Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-7, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaubard (US 11481751 B1) in view of Hecht (US Pub. No: 20080000124) and further in view of Saville (US 4722483 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4:
Chaubard (US 11481751 B1) discloses a system for interacting with a user, the system (in Fig. 1B) comprising: a computing device (i.e. 20, see Fig. 2); a display (display screen on 20 or Kiosk 82 in Fig. 3); and at least one device (i.e. conveyor 10 with divider 28 and camera 16) for interaction with a user (Column 4, lines 57-67), the device comprising:
a communication module (e.g. (Bluetooth) configured to communicate with said computing device over a wireless connection (column 5, lines 33-67);
a motion sensor arrangement configured to detect motion (perceive movement of the conveyor 10 detect by camera sensor) of the device within a retail checkout environment and provide motion data (product movement on conveyor run or belt) pertaining to the device (column 4, lines 15-57, column 5, lines 33-67); at least one signaling element (audible alert, display product information etc.) for providing an indication to a user of the device (column 7, lines 50-67, column 8, lines 20-50 and Fig.4- 5), a controller unit (control of the cashier’s computer) coupled to the communication module ((column 7, lines 50-67, column 8, lines 20-50 and Fig.4- 5), ), the motion sensor arrangement and the at least one signaling element ((column 7, lines 50-67, column 8, lines 20-50 and Fig.4- 5), wherein the controller unit is configured to: receive the motion data pertaining to the device from (e.g. 28 corresponding to 24) the arrangement (based on camera); analyses the motion data pertaining to the device (column 4, lines 24-577); transmit a result of said analysis to said computing device, via the communication module (column 5, lines 33-67, Fig. 4-5) (cameras, for imaging all items from a plurality of different angles and different positions as the item on the conveyor. For a given item, if multiple camera images are obtained, they are matched by system software so that information from all images is combined for use in identifying the item as the movement of the conveyer . FIG. 4 is a basic flow chart illustrating user experience in the checkout system of the invention. At the block 30 the customer selects desired items from the store shelves. The customer then places the items on the conveyor 10. The customer follows instructions, which can be on the display scree 20, the customer watches the screen 20, or audible alerts could be provided, in the case of any occluded or stacked products, any customer personal items on the belt or table, or any items the system is not able to identify),
receive information about an indication (product information) to be provided to a user from said computing device via the communication module (e.g. Bluetooth module) (column 5, lines 33-67, column 7, lines 50-67), and provide an indication to a user (audible alert) via a signalling element based at least in part on said received information (see Fig. 4, column 7, lines 50-67), said computing device (20) being arranged to display information on said display to a user based on information received from said device for interaction with a use Column 4, lines 57-67, column 5, lines 33-67 ; and a check out divider 28.
Note that Chaubard discloses least one signaling element for providing haptic output to the user , and wherein the divider is a device for interaction with a user is a checkout divider employed in a retail environment.
Hecht (US 20080000124 A1) discloses divider is a device (100, Fig. 1) for interaction with a user is a checkout divider employed in a retail environment ([0024-0025], also in claim 10, Hetch discloses a conveyor belt divider with stabilizing elements, wherein said stabilizing element is configured to bear and to display information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaubard with the teaching of Hecht, thereby holding consumer items ; placing consumer items within said holding channel for display by said conveyor belt divider).
Chaubard in view of Hecht does not specifically disclose at least one signaling element for providing haptic output to the user.
Saville (US 4722483 A) discloses at least one signaling element (28) for providing haptic output (vibration) to the user (see Fig. 3, column 5, lines 33-49) (the vibratory mechanism may be supplemented by an upstanding divider 44, positioned within the conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaubard with the teaching of Hecht and Saville, thereby suitably handling the items on the conveyors.
Regarding claim 5:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and Saville discloses: at least one display element (140) in said device (100) for interaction with a user configured to render information received from the computing device (see Hecht, [0024-0025, Fig. 1], and Chaubard (column 4, lines 37-67, Fig. 1B); and
wherein the controller (controller for 100) unit of for user interaction is configured to: receive the information to be rendered from the computing device, via the communication module (see Chaubard, column 4, lines 37-67, Fig. 5, column 30-50);
receive the motion data pertaining to the device from the motion sensor arrangement; analyze the motion data pertaining to the device; based upon the analyzed motion data
(see, Chaubard, column 4, column 7, lines 50-67, column 8, lines 20-50 and Fig.4- 5);
select at least one of the at least one display element (140, see Fig. 1) to render the information, based upon the analyzed motion data; and render the information at the selected at least one display element (see Hecht, [0005] discloses holds items that may be purchased at the checkout counter. Such items may be, but are not limited to, "impulse" items that otherwise are kept on shelves adjacent or immediately across from the belt and which a customer sees during checkout and may buy on "impulse"). Same motivation as applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 2:
Chaubard discloses wherein said indication is a light signal, a sound signal, or a vibration signal (audible alert) (see Fig. 4, column 7, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 3:
Chaubard in view of Hetch and Saville discloses a device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one display element (140) configured to render the information (see Hetch, [0024-0025], Fig. 1); and
Chaubard discloses wherein the controller unit is configured to:
receive the information to be rendered from the remote device (20), via the communication module (See Chaubard, column 4, lines 37-50 and Column 5, lines 30-50, Fig. 4-5); receive the motion data pertaining to the device (i.e. devider 28 corresponding to camera 16) from the motion sensor arrangement (camera sensor) analyze the motion data pertaining to the device; based upon the analyzed motion data; (see, Chaubard, column 4, column 7, lines 50-67, column 8, lines 20-50 and Fig.4- 5);
select at least one of the at least one display element (140) to render the information, and render the information at the selected at least one display element (see Hecht, [0005] discloses holds items that may be purchased at the checkout counter. Such items may be, but are not limited to, "impulse" items that otherwise are kept on shelves adjacent or immediately across from the belt and which a customer sees during checkout and may buy on "impulse"). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6:
Chauber in view of Hetch and Saville further discloses at least one display element (140) is physically integrated within or mounted directly on the checkout divider (100). (see Hecht, [0016, 0024-0025, Fig. 1], and Chaubard (column 4, lines 37-67, Fig. 1B). Same motivation as recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 7:
Chauber in view of Hetch and Saville discloses wherein at least one active electronic component of the controller unit or signaling element is embedded within the body of the checkout divider (see Saville, Fig. 3, column 5, lines 33-49) (same motivation as applied to claim 4).
Regarding claim 15:
Chaubard discloses multiple checkout divider (28, see Fig. 2), and
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville discloses wherein the computing device is further configured to receive and store historical motion data from checkout dividers for centralized user analytics (the motion data to determine the movement and the orientation of the device with respect to the conveyor , see Hetch [0024] ). Same motivation as applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 17:
Chaubar in view of Hetch and Sallevi discloses wherein the controller unit of the device is configured to synchronize signaling (i.e. vibration ) or display events in real time between multiple checkout dividers using the computing device as a master control (see Sallevi Fig. 3, column 5, lines 33-49) (the vibratory mechanism may be supplemented by an upstanding divider 44, positioned within the conveyor). Same motivation as applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18:
Chaubard discloses wherein the checkout divider further comprises environmental sensors for monitoring ambient temperature, humidity, or usage statistics (action), and transmitting such data to the computing device ( where the system recognizes several possibilities for an item, each with a below-threshold possibility, the system can put on the screen several “guesses”. The customer is prompted to confirm the identity of a product, from two or more choices (block 36), and the customer makes a confirmation (block 37) on the touchscreen 20 (or using the keypad) to identify the correct product. Alongside the choices on the screen will be an image of the product in doubt) ((column 5, lines 33-67, Fig. 4-5)).
Regarding claim 19:
Chaubard discloses wherein the device for interaction with a user is configured to detect unauthorized movement outside a defined checkout area and notify the computing device to generate an alert (see column 5, lines 33-67, Fig. 4-5) (cameras, for imaging all items from a plurality of different angles and different positions as the item progresses on the conveyor. For a given item, if multiple camera images are obtained, they are matched by system software so that information from all images is combined for use in identifying the item. FIG. 4 is a basic flow chart illustrating user experience in the checkout system of the invention. At the block 30 the customer selects desired items from the store shelves. The customer then places the items on the conveyor 10. The customer follows instructions, which can be on the display scree 20, the customer watches the screen 20, or audible alerts could be provided, in the case of any occluded or stacked products, any customer personal items on the belt or table, or any items the system is not able to identify beyond the defind checkout area).
2. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaubard (US 11481751 B1) in view of Hecht (US Pub. No: 20080000124) and further in view of Saville and Crockett (US 20240327130 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Chauber in view of Hetch and Sallevi does not specifically disclose wherein the motion sensor arrangement comprises at least one of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer.
Crockett (US 20240327130 A1) discloses wherein the motion sensor arrangement comprises at least one of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer ([0026, 0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaubard with the teaching of Hecht and Saville and Crocket , and thereby providing accurate motion information in the movable conveyor.
Regarding claim 9:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville and Cockett discloses a memory unit configured to store motion data for subsequent analysis of user interaction patterns ([0026, 0015]). Same motivation as applied to claim 8
3. Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaubard (US 11481751 B1) in view of Hecht (US Pub. No: 20080000124) and further in view of Saville and Klopfer (US 20030233775).
Regarding claim 10:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville does not septically disclose wherein the checkout divider comprises a rechargeable battery configured to power the controller unit and the motion sensor arrangement.
Klopfer (US 20030233775) discloses wherein the checkout divider comprises a rechargeable battery configured to power the controller unit and the motion sensor arrangement ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaubard with the teaching of Hecht and Saville and Klopfer, and thereby high efficient data transmission in the conveyor.
Regarding claim 11:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville does not specifically disclose wherein the controller unit is configured to synchronize indications or display content with one or more additional checkout dividers within the retail environment.
Klopfer (US 20030233775) discloses wherein the controller unit is configured to synchronize indications or display content (advertized) with one or more additional checkout dividers within the retail environment ([0026]). Same motivation as applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville and Klopfer discloses wherein the controller unit is configured to determine, based on the analyzed motion data, whether the device is not in use and, in response, place the device in a low-power standby mode (sleep) for energy savings (see Klopfer [0034]). Same motivation as applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13:
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville and Klopfer discloses wherein the display is an external display and/or the divider further comprises another display arranged on the checkout divider (see abstract), and wherein the external display and/or the another display is configured to present dynamic advertising content (i.e. changeable) received from the computing device based on real-time user interactions (see Klopfer [0026-0027]). Same motivation as applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 14
Chaubard in view of Hecht and further in view of Saville and Klopfer discloses wherein at least some active electronic components (LED) of the device for interaction with a user are embedded within the body of the checkout divider (i.e. LED's 36 serve to call the attention of the customer and surrounding observers. As the customer's merchandise approaches the cashier's station to the divider 10), Klopfer see ([0031]). Same motivation as applied to claim 10.
4. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaubard (US 11481751 B1) in view of Hecht (US Pub. No: 20080000124) and further in view of Saville (US 4722483 A) and further in view of Berneburg (DE 202020102207).
5. Regarding claim 16:
Chaubard does not specifically discloses wherein the device for interaction with a user comprises a wireless power receiver for inductive charging of the checkout divider.
Berneburg (DE 202020102207) discloses wherein the device for interaction with a user comprises a wireless power receiver for inductive charging of the checkout divider ( see page 22 of 138, This object is achieved according to the invention in a goods divider of the type mentioned in that the electronic component comprises a screen for displaying static and / or moving images and the goods divider has a charging device for charging the battery by means of wireless transmission of electrical energy. Advertising messages can be changed as often as required via the screen without having to laboriously replace the components of the divider.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaubard with the teaching of Hecht and Saville and Berneburg (DE 202020102207), thereby the wireless charging of the accumulator significantly simplifies the operation of the product divider.
Responds to applicant argument
6. Applicant’s argument filed on 10/17/2025 has been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection. More specifically the Applicant argues that Chaubard in view of Hetch fails to meet the limitations as recited in claim 1 and 4. However, Examiner rejects the claims based on amendments the new references. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621