DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reading section configured to read” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the scanner) “an airflow generation section that is configured to generate airflow” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the fan) “a rotation member that is configured to rotate” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the platen roller) “a transport assistance section that assists transport” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the drive roller) “upper unit configured to open” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the reading section, platen roller) “a rotation white background section configured to rotate”, “a rotation black background section configured to rotate” (limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the platen roller surface) in claims 1-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2004129139 to Okawa.
Regarding claim 1, Okawa discloses an image reading device comprising (PAGE 3, line 1; document reading device):
a reading section configured to read an image of a medium transported in a transport direction (page 3, line 1; reader unit 19; page 3, lines 4-10, 14-6; page 4, lines 16-17; transport rollers 8 transport document for reading in direction A);
a light transmitting member arranged between a transport path on which the medium is transported and the reading section (page 3, lines 8-12; page 4, lines 16-17, 20-21; see Fig. 1, 5; platen glass 12 (light transmitting member) is arranged as shown in Fig. 1, 5 between document transport path and reader unit 19); and
an airflow generation section that is arranged on an opposite side of the light transmitting member from the reading section (page 4, lines 6-10, 18-21; the platen roller 7 (the airflow generating unit) blows air via holes 401 on the platen roller; in Fig. 1, 5 the platen roller 7 (airflow generation section) is arranged opposite to the platen glass 12 and the reader unit 19), that includes a hole section positioned facing the light transmitting member (page 4, lines 6-8, 15-18; in Fig. 5 the hole 401 is positioned facing the platen glass 12), and that is configured to generate airflow from the hole section toward the light transmitting member (page 4, lines 15-18; air compressor generates airflow that are output via the holes toward the platen glass).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 10, 12-13, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004129139 to Okawa in view of US 20080239416 to Kato.
Regarding claim 2, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a rotation member that is arranged to face the reading section on an opposite side of the light transmitting member from the reading section (see Fig. 1, 5; page 4, lines 5-8, 13-18; platen roller 7 (rotation member) is arranged facing the reader unit 19 on the bottom on opposite side of the platen glass 12 (light transmitting member)) wherein
the airflow generation section is provided to the rotation member (page 4, lines 6-10, 18-21; the platen roller 7 in combination with air compressor 402 form the airflow generating unit that blows air via holes 401 on the platen roller) and
the rotation member is configured to rotate and switch between a first position at which the hole section faces the light transmitting member and a second position at which the hole section stands by at a position farther from the light transmitting member than the first position (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6; page 4, lines 10-12, 15-32; home position sensor detects position of the hole section of platen roller that rotates between position shown in Fig. 5 directly above the glass 12 (first position) and second position shown in Fig. 6 which the hole section is farther from the platen glass than the first position).
However Okawa does not disclose a rotation member that is configured to rotate about a shaft.
Kato discloses a rotation member that is configured to rotate about a shaft (paragraph 142, 152; platen roller 125 (rotation member) rotates about shaft 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa as taught by Kato to provide shaft on the rotation member for rotating the rotation member.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide meshing of gears driven by motor to drive a shaft for rotating the rotation member (paragraph 163).
Regarding claim 3, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein
the rotation member includes a plurality of the hole sections in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 4; page 4, lines 4-12; platen roller includes plurality of holes 401 in longitudinal direction as shown in Fig. 4). Further Kato discloses direction of the shaft (paragraph 142, 152; platen roller 125 (rotation member) rotates about shaft 129).
Regarding claim 4, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein
at the first position, the hole section generates the airflow from a direction orthogonal to the light transmitting member (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6; page 4, lines 10-12, 15-32; home position sensor detects position of the hole section of platen roller that rotates between position shown in Fig. 5 directly above the glass 12 (first position); this first position air flowing direction from hole shown by arrow is orthogonal to the glass 12 (light transmitting member)).
Regarding claim 5, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the airflow generation section overlaps the light transmitting member when viewed from a vertical direction (page 1, lines 12-14, page 4, lines 6-8; platen roller (airflow generation section) is arranged along the main scanning direction width with the glass; thus in vertical direction the platen roller and glass will overlap).
