DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niiyama (US 2021/0078340 A1) in view of Odean et al. (Odean) (US 8,988,716 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Niiyama discloses an ink jet system (e.g., a printing apparatus, a control method of a printing apparatus, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, paragraph 0002) comprising:
a recording device on which a head unit that ejects ink is mounted and that executes a recording operation on a recording medium (e.g., there is provided a printing apparatus including: a transport belt that transports a print medium; a print head that discharges ink to form an image on the print medium, paragraph 0005);
a processing device coupled to the recording device and performing a data process for causing the recording device to execute the recording operation (e.g., The control section 100 includes a processor 110 that executes programs, such as a CPU or an MPU, and a storage section 120, and controls each section of the printer 1. The control section 100 executes various types of processing by cooperation of hardware and software such that the processor 110 reads a control program 121 stored in the storage section 120 and executes the processing. The control program 121 corresponds to an example of the program. The processor 110 functions as an input detection section 111, a print control section 112, a display control section 113, and an area detection section 114 by reading and executing the control program 121, paragraph 66); and
a server configured to be coupled to either the recording device or the processing device (e.g., communicates with an external apparatus of the printer 1 according to the control of the control section 100. The external apparatus of the printer 1 is, for example, a computer or a server apparatus. When the communication section 102 receives image data 123 from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received image data 123 in the storage section 120. When the communication section 102 receives job data 124 for instructing printing from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received job data 124 in the storage section 120, paragraph 70), wherein
the server authenticates a user who causes the recording device to execute the recording operation (e.g., Further, the printer 1 may be configured to receive the control program 121 from a server apparatus or the like via a transmission medium, paragraph 196),
acquires recording operation information about the recording operation from the recording device, the processing device, or a terminal device used by the user, the recording operation information including information about at least one of a condition under which the head unit performs the recording operation, a result of the recording operation performed by the head unit (e.g., The print head 81 receives ink supply from an ink storage mechanism (not illustrated) via an ink supply path 11 and discharges the ink IK onto the print medium W placed on the transport belt 4. The ink storage mechanism is a mechanism that stores the ink IK, and includes, for example, an ink cartridge and an ink tank. The print head 81 has a plurality of nozzle rows NzR, in which a plurality of nozzles for discharging the ink IK are arranged in the transport direction H, arranged in the intersecting direction K on the surface that opposes the print medium W. For example, in order to discharge cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y), and black (K) inks, the print head 81 has four nozzle rows NzR corresponding to each of the four colors, paragraph 50), and an evaluation input by the user after the recording operation (e.g., In the present embodiment, a fabric is used as an example of the print medium W, but, as the print medium W, plain paper, high-quality paper, paper dedicated for ink jet recording such as glossy paper, or the like can also be used in addition to a fabric, paragraph 30),
Niiyama does not specifically disclose determines reward information indicating one or a plurality of rewards based on trigger information including part of or all of the recording operation information, and grants the user one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information.
Odean discloses determines reward information indicating one or a plurality of rewards based on trigger information including part of or all of the recording operation information, and grants the user one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information (e.g., the access criteria 139 may specify that larger purchases are associated with greater printing privileges then relatively smaller purchases. In examples such as those referenced above in which the printing privileges are provided in conjunction with a customer loyalty or rewards program, access rights and associated printing privileges may be cumulative with respect to multiple purchases of the user 125 at one or more associated branches/franchises of the retail establishment, paragraph 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include determines reward information indicating one or a plurality of rewards based on trigger information including part of or all of the recording operation information, and grants the user one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information as taught by Odean. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Odean to increase production.
