DETAILED ACTION
In view of the appeal brief filed on 06/11/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/UMAR CHEEMA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Appeal breif, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 under 103 have been considered and regarding the applicant arguments of “determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location, and responsive to: (1) receiving the connection notification, (2) determining the physical location, and (3) determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location” are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jorasch et al. (US 2021/0319408) in view of Krishnakumar et al. (US 2025/0119509 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, the limitation “determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location” is indefinite.
The claim does not clearly define the meaning of “previously connected.” It is unclear whether this refers to a prior physical connection, logical connection, network connection, or another type of connection.
Further, the phrase “with a second user account logged in” is ambiguous as to what device or system the second user account is logged in to, and how that login status is relevant to the determination.
Additionally, the phrase “at the physical location” does not clearly indicate whether the location must be identical to a previously determined location or merely associated in some unspecified manner.
The limitation “storing, in a database, using the unique identifier, an assignment of the physical location of the first computing device as the location of the peripheral device” is indefinite
The term “assignment” is vague and does not clearly define the nature of the stored information. It is unclear whether the assignment is a mapping, record, metadata entry, association, or some other data structure.
The phrase “as the location of the peripheral device” is also unclear because it does not specify whether the location is permanent, temporary, inferred, or otherwise.
The phrase “cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment” is indefinite
It is unclear what content is to be displayed, on what device the graphical user interface is presented, and to whom it is presented. The term “the assignment” is additionally unclear because the antecedent basis does not sufficiently define the content being presented.
Regarding all the dependent claims are additionally rejected under the grounds listed above because they inherit the claim language through their dependency claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the 35 U.S.C.112 (b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorasch et al. (US 2021/0319408), hereinafter “Jorasch” in view of Krishnakumar et al. (US 2025/0119509 A1), hereinafter “Krishnakumar”.
With respect to claim 1, Jorasch discloses a computing device for automated remote peripheral device management, the computing device comprising:
a processor (¶0073);
a memory device coupled to the processor, wherein the memory device stores instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0073-¶0074), cause the computing device to perform operations comprising:
discovering, at a management server (¶0097, teaches the central controller may include one or more servers (i.e. management server) located at the headquarters of a company), a peripheral device and assigning a physical location to the peripheral device based upon a connection to a first computing device (¶0059, teaches peripheral devices 107 b and 107 c may be in communication with user device (i.e. first computing device) 106 b, such as by wired connection (e.g., via USB cable), via wireless connection (e.g., via Bluetooth) or via any other connection means, ¶0119, teaches Physical location field 1012 may store an indication of the physical location of the peripheral device);
receiving, over a network, a connection notification from the first computing device with first user account logged in indicating the connection to the peripheral device (¶0100, teaches when another user wishes to communicate with the user, notifications or status updates may be sent to peripheral devices, user devices, smartphones, or to any other devices, ¶0108, teaches User ID field 702 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) for a user. Password field 708 may store a password for use by a user. The password may allow the user to confirm his identity, log into a game, log into an app, log into a website, access stored money or other value, access sensitive information, access a set of contacts, or perform any other function, ¶0133, teaches User 1 ID field 1404 may identify a first user that is part of a connection), wherein the connection notification includes a unique identifier for the peripheral device (¶0117, teaches Peripheral device ID field 1002 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) for each peripheral device);
determining a physical location of the first computing device upon receiving the connection notification (¶0100, teaches when another user wishes to communicate with the user, notifications or status updates may be sent to peripheral devices, user devices, smartphones, or to any other devices, ¶0115, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device (i.e. first computing device)), the physical location determined using one or more of: a location specified for a network-based communication session that the first computing device is participating in, location data about the first computing device, or configuration settings entered by an administrator (¶0476, teaches a room may entail a physical location in which people gather to conduct a meeting, presentation, lecture, class, seminar, government hearing, etc);
determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location (¶0059, teaches peripheral devices 107 b and 107 c may be in communication with user device 106 b (i.e. second user device with second user logged in), ¶0129, teaches Connection ID field 1202 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) for each connection between a first peripheral device and a second peripheral device. Peripheral device 1 ID field 1204 may store an indication of the first peripheral device that is part of the pair of connected devices (i.e. previously connected to second device with second user logged in). Peripheral device 2 ID field 1206 may store an indication of the second peripheral device that is part of the pair of connected devices, ¶0470, teaches motion sensors 6350 a-c capture data about people entering or leaving campus (i.e. physical location) 6300 and transmit data to room controller 8012 or directly to central controller 110, e.g. for the purposes of updating the meeting attendee list or controlling access to the meeting based on a table of approved attendees (i.e. second user logged in)); and
responsive to:
(1) receiving the connection notification (¶0100, teaches when another user wishes to communicate with the user, notifications or status updates may be sent to peripheral devices, user devices, smartphones, or to any other devices),
(2) determining the physical location (¶0115, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device (i.e. first computing device)),, and
(3) determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location (¶0059, teaches peripheral devices 107 b and 107 c may be in communication with user device 106 b (i.e. second user device with second user logged in), ¶0129, teaches Connection ID field 1202 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) for each connection between a first peripheral device and a second peripheral device. Peripheral device 1 ID field 1204 may store an indication of the first peripheral device that is part of the pair of connected devices (i.e. previously connected to second device with second user logged in). Peripheral device 2 ID field 1206 may store an indication of the second peripheral device that is part of the pair of connected devices, ¶0470, teaches motion sensors 6350 a-c capture data about people entering or leaving campus (i.e. physical location) 6300 and transmit data to room controller 8012 or directly to central controller 110, e.g. for the purposes of updating the meeting attendee list or controlling access to the meeting based on a table of approved attendees (i.e. second user logged in), and storing, in a database, using the unique identifier, an assignment of the physical location of the participant's computing device as the location of the peripheral device (¶0124, teaches Configuration ID field 1102 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier), of a given configuration for a peripheral device. Peripheral device ID field 1104 may store an indication of the peripheral device (e.g., a peripheral device ID) to which the configuration applies, ¶0574, teaches the central controller can balance requests and preferences to optimize the allocation of meeting rooms and meeting participants/owners (i.e. physical location of the participants computing device as the location of the peripheral device);
However, Jorasch remain silent on cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment.