Regarding claim 10, Kato discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a first brush provided on the rotation member and configured to clean the light transmitting member (paragraph 83-84; elastic member can be first brush provided on platen roller (rotation member) that can clean the glass) , wherein
when the rotating member is at the first position, the first brush is in contact with the light transmitting member, and when the rotation member is at the second position, the first brush is not in contact with the light transmitting member (paragraph 100-102; in Fig. 3b the elastic member (brush) is in contact with glass at first position and in Fig. 3a the elastic member is at second position not in contact with glass).
Regarding claim 12, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the rotation member includes background section at positions different from the hole section (page 5, lines 7-11; platen roller 7 includes white background section at positions outside the hole/nozzle area 401 since the white platen roller is scanned for white level correction anywhere but the hole/nozzle area 401). Further Kato discloses a white background section and a black background section and when the medium is to be read, the rotation member rotates to position the white background section or the black background section to face the light transmitting member (paragraph 84, 176, 178; either white member 127 or black member 126 can face the image sensor including the glass 20 (light transmitting member) by rotating the platen roller till it is at the white member or black member position when picking up originals to scan).
Regarding claim 13, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 12, wherein the hole section is arranged at positions other than the background section and hole section being arranged when the rotation is at first position (page 5, lines 7-11; platen roller 7 includes white background section at positions outside the hole/nozzle area 401 since the white platen roller is scanned for white level correction anywhere but the hole/nozzle area 401; see Fig. 5, Fig. 6; page 4, lines 10-12, 15-32; home position sensor detects position of the hole section of platen roller that rotates between position shown in Fig. 5 directly above the glass 12 (first position)). Further Kato discloses a white background section and a black background section (paragraph 84, 176, 178; either white member 127 or black member 126 can face the image sensor including the glass 20 (light transmitting member) by rotating the platen roller till it is at the white member or black member position when picking up originals to scan). However the combined teachings of Okawa in view of Kato does not disclose the hole being arranged between the white background section and the black background section in the transport direction when the rotation member is at the first position. Such a modification would require mere change in location of hole to be in between the two color background sections.
It would have been an obvious design choice to change location of hole to be in between the white and black color background section, the purpose of doing so is to prevent during calibration with the white/black color background a hole section to be scanned together with the background sections by placing it outside the background sections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the hole section between the white and black background sections to prevent during calibration with the white/black color background a hole section to be scanned together with the background sections and cause erroneous calibration.
Regarding claim 21, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a transport assistance section that faces the light transmitting member, that is arranged upstream of the rotation member, and that assists transport of the medium, wherein
the airflow generation section is configured such that, when the rotation member is at a third position different from the first position and the second position, the hole section faces the transport assistance section and the transport assistance section is cleaned by airflow generated from the hole section (page 4, lines 10-12, 15-22; page 5, lines 1-6; in Fig. 5 shows transport assistance section upstream of platen roller 7 which helps guide document to the platen roller and glass 12; the platen roller makes “full rotation” while blowing air which means it will be at a third position wherein the hole 503 will face this transport assistance section during full rotation and can blow and clean the transport assistance section ).
Claim(s) 6-8, 17, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004129139 to Okawa in view of US 20080239416 to Kato further in view US 20080297857 to Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 6, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, further comprising: an air compressor configured to cause the airflow, wherein the air compressor is connected to the airflow generation section via a duct at a longitudinal-direction end section (page 4, lines 6-11; in Fig. 4 the air compressor that causes airflow is connected to platen roller 7 (airflow generation section) via tube 403 (duct) at longitudinal direction end near the home position sensor 404). Further Kato discloses longitudinal-direction end section of the shaft (paragraph 142, 152; platen roller 125 (rotation member) rotates about shaft 129 that has longitudinal end section in Fig. 11-12).
However Okawa does not disclose a fan that is configured to cause the airflow.