Regarding claim 2, Niiyama discloses wherein the recording operation information includes condition information about a condition in an environment in which the head unit is used during the recording operation, and wherein the server transmits, to the recording device or the processing device, control information for controlling the recording operation based on the condition information (e.g., The external apparatus of the printer 1 is, for example, a computer or a server apparatus. When the communication section 102 receives image data 123 from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received image data 123 in the storage section 120. When the communication section 102 receives job data 124 for instructing printing from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received job data 124 in the storage section 120, paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 3, Niiyama discloses wherein the head unit includes a drive element, and wherein the control information includes information about a drive signal applied to the drive element (e.g., the print control section 112 controls the printing section 101 according to the job data 124, and causes the printing section 101 to execute printing on the print medium W, paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 4, Niiyama discloses wherein the processing device generates recording data used in the recording operation by executing an image process on image data, and wherein the control information includes information about the image process (e.g., There is no limit to the number of print jobs IJ included in the job group 130 executed by the printer 1, and the job group 130 illustrated in FIG. 5 exemplifies a case including three print jobs 131, 132, and 133. The arrangement order of the print jobs 131, 132, and 133 in the job group 130 indicates the order in which the print control section 112 executes printing. Therefore, the print jobs 131, 132, and 133 are executed by the print control section 112 in the order of arrangement in the job group 130, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 5, Niiyama discloses wherein the recording operation information includes characteristic information about an ejection characteristic of the head unit when the recording operation is executed based on the control information (e.g., paragraph 79, figure 5), and evaluation information about evaluation by the user when the recording operation is executed based on the control information (e.g., The print length information NJ is information for designating the print length that is the length for printing the image designated by the image designation information GJ. The print length designates the size of the print medium W on which the image of the print job 131 is printed in the transport direction H, for example, in units of meters. When the print length is greater than the image size of the image data 123, the print control section 112 repeats the image of the image data 123 and prints the image on the print medium W. Therefore, the image data 123 may be data of an image smaller than the print length, paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 6, Niiyama discloses wherein the trigger information includes at least one of the condition information, the characteristic information, and the evaluation information (e.g., the print jobs 131, 132, and 133 included in the job group 130 include the image designation information GJ, the print length information NJ, and the print condition information JJ, respectively. Therefore, the print control section 112 can print different images in the print jobs 131, 132, and 133 included in the job group 130 with different print lengths and print conditions, paragraph 83).
Regarding claim 7, Odean discloses wherein the trigger information includes at least the condition information and the characteristic information, and wherein
the server determines the reward information by weighting the characteristic information more than the condition information (e.g., In other example implementations, the provider 120 may wish to implement the providing of printer access rights in conjunction with a customer loyalty or rewards program, paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 10, Odean discloses wherein the trigger information includes purchase history information about a purchase history of the head unit by the user (e.g., the device may be a smartphone, and the user may use the application 112 to purchase a ticket (e.g., a movie ticket, or an airline ticket). Then, the user may print the purchased ticket directly to the cloud-aware printer 118, even though the device 108 and/or the operating system 110 may not have the resources, or otherwise be configured, to support native printing in a conventional sense (e.g., may not currently be executing a print driver of any sort associated with the cloud-aware printer 118), paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 11, Odean discloses wherein the trigger information includes introduction history information about an introduction history of another user by the user (e.g., the system 100 of FIG. 1, it may occur that the user 125 arrives at a location of the provider 120 and wishes to use the cloud-aware printer 118. Then, the provider 120 may provide the user 125 with a customized printer identifier 124 for this purpose. For example, as described in detail below, the provider 120 may provide the customized printer identifier 124 as part of a purchase receipt given to the user 125 in conjunction with consummating a business transaction/sale, paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 12, Odean discloses wherein a process of determining the reward information includes calculating a score indicating a degree to which the user contributed to the ink jet system based on the trigger information, and determining the reward information so that the larger the score is, the greater a reward is (e.g., in implementations of the system 100, the provider 120 may have various different criteria for assigning or otherwise providing printer access rights. Such criteria are illustrated in FIG. 1 as access criteria 139. For example, as referenced above and described in detail below, the provider 120 may wish to provide printer access as part of a customer reward program, and may therefore define the access criteria 139 such that customers who make a larger number of purchases, more frequent purchases, and/or more high-value purchases, are provided with a greater amount of printer access rights, paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 13, Odean discloses wherein a first device that is any one of the recording device, the processing device, and the terminal device includes a display device that displays an image, and wherein the first device receives the reward information from the server, and displays, on the display device, an image in which the user is allowed to recognize one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information (e.g., in implementations of the system 100, the provider 120 may have various different criteria for assigning or otherwise providing printer access rights. Such criteria are illustrated in FIG. 1 as access criteria 139. For example, as referenced above and described in detail below, the provider 120 may wish to provide printer access as part of a customer reward program, and may therefore define the