Krishnakumar discloses cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment (¶0246-¶0247, teaches when the peripheral device includes a microphone or speaker, in response to any selected policy condition being satisfied, the GUI control may enable client IHS 104A to: (i) mute or unmute the microphone or speaker, (ii) turn the microphone or the speaker on or off, or (iii) change an input level of the microphone or an output level of the speaker… when the peripheral device includes a display, in response to any selected policy condition being satisfied, the GUI control may enable the client IHS to display (or prevent the display of) images in room 100).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jorasch’s store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier), of a given configuration for a peripheral device and optimize the allocation of meeting rooms and meeting participants or owners with cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment of Krishnakumar, in order to facilitate user interaction with the assignment and reducing the need for manual retrieval or interpretation of assignment information(Krishnakumar).
For claim 8, it is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 15, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Jorasch in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15 wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an in-session communication parameter change during a communication session in which the first computing device based upon the determined physical location of the peripheral device (Krishnakumar, ¶0011, ¶0136, ¶0156, teaches provide a user of the client IHS with control over a peripheral device disposed in the conference room… IHS 104A may provide or render a control GUI to the user with a selectable list of parameters or options, wherein the in-session communication parameter change comprises a selection of a GUI); and
causing the in-session communication parameter change during a communication session in which the first computing device is participating in while connected to the peripheral device (Krishnakumar, ¶0011, ¶0129, ¶0136, ¶0156, teaches provide a user of the client IHS with control over a peripheral device disposed in the conference room… upon execution by the processor, may further cause the video bar to determine a location of the client IHS in the conference room…IHS 104A may provide or render a control GUI to the user with a selectable list of parameters or options, wherein the in-session communication parameter change comprises a selection of a GUI).
With respect to claims 4, 11 and 18, Jorasch in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the configuration settings comprise a location provided by an administrator through a user interface (Jorasch, ¶0831, teaches GUI 8900 may be presented to a user by an electronic meeting management platform after the user has entered requirement values for a meeting, e.g., using GUI 8800. At 8902 is indicated a title for the meeting. At 8904 is indicated a subject for the meeting. At 8906 is indicated a date for the meeting. At 8907 is indicated a location (e.g., room) for the meeting), ¶0845, teaches this may occur via GUI screen (e.g., 9200). At step 8233, the electronic meeting management platform may cause, within a predetermined time of the requested meeting, a setting of a physical element in a physical location associated with the requested meeting to be configured to a value consistent with the final configuration).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the location specified for the network-based communication session comprises a location field from an invite of the network-based communication session (Jorasch, ¶0115, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device, ¶0394, teaches the central controller may invite the employee with more free time available on his calendar).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US7554437B2 teaches A room occupancy monitoring system monitors the occupancy status of a plurality of rooms and collects and displays the room occupancy information in real time. The room occupancy monitoring system includes a plurality of room occupancy sensor devices and a server. Each of the room occupancy sensor devices is located in a corresponding one of a plurality of rooms, detects whether the corresponding one of the plurality of rooms is occupied, and generates a first signal indicating whether the corresponding one of the plurality of the rooms is occupied and a second signal indicative of the identity of the corresponding one of the rooms. The server receives the first signal and the second signal from the room occupancy sensor devices through a data communication network and displays room occupancy information of the plurality of the rooms based on the first signal and the second signal on a display device.
US20170244800A1 teaches the example peripheral device implementation system includes a central database, a peripheral service including a peripheral service interface, a communication platform, non-transitory computer-readable medium, and a processing device. The processing device can be configured to establish communication between a cloud environment and the central database, the peripheral service, and a client device. The processing device can be configured to establish communication between a peripheral device and the cloud environment, and automatically perform a self-registration of the peripheral device to the cloud environment. Using the processing device, the client device can be notified of communication with the peripheral device, and a first request can be electronically transmitted from the client device to the cloud environment, from the cloud environment to the peripheral service, and from the peripheral service to the peripheral device to perform a function with the peripheral device.
US10516705B2 teaches techniques for device control for a communication session are described. According to various embodiments, a claim process is performed that establishes a control relationship between a controller and a remote device. The controller causes the remote device to initiate a communication session with a different device using a designated identity. The device outputs a media stream that includes session media exchanged as part of the communication session.
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458