DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 20, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. A copy for Foreign Patent CN 304823059 was not provided, therefore it has not been considered. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “top wing” and “bottom wing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims 27 and 30. Examiner notes wings 133a as shown in Figure 4, however these are structurally different from the “top wing” and “bottom wing” of the stationary blade. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Every instance of “overly” used in the Specifications, such as on pg. 6, line 27 or pg. 17, line 14, with the intended definition of “to lie on top of” should be corrected to “overlie.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-6, 22, 24, 27, and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because of “the each of the plurality of projections defining free ends” in lines 11-12. This should be corrected to “
Claim 5 is objected to because of “the blade assembly further comprises a second lateral moving blade cutting portion” pg. 2, lines 2-3. This should be corrected to “the blade assembly further comprises a second lateral [[ ]]moving blade cutting portion,” removing the extra space between “lateral” and “moving.”
Claim 6 is objected to because of “wherein the first lateral moving blade cutting portion” on pg. 2, lines 9-10. This should be corrected to “wherein the first lateral [[ ]]moving blade cutting portion,” removing the extra space between “lateral” and “moving.”
Claim 22 is objected to because of “the rotation is continuous rotation, and . wherein the continuous rotation…” in lines 1-2. This should be corrected to “the rotation is continuous rotation, and[[ .]] wherein the continuous rotation…” removing the extra space and punctuation.
Claim 24 is objected to because of “the each of the plurality of projections defining free ends that are curved” on pg. 5, lines 8-9. This should be corrected to “
Claim 27 is objected to because of “with a bottom cutting section extending away from the longitudinal housing” on pg. 5, lines 27-28. This should be corrected to “with a bottom cutting section extending away from the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing.”
Claim 27 is also objected to because of “the stationary blade comprising top wing” on pg. 5, line 31. This should be corrected to “the stationary blade comprising a top wing.”
Claim 27 is also objected to because of “top wing arranged to overly the top cutting section” on pg. 5, line 31. This should be corrected to “top wing arranged to overlie the top cutting section.”
Claim 27 is also objected to because of “comprising a bottom wind” on pg. 6, line 1. This should be corrected to “comprising a bottom wing.”
Claim 34 is objected to because of “the outer ring member being configured for rotation around the outer ring member” on pg. 7, lines 16-17. This should be corrected to “the outer ring member being configured for rotation around the inner ring member.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "connected to a handle" on pg. 5, line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21, upon which claim 25 depends, is dependent on claim 20, which recites “a handle” on pg. 4, line 12. Therefore, it is unclear as to if “a handle” as recited in claim 25 is the same handle as recited in claim 20 or a different handle. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting the handles to be the same.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “attached to the first moving blade support” on pg. 5, lines 23-24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the first moving blade support” to be the same as the “a lateral moving blade support” as recited on pg. 5, line 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 18, and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114043533 A by Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a blade assembly for a hair removal device (Wu Figure 1), the blade assembly comprising: a blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1) extending from a first end (see Examiner annotated Wu Figure 1, hereinafter “EAWF1”; 1st end) to a second end (EAWF1, 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis), from a top to a bottom (EAWF1, top & bottom), and from a front to a rear (EAWF1, front & rear); a lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, moving blade 3) arranged within the blade assembly housing and configured to move along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing with a reciprocating motion (see Wu English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “WEMTD”; Description, para. 67, “it is convenient to drive the moving blade 3 and the intermediate blade 5 to reciprocate back and forth”); and a stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed blade 2) extending from a first end to a second end (EAWF1, 1st end & 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis) and extending (see Examiner annotated Wu Figure 5, hereinafter “EAWF5”; fixed blade 2) from an externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed external-facing edge) to an internally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed internal-facing edge), the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 5, fixed blade 2) being arranged so that a rear surface (EAWF5, fixed rear surface) thereof is adjacent a front surface (EAWF5, moving front surface) of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3); wherein the externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed external-facing edge) of the stationary blade comprises a plurality of projections (Wu, Fig. 14, fixed cutting tooth 26) separated by a plurality of slots (Wu, Fig. 14, hair inlet grooves), the each of the plurality of projections defining free ends (EAWF5, fixed free ends) that are curved or bent away from a front surface (EAWF5, fixed front surface) of the stationary blade and toward the rear surface (EAWF5, fixed rear surface) of the stationary blade, the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 5, fixed blade 2) being arranged so that the externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed external-facing edge) extends beyond one of the top (EAWF5, top) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 5, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the free ends of the projections are curved or bent such that tips of each of the free ends (EAWF5, fixed free ends) extend beyond a rear surface (EAWF5, moving rear surface) of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3) extends from an externally-facing edge (EAWF5, moving external-facing edge) to an internally-facing edge (EAWF5, moving internal-facing edge), the externally-facing edge of the lateral moving blade comprising a plurality of projections (Wu, Fig. 16, moving cutting teeth 32) separated by a plurality of slots (EAWF1, moving slots), the projections defining free ends (EAWF1, moving free ends).