Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are currently amended.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are canceled.
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are pending for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9-10, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9-10, filed 11/25/2025, applicant argues that “Chitroda relates to seamless switching between user devices during online meetings and does not appear to mention the assignment of peripherals to physical locations based on connection history. Krishnakumar discusses automated discovery, mapping, and control of conference room peripherals, but does not disclose updating or assigning a peripheral's location specifically because a different user device connects to it at the same location”.
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Krishnakumar discloses discovering, at a management server because Fig. 5, see peripheral management service 503 as management server, a peripheral device because ¶0055, ¶0207, teaches determine one or more peripheral devices may be coupled (e.g., integrated or external webcams, microphones, speakers, etc.)… one or more peripheral devices available in a conference room (i.e. physical location) and assigning a physical location to the peripheral device based upon a connection to a first computing device because ¶0078, teaches determine the presence, location (i.e. physical location), and/or orientation of IHSs 104A-N (or of an integrated display of IHSs 104A-N as first computing device, ¶0097, teaches positioning agent 502 may be configured to run the positioning algorithms described previously to locate each BT-capable peripheral (e.g., microphones, laser pointers, etc.) in conference room (i.e. physical location) 100) within room 100.
Krishnakumar also discloses determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location because ¶0107, ¶0136, ¶0148, ¶0184 and ¶0189 teaches location mapping service 506 may maintain the location (i.e. physical location) of all IHSs (i.e. second device)/peripherals/devices in across all conference rooms…users within a meeting room boundary are automatically allowed to connect and control meeting room devices (i.e. peripheral devices) on the basis of their physical presence in the room (i.e. physical location). For example, a user may control conference room devices (e.g., video bar 101, display 102, etc.) using physical buttons or by connecting cable 106 to IHS 104A running configuration software… automatically joining a collaboration session with participants in the same meeting room, etc….only known and trusted devices may be added to a conference room…peripheral management service 503 may maintain a list of trusted devices (i.e. second user account logged in) (e.g., IHSs that are part of the same corporate/enterprise) in device and configuration database 505.
For more clarification, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitroda et al. (US 2016/0105472 A1), hereinafter “Chitroda” in view of Krishnakumar et al. (US 2025/0119509 A1), hereinafter “Krishnakumar”.
With respect to claim 1, Chitroda discloses a computing device for automated remote peripheral device management, the computing device comprising:
a processor (¶0022 teaches processor 111);
a memory device coupled to the processor, wherein the memory device stores instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0026, teaches Software may be stored within memory 215 and/or other storage to provide instructions to processor 203 for configuring computing device 201 into a special purpose computing device in order to perform various functions as described herein), cause the computing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, over a network, a connection notification from the first computing device with first user account logged in indicating the connection to the peripheral device (¶0005, teaches during the online meeting, the first computing device may receive a notification (i.e. connection notification) that a second computing device (i.e. peripheral device) has been selected to join the online meeting, ¶0051, teaches authenticate users (i.e. first user account logged in) requesting to join the online meeting; maintain a list of current meeting participants; identify the respective locations of the meeting participants, ¶0071, teaches a notification that the user (i.e. first user account logged in) may join the online meeting from the second computing device may be displayed and presented to the user (block 510). As described above, the second computing device may display and present the notification. In some example implementations, however, the first computing device may additionally or alternatively display and present a notification that the user may join the online meeting from the second computing device), wherein the connection notification includes a unique identifier for the peripheral device (¶0049, teaches identifies the users and their respective computing devices via unique identifiers which include a user ID 414 and a device ID 416, ¶0071, teaches a notification that the user may join the online meeting from the second computing device may be displayed and presented to the user (block 510). As described above, the second computing device may display and present the notification. In some example implementations, however, the first computing device may additionally or alternatively display and present a notification that the user may join the online meeting from the second computing device;
determining a physical location of the first computing device upon receiving the connection notification (¶0005, ¶0051 teaches during the online meeting, the first computing device may receive a notification (i.e. connection notification) that a second computing device has been selected to join the online meeting…identify the respective locations of the meeting participants;), the physical location determined using one or more of: a location specified for a network-based communication session that the first computing device is participating in, location data about the first computing device, or configuration settings entered by an administrator (¶0051, teaches identify the respective locations (i.e. physical locations) of the meeting participants, ¶0062, teaches the application settings 436 may indicate the configuration of the meeting application 420 a at the original computing device);
responsive to receiving the connection notification (¶0058, teaches in response to receipt of the notification from the target computing device 406), determining the physical location (¶0051 teaches respective locations as physical locations), and storing, in a database (¶0026, teaches database 221), using the unique identifier, an assignment of the physical location of the participant's computing device as the location of the peripheral device (¶0049, teaches identifies the users and their respective computing devices via unique identifiers which include a user ID 414 and a device ID 416, ¶0051, teaches identify the respective locations (i.e. physical locations) of the meeting participants);
However, Chitroda remain silent on discovering, at a management server, a peripheral device and assigning a physical location to the peripheral device based upon a connection to a first computing device, determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location, cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment.
