DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2019/0144689) in view of Oba et al. (US 2019/0194531).
The claims are drawn to a polymerizable composition comprising:
The claims are also drawn to a cured product obtained by curing the polymerizable composition; a wavelength conversion number comprising the cured product; a backlight unit; and a liquid crystal display.
Yamada et al. teach a quantum dot-containing composition, wavelength conversion number, backlight unit, and liquid crystal display device. The quantum dot-containing composition includes a ligand and a polymerizable compound. The polymerizable compound is preferably an acrylic compound, e.g., having a (meth)acryloyl group of (meth)acrylic acid in a molecule.
The ligand in the composition includes compounds having polyalkylene glycol chains (pages 6-11). The reference also teaches a wavelength conversion number comprising a wavelength conversion layer obtained by curing the quantum dot-containing composition according to the invention, a backlight unit comprising the wavelength conversion number and a light source, and a liquid crystal display device comprising the backlight unit and a liquid crystal cell (0159-0218).
Yamada et al. does not expressly teach that the polymer structure of the polymeric ligand has an I/O value of 0.250 or more and 1.650 or less, and does not teach the presence of inorganic particles in the polymerizable composition taught therein.
Regarding the first difference, the I/O value of a polymer predicts the chemical compatibility, swelling behavior, and blending characteristics for, example, macromolecular wall materials, e.g., high resolution displays. A person having ordinary skill in the art would manipulate the polymer structure, and thus, the I/O value, based on a desired hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity of the polymer structure, particularly, when used in a liquid crystal display, as suggested by Yamada et al.
Regarding the second difference, Oba et al. teach phosphor-containing film, and backlight unit, wherein quantum dots serve as the phosphor, and wherein inorganic particles like titanium oxide, and having an average particles size of 0.1 µm or more, or incorporated into composition comprising quantum dots to improve brightness (abstract; examples).
It therefore would have been obvious, in view of the combined reference teachings, to add inorganic particles, such as those taught by Oba et al., the quantum dot-containing composition taught by Yamada et al., since uses taught by Yamada et al. for the quantum dot-containing composition taught therein is for backlight units and liquid display devices, and Oba et al. teaches that incorporation of inorganics improves the brightness of such devices.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692