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, moving blade 3) defines a first lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 1st moving portion) that is arranged proximate the top (EAWF1, top) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1), and the blade assembly further comprises a second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 2nd moving portion) that is arranged proximate the bottom (EAWF1, bottom) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1); and the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed blade 2) defines a first stationary blade (EAWF1, 1st fixed blade) that is arranged proximate the top (EAWF1, top) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1), and the blade assembly further comprises a second stationary blade (EAWF1, 2nd fixed blade) that is arranged proximate the bottom (EAWF1, bottom) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the first lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 1st moving portion) and the second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 2nd moving portion) are + so as to move in unison (see Wu Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the first lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 1st moving portion) and the second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 2nd moving portion) are connected by an intervening, non-cutting piece (Wu, Fig. 11, elastic element 7; WEMTD, Description, para. 65, “an elastic element 7 is provided between the moving blade 3 and the fixed blade support 1”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses the intervening, non-cutting piece (Wu, Fig. 16, elastic element 7) is configured for attachment to a lateral moving blade support (Wu, Fig. 16, moving tool support 61) that is positioned within the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 7, fixed tool support 1) away from the first lateral moving blade cutting portion and the second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAWF1, 1st moving portion & 2nd moving portion; Wu, Fig. 1, moving tool support 61).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses the first stationary blade and the second stationary blade (see Examiner annotated Wu Figure 16, hereinafter “EAWF16”; 1st fixed blade & 2nd fixed blade) are connected at ends thereof with structural arms (EAWF16, structural arms) so that the structural arms are positioned proximate the first end of the blade assembly housing (EAWF16, 1st end; Wu, Fig. 16, fixed tool support 1) and proximate the second end of the blade assembly housing (EAWF16, 2nd end; Wu, Fig. 16, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses the first stationary blade (EAWF16, 1st fixed blade), the second stationary blade (EAWF16, 2nd fixed blade), and the structural arms (EAWF16, structural arms) define a unitary structure with a central opening (EAWF16, opening).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses a central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade 5) and a foil (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade mesh 4) overlying the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade 5), wherein the central moving blade is configured to move along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing with a reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 1, “A central blade that cooperates with the central blade mesh and can reciprocate back and forth to cut is provided below the central blade mesh”), and wherein the foil (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade mesh 4) is attached to a bracket (Wu, Fig. 1, anti-detachment limiting part 43) within the blade assembly housing so as to remain substantially stationary when the central moving blade is moving with the reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 100, “the intermediate blade mesh 4 presses on the intermediate blade 5, thereby obtaining an electric shaver head in which the intermediate blade mesh is fixed relative to the fixed blade”).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 16, intermediate blade 5) extends a distance (EAWF16, distance) between the first end of the blade assembly housing (EAWF16, 1st end) and the second end of the blade assembly housing (EAWF16, 2nd end) along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 16, fixed tool support 1) and is substantially centrally aligned between the top of the blade assembly housing and the bottom of the blade assembly housing (EAWF16, top & bottom; Wu, Fig. 16, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses each of the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade 5) and the foil (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade mesh 4) defines a convex shape toward the front of the blade assembly housing (see also EAWF16).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses the rear of the blade assembly housing comprises a connecting member (Wu, Fig. 1, mounting base 100) configured for connecting the blade assembly with a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle, as shown in Figures 1 to 5, a mounting base 100 is provided on the outer side of the structure”).