Krishnakumar discloses discovering, at a management server (Fig. 5, see peripheral management service 503 as management server), a peripheral device (¶0055, ¶0207, teaches determine one or more peripheral devices may be coupled (e.g., integrated or external webcams, microphones, speakers, etc.)… one or more peripheral devices available in a conference room) and assigning a physical location to the peripheral device based upon a connection to a first computing device (¶0078, teaches determine the presence, location (i.e. physical location), and/or orientation of IHSs 104A-N (or of an integrated display of IHSs 104A-N as first computing device, ¶0097, teaches positioning agent 502 may be configured to run the positioning algorithms described previously to locate each BT-capable peripheral (e.g., microphones, laser pointers, etc.) in conference room (i.e. physical location) 100) within room 100), the discovering and assigning comprising:
determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device with a second user account logged in at the physical location (¶0107, ¶0136, ¶0148, ¶0184 and ¶0189 teaches location mapping service 506 may maintain the location (i.e. physical location) of all IHSs (i.e. second device)/peripherals/devices in across all conference rooms…users within a meeting room boundary are automatically allowed to connect and control meeting room devices (i.e. peripheral devices) on the basis of their physical presence in the room (i.e. physical location). For example, a user may control conference room devices (e.g., video bar 101, display 102, etc.) using physical buttons or by connecting cable 106 to IHS 104A running configuration software… automatically joining a collaboration session with participants in the same meeting room, etc….only known and trusted devices may be added to a conference room…peripheral management service 503 may maintain a list of trusted devices (i.e. authenticated or second user account logged in) (e.g., IHSs that are part of the same corporate/enterprise) in device and configuration database 505.;
cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment (¶0246-¶0247, teaches when the peripheral device includes a microphone or speaker, in response to any selected policy condition being satisfied, the GUI control may enable client IHS 104A to: (i) mute or unmute the microphone or speaker, (ii) turn the microphone or the speaker on or off, or (iii) change an input level of the microphone or an output level of the speaker… when the peripheral device includes a display, in response to any selected policy condition being satisfied, the GUI control may enable the client IHS to display (or prevent the display of) images in room 100).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chitroda’s identify the respective locations with discovering a peripheral device and assigning a physical location to the peripheral device based upon a connection to a first computing device, determining that the peripheral device had been previously connected to a second device at the physical location, cause a display of a graphical user interface that presents the assignment of Krishnakumar, in order to manage peripheral device tracking across different computers and locations (Krishnakumar, ¶0236).
For claim 8, it is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 15, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15 wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an in-session communication parameter change during a communication session in which the first computing device based upon the determined physical location of the peripheral device (Krishnakumar, ¶0011, ¶0136, ¶0156, teaches provide a user of the client IHS with control over a peripheral device disposed in the conference room… IHS 104A may provide or render a control GUI to the user with a selectable list of parameters or options, wherein the in-session communication parameter change comprises a selection of a GUI); and
causing the in-session communication parameter change during a communication session in which the first computing device is participating in while connected to the peripheral device (Krishnakumar, ¶0011, ¶0129, ¶0136, ¶0156, teaches provide a user of the client IHS with control over a peripheral device disposed in the conference room… upon execution by the processor, may further cause the video bar to determine a location of the client IHS in the conference room…IHS 104A may provide or render a control GUI to the user with a selectable list of parameters or options, wherein the in-session communication parameter change comprises a selection of a GUI).
With respect to claims 4, 11 and 18, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the configuration settings comprise a location provided by an administrator through a user interface (Chitroda, ¶0042, teaches Management (i.e. administration) server 310 may be configured to provide user interfaces through which cloud operators and cloud customers may interact with the cloud system, ¶0051, teaches identify the respective locations (i.e. physical locations) of the meeting participants, ¶0062, teaches the application settings 436 may indicate the configuration of the meeting application 420 a at the original computing device).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar, and further in view of Jorasch et al. (US 2022/0276728 A1), hereinafter “Jorasch”.
With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
identifying that the peripheral device is connected to the first computing device during a network-based communication session (Krishnakumar, ¶0217, teaches peripheral management service 503 establishes a session with OTB agent 501 of video bar 101 and/or host IHS 105);
However, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar remain silent on in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location, receiving, during a subsequent network-based communication session, a second notification indicating that a third computing device has connected to the peripheral device identified by the unique identifier; link second session statistics related to the subsequent network-based communication session to the physical location in the database based upon the previously stored assignment between the physical location and the peripheral device; combine the session statistics and the second network-based session statistics to create combined statistics; display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics.
Jorasch discloses in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location (¶0123, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device, ¶0356-¶0357, teaches Field 5128 may allow for various other tracking and/or statistics for related meetings. As will be appreciated, meetings may be associated with other aspects of an organization, such as with a department, team, initiative, goal, or the like… A rating may represent an aggregate of ratings or feedback provided by multiple attendees. A rating may represent a rating of a single session, a rating of a group of sessions (e.g., an average rating of a group of sessions), a rating of a most recent session, or any other part of a meeting).
receiving, during a subsequent network-based communication session, a second notification indicating that a third computing device has connected to the peripheral device identified by the unique identifier (¶0108, teaches Notifications or status updates may be sent to peripheral devices, user devices, smartphones, or to any other devices, ¶0154, teaches Peripheral activity ID field 2202 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) of an activity in which a peripheral device was engaged, ¶0158, teaches Receiving peripheral ID field 2408 may store an indication of the peripheral device(s) that received the message, ¶0340, teaches a meeting may refer to a series of events or sessions);
link second session statistics related to the subsequent network-based communication session to the physical location in the database based upon the previously stored assignment between the physical location and the peripheral device (¶0123, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device, ¶0144, ¶0284, ¶01044 , teaches once a peripheral is assigned to a room, the session metadata or statistics collected while connected are associated with that assigned room, ¶0356-¶0357, teaches Field 5128 may allow for various other tracking and/or statistics for related meetings. As will be appreciated, meetings may be associated with other aspects of an organization, such as with a department, team, initiative, goal, or the like… A rating may represent an aggregate of ratings or feedback provided by multiple attendees. A rating may represent a rating of a single session, a rating of a group of sessions (e.g., an average rating of a group of sessions), a rating of a most recent session, or any other part of a meeting, ¶0524, teaches room identifier field 6402 may store an identifier of a room in which a meeting is scheduled to occur. The room may be a physical room, such as a conference room or auditorium);
combine the session statistics and the second network-based session statistics to create combined statistics (¶0892, ¶0994, ¶01331, teaches metadata or statistics may then be aggregated to provide room statistics i.e. combined statistics across sessions);
display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics (¶0558, teaches FIGS. 67 illustrates a graphical user interface which may be presented to a game player. FIG. 67 illustrates a respective graphical user interface (GUI) as it may be output on a peripheral device, mobile device, or any other device (e.g. on a mobile smart phone) The GUI may comprise several tabs or screens, as illustrated in FIG. 67...this supports GUI presenting combined statistics).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chitroda’s in view of Krishnakumar’s system with in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location, receiving, during a subsequent network-based communication session, a second notification indicating that a third computing device has connected to the peripheral device identified by the unique identifier; link second session statistics related to the subsequent network-based communication session to the physical location in the database based upon the previously stored assignment between the physical location and the peripheral device; combine the session statistics and the second network-based session statistics to create combined statistics; display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics of Jorasch, in order to reuse the location to unify data, statistics are aggregated and then surface the result in a GUI (Jorasch, (¶0892, ¶0994, ¶01331).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device, the method and the non-transitory of claims 1, 8 and 15, however, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar remain silent on wherein the location specified for the network-based communication session comprises a location field from an invite of the network-based communication session.
Jorasch wherein the location specified for the network-based communication session comprises a location field from an invite of the network-based communication session (¶0123, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device, ¶0403, teaches the central controller may invite the employee with more free time available on his calendar, ¶0498, teaches A first user in house 6302 and room 6321 c initiates a request for a game play session with a second user through an enabled peripheral (e.g. mouse, keyboard, headset) by using an established key combination).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chitroda’s in view of Krishnakumar’s system with wherein the location specified for the network-based communication session comprises a location field from an invite of the network-based communication session of Jorasch, in order to define precise location to a concrete field in the meeting invite (Jorasch).
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar discloses the computing device and the method of claims 1 and 14, wherein the operations further comprise:
identifying that the peripheral device is connected to the first computing device during a first network-based communication session (Krishnakumar, ¶0217, teaches peripheral management service 503 establishes a session with OTB agent 501 of video bar 101 and/or host IHS 105),
However, Chitroda in view of Krishnakumar remain silent on in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location within the database; during a second communication session, receiving a second indication that a second participant's computing device has connected to a second peripheral device associated with the physical location; recording second statistics regarding the second communication session; associating the second statistics with the physical location in the database; combine the session statistics and the second session statistics to create combined statistics; and display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics.
Jorasch discloses in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location within the database (¶0123, teaches Physical location field 928 may indicate the physical location of the user device, ¶0356-¶0357, teaches Field 5128 may allow for various other tracking and/or statistics for related meetings. As will be appreciated, meetings may be associated with other aspects of an organization, such as with a department, team, initiative, goal, or the like… A rating may represent an aggregate of ratings or feedback provided by multiple attendees. A rating may represent a rating of a single session, a rating of a group of sessions (e.g., an average rating of a group of sessions), a rating of a most recent session, or any other part of a meeting);
during a second communication session, receiving a second indication that a second participant's computing device has connected to a second peripheral device associated with the physical location (¶0108, teaches Notifications (i.e. second indication) or status updates may be sent to peripheral devices, user devices, smartphones, or to any other devices, ¶0154, teaches Peripheral activity ID field 2202 may store an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) of an activity in which a peripheral device was engaged, ¶0158, teaches Receiving peripheral ID field 2408 may store an indication of the peripheral device(s) that received the message, ¶0340, teaches a meeting may refer to a series of events or sessions);
recording second statistics regarding the second communication session (¶0379, teaches the central controller 110 may process an audio recording of the meeting and determine such things as the number of different people who spoke, the degree to which people were talking over one another, or any other suitable metric, ¶0144, ¶0284, ¶01044 , teaches once a peripheral is assigned to a room, the session metadata or statistics collected while connected are associated with that assigned room, ¶0356-¶0357, teaches Field 5128 may allow for various other tracking and/or statistics for related meetings. As will be appreciated, meetings may be associated with other aspects of an organization, such as with a department, team, initiative, goal, or the like… A rating may represent an aggregate of ratings or feedback provided by multiple attendees. A rating may represent a rating of a single session, a rating of a group of sessions (e.g., an average rating of a group of sessions), a rating of a most recent session, or any other part of a meeting);
associating the second statistics with the physical location in the database (¶0144, ¶0284, ¶01044 , teaches once a peripheral is assigned to a room, the session metadata or statistics collected while connected are associated with that assigned room, ¶0524, teaches room identifier field 6402 may store an identifier of a room in which a meeting is scheduled to occur. The room may be a physical room, such as a conference room or auditorium);
combine the session statistics and the second session statistics to create combined statistics (¶0892, ¶0994, ¶01331, teaches metadata or statistics may then be aggregated to provide room statistics i.e. combined statistics across sessions); and
display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics (¶0558, teaches FIGS. 67 illustrates a graphical user interface which may be presented to a game player. FIG. 67 illustrates a respective graphical user interface (GUI) as it may be output on a peripheral device, mobile device, or any other device (e.g. on a mobile smart phone) The GUI may comprise several tabs or screens, as illustrated in FIG. 67...this supports GUI presenting combined statistics).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chitroda’s in view of Krishnakumar’s system with in response, logging session statistics of the network-based communication session and linking the session statistics to the physical location within the database; during a second communication session, receiving a second indication that a second participant's computing device has connected to a second peripheral device associated with the physical location; recording second statistics regarding the second communication session; associating the second statistics with the physical location in the database; combine the session statistics and the second session statistics to create combined statistics; and display a graphical user interface that presents the combined statistics of Jorasch, in order to reuse the location to unify data, statistics are aggregated and then surface the result in a GUI (Jorasch, (¶0892, ¶0994, ¶01331).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458