Ishikawa discloses a fan that is configured to cause the airflow (paragraph 38; fan used as airflow generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa as taught by Ishikawa to provide a fan as airflow generator.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide simpler mechanism for generating airflow unlike the air compressor of Okawa by using a fan that can provide constant airflow (paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 7, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein
the reading section includes a first reading section (page 3, line 1; reader unit 19),
the light transmitting member includes a first light transmitting member (page 3, lines 8-12; page 4, lines 16-17, 20-21; see Fig. 1, 5; platen glass 12 (first light transmitting member)),
the rotation member includes a first rotation member including a first airflow generation section (page 4, lines 6-10, 18-21; the platen roller 7 (first rotation member) includes holes 401 that blows air (first airflow generation section)).
However Okwawa does not disclose
the reading section includes a second reading section,
the light transmitting member includes a second light transmitting member,
the rotation member includes a second rotation member,
the first reading section, the first light transmitting member, and the second rotation member are provided above the transport path, and
the second reading section, the second light transmitting member, and the first rotation member are provided below the transport path.
Ishikawa discloses the reading section includes a second reading section (paragraph 30-32; scanning assembly 23 (second reading section) between 17a and 17b rollers),
the light transmitting member includes a second light transmitting member (paragraph 66; guide member 33 (second light transmitting member) on scanning assembly),
the rotation member includes a second rotation member (paragraph 32-33, 80; platen roller 21 (second rotation member) between 17a 17b rollers is rotatable),
the first reading section, the first light transmitting member, and the second rotation member are provided above the transport path (paragraph 32-33, 80; scanning assembly 23 between 17b and 17c roller (first reading section), guide member 33 associated with this scanning assembly (first light transmitting member), and platen roller 21 between 17a and 17b (second rotation member) are all provided above transport path shown in Fig. 1), and
the second reading section, the second light transmitting member, and the first rotation member are provided below the transport path (paragraph 32-33, 80; scanning assembly 23 between 17a and 17b roller (second reading section), guide member 33 associated with this scanning assembly (second light transmitting member), and platen roller 21 between 17b and 17c (first rotation member) are all provided below transport path shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa as taught by Ishikawa to provide second image reading section, second rotation member and associated light transmitting member.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide first and second reading unit and first and second rotation members for scanning documents having front and back surfaces (paragraph 32).
Okawa teaches to provide a single rotation member with airflow generation section when there is only one reading section. Ishikawa teaches first and second rotation member associated with first and second image reading sections. However, it is noted that there are a limited number of methods available to a person of ordinary skill in the art to clean the transmitting member. Ishikawa teach having first and second airflow generation section on each of the first and second scanning assemblies (image reading sections). The other option is to have the first and second airflow generation section on each of the rotation members.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second airflow generation section on each of the rotation members. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa in view of Ishikawa to provide the first and second airflow generation section on each of the first/second rotation members to allow for cleaning of the first/second transmitting members.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of Okawa in view of Kato further in view Ishikawa provides first airflow generation section in the first rotation member and second airflow generation section in the second rotation member. Further Kato discloses the image reading device according to claim 7, further comprising:
a lower unit and
an upper unit configured to open and close relative to the lower unit (paragraph 206; upper unit 302 lower unit 301; upper unit 302 is opens and closes as shown in Fig. 21 and Fig. 1 relative to lower), wherein in view of the combined teachings
the lower unit includes the second reading section, the second light transmitting member, first airflow generation section (paragraph 75, 142; image sensor 312 (second reading section) on lower unit 301 includes glass 20 (second light transmitting member); combined teachings provide first airflow generation section in the rotation member of the lower unit),
the upper unit includes the first reading section, the first light transmitting member second airflow generation section (paragraph 75, 142; image sensor 312 (first reading section) on upper unit 302 includes glass 20 (first light transmitting member) combined teachings provide second airflow generation section in the rotation member of the upper unit),
in a state where the upper unit is closed, the second light transmitting member and the second airflow generation section face each other, and the first light transmitting member and the first airflow generation section face each other (in Fig. 1 where it is closed; glass 20 of the lower unit will face the second airflow generation section of upper unit based on combined teachings; glass 20 of the upper unit will face the first airflow generation section of lower unit based on combined teachings), and
in a state where the upper unit is open, the second light transmitting member and the second airflow generation section do not face each other, and the first light transmitting member and the first airflow generation section do not face each other (in Fig. 21 where it is open; glass 20 of the lower unit does not face the second airflow generation section of upper unit based on combined teachings; glass 20 of the upper unit does not face the first airflow generation section of lower unit based on combined teachings).