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses a hair removal device (WEMTD, Abstract, “a reciprocating linear cutting electric shaver head”) comprising a blade assembly according to claim 1 (Wu Figure 1) and connected to a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle, as shown in Figures 1 to 5…”).
Regarding claim 27, Wu discloses a blade assembly for a hair removal device (Wu Figure 1), the blade assembly comprising: : a blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1) extending from a first end (EAWF1, 1st end) to a second end (EAWF1, 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis), from a top to a bottom (EAWF1, top & bottom), and from a front to a rear (EAWF1, front & rear); a lateral moving blade support (Wu, Fig. 16, moving tool support 61); a lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 16, moving blade 3) comprising a central plate (EAWF16, central plate) attached to the first moving blade support (Wu, Fig. 16, moving tool support 61) and having a top arm (EAWF16, top arm) extending toward the front and top (EAWF16, front & top) of the blade assembly housing and a bottom arm (EAWF16, bottom arm) extending toward the front and bottom (EAWF16, front & bottom) of the blade assembly housing (see also Wu Figure 5), the top arm (EAWF16, top arm) terminating with a top cutting section (EAWF16, 1st moving portion) extending away (EAWF16, top extension) from the longitudinal axis (EAWF16, longitudinal axis) of the blade assembly housing and the bottom arm (EAWF16, bottom arm) terminating with a bottom cutting section (EAWF16, 2nd moving portion) extending away (EAWF16, bottom extension) from the longitudinal housing (EAWF16, longitudinal axis), wherein the lateral moving blade is configured to move along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing with a reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 67, “it is convenient to drive the moving blade 3 and the intermediate blade 5 to reciprocate back and forth”); a stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed blade 2) extending from a first end to a second end (EAWF1, 1st end & 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis), the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 16, fixed blade 2) comprising top wing (EAWF16, top wing) arranged to overly the top cutting section of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3; EAWF5, top wing) and comprising a bottom wing (EAWF16, bottom wing) arranged to overly the bottom cutting section of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3; EAWF5, bottom wing), wherein the top wing and the bottom wing are connected at ends thereof with structural arms (EAWF16, structural arms) so that the structural arms are positioned proximate the first end (EAWF16, 1st end) of the blade assembly housing and proximate the second end (EAWF16, 2nd end) of the blade assembly housing; a central moving blade support (Wu, Fig. 1, blade holder 52; Wu, Fig. 16, intermediate blade 5) positioned on the central plate (EAWF16, central plate) of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 16, moving blade 3); a central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, blade 51) connected to the central moving blade support (WEMTD, Description, para. 68, “with the blade 51 fixed on the blade holder 52”), the central moving blade being configured to move along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing with a reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 67, “it is convenient to drive the moving blade 3 and the intermediate blade 5 to reciprocate back and forth”); and a foil (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade mesh 4) overlying the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, intermediate blade 5), the foil being attached to a bracket (Wu, Fig. 1, anti-detachment limiting part 43) within the blade assembly housing so as to remain substantially stationary when the central moving blade is moving with the reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 100, “the intermediate blade mesh 4 presses on the intermediate blade 5, thereby obtaining an electric shaver head in which the intermediate blade mesh is fixed relative to the fixed blade”).
Regarding claim 28, Wu discloses the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 16, intermediate blade 5) extends a distance (EAWF16, distance) between the first end (EAWF16, 1st end) of the blade assembly housing and the second end (EAWF16, 2nd end) of the blade assembly along the longitudinal axis (EAWF16, longitudinal axis) of the blade assembly housing and is substantially centrally aligned between the top (EAWF16, top) of the blade assembly housing and the bottom (EAWF16, bottom) of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 29, Wu discloses each of the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade 5) and the foil (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade mesh 4) defines a convex shape toward the front of the blade assembly housing (see also EAWF16).
Regarding claim 30, Wu discloses the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 16, fixed blade 2) is configured so that the top wing (EAWF16, top wing), the bottom wing (EAWF16, bottom wing), and the structural arms (EAWF16, structural arms) define a unitary structure with a central opening (EAWF16, opening).
Regarding claim 31, Wu discloses the central moving blade (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade 5) and the foil (Wu, Fig. 11, intermediate blade mesh 4) extend through the central opening of the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 11, fixed blade 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114043533 A by Wu in view of CN 115139344 A by Hashimoto et al. (hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu does not explicitly disclose any angles.
