This communication is response to claims filed on 03/20/24.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 07/30/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
5. The drawings filed on 03/20/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “TRANSMITTING A BEAM REPORT BASED ON A CHANNEL MEASUREMENT AND CROSS-LINK INTERFERENCE MEASUREMENT OF A REFERENCE SIGNAL”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
7. Claims 9-13 are objected to because of minor informalities:
8. Claim 9, in part, recites, “…CLI…in line 7. For clarity, it is suggested to fully describe an acronym when reciting for the first time in the claim.
9. Claims 10-13 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-5, 9-11 & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xincai et al. (hereinafter referred as Xincai) International Publication No. WO 2023/240639 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1: Xincai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device), comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device includes a memory 1220); and one or more processors (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device includes processor 1210), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
receive a reference signal (See Para. 0090 & 170; the terminal device determines to detect which RS. The terminal device receives from a network device a CLI measurement configuration that indicates a set of CLI reference signals (RS)); and
transmit a beam report that is based at least in part on a channel measurement of the reference signal and one or more interference measurements of the reference signal that include a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement (See Para. 0092 & 0097-0098 & 0153; the first terminal device 410 may report the determined receive beams having the largest or smallest measurement to the first network device 430 for avoiding the CLI and one or more interference measurement of the reference signal. “using a receive beam sweep, the first terminal device performs measurement on the at least one of the communication resource or the set of CLI RSs”. The first terminal device 410 determines a fourth number of (for example, K) receive beams which correspond to the N smallest measurement values. In turn, the first terminal device 410 may report the respective N TCI state IDs of the N receive beams to the first network device 430 in the CLI measurement report).
Regarding claim 2: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein to transmit the beam report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the beam report with CLI information associated with the CLI measurement (See Para. 0092 & 0097-0098 & 0153; the first terminal device reports the respective N TCI state IDS of the N receive beams to the first network device in the CLI measurement report).
Regarding claim 3: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the CLI measurement is based at least in part on an inter-UE CLI measurement resource (See Para. 0114; inter terminal device CLI measurement).
Regarding claim 4: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes a Layer 1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio beam report (See Para. 0065; CLI RS resource ID corresponding to each sub-band is reported. Such as the CSI RS Indicator (CRI) or SSB-resource ID with the highest Layer 1-RSRP, Layer 1-SINR or Layer 1-RSSI for subband1).
Regarding claim 5: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes fields to report channel measurements and CLI information for multiple beams (See Para. 0107; a new bit field such as CLI request is added in DCI format 0_1).
Regarding claim 9: Xincai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device), comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device includes a memory 1220); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a terminal device includes processor 1210), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
receive a reference signal (See Para. 0090 & 170; the terminal device determines to detect which RS. The terminal device receives from a network device a CLI measurement configuration that indicates a set of CLI reference signals (RS)); and
transmit a beam report, based at least in part on a channel measurement of the reference signal, with CLI information that is based at least in part on a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement (See Para. 0092 & 0097-0098 & 0153; the first terminal device 410 may report the determined receive beams having the largest or smallest measurement to the first network device 430 for avoiding the CLI and one or more interference measurement of the reference signal. “using a receive beam sweep, the first terminal device performs measurement on the at least one of the communication resource or the set of CLI RSs”. The first terminal device 410 determines a fourth number of (for example, K) receive beams which correspond to the N smallest measurement values. In turn, the first terminal device 410 may report the respective N TCI state IDs of the N receive beams to the first network device 430 in the CLI measurement report).
Regarding claim 10: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the CLI measurement is based at least in part on an inter-UE CLI measurement resource (See Para. 0114; inter terminal device CLI measurement).
Regarding claim 11: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes a Layer 1 reference signal received power beam report (See Para. 0065; CLI RS resource ID corresponding to each sub-band is reported. Such as the CSI RS Indicator (CRI) or SSB-resource ID with the highest Layer 1-RSRP, Layer 1-SINR or Layer 1-RSSI for subband1).
Regarding claim 14: Xincai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity ) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a network device), comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a network device includes memory 1220); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0180-0181; a network device includes processor 1210), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit a reference signal for a beam (See Para. 0090 & 170; a network device transmits a CLI measurement configuration to the terminal device that indicates a set of CLI reference signals (RS)); and
receive a beam report that is based at least in part on a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement of the reference signal or that is received with CLI information that is based at least in part on the CLI measurement (See Para. 0092 & 0097-0098 & 0153; the first terminal device 410 may report the determined receive beams to the network device having the largest or smallest measurement to the first network device 430 for avoiding the CLI and one or more interference measurement of the reference signal. “using a receive beam sweep, the first terminal device performs measurement on the at least one of the communication resource or the set of CLI RSs”. The first terminal device 410 determines a fourth number of (for example, K) receive beams which correspond to the N smallest measurement values. In turn, the first terminal device 410 may report the respective N TCI state IDs of the N receive beams to the first network device 430 in the CLI measurement report).
Regarding claim 15: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes a Layer 1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio beam report (See Para. 0065; CLI RS resource ID corresponding to each sub-band is reported. Such as the CSI RS Indicator (CRI) or SSB-resource ID with the highest Layer 1-RSRP, Layer 1-SINR or Layer 1-RSSI for subband1).
