DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Drawings objected to, just how the recited parts and the wire are to fit together is unclear. While extensively discussed the combined features are not shown therefore first how the parts are used is unclear. The use of press bar 253 and of movable part 100m are also unclear. The end of wire W at P1 must be exposed to enable it use. However, the figures do not show a fully exposed on cable end. Figure 12 by showing only a partial exposed end provides further confusion. A drawing should be added like that of Ishii cite figure 5B to show a side view of parts 100, 200 assembled and including the wire W with wire and P1 positioned to engage mating contacts. Specification also objected to the functions of parts 100M and of press part 253 are unclear and should be further discussed including use of part 100M.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The purpose of the movable block 100M and the nature of its structure are not adequately disclosed and just the part is to be made and used is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20210141841 in view of Oga (U. S. 2023/003582).
Regarding claim 1, KR discloses a connector a detection wire 10 configured to transmit information; a connector 500 comprising a rim edge member (at end section of connector 500 closer to detection wire 10) and an accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05), the rim edge member (at end section of connector 500 closer to detection wire 10) surrounding an open end 03 configured to receive a connection end (see figure 2) of the detection wire 10, the accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05) being recessed from the rim edge member (at end section of connector 500 closer to detection wire 10) in a first direction X to enclose the connection end (see figure 2); and a retainer 550 extending across the detection wire 10 in a second direction Y crossing the first direction X and coupled to the open end 03 of the connector from the outside such that the retainer 550 is between the connector and the detection wire 10 in a third direction Z crossing both the first direction X and the second direction Y. KR discloses the claimed invention except for a battery pack (battery cell) and use a detection wire. Oga discloses use of a battery pack 111 with a battery cell 112 and use of a detection wire 30 to transmit battery information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify KR to provide such feature as taught by Oga so as to provide for electrical use of the wire in a battery system.
Regarding claim 2, KR discloses the rim edge member (see end section of connector 500 closer to detection wire 10 in figure 2) comprises a first upper block 540a and a first lower block 540a facing each other with the open end 03 therebetween in the third direction Z, wherein the first upper block 540a is formed stepwise upwardly from a second upper block 540a of the accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05) , and wherein the first lower block 540a is formed stepwise downwardly from a second lower block of the accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05)
Regarding claim 3, KR discloses the rim edge member (see end section of connector 500 closer to detection wire 10 in figure 2) further comprises a pair of side blocks 540 that connect the first upper block 540a and the first lower block 540a to each other to surround the open end 03, and wherein each of the pair of side blocks 540 comprises a locking portion 540a configured to be hook-coupled to the retainer 550.
Regarding claim 23, KR discloses a connector assembly comprising: a connector 500 comprising a rim edge member (at end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05) and an accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05), the rim edge member (see at end section of connection 500 closure to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05) surrounding an open end 03 to receive a connection end (see figure 2) of a detection wire 10 for transmitting information therein, the accommodation member (see opposite end section of connector 500 closer to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 05) being recessed from the rim edge member (see end section of connection 500 closure to housing 100 or figure 5 at line 95) in a first direction X to enclose the connection end (see figure 2); and a retainer 550 extending across the detection wire 10 in a second direction Y crossing the first direction X and coupled to the open end 03 of the connector 500 from the outside such that the retainer 550 is between the connector 500 and the detection wire 10 in a third direction Z crossing both the first direction X and the second direction Y. KR discloses the claimed invention except for a battery pack (battery cell) and use a detection wire. Oga discloses use of a battery pack 111 with a battery cell 112 and use of a detection wire 30 to transmit battery information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify KR to provide such feature as taught by Oga so as to provide for electrical use of the wire in a battery system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses the retainer comprises: a plate unit extending in the second direction across the connection end of the detection wire and covering the detection wire in a plate shape on a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction; and locking jaw blocks on both sides of the plate unit in the second direction and protruding in the third direction from both sides of the plate unit to prevent separation between the connector and the connection end of the detection wire.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831