Hashimoto, however, does teach the free ends of the projections (Hashimoto, Fig. 6, bent blade portion 140) are curved or bent (Hashimoto, Fig. 7, bent portion 142) so as to define an angle relative to the rear surface of the stationary blade (see Hashimoto English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “HEMTD”; Description, para. 10, “one of the blade units of the present invention is a blade unit having four or more outer blades extending along a first direction and a sliding member extending along the first direction”), the angle being about 15 degrees to about 130 degrees (HEMTD, Description, para. 57, “By designing the bent blade portion 140 in this shape, the angle formed by the protrusion 141 and the connecting portion 143 becomes an acute angle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the protrusions of Wu to have an angle ranging from 15 degrees to about 130 as taught by Hashimoto in order to reduce damage to the skin and guide hairs for cutting (HEMTD, Description, para. 10, “By designing the bent blade portion 140 in this shape, the angle formed by the protrusion 141 and the connecting portion 143 becomes an acute angle. Therefore, the bent portion 142 located at the top can be used to reduce damage to the skin and effectively lift the lying body hair and guide the body hair between the adjacent blade portions”).
Regarding claim 32, Wu does not explicitly disclose four springs.
Hashimoto, however, does teach a first spring (EAHF12, 1st spring) extending between the rear (see Examiner annotated Hashimoto Figure 12, hereinafter “EAHF12”; rear) of the blade assembly housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 12, unit 230) and the lateral blade support (EAHF12, lateral blade support) proximate the first end (EAHWF12, 1st end) of the blade assembly housing; a second spring (EAHF12, 2nd spring) extending between the rear (EAHF12, rear) of the blade assembly housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 12, unit 230) and the lateral blade support (EAHF12, lateral blade support) proximate the second end (EAHF12, 2nd end) of the blade assembly housing; a third spring (EAHF12, 3rd spring) extending between the central moving blade support (Hashimoto, Fig. 12, unit 230) and the central moving blade (EAHF12, central moving blade) proximate the first end (EAHF12, 1st end) of the blade assembly housing; and a fourth spring (EAHF12, 4th spring) extending between the central moving blade support (Hashimoto, Fig. 12, unit 230) and the central moving blade (EAHF12, central moving blade) proximate the second end (EAHF12, 2nd end) of the blade assembly housing; wherein the first spring and the third spring are coaxially aligned (EAHF12, axis 1) and the second spring and the fourth spring are coaxially aligned (EAHF12, axis 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the hair removal device of Wu to include four springs as taught by Hashimoto in order to aid with the reciprocating motion of the blades (HEMTD, Description, para. 74, “the comb blade force-applying member 231 is a member that applies force to the comb-shaped outer blade 100 relative to the unit platform 230 in the second direction”; HEMTD, Description, para. 75, “The mesh blade force-applying force component 232 is a component that applies force outward in a second direction (Z+ direction in the figure) to the mesh outer blade 210 relative to the unit stage 230”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114043533 A by Wu in view of CN 209175783 U by Wu (hereinafter “Wu-783” for distinction purposes).
Regarding claim 9, Wu does not explicitly disclose a unitary U-shaped moving blade.
Wu-783, however, does teach the first lateral moving blade cutting portion (See Examiner annotated Wu-783 Figure 4, hereinafter “EAW7F4”; 1st moving portion), the second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAW7F4, 2nd moving portion), and the intervening, non-cutting piece are configured as a unitary article having a substantially U-shaped structure (Wu-783, Fig. 7, movable blade body 31) with the first lateral moving blade cutting portion and the second lateral moving blade cutting portion (EAW7F4, 1st moving portion & 2nd moving portion) defined at free ends (EAW7F4, moving free ends) of the U-shaped structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to modify the moving blade of Wu to be a unitary U-shaped structure as taught by Wu-783 as simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the shape of the moving blade of Wu) for another (in this case, the shape of the moving blade of Wu-783) to obtain predictable results (in this case, for a moving blade that is able to reciprocate with a fixed blade; see Wu-783 English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “W7EMTD”; Description, para. 9, “A reciprocating shaver head includes a support 1, a fixed blade 2, and a movable blade 3 capable of reciprocating back and forth relative to the fixed blade”).
