
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 03/13/2026