DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments, filed 7/23/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1 – 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak et al. (US 2002/0173047 A1) in view of Saunders (US 3,925,018), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further in view of England (US 2007/0087444 A1), Lye et al. (WO 2005/059162 A2), Carpenter et al. (US 2002/0121235 A1) and Genovese et al. (US 2014/0065030 A1).
The previous rejections of claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, have been withdrawn.
The previous rejections of claims 8 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been withdrawn.
The previous objection to claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,942,126 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope and essentially claiming the same invention.
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular sections, columns, line numbers, paragraphs and figures, in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak et al. (US 2002/0173047 A1; hereinafter “Hudak”) in view of Saunders (US 3,925,018; hereinafter “Saunders”), England (US 2007/0087444 A1; hereinafter “England”), Lye et al. (WO 2005/059162 A2; hereinafter “Lye”), Carpenter et al. (US 2002/0121235 A1; hereinafter “Carpenter”) and Genovese et al. (US 2014/0065030 A1; hereinafter “Genovese”).
Regarding claim 1, Hudak teaches a system for identifying the presence of a target molecule or ion (e.g., paragraphs 25, 31, 34 and 43 – 80; figures 1 – 3), comprising:
a solid support (test platform 2 including test strip 3; figure 1); and
a dry chemical reagent (the area covered by sample receiving chamber 1 into which the test sample is inserted; figure 1) on the solid support (test platform 2 including test strip 3) comprising a first chemical reagent (e.g., a specific binding member, indicator or substrate; paragraphs 25, 47, 84 – 88 and 104 – 106) and a dispersion reagent (e.g., a dispersant, stabilizer or diluent; paragraph 47) applied to the solid support, the first chemical reagent producing a presumptive color indication that identifies or excludes the presence of the first target molecule or ion (paragraphs 105 and 109). Hudak does teach that additional or secondary reagents can be incorporated with their disclosed system, and including multiple detection zones (e.g., one or more detection zones 9; paragraphs 62, 63, 67, 70, 72, 73, 83, 96 and 103 – 105; e.g., one or more reagent zones 32; paragraph 119; figures 8 and 9).
Hudak does not specifically teach that the chemical reagents can be micronized. However, Saunders teaches the use of typical analytical chemistry reagent particle sizes of 5 to 15 microns (e.g., col. 3, line 29 – col. 4, line 66). These particle reagents are useful in colorimetric reactions (col. 10, lines 3 – 9). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the first chemical reagent comprises a micronized powder or is in the form of a micronized powder.
Hudak does not specifically teach a plurality of dry chemical reagents on the solid support, wherein a first chemical reagent comprises a first dry micronized chemical reagent and the dispersion reagent, wherein the first dry micronized chemical reagent comprises cresol red. However, England teaches the use of a cresol red as an indicating composition for detection (e.g., pH indicator for dissolved hydrogen ion; paragraph 13). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the chemical reagent is a cresol red to facilitate effective target dissolved hydrogen ion molecule detection.
Hudak does not specifically teach a plurality of dry chemical reagents on the solid support, wherein a second dry micronized chemical reagent comprises a second dry micronized chemical reagent and the dispersion reagent, wherein the second dry micronized chemical reagent comprises merocyanine dye. However, Lye teaches the use of a merocyanine dye as an indicating composition for detection (page 4). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the chemical reagent is a merocyanine dye to facilitate effective target molecule detection.
Hudak does not specifically teach a plurality of dry chemical reagents on the solid support, wherein a third dry chemical reagent comprises a third dry micronized chemical reagent and the dispersion reagent, wherein the third dry micronized chemical reagent comprises potassium iodide. However, Carpenter teaches the known use of potassium iodide as an indicator for detection applications (paragraph 19). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the chemical reagent is potassium iodide to facilitate effective target molecule detection.
Hudak does not specifically teach a plurality of dry chemical reagents on the solid support, wherein a fourth dry chemical reagent comprises a fourth dry micronized chemical reagent and the dispersion reagent, wherein the fourth dry micronized chemical reagent comprises diphenylamine. However, Genovese teaches the known use of diphenylamine as an indicator for nitrate detection applications (paragraph 26). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the chemical reagent is diphenylamine to facilitate effective target nitrate molecule detection.
Regarding claim 2, Hudak does teach that the plurality of dry chemical reagents can be spaced apart from one another by a physical gap (e.g., via one or more analyte detection zones 9; paragraphs 62, 63, 67, 70, 72, 73, 76, 83, 96, 103 – 105 and 115; figures 8 and 9; e.g., one or more reagent zones 32; paragraph 119).
Regarding claim 3, Hudak teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the solid support comprises a material selected from the group consisting of glass, metal, paper, organic membranes (e.g., test strip 3 can comprise glass fiber, nitrocellulose membrane sheets, filter paper, nylon or polyester materials; paragraphs 46, 79 and 80; the test platform 2 can comprise glass, ceramic metals, paper or polymers; paragraph 68).
Regarding clams 4 and 5, Hudak teaches that the system further comprises a sample collector (swab 4 which is implicitly comprised of an unreactive adsorbent fiber so as to not react with the sample under analysis; paragraph 48; figure 1) for collection of an unknown molecule or ion and introducing the unknown molecule or ion to the first chemical reagent.
Regarding claim 6, Hudak teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a moisture and UV resistant package in which the solid support and first chemical reagent is sealed (e.g., the disclose system can be prepackaged with a barrier, such as foils and plastics. to protect and preserve the contents for future use; it is considered implicit that the packaging material would be moisture and UV resistant barrier materials; paragraphs 26 and 55 – 57).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak et al. (US 2002/0173047 A1; hereinafter “Hudak”) in view of Saunders (US 3,925,018; hereinafter “Saunders”), England (US 2007/0087444 A1; hereinafter “England”), Lye et al. (WO 2005/059162 A2; hereinafter “Lye”), Carpenter et al. (US 2002/0121235 A1; hereinafter “Carpenter”) and Genovese et al. (US 2014/0065030 A1; hereinafter “Genovese”), as applied to claims 1 – 6 above, and further in view of Cincotta et al. (US 2014/0366796 A1; hereinafter “Cincotta”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hudak does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, wherein the dispersion reagent is selected from the group consisting of acrylic acid, polyvinyl alcohol, amino crosslinkers, polyvinyl pyrollidinone, glycol-ethers, styrene, polyester, vinyl chloride, polyethylene, natural gums, polyether and polyamide units. However, Cincotta teaches the use of a dispersant comprising acrylic acid for use in colorant indicator compositions (paragraph 46). These dispersants are effective and useful in reagent compositions for colorimetric applications (Abstract). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the dispersant is acrylic acid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796