Claim 16-17, 20-25, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114043533 A by Wu in view of CH 717690 A1 by Eisenring.
Regarding claim 16, Wu does not explicitly disclose rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle.
Eisenring, however, does teach the connecting member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29 & second cylinder part 31) is configured for rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle (see Eisenring English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “EEMTD”; Claim 1, “the shaving head (15) is pivotable in both directions of rotation relative to the longitudinal axis (47) of the handle (13)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the connecting member of Wu to allow for rotation as taught by Eisenring in order to increase the utility of the hair removal device and allow for shaving in harder-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “Because the bayonet fitting preferably allow the coupling part to be rotated relative to the longitudinal axis of the handle.. the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 17, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 16 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses the rotation is continuous (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove”; EEMTD, Abstract, “a continuous braking of the coupling part (17)”), and wherein the continuous rotation is indexed for stops at one or more specific points (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove, although it is preferred if a stop is formed in the annular groove which limits the rotation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to further modify the connecting member of Wu to allow continuous rotation indexed for stops in order to allow the blade to be locked into certain positions for shaving the hard-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”; EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses a blade assembly for a hair removal device (Wu Figure 1), the blade assembly comprising: a blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1) extending from a first end to a second end (EAWF1, 1st end & 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis), from a top to a bottom (EAWF1, top & bottom), and from a front to a rear (EAWF1, front & rear); one or more movable blades (Wu, Fig. 1, moving blade 3) positioned at least partially within the blade assembly housing; and one or more stationary blades (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed blade 2) positioned at least partially within the blade assembly housing; wherein the rear of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed tool support 1) comprises a connecting member (Wu, Fig. 1, mounting base 100) configured for connecting the blade assembly with a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle, as shown in Figures 1 to 5, a mounting base 100 is provided on the outer side of the structure”). Wu does not explicitly disclose rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle.
Eisenring, however, does teach the connecting member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29 & second cylinder part 31) being configured for rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle (EEMTD, Claim 1, “the shaving head (15) is pivotable in both directions of rotation relative to the longitudinal axis (47) of the handle (13)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the connecting member of Wu to allow for rotation as taught by Eisenring in order to increase the utility of the hair removal device and allow for shaving in harder-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “Because the bayonet fitting preferably allow the coupling part to be rotated relative to the longitudinal axis of the handle.. the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 21, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 20 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses the connecting member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29 & second cylinder part 31) comprises an outer ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, second cylinder part 31) and an inner ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29), the outer ring member being configured for rotation around the inner ring member (EEMTD, Description, para. 9, “After assembly, the coupling part can then be rotated around the first cylinder part using its second cylinder part”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the connecting member of Wu to be configured for rotation as taught by Eisenring in order to increase the utility of the hair removal device and allow for shaving in harder-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “Because the bayonet fitting preferably allow the coupling part to be rotated relative to the longitudinal axis of the handle.. the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 22, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 21 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses the rotation is continuous rotation (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove”; EEMTD, Abstract, “a continuous braking of the coupling part (17)”), and wherein the continuous rotation is indexed for stops at one or more specific points (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove, although it is preferred if a stop is formed in the annular groove which limits the rotation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to further modify the connecting member of Wu to allow continuous rotation indexed for stops as taught by Eisenring in order to allow the blade to be locked into certain positions for shaving the hard-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”; EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 23, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 21 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses one of the inner ring member and the outer ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, second cylinder part 31) comprises a plurality of detents (Eisenring, Fig. 1, third locking lugs 51) and the other of the inner ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29) and the outer ring member comprises a plurality of grooves (Eisenring, Fig. 1, third locking grooves 53), the plurality of detents and the plurality of grooves being arranged so that engagement of the