access criteria 139 such that customers who make a larger number of purchases, more frequent purchases, and/or more high-value purchases, are provided with a greater amount of printer access rights, paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 14, Odean discloses wherein a first device that is any one of the recording device, the processing device, and the terminal device includes an input device that receives operation information indicating an operation by the user, and wherein a process of determining the reward information includes generating reward candidate information indicating a plurality of rewards that is candidates for a reward to be granted to the user based on the trigger information (e.g., In implementations of the system 100, the provider 120 may have various different criteria for assigning or otherwise providing printer access rights. Such criteria are illustrated in FIG. 1 as access criteria 139. For example, as referenced above and described in detail below, the provider 120 may wish to provide printer access as part of a customer reward program, and may therefore define the access criteria 139 such that customers who make a larger number of purchases, more frequent purchases, and/or more high-value purchases, are provided with a greater amount of printer access rights, paragraph 52),
transmitting the reward candidate information to the first device, receiving, from the first device, selection information indicating one or a plurality of rewards selected by the user using the input device from among a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward candidate information, and determining the selection information as the reward information (e.g., the first business may wish to provide various levels of printing privileges in conjunction with additional purchases of goods or services. In other example implementations, the provider 120 may wish to implement the providing of printer access rights in conjunction with a customer loyalty or rewards program. In still other additional or alternative embodiments, it may occur that the provider 120 may wish to provide a certain minimum level of printing privileges which expire and/or renew in the context of certain defined time periods and/or quantity of print jobs, without necessarily being correlated with purchases of goods or services, paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 17, Niiyama discloses wherein the recording operation information includes condition information about a condition in an environment in which the head unit is used during the recording operation (e.g., the control section may change a height of the carriage with respect to the print medium such that a workpiece gap, which is a distance between the print medium and a nozzle surface of the print head, is greater than the workpiece gap during the printing, and retract the carriage, paragraph 6), wherein
the server transmits, to the recording device or the processing device, one or more pieces of control information for controlling the recording operation based on the condition information (e.g., each functional section of the control section 100 can be configured as the control program 121 executed by the processor 110 as described above, and additionally can be realized by a hardware circuit in which the control program 121 is incorporated. Further, the printer 1 may be configured to receive the control program 121 from a server apparatus or the like via a transmission medium, paragraph 196), and wherein
Niiyama does not specifically disclose one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a third reward related to the number of the one or more pieces of control information transmitted from the server based on the condition information.
Odean discloses one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a third reward related to the number of the one or more pieces of control information transmitted from the server based on the condition information (e.g., in implementations of the system 100, the provider 120 may have various different criteria for assigning or otherwise providing printer access rights. Such criteria are illustrated in FIG. 1 as access criteria 139. For example, as referenced above and described in detail below, the provider 120 may wish to provide printer access as part of a customer reward program, and may therefore define the access criteria 139 such that customers who make a larger number of purchases, more frequent purchases, and/or more high-value purchases, are provided with a greater amount of printer access rights, paragraph 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a third reward related to the number of the one or more pieces of control information transmitted from the server based on the condition information as taught by Odean. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Odean to use for particular application;
Regarding claim 18, Odean discloses wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a fourth reward related to a method of determining a lifespan of the head unit (e.g., the provider 120, as referenced above, may represent a retail establishment or other business or entity which wishes to provide printing privileges for the use and enjoyment of its customers or other users. Consequently, such business or other entities may have vastly different criteria for providing such printer privileges. For example, the first business may wish to provide various levels of printing privileges in conjunction with additional purchases of goods or services, paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 19, Odean discloses wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a fifth reward related to a service provided by a system different from the ink jet system (e.g., the provider 120, as referenced above, may represent a retail establishment or other business or entity which wishes to provide printing privileges for the use and enjoyment of its customers or other users. Consequently, such business or other entities may have vastly different criteria for providing such printer privileges. For example, the first business may wish to provide various levels of printing privileges in conjunction with additional purchases of goods or services, paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 20, Niiyama discloses wherein the recording operation information includes at least the condition information, wherein the server is configured to access a storage device that stores condition information history information having a history of condition information about a condition in an environment in which the head unit is used during the recording operation (e.g., the communication section 102 is configured of communication hardware such as a connector and an interface circuit according to a predetermined communication standard, and communicates with an external apparatus of the printer 1 according to the control of the control section 100. The external apparatus of the printer 1 is, for example, a computer or a server apparatus. When the communication section 102 receives image data 123 from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received image data 123 in the storage section 120. When the communication section 102 receives job data 124 for instructing printing from the external apparatus, the control section 100 stores the received job data 124 in the storage section 120, paragraph 70).