Regarding claim 17, Kato discloses the image reading device according to claim 7, wherein at least a part of the first reading section overlaps the second rotation member when viewed from the transport direction (paragraph 15, 93; platen roller extends over main scanning direction of the sensor so there is overlap between them; see Fig. 1 wherein first reading section 1 in lower unit 12 overlaps with platen roller 10 (second rotating member) in the lower unit that is upstream of first reading section 1 in transport direction) and at least a part of the second reading section overlaps the first rotation member when viewed from the transport direction (paragraph 15, 93; platen roller extends over main scanning direction of the sensor so there is overlap between them; see Fig. 1 wherein second reading section 1 in upper unit 12 overlaps with platen roller 10 (first rotating member) in the upper unit that is downstream of second reading section 1 in transport direction).
Regarding claim 22, Ishikawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the transport path includes a straight path in which the reading section is arranged, and a curved inversion path located downstream of the straight path (see Fig. 1; paragraph 30-32; conveying path 34 (transport path) includes straight path from roller 17a to roller 17c that includes the scanning assemblies 23; in downstream of the straight conveying path 34 after roller 17c there is curved inverted path) and
a discharge receiving section that receives the medium discharged from the curved inversion path is arranged above the straight path (paragraph 34; discharge roller 19 discharges the scanned document to the outside flat surface (discharge receiving section) shown in Fig. 1 that is above the straight conveying path 34).
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004129139 to Okawa in view of US 20080239416 to Kato further in view of US 5956161 to Takashimizu.
Regarding claim 15, Okawa does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a color reference member provided on the rotation member and a second brush configured to clean the color reference member, wherein the second brush cleans the color reference member by coming into contact with the color reference member when the rotation member rotates.
Takashimizu discloses a color reference member provided on the rotation member and a second brush configured to clean the color reference member, wherein the second brush cleans the color reference member by coming into contact with the color reference member when the rotation member rotates (column 16, lines 42-51; column 17, lines 9-18; backing member is rotatable member that has color reference and a brush can be used to clean the color reference when it contacts the backing member as it rotates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa as taught by Takashimizu to provide color reference member and brush to clean the color reference member.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide cleaning brush for the color reference member to remove any kind of soil matter from the documents transported resulting in accurate image reading (column 17, lines 9-24).
However Takashimizu does not disclose a color reference member having uniform reflectance. However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that color reference member such as patches having uniform reflectance is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By having uniform reflectance, the measure color data of the color reference member will be uniform and resulting in accurate calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takashimizu to provide color reference member having uniform reflectance to provide accurate color calibration.
Regarding claim 16, Okawa discloses the image reading device according to claim 15, wherein the color reference member is arranged on an opposite side of the shaft from the hole section (see Fig. 5; page 5, lines 7-13; white reference member on platen 7 is arranged opposite on surface from hole 503 from shaft).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004129139 to Okawa in view of US 20080239416 to Kato further in view US 20080297857 to Ishikawa further in view of US 20150055157 to Hamano.
Regarding claim 18, Okawa does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 7, wherein the first rotation member and the second rotation member are rotated by a common drive source.
Hamano discloses wherein the first rotation member and the second rotation member are rotated by a common drive source (paragraph 88; first platen roller 5 and second platen roller 5’ have same drive source (motor m4)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Okawa as taught by Hamano to provide a common drive source for the first and second rotation members.
The motivation to combine the references is to reduce number of motors needed to operate the different rollers by having one motor in common for both rotation rollers which can then decrease the wait time for scanning when foreign matter is to be detected by driving both rotation rollers at same time (paragraph 7, 88).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 14, 19-20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
01/22/2026