plurality of detents with the plurality of grooves temporarily fixes the rotational arrangement of the blade assembly relative to the handle (EEMTD, Description, para. 24, “The first cylinder part 29 is provided with first locking lugs 33… the first locking lugs 33 interact with the second locking grooves 39…”; EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove, although it is preferred if a stop is formed in the annular groove which limits the rotation”), and wherein a rotational force applied to the blade assembly causes disengagement of the plurality of detents with the plurality of grooves (EEMTD, Description, para. 12, “It proves useful if the coupling part has at least one third spring-loaded locking lug which can be locked into the third locking grooves… Further twisting compresses the spring and allows the third locking lug to slide out of the third locking groove”) so that blade assembly rotates to a different rotational arrangement relative to the handle (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “Advantageously, a ring edge is formed above the ring groove, in which a plurality of third locking grooves are provided. This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to further modify the connecting member of Wu to allow continuous rotation indexed for stops with detents and grooves as taught by Eisenring in order to allow the blade to be locked into certain positions for shaving the hard-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”; EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 24, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 20 above. Furthermore, Wu discloses a lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 1, moving blade 3) arranged within the blade assembly housing and configured to move along the longitudinal axis of the blade assembly housing with a reciprocating motion (WEMTD, Description, para. 67, “it is convenient to drive the moving blade 3 and the intermediate blade 5 to reciprocate back and forth”); and a stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 1, fixed blade 2) extending from a first end to a second end (EAWF1, 1st end & 2nd end) to define a longitudinal axis (EAWF1, longitudinal axis) and extending from an externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed external-facing edge) to an internally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed internal-facing edge), the stationary blade being arranged so that a rear surface (EAWF5, fixed rear surface) thereof is adjacent a front surface (EAWF5, moving front surface) of the lateral moving blade (Wu, Fig. 5, moving blade 3); wherein the externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed externally-facing edge) of the stationary blade comprises a plurality of projections (Wu, Fig. 14, fixed cutting tooth 26) separated by a plurality of slots (Wu, Fig. 14, hair inlet grooves), the each of the plurality of projections defining free ends (EAWF5, fixed free ends) that are curved or bent away from a front surface (EAWF5, fixed front surface) of the stationary blade and toward the rear surface (EAWF5, fixed rear surface) of the stationary blade, the stationary blade (Wu, Fig. 5, fixed blade 2) being arranged so that the externally-facing edge (EAWF5, fixed external-facing edge) extends beyond one of the top (EAWF5, top) or the bottom of the blade assembly housing (Wu, Fig. 5, fixed tool support 1).
Regarding claim 25, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 21 above. Furthermore, Wu discloses a hair removal device (WEMTD, Abstract, “a reciprocating linear cutting electric shaver head”) comprising a blade assembly according to claim 21 (Wu Figure 1) and connected to a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle, as shown in Figures 1 to 5…”).
Regarding claim 33, Wu discloses the rear of the blade assembly housing comprises a connecting member (Wu, Fig. 1, mounting base 100) configured for connecting the blade assembly with a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle, as shown in Figures 1 to 5, a mounting base 100 is provided on the outer side of the structure”). Wu does not explicitly disclose rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle.
Eisenring, however, does teach the connecting member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29 & second cylinder part 31) being configured for rotation of the blade assembly housing relative to the handle (EEMTD, Claim 1, “the shaving head (15) is pivotable in both directions of rotation relative to the longitudinal axis (47) of the handle (13)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the connecting member of Wu to allow for rotation as taught by Eisenring in order to increase the utility of the hair removal device and allow for shaving in harder-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “Because the bayonet fitting preferably allow the coupling part to be rotated relative to the longitudinal axis of the handle.. the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 34, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 33 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses the connecting member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29 & second cylinder part 31) comprises an outer ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, second cylinder part 31) and an inner ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29), the outer ring member being configured for rotation around the inner ring member (EEMTD, Description, para. 9, “After assembly, the coupling part can then be rotated around the first cylinder part using its second cylinder part”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the connecting member of Wu to be configured for rotation as taught by Eisenring in order to increase the utility of the hair removal device and allow for shaving in harder-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “Because the bayonet fitting preferably allow the coupling part to be rotated relative to the longitudinal axis of the handle.. the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 35, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 34 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses the rotation is continuous rotation (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove”; EEMTD, Abstract, “a continuous braking of the coupling part (17)”), and wherein the continuous rotation is indexed for stops at one or more specific points (EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove, although it is preferred if a stop is formed in the annular groove which limits the rotation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to further modify the connecting member of Wu to allow continuous rotation indexed for stops as taught by Eisenring in order to allow the blade to be locked into certain positions for shaving the hard-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”; EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Regarding claim 36, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 34 above. Furthermore, Eisenring discloses one of the inner ring member and the outer ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, second cylinder part 31) comprises a plurality of detents (Eisenring, Fig. 1, third locking lugs 51) and the other of the inner ring member (Eisenring, Fig. 1, first cylinder part 29) and the outer ring member comprises a plurality of grooves (Eisenring, Fig. 1, third locking grooves 53), the plurality of detents and the plurality of grooves being arranged so that engagement of the plurality of detents with the plurality of grooves temporarily fixes the rotational arrangement of the blade assembly relative to the handle (EEMTD, Description, para. 24, “The first cylinder part 29 is provided with first locking lugs 33… the first locking lugs 33 interact with the second locking grooves 39…”; EEMTD, Description, para. 10, “The coupling part can be rotated any distance up to 360 degrees in the annular groove, although it is preferred if a stop is formed in the annular groove which limits the rotation”), and wherein a rotational force applied to the blade assembly causes disengagement of the plurality of detents with the plurality of grooves (EEMTD, Description, para. 12, “It proves useful if the coupling part has at least one third spring-loaded locking lug which can be locked into the third locking grooves… Further twisting compresses the spring and allows the third locking lug to slide out of the third locking groove”) so that blade assembly rotates to a different rotational arrangement relative to the handle (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “Advantageously, a ring edge is formed above the ring groove, in which a plurality of third locking grooves are provided. This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to further modify the connecting member of Wu to allow continuous rotation indexed for stops with detents and grooves as taught by Eisenring in order to allow the blade to be locked into certain positions for shaving the hard-to-reach parts of the body (EEMTD, Description, para. 11, “This allows the coupling part to lock into the third locking grooves when rotated, and the blade part is locked in certain positions on the handle”; EEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the shearing head or blade part can be rotated so that even hard-to-reach parts of the body can be reached by the blade part”).
Claims 19 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114043533 A by Wu in view of CN 211306372 U by Du.
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses the handle includes a power source (WEMTD, Description, para. 62, “The electric shaver head also includes a transmission component 6 that connects the moving blade 3 and the central blade 5 to the power device of the electric shaver”). Wu does not explicitly disclose a controller or a gear.
Du, however, does teach an electrical controller (Du, Fig. 1, circuit board 5), and one or more gears (Du, Fig. 1, gear 10) powerable by the power source (see Du English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “DEMTD”; Claim 1, “A gear (10) is provided on the output shaft of the motor (9)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the hair removal device of Wu to include an electrical control and a gear as taught by Du as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (in this case, adding an electrical control and gear to the hair removal device of Wu for the transmission of power).
Regarding claim 37, Wu discloses a hair removal device comprising a blade assembly according to claim 29 (see Wu Figure 1) and connected to a handle (WEMTD, Description, para. 63, “To facilitate installation and connection with an external handle…”), wherein the handle includes a power source (WEMTD, Description, para. 62, “The electric shaver head also includes a transmission component 6 that connects the moving blade 3 and the central blade 5 to the power device of the electric shaver”). Wu does not explicitly disclose a controller or a gear.
Du, however, does teach an electrical controller (Du, Fig. 1, circuit board 5), and one or more gears (Du, Fig. 1, gear 10) powerable by the power source (DEMTD, Claim 1, “A gear (10) is provided on the output shaft of the motor (9)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the hair removal device of Wu to include an electrical control and a gear as taught by Du as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (in this case, adding an electrical control and gear to the hair removal device of Wu for the transmission of power).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114043533 A by Wu in view of CH 717690 A1 by Eisenring as detailed in the rejection above, and further in view of CN 211306372 U by Du.
Regarding claim 26, the Wu/Eisenring combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 25 above. Furthermore, Wu discloses the handle includes a power source (WEMTD, Description, para. 62, “The electric shaver head also includes a transmission component 6 that connects the moving blade 3 and the central blade 5 to the power device of the electric shaver”). Wu does not explicitly disclose a controller or a gear.
Du, however, does teach an electrical controller (Du, Fig. 1, circuit board 5), and one or more gears (Du, Fig. 1, gear 10) powerable by the power source (DEMTD, Claim 1, “A gear (10) is provided on the output shaft of the motor (9)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the hair removal device of Wu to include an electrical control and a gear as taught by Du as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (in this case, adding an electrical control and gear to the hair removal device of Wu for the transmission of power).
Conclusion
/DEBORAH LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724