Niiyama does not specifically disclose wherein a process of determining the reward information includes determining the reward information so that a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is not included in the condition information history information is greater than a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is included in the condition information history information.
Odean discloses a process of determining the reward information includes determining the reward information so that a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is not included in the condition information history information is greater than a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is included in the condition information history information (e.g., the provider 120, as referenced above, may represent a retail establishment or other business or entity which wishes to provide printing privileges for the use and enjoyment of its customers or other users. Consequently, such business or other entities may have vastly different criteria for providing such printer privileges. For example, the first business may wish to provide various levels of printing privileges in conjunction with additional purchases of goods or services, paragraph 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include a process of determining the reward information includes determining the reward information so that a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is not included in the condition information history information is greater than a size of a reward when information same as the condition information included in the recording operation information is included in the condition information history information as taught by Odean. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Odean to effectively reward users for their contributions.
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niiyama (US 2021/0078340 A1) in view of Odean et al. (Odean) (US 8,988,716 B1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6 above, and further in view of Mendelsohn et al. (Mendelsohn) (US 2008/0221998 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Niiyama and Odean do not specifically disclose wherein the trigger information includes at least the condition information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the evaluation information more than the condition information.
Mendelsohn discloses wherein the trigger information includes at least the condition information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the evaluation information more than the condition information (e.g., a method of interaction between an electronic theme park experience and a live theme park experience comprising interactively awarding rewards. A unique identifier is assigned to a person; rewards, being goods or services, are awarded to the uniquely identified person for predetermined activities involving transactions at an electronic theme park experience or the live theme park experience. The redemption of rewards for goods or services to the uniquely identified person is for predetermined activities at the other of the electronic theme park experience or live theme park from which the reward was earned, paragraph 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include wherein the trigger information includes at least the condition information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the evaluation information more than the condition information as taught by Mendelsohn. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Mendelsohn to apply for particular application.
Regarding claim 9, Niiyama and Odean do not specifically disclose wherein the trigger information includes at least the characteristic information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the characteristic information more than the evaluation information.
Mendelsohn discloses wherein the trigger information includes at least the characteristic information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the characteristic information more than the evaluation information (e.g., the system includes the display of rewards or benefits obtainable at the live or electronic theme park, the rewards or benefits being earned in the other of the live or electronic theme park. An awards display window is configured to display a plurality of awards for which a player may redeem rewards. The system is configured to increase the rewards in response to an aspect of a player's activity in at least one of the theme park formats, paragraph 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include wherein the trigger information includes at least the characteristic information and the evaluation information, and wherein the server determines the reward information by weighting the characteristic information more than the evaluation information as taught by Mendelsohn. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Mendelsohn to apply for particular application.
Claims 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niiyama (US 2021/0078340 A1) in view of Odean et al. (Odean) (US 8,988,716 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Der Meijs (Van) (US 2002/0122204 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Niiyama and Odean do not specifically disclose wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a first reward related to when purchasing another head unit different from the head unit.
Van discloses wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a first reward related to when purchasing another head unit different from the head unit (e.g., the user has purchased a new print head 26 and/or a new ink cartridge 28 and has installed these functional components in the printer 12, the printer should be configured accordingly, i.e., the pertinent printing parameters stored in the sub-page 36 should be downloaded into the memory 30 of the printer, paragraph 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a first reward related to when purchasing another head unit different from the head unit as taught by Van. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Van to print with new print head unit.
Regarding claim 16, Niiyama and Odean do not specifically disclose wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a second reward related to a warranty for another head unit different from the head unit.
Van discloses wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a second reward related to a warranty for another head unit different from the head unit (e.g., the user has purchased a new print head 26 and/or a new ink cartridge 28 and has installed these functional components in the printer 12, the printer should be configured accordingly, i.e., the pertinent printing parameters stored in the sub-page 36 should be downloaded into the memory 30 of the printer, paragraph 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama to include wherein one or a plurality of rewards indicated by the reward information include a second reward related to a warranty for another head unit different from the head unit as taught by Van. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Niiyama by the teaching of Van to print with new print head unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683