Regarding claim 16: Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes a Layer 1 reference signal received power beam report (See Para. 0065; CLI RS resource ID corresponding to each sub-band is reported. Such as the CSI RS Indicator (CRI) or SSB-resource ID with the highest Layer 1-RSRP, Layer 1-SINR or Layer 1-RSSI for subband1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 12-13 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xincai, in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0351838 A1.
Regarding claims 12 & 19: Xincai discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the beam report includes a selection of a set of beams that is based at least in part on a signal strength and not on a CLI strength of each beam.
However, Zhang from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the beam report includes a selection of a set of beams that is based at least in part on a signal strength and not on a CLI strength of each beam (See Para. 0074; the UE is configured to select CSI-RS beams based on measurement procedure (i.e., signal strength measured at the UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the beam report includes a selection of a set of beams that is based at least in part on a signal strength and not on a CLI strength of each beam as taught by Zhang in the system of Xincai to enhance spectral efficiency per cell or per UE, and allow for a more efficient utilization of resources (See Para. 0006; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 13 & 20: The combination of Xincai and Zhang disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes a selection of a set of beams that is based at least in part on a signal strength and a CLI strength of each beam (See Para. 0072 & 0072; transmit measurement reports based at least in part on the CLI measurements. For example, the measurement reports may include an SRS reference signal received power (RSRP) report, a CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the beam report includes a selection of a set of beams that is based at least in part on a signal strength and a CLI strength of each beam as taught by Zhang in the system of Xincai to enhance spectral efficiency per cell or per UE, and allow for a more efficient utilization of resources (See Para. 0006; lines 2-3).
14. Claims 6-8 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xincai, in view of Li et al. (hereinafter referred as Li) US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0167902 A1.
Regarding claim 6: Xincai discloses the multiple beams are two beams (See FIG. 4; beams 410, 415, 420 & 425), but fails to disclose wherein seven bits are used for reporting base information and four bits are used for reporting differential information.
However, Li from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein seven bits are used for reporting base information (corresponding to first indication information) and four bits are used for reporting differential information (corresponding to second indication information) (See Para. 0067-0068; the CSI field has a total of 6 bits. The CSI report includes first indication information and second indication information. where the first indication information is used to indicate a CLI measurement value corresponding to the CLI measurement resource, and the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI measurement value meets a first condition or the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI report includes the first indication information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein seven bits are used for reporting base information and four bits are used for reporting differential information as taught by Li in the system of Xincai to provide a method for measuring and reporting cross-link interference (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Xincai and Li disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the multiple beams are three beams (See FIG. 4; beams 410, 415, 420 & 425), and wherein four or five bits are used for reporting base information and two bits are used for reporting differential information (See Li; Para. 0067-0068; the CSI field has a total of 6 bits. The CSI report includes first indication information and second indication information. where the first indication information is used to indicate a CLI measurement value corresponding to the CLI measurement resource, and the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI measurement value meets a first condition or the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI report includes the first indication information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein four or five bits are used for reporting base information and two bits are used for reporting differential information as taught by Li in the system of Xincai to provide a method for measuring and reporting cross-link interference (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Xincai and Li disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Xincai discloses an apparatus, wherein the multiple beams include three or more beams (See Li; FIG. 4; beams 410, 415, 420 & 425), and wherein three bits are used for reporting CLI information (See Li; Para. 0067-0068; the CSI field has a total of 6 bits. The CSI report includes first indication information and second indication information. where the first indication information is used to indicate a CLI measurement value corresponding to the CLI measurement resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein three bits are used for reporting CLI information as taught by Li in the system of Xincai to provide a method for measuring and reporting cross-link interference (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Xincai and Li disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Li discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes fields to report channel measurements and CLI information for two beams, and wherein four, five, or seven bits are used for reporting base information and two or four bits are used for reporting differential information (See Li; Para. 0067-0068; the CSI field has a total of 6 bits. The CSI report includes first indication information and second indication information. where the first indication information is used to indicate a CLI measurement value corresponding to the CLI measurement resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the beam report includes fields to report channel measurements and CLI information for two beams, and wherein four, five, or seven bits are used for reporting base information and two or four bits are used for reporting differential information as taught by Li in the system of Xincai to provide a method for measuring and reporting cross-link interference (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Xincai and Li disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Li discloses an apparatus, wherein the beam report includes fields to report channel measurements and CLI information for three or more beams, and wherein three bits are used for reporting CLI information (See Li; Para. 0067-0068; the CSI field has a total of 6 bits. The CSI report includes first indication information and second indication information. where the first indication information is used to indicate a CLI measurement value corresponding to the CLI measurement resource, and the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI measurement value meets a first condition or the second indication information is used to indicate whether the CLI report includes the first indication information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the beam report includes fields to report channel measurements and CLI information for three or more beams, and wherein three bits are used for reporting CLI information as taught by Li in the system of Xincai to provide a method for measuring and reporting cross-link interference (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Liu et al. 2023/0100135 A1 (Title: Measurement for wireless communication network) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Cha et al. 2022/0312342 A1 (Title: Method for controlling transmission power of sounding preference signal…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Zhang et al. 2021/0289374 A1 (Title: Measuring cross link reference) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469