Priority
This application is a CON of 17/535,106 (11/24/2021 ABN)
17/535,106 has PRO 63/118,368 (11/25/2020).
Status
Claims 1, 2, 10, 13-14, 20-22, 35-36, 38, 40, 44, 65, 105-107 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings filed 3/20/24 are objected to for including illegible text, for example in Figs. 1-3. See MPEP 608.02. In addition, a Fig. 3B exists, but not Fig. 3A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 13-14, 20-22, 35-36, 38, 40, 44, 65, 105-107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy et.al. (Rheumatology 2010, 49, 2420–2428) in view of Adake et al. (J. Adv. Pharm. Technol. Res., 2015, v. 6, iss. 2, p. 81-85).
Shenoy teaches treating secondary Raynaud’s syndrome in patients with scleroderma by a combination of tadalafil (20 mg) and calcium channel blocker [nifedipine (20–60 mg)/amlodipine (2.5–10 mg)] (Abstract, Table 1). Shenoy teaches that the combination of tadalafil and calcium channel blocker can reduce both the frequency and the duration of the Raynaud’s syndrome (Table 2, Table 3). Shenoy teaches that the combination of tadalafil and calcium channel blocker can and heal digital ulcers in patients with both Raynaud’s syndrome and digital ulcers (Fig. 2). Shenoy teaches that the combination of tadalafil and calcium channel blocker can reduce Raynaud’s syndrome pain (Table 4).
Regarding claim 1, Shenoy does not teach the specific calcium channel blocker is cilnidipine or the specific dose.
Adake teaches cilnidipine and amplodipine are effective calcium channel blockers (CCB) with cilnidipine at 20 mg/day dose and being N-type and L-type that has lower incidence of edema side effects (Abstract, p. 84).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Shenoy would have considered Shenoy’s teaching of the utility of the class of pharmaceuticals known as CCBs and substituted known CCB for the same purpose. As per MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As recognized by Adake, cilnidipine and amplodipine were known as calcium channel blockers which Shenoy identified as being useful in the treatment of Raynaud’s syndrome. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered substituting amplodipine with cilnidipine in Shenoy’s therapy for the same purpose and have a reasonable expectation of success based on the successful demonstration with the same class of pharmaceutical. Thus, the claim is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Shenoy teaches treating secondary Raynaud’s syndrome in patients with scleroderma (Abstract, Table 1).
Regarding claims 13-14, Shenoy teaches the treatment was associated with improvement in Raynaud’s syndrome digital ulcerations (Abstract, Table 1, p. 2426: “The healing of the DUs and prevention of appearance of new ulcers in the present study were encouraging”).
Regarding claims 20-22, Shenoy teaches reducing frequency, severity, and duration of symptoms (p. 2426: “patients when receiving tadalafil had significant improvement in the frequency, duration and severity of RP”).
Regarding claim 35, as with claim 1, Shenoy in view of Adake would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the administration of cilnidipine and tadalafil to treat Raynaud’s disease. Shenoy also teaches that the disease is triggered by cold and results in pain (p. 2420: “RP is an exaggerated physiological phenomenon defined as episodic cold or emotional stress-triggered ischaemic vasospasms” and “patients develop severe RP attacks with intense pain and ischaemic ulcers”) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered utilizing the same therapy to reduce Raynaud’s disease-associated pain and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 36, and 38, Shenoy teaches that the pain is cold-triggered in the hand (p. 2420: “episodic cold or emotional stress-triggered ischaemic vasospasms of the digital arteries”) and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider 10C to be cold relative to ambient.
Regarding claim 40, as with claim 35, one of ordinary skill in the art following the combined teaching of Shenoy and Adake would consider the same therapy to reduce susceptibility to triggers.
Regarding claim 41, Shenoy teaches the patients have scleroderma (Abstract).
Regarding claim 44, Shenoy teaches that Raynaud’s disease is caused by vasoconstriction and providing a therapy to treat the disease would be expected to reduce the cause.
Regarding claim 65, Shenoy notes that triggering include exposure to cold in morning hours (p. 2426). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider administration of therapy when triggering events are likely.
Regarding claim 105, Shenoy teaches primary Raynaud’s syndrome is responsive to vasodilators such as calcium channel blockers (p. 2420) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the same therapy to be effective for the primary condition.
Regarding claim 106, Shenoy teaches the patients have scleroderma (Abstract).
Regarding claim 107, Shenoy teaches that therapy significantly reduced symptoms (Abstract; p. 2425-2427) which one of ordinary skill in the art would expect to reduce symptoms by at least 25% and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy et.al. (Rheumatology 2010, 49, 2420–2428) in view of Adake et al. (J. Adv. Pharm. Technol. Res., 2015, v. 6, iss. 2, p. 81-85) as applied to 1 above and further in view of Henness et al. (Current Opinion in Rheumatology 2007, 19:611–618).
Regarding claim 10, Shenoy does not teach interstitial lung disease.
Henness teaches “Scleroderma and secondary Raynaud’s phenomenon are frequently associated with increased morbidity” including interstitial lung disease (ILD) (Abstract, p. 611, 614).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the combined teaching of Shenoy and Adake would have known that ILD was a condition associated with Raynaud’s that would be ameliorated by treating the underlying condition.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 13-14, 20-22, 35-36, 38, 40, 44, 65, 105-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 7-8, 23, 42-45, 59-60, 64, 71, 73, 75-79 of copending Application No. 18609984 (reference application) in view of Shenoy and Adake as per the 35 USC 103 rejection supra. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims the treatment of the same patient population with the same therapy combination such that it anticipates or renders obvious the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 13-14, 20-22, 35-36, 38, 40, 44, 65, 105-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12, 132-141, 145-147 of copending Application No. 17802727 (reference application) in view of Shenoy and Adake as per the 35 USC 103 rejection supra. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims the treatment of the same patient population with the same therapy combination such that it anticipates